We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Food - Great Atmosphere - Excellent Hosts”
Review of Wapa Tapa

Wapa Tapa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $47
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: We are a tapas restaurant bar ideally located within the heart of the Yumbo Centre in Playa del Inglés (Gran Canaria) and aim to offer an imaginative mix of quality Spanish and international tapas and a balanced selection of Spanish wines at competitive prices. We look forward to seeing you!
Reviewed March 13, 2013

After 9 years of visiting Gran Canaria - this is top of my list for a re-vist!! One of the best nights of my holiday. The guys that run this place are very freindly and they make you so welcome. The food is 10/10 - a great selection on the menu and all well presented and very tasty. The atmosphere of this little Tapa Bar in the Yumbo Centre is fatastic - if you have to wait for a table then grab a beer and wait - cuz it's worth it. See you next year!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nezzlapezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adbole, Owner at Wapa Tapa, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Great review and good advice! Thanks! Glad you enjoyed your visit to WAPA TAPA and look forward to your return next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,153)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,266 - 1,270 of 2,155 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2013

I have been to Wapa Tapa two weeks ago with my boyfriend and decided to go for some tapas. We found this place in between other two restaurants so it is no very easy to get there as the other restaurants try to stop you on the way there but we were glad we followed our instinct and went there. The decoration is fantastic, all yellow and black, Carlos that is in charge of the tables is very nice and always ready to heklp you out with the choice in the menù. These are different tapas, not the ususal gambas all'ajillo or papas arugadas, they have a super chili con carne, wonderfull shrimps with lime, sublime spicy pumpkin soup but leave some space for the dessert that are as good as all the rest. Also a good selection of wines that are at very good price compared to other restaurants. Everything is cooked at the moment and you can really taste the quality. So i thank also the chef Adrian for his splendid presentation of his tasty plates. For sure I will go back and if you pass from Gran Canaria do not miss this little pearl in the Jumbo centre.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Delfina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Myself and my boyfriend found this place on the last night of our holidays, wish it had been on the first night. We had to wait on a table as its not a big restaurant, we had to wait around 20mins, the waiter got us a drink and gave us the menu, kept us informed on table situation. When we got to our table it was very much attention to detail. He took our order straight away and told us about the wine we had ordered and about this tapes dishes we were about to try. I have a nut allergy which can cause all sorts of problems abroad, however the waiter spoke very good English and alerted the head chef about this. They altered one of this dishes accordingly. The food was amazing, a modern take on traditional tapas, in fact the chef came out to ask how we would like our tortillas cooked, being British I don't like it to soft in the middle It was a lovely evening, it was as if Carlos and Adrian were cooking for you in their own home. So much passion and pride in their product.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank cmcgovern79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adbole, Owner at Wapa Tapa, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

We were only too happy to be able to accommodate your needs and glad you were able to enjoy the baked goat's cheese! Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review and for the magnificent recommendation! We particulary liked the "passion and pride" bit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

Delicious food, great value and friendly service. They clearly care about what they're doing... and doing it well.
Thoroughly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adbole, Owner at Wapa Tapa, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Thank you for your very generous comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

The service at WapaTapa was excellent, the hosts Carlos and Adrian were genuinely passionate about their food and were happy to answer any questions about the menu. We did not feel rushed in anyway, a warm welcome and a relaxed atmosphere ensured we had a wonderful evening. We chose to eat here twice during our holiday and will certainly return when we visit Gran Canaria again in October.
We wish you great success with your new venture, best wishes. Neil & Adrian.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank AdrianandNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adbole, Owner at Wapa Tapa, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Reviews like yours make all the hard work seem worthwhile! Thank you and look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wapa Tapa also viewed

Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas
Maspalomas, Gran Canaria
 
Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas
Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas
 

Been to Wapa Tapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing