We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyable stay in PLAYA DEL INGLES (not Maspalomas)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
AxelBeach Maspalomas
Ranked #8 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2013

First stay at the Axel since it's change from the excellent value and popular Liberty. The rooms have received a dodgy lick of paint and excellent air-con added, although they need for bathroom updating to justify the increase in price. The greatest improvement is the outside area with a new entrance, garden and pool area. However the outside music is far too loud for relaxing and reading a book. It is still a very nice place to stay but the increased price makes it less attractive and value for money. Also, if you are new to Gran Canaria it is not in Maspalomas (2-3km away) and it is not near the beach- it should be called Axel Yumbo Apartments- Playa del Ingles! Very near the Yumbo though.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and go for a pool / garden side room- much quieter and better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BORJAJULIA, Director General at AxelBeach Maspalomas, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your opinion and thank you for staying with us.
Best regards
Borja Julia
Axel Beach Maspalomas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,644)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

749 - 755 of 1,644 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

As an old Liberty customer over recent years since the days when Liberty re-furbished these apartments we expected a new Axel experience. Axel have done very little to the old Liberty apartments apart from badly paint walls black (what's that all about)? It makes everywhere dark and dingy looking and hides dirty marks. They have covered the old Liberty dining table, coffee table, sofa bed in faux leatherette (why)?
It makes sitting on the sofa unpleasant in a hot country you have to sit on a towel. The bathroom hasn't been re-furbished
the shower hose was rusty, the shower water temperature varied between cold and scalding it was difficult to regulate,the shower cubicle still has no door which by the time two of you have showered the bathroom floor is flooded. The kitchenette is as well equipped as the Liberty days basic but ok, Axel have decided the fridge needs stocking with overpriced soft drinks, and expensive bottle of Cava (why)? It's an apartment not a five star hotel 2+ euro for a bottle of coca cola when you can by it cheaper round the corner at the supermarket. We emptied the fridge onto the unit top so that we could store butter, milk, etc if Axel want to put things in the fridge a free bottle of water and a carton of milk would be good maybe some complimentary teas and coffee after a long flight arriving late evening it would be welcome.
The pool area is very well furnished now with Absolut day beds although people weren't
using them as they had Perspex reserved signs on them (reserved for who if not guests). The spa facilities consist of a tiny sauna I have a bigger garden shed it holds about 4 people and was hot infrequently it also was dangerous from the point of view that the stone heater was unguarded if you fell onto it you will be badly burned, there was a leaking wooden bucket with no ladle for putting water onto the stones, whilst we were there two guys were scalded on their hands and wrists reception provided a dressing for one of them but that was it the leaking bucket was replaced by a plastic wine cooler which was even worse than the leaking bucket that at least had a wooden grip. The steam room never worked, ( I have had more steam off wet washing drying indoors on a wet Monday than the
green pipe put out). The jacuzzi was colder than the pool so few people used it as its not a muscle relaxing experience. The pool walls and steps into it were slippy with a film of suntan oil, one guy slipped on the concrete steps on entering the pool and was lucky not to bang his head. The pool area is well set out with a nice shady garden area, the music was pleasant on the first few days but became repetitive the days the DJs were on it did become noisy on occasion it would be nice to be able to listen to your own music in a quiet area maybe concentrate on a book this wasn't always possible. The pool bar served food and drinks during the day not that many people seemed to use the facility day or night but @ 12 euro a cocktail you can understand why especially when alcohol is so cheap in the supermarkets and bars in the Yumbo (Axel make your drinks cheaper you will sell more) The free wifi was a joke it dropped out every few seconds and logging back in was impossibly tedious you could pay an extra 10 euro per day for
premium wifi.(save the carriage of your iPad unless they improve the wifi you will rarely use it).
The staff here from the cleaners to reception are doing a fantastic job and are friendly and helpful but Axel hotels are failing big style with their delivery of a Resort experience we want more for our money and to feel we have had something new. Would we come back yes, did we have an enjoyable holiday yes. Company Axel your staff are great they are a credit to you don't let them down by offering a sub standard product.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelomet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BORJAJULIA, Director General at AxelBeach Maspalomas, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your opinion and thank you for give us your constructive criticism.
We are going to think about some beverage prices and we are going to work in our room mantenience.
Thank you so much for helping us!
Best regards
Borja Julia
Axel Beach Maspalomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I stayed here between the 9th and 16th September. I have previously stayed at the Axel Hotels in Berlin and Barcelona, see my previous reviews on these hotels. I was slightly sceptical about staying here following some mixed/ negatives reviews, mainly regarding the fact the hotel has been converted cheaply from a previous apartment complex (Liberty) and issues regarding noise. The building is in Playa Del Inges and not in Maspalomas, to say it is in Maspalomas is misleading.

The building appears like any standard white apartment complex in Gran Caneria. On checking in impressions were good, and the staff (Alex) could not have been more helpful. In fact all the staff we met on our 9 day stay was extremely helpful and friendly. The customer service experience was exceptional.

We had a road side apartment on the 3rd floor. The apartment was nice and the apartment met my expectations. The TV had UK channels and the air conditioning worked perfectly and was very effective, a must in Gran Caneria. The only criticisms of the room is the fact the finish of the painting was fairly poor around the edges, and the shower head was a cheap plastic thing you could get from Wilkinsons for a fiver. The showers did not have expensive chrome fitted shower heads like the Berlin Axel. This shower did cheapen the feel of the bathroom, which otherwise was nice. Our ‘double’ room was in fact two twin beds which were located next to each other, with no tie, so they did move apart easily, we assumed this was standard. The cleaners were very good and entirely professional; I have no complaints on this issue. We could only hear road noise in the room if the balcony door was open. It was however fairly noisy (traffic noise only) if you sat on the balcony.

The pool area was never too busy and there were no problems getting a sun lounger, the atmosphere was relaxed and friendly. The clientele was mixed with men of various ages and sizes. It was not at all pretentious or cruisey. The music played was fairly quiet and was non offensive background music. We were not at the hotel of the day of the pool party, but from what we saw of this, it seemed to be fairly low key and not all rowdy. The pool bar is on the expensive side for Playa Del Inges. The pool area was really nice with a Jacuzzi and sauna, and is exactly how it appears in the promotional pictures. It was a pleasant experience to spend time in the pool area.

We travelled as two couples, and half way through the trip while in my friend’s apartment, I noted they actually had a full double bed, and not two twin beds pushed together, this did annoy me and was probably my biggest complain of my stay. The wifi in the rooms was great, but very poor in the pool area.

Overall I enjoyed my stay at the Axel. My biggest complaint is the fact we didn’t have a double bed and the Wifi around the pool area was virtually non-existent. A few further touches/ details to this complex could make it really special, such as new showers and further painting. It did have a really nice atmosphere and is located in a brilliant location 5 minutes from the Yumbo Centre.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BORJAJULIA, Director General at AxelBeach Maspalomas, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your constructive criticism and thank you for staying with us.
We hope see you soon with us.
Best regards
Borja Julia
Axel Beach Maspalomas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

A nice property in a good location for the night life of the Gumbo. Would not include breakfast if I ever decided to come back here, same food everyday boring Srambled eggs and a version of sausage and bacon....the only hot dishes... Not good for long stays so stock up for your well equipped kitchen
The music from the pool Area can be downright annoying, you can hear it on a Saturday from the end of the street.... That tells you how loud it is in the guest rooms paying the extra for pool view was maybe a big mistake... Certainly felt like a punishment after few hours of boom boom boom...It's impossible to escape for a nap. Sadly there was no reason for it to be so loud it was even to loud for the people round the pool many said they had had enough.... Music plays round the pool till after midnight no place to just relax in silence..... They do not seem to understand that the music does not have to be deafening....... The staff are very nice and accommodating but who wants to stay at a disco!.... The property it self is well maintained and is as you see it on the website.. Minus the noise.

Room Tip: Think if you can handle the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff154943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BORJAJULIA, Director General at AxelBeach Maspalomas, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your opinion and thank you for staying with us.
We really sorry if you had a bad experience in our hotel, about the music.
I inform you that happen only during summer season.
Thank you in advance
Borja Julia
Axel Beach Maspalomas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I was 12 days, this place is more hetero than gay , it was nice but the party was only for hetero , dificulte to bee really quiet in the room the music to strong each day....
Cockroach in the room.
the elevator didnt work.
To much noise in the room.
The manager M.C absolutly antipatic.
I will never again go to this hotel ...
If you find a gay place is not the good place absolutly not !!!
...................................................................

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ataraxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BORJAJULIA, Director General at AxelBeach Maspalomas, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank youf for staying with us.
Sincerely
Borja Julia
Axel Beach Maspalomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Axel Beach has been refreshed but has not been given a full refurb. The rooms are very clean, if a little tired and dated in places (bathrooms in particular). Aircon and ceiling fans worked well, the bed was extremely comfortable, blackout curtains do exactly what they need to and with the windows shut, little outside noise can be heard. Axel are leasing the building and if business is good, they will invest further.

The unreliability of the Wi-Fi service does require attention. Signal strength was always strong but devices regularly lost their connection and struggled to re-connect. I suspect it could be due to the quantity of other wireless networks in the vicinity. I'd suggest that the providers speak with the neighbouring hotels to agree which wireless channels and signal strengths they each use.

Our stay was very enjoyable and all staff were helpful and polite at all times. The afternoon pool parties on Friday (girls) and Sunday (boys) were fairly low key and pleasant with the music never being intrusive. The party on Saturday was a different matter. We were told during checkout that the owners of the building have an pre-existing arrangement with several well-heeled local parents and that Axel have to honour the obligation. The parents stump up the cash for the party and their kids and their friends get in and drink for free (we believe there were also some general public paying to get in). The music was very loud (but ended at 10pm) and the pool/garden/bar area full with some of the most good looking young people I've seen in a long time. Certainly very pleasing on the eye but most guests felt as though they weren't welcome during the party - it really did feel like the revellers took over and that paying guests should be elsewhere. Even some Spanish guests were not 'in with the crowd'. We learned that Axel are planning to address this with the party organisers as they want their guests to feel included.

We wish Axel well and look forward to ongoing business leading to a wider refurbishment. We will definitely return in the future.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a pool view to avoid road noise. A higher floor will give you a better view but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeyD1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BORJAJULIA, Director General at AxelBeach Maspalomas, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your opinion and thank you for staying with us.
Your comments are very important for us to continue working for an excellent service.
Hope to see you soon with us!
Borja Julia
Axel Beach Maspalomas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

This hotel has been upgraded to a great standard for a 3 / 4 star , the rooms have been decorated in a modern contemporary design and has all you need in the living / kitchen / dining area. The living area has an oversized modern sofa that pulls out to a sofa bed if needed and a 42 samsung lcd tv on the wall opposite , there is a light ceiling fan in both the living area and bedroom where you will find the most comfortable queen sized bed. The pool area has a modern but relaxing feel to it , where up to a certain time of night it always has some chill out music playing in the background.We were there for the last 2 pool partys that were on Saturdays the last being the end of season pool party and what a night it was - it was FAB!!! What really made this holiday for us was the STAFF , i dont think ive ever been to a hotel where the staff have ever been not only this helpful and friendly but genuinly happy to be there and nothing is ever too much bother from the domestic staff to the reception staff. I do have to give a big SHOUT OUT to all of the reception staff in particular , they are all FANTASTIC. We are planning on going back here in May 2014 and this is where we will stay every time we go back to Playa Del Inglis , forget the 5 star hotels here as this is where you will find the 5 star treatment without the 5 star price tag. Roll on may 2014 yee ha

Room Tip: Both the street side and pool side can be loud ,but as previous people have said it doesnt matter as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BORJAJULIA, Director General at AxelBeach Maspalomas, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your opinion, and thank you for staying with us.
Also thank you for all your constructive comments, that for us it´s very important.
Best regards
Borja Julia
Axel Beach Maspalomas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Ingles
0.2 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#18 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
5,082 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,587 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bohemia Suites & Spa
Bohemia Suites & Spa
#3 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
#7 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,679 reviews
2.3 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#5 of 19 in San Agustin
1,838 reviews
28.3 mi away
NH Imperial Playa
NH Imperial Playa
#4 of 44 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AxelBeach Maspalomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AxelBeach Maspalomas

Address: Avda. Tirajana no 32 | Entrance by C / Timple, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#5 Spa Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#12 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range: $82 - $408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — AxelBeach Maspalomas 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new AxelBeach Maspalomas - Apartments & Lounge Club offers the best experience and fun of the island with the best atmosphere, facilities and leisure so you can enjoy your holiday in Gran Canaria, both day and night.Located in Maspalomas, just 1.5 Km from the sea, the new AxelBeach Maspalomas has 92 modern apartments, distributed over 4 floors and perfectly equipped to provide the maximum comfort and convenience. The complex, for adults only, has also several leisure areas conceived and designed exclusively for you to find the Axel cool atmosphere and the most cospomolitan meeting.Outside we can find the Sky Bar, the most crowded space in Axel and ready to live moments of fun, with a great outdoor pool in which you can refresh, sunbathing and disconnect in the sun loungers, moreover you can attend the best events and parties we organize throughout the season. A few meters away there is the Axel Lounge Garden, located in a large and pleasant garden area surrounded by Palm trees that make it the ideal place to relax and escape from the world. If you are a fitness addicted, the hotel has an own tennis track in the same facilities, this is your place along with the Axel Wellness, a fully equipped gym with dry and wet saunas and massage cabins to shape your body and chill your mind. Axel Wellness will give you the chance to meet new people and socialize as it's usual at the Axel Hotels.AxelBeach Maspalomas offers free Wi-fi connection in the public areas as well as car and bike rental service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your AxelBeach Maspalomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
AxelBeach Maspalomas Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing