We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“missed chance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
AxelBeach Maspalomas
Ranked #9 of 135 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 19, 2013

perfect location for the gay target group (many heteros do not 'get' the heterofriendly and interpret it similar to childfriendly ;-)
very old hotel spiffed up at least cost to match the Axel-spirit but they didn't spend enough to make it stick...
5 parties announced, none really took off - a DJ only showed up late and only 3 of the 5 days
lounge music everywhere (great sound but sometimes a bit too load) but always the same playlist so after 3 days you start to predict the next song... ;-)
large clean rooms, super view, super friendly staff, could be better English speaking but very helpful where possible
the plumbing hasn't been improved so everybody knows that the rooms at pool side have a sewer-smell - the cleaning lady will put something in the drain if you ask, but that shouldn't have been necessary at this class of public & pricing
same goes for the WIFI - everybody's been complaining about it since day one (see other reviews) but nothing really is being done by management "the wifi company will be fired by July 1st" says the manager and "I'm so very sorry"... and where does thàt help in my Holiday experience? some free drinks would have helpt some... I payed 5€/night for wifi that wasn't accesssible for more than 1-3 minutes at a time - then I had to log in again and hope for connection - at one point there were 3 access-points... which kept pushing each other out... which made things even worse... I spent 50€ on a local GPRS SIM to have access in the end and not have this ruin my relaxed Holiday
wifi in a gay hotel is more important than the wonderfully prepared breakfast buffet...

Room Tip: pool side is nicer, quieter (no street noises) but smell problem (which the maid can solve for you b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoeldeGraaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BORJAJULIA, Director General at AxelBeach Maspalomas, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your opinion and for share to other travellers.
I am so sorry, as I said about the Wifi, and as I said to you during breakfast, when I asked you how was everything? and you answered, everything it´s perfect. I give you the information for the Wifi as cordial conversation. Anyway, again, sorry.
About the Music, I would like to apologize if you knew every song..so strange because it´s a radio song chill/lounge.
About the pool parties, as I told you or inform you it´s not every weekend and, of course, never exist 5 pool parties ¿?, impossible, I think you got a bad info, or maybe it is a missunderstood. There is no info about 5 pool parties in Axel Beach Maspalomas for sure. Only 3 and during the weekend. We have a different Djs who plays music for animation, but our Pool Parties we always announced in our social media when and, of course what time, also in every Axel Front Desk and send you a letter to your room.
Next one on July 6th, 13th, 27th and 28th. Fashion, Fabolous and last on Chul@s&famos@s pre and post pool party.
Again, I would like to apologize about the music, about the wifi and about the ¿info? Pool Parties. Please hope see you again with us and you can enjoy one of the our famous pool partie and hope you will listen a new music. :-)
Thank you in advance
Borja Julia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,727)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

815 - 821 of 1,727 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2013

The hotel can feel comfortable, good location, great service, in particular, greetings and thanks for Mariola from the pool bar - always smiling, always helpful and doing a great pina colada :)
Rooms spacious, large, exactly like the pictures on the website.
The only caveat is breakfast, which is very weak, a little more variety.
I know that we will return to this hotel.
Great atmosphere thanks to DJ Monique, great music and atmosphere.
Best wishes to all employees so that this hotel is unique, where one feels at ease and well.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuMa6677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BORJAJULIA, Director General at AxelBeach Maspalomas, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your great opinion and thank you for staying with us.
I inform you that we are improving with our breakfast, food, etc...to know our guest opinions.
Thank you so much
Borja Julia
Axel Beach Maspalomas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I love the Axel Barcelona hotel, and had stayed at the apartments previously when they were the liberty. I was pleasantly surprised with the makeover and would recommend to lgbt community and their friends.

Staff were great as were the amenities. My only slight criticism was the music was too loud during the day (good in the morning/evening) and ditch the DJs....they were awful!

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a pool room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BORJAJULIA, Director General at AxelBeach Maspalomas, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your positive and constructive opinion.
Thank you, also, for staying with us.
I would like to apologize, if you did not like our Dj´s and about the music so loud during our Axel Pool Parties.
Thank you in advance and sorry for the inconvinience about music.
Best regards
Borja Julia
Axel Beach Maspalomas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Spent just over a week at Axel. Asked for a pool view room and a high floor - both of which we got. Rooms are basic but newly decorated although the decor is quite dark! The kitchen area still has the sink / hob (and possibly all the other items) from when the apartments used to be Liberty Hotel. Unfortunately the kitchen sink stunk probably from rotting food down the drain from when it was Liberty hotel too - we complained about the foul smell that kept coming up but this was never sorted out. In fact we were pretty surprised when one of the cleaning staff came to the room and implied the smell was due to us not flushing the toilet (she demonstrated by miming how to use a toilet!). Bedroom was functional and comfortable although pillows were pretty useless. Bathroom was a good size but that the only plus point - complained about the bathroom sink leaking - again, not sorted out properly. The shower was weak and either blasted you with scalding hot water, or freezing cold or would just completely stop - no matter what time of day you took a shower. There were also no hooks anywhere in the apartment to hang up jackets or the dressing gowns they provided.....would just have been useful. Also we had specifically asked in advance if they had irons and ironing boards which they confirmed they did have. When we arrived, eventually (after some hassle) got an iron - which was a totally useless travel iron - but were told there were ironing boards. In fact we were told it was impossible to get an ironing board and no one else had ever asked for one (really??). After quite some wrangling, I think hotel management went off and bought an ironing board but things like this should have been available anyway and they should not have argued so much with us that they could not supply these items.
Good sized TV in the room with a good selection of channels - quite intermittent service in that it kept stopping so you got no picture or sounds at all. Wi-Fi was at times next to useless - kept going off , running very slow or would have to keep keying in the password many times.
The pool area was very good - good sunbeds, nice (but chilly) spa tub, good sized pool. There was also a steam room (bit too hot in warm weather!) and a sauna (not working the whole time we were there). Bar staff were friendly although they could never seem to agree on the prices of drinks - constantly battled during our time there as to whether a beer cost €3 or €5!! Poolside food during the day was good but could do with perhaps being a bit more extensive. Would have bought ice creams there too but at €5 for a very small Haagen Dazs pot, we didn't bother!
Some nice touches though when staff brought round free fruit and shots to sunbathers from time to time.
Main problem at the pool - and in fact if you want to get peace and quiet on your balcony or sleep with the windows open - was the never ending and often very loud music. This went on pretty much from 8am until at least midnight, often with afternoon live DJs by the pool. Even in the rooms on your balcony, the music was loud enough to think there was a speaker just above your head. Great - if you want to listen the same music over and over and over again all day but not so good if you want some quiet. Goodness knows what the poor people in the adjacent hotels thought with the music constantly going morning, noon and pretty much all night. When we asked the staff to maybe turn it down (or off) late one night - and there was NO ONE at all outside at the bar who would be listening to it anyway, they said " we will turn it down for 5 minutes and back up again later"!
One final area for improvement are the reception staff - often quite argumentative and not friendly - don't forget, the customer is (usually) right!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bazandbabs24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BORJAJULIA, Director General at AxelBeach Maspalomas, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your opinion and thank you for staying with us.
I would like to inform you that Axel Beach Maspalomas, it is not a new Aparthotel, it is a new business managment. Sorry if it´s not everything new.
I remember all your complaints, that you mention in your opinion, and, again, I am so sorry if you did not have a nice stay. Again. I think everything was resoult during your stay and we were very helpfull, but as I said, thank you for your opinion, because it´s very help full,
Sincerely,
Borja Julia
Axel Beach Maspalomas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

OVERALL: nice holiday in a good hotel, but hotel can make some improvements to care even better with its customers

-Location: good, near shopping centres
-Staff: Friendly staff at reception and bar/restaurant (but one guy could improve his customer service, he was very unfriendly and rude to me)
-Wifi: below expectation, no signal in room, weak signal in restaurant and pool area, lost connection many times (got access code only for 24 hrs, even if i booked 10 days)
-Bedroom: very small, bed very soft, pillows 1 cm dick (you cannot make it softer), had no good sleep, but clean
-Living room/Kitchenarea: cheapest furniture, old, kitchen utilities dirty (glasses, dishes...), only 1 spoon, no forks
-Toilet/Shower: water not on a constant temperature, either hot or nearly cold, amenities below standard of a 3 star european hotel (no refill of used)
-TV: no german television ZDF, ARD...
-Gym: very good, but limited opening hours (only until 9 pm!), but sauna closed
-Sky Bar: on the ground floor, high prices, but good service
-Pool: water cold, the whole day you have to listen to techno music, on some days "pseudo" djs tried to entertain you with even louder tunes, but the sound system is not of the quality that it can play this loud music;
there is no quiet area at the pool, for me chill out music ok, but the pseudo dj's music i didn't like
-Massage: overpriced (20% cheaper in near massage centres)
-Target audience of hotel: unclear, glbt?, families (I saw a family with 2 children there), young, older, a clear concept is missing, it seemed that many not-hotel guests occupied the sunbeds on the weekends

Room Tip: rooms on pool side are more expensive, but have the same layout as the rooms on the street side, con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joho1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BORJAJULIA, Director General at AxelBeach Maspalomas, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your constructive opinion.
Thank you so much for staying with us.
For your information I will send your opinion to Axel Hotels Corporation about the prices and others items you mentioned. About the family or child, I am so sorry but I think it´s misunderstood, because I remembered that a Family came and inmeditately we inform them that it´s only adults. It was only for a few minutes, not day or half day or hours.
About the massage, maybe you find others chipest, but I don´t recomend to our guest have massages that you never know who is the person who is going to work with parts of your body. Sometimes chipest is expensive later.
Anyway thank you so much for your opinion and hope to see you again with us.
Sincerely,
Borja Julia
Axel Beach Maspalomas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I stayed at the "Axel Beach Apartments&Loung Club" during the Maspalomas Gay Pride and I had such an amazing time with my friends. I am very happy we finally decided to stay at Axel, so we found both fun and peace. The hotel is located literally right next to the Yumbo (3 min walking), which is the funniest gay area in town and where the most awesome clubs are. That makes the stay even easier as after partying the way back home can't even be named as "walk of shame". The complex has a beautiful swimming pool, a perfect bar service with excellent drinks and a great area where the hottest guys run and play under the warmest sun.


The place to be if you travel alone, with friends or even in couple.

Room Tip: The rooms that face the swimming pool have such amazing views and a relaxing vibe that comes in thor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Estefan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BORJAJULIA, Director General at AxelBeach Maspalomas, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your opinion, for us it´s very important.
Hope to see you soon with us
Borja Julia
Axel Beach Maspalomas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I have just returned from a week's stay at Axel Beach Apartments having stayed at Liberty Apartments last year. When we booked the accommodation it was still Liberty however became Axel Beach on 1st May. It is also now a gay hotel however describes itself as hetro-friendly. As a straight female sometimes I was literarily the only woman at the complex however at no point did I feel uncomfortable & was treated with friendliness and welcome by all staff & guests. The rooms have been revamped since last year, same layout but tastefully painted grey with modern leatherette furniture/sofa and plasma TV on the wall with lots of English channels. Rooms were cleaned everyday, well, we missed a couple due to late nights but the maids still left us towels. The bar is more expensive than last year but that is reflected in the surroundings, very chic pool, excellent furniture & DJ's playing chilled Ibiza vibe tunes on the weekend. Pancho is still there, and all of the other members of staff were really friendly and nothing was a chore. Free wifi by the pool which was very quick & easy to log in.....which is a good job as 99.999% of residents were using Grindr! Overall excellent stay at Axel Beach and I would recommend this hotel to any gay men, couples or singles and don't be afraid if you are gay buddy's female companion, you'll be made to feel more than welcome!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JenSky76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BORJAJULIA, Director General at AxelBeach Maspalomas, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for staying with us for the first time. I know that you were a repeat guest in Liberty Hotel in the past . I really want to thank you, to visit us again as Axel Beach and gave us a very nice report and opinion.
We hope to see you soon, again, with us.
Best regards
Borja Julia
Axel Beach Maspalomas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Ingles
0.2 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#19 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
5,431 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,646 reviews
2.3 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#5 of 19 in San Agustin
1,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#6 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,322 reviews
0.2 mi away
HD Parque Cristobal Gran Canaria
HD Parque Cristobal Gran Canaria
#24 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,924 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bohemia Suites & Spa
Bohemia Suites & Spa
#2 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AxelBeach Maspalomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AxelBeach Maspalomas

Address: Avda. Tirajana no 32 | Entrance by C / Timple, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#12 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range: $78 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — AxelBeach Maspalomas 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new AxelBeach Maspalomas - Apartments & Lounge Club offers the best experience and fun of the island with the best atmosphere, facilities and leisure so you can enjoy your holiday in Gran Canaria, both day and night.Located in Maspalomas, just 1.5 Km from the sea, the new AxelBeach Maspalomas has 92 modern apartments, distributed over 4 floors and perfectly equipped to provide the maximum comfort and convenience. The complex, for adults only, has also several leisure areas conceived and designed exclusively for you to find the Axel cool atmosphere and the most cospomolitan meeting.Outside we can find the Sky Bar, the most crowded space in Axel and ready to live moments of fun, with a great outdoor pool in which you can refresh, sunbathing and disconnect in the sun loungers, moreover you can attend the best events and parties we organize throughout the season. A few meters away there is the Axel Lounge Garden, located in a large and pleasant garden area surrounded by Palm trees that make it the ideal place to relax and escape from the world. If you are a fitness addicted, the hotel has an own tennis track in the same facilities, this is your place along with the Axel Wellness, a fully equipped gym with dry and wet saunas and massage cabins to shape your body and chill your mind. Axel Wellness will give you the chance to meet new people and socialize as it's usual at the Axel Hotels.AxelBeach Maspalomas offers free Wi-fi connection in the public areas as well as car and bike rental service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your AxelBeach Maspalomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
AxelBeach Maspalomas Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing