We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from Home”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Los Valles II

Bungalow at dusk
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bungalow at dusk
Bungalow in daytime Kitchen area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
15 reviews
Bungalow at dusk
Bungalow in daytime
Kitchen area
Bathroom/shower
Garden at night
Lounge looking out to patio
Sofa
Outdoor seating at night
Al fresco dining
Secluded sunbathing area
Poolside seating area
Sunbathing area - lawn is astroturf - no bugs!
sunbathing area again
Shaded seating area
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Canary Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
BearUK2
Frome, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed March 28, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Really all that could be said about this place has been said.

It truly is Home from Home. Clean welcoming all the facilities you need. Quiet although only two minutes from the Yumbo.

Made me want to live there.

We were lucky to meet the owners who are absolutely charming.

We will definitely be staying there again.

Andrew, Alvin and Richard

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The homeliness
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartRon
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
353 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Sorry for this long review!”
Reviewed May 10, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
13
people found this review helpful

This centrally located bungalow situated in a small quiet complex of just 12. All circling a communal cold water pool, which is cleaned frequently.

About 50% of the properties are owned by people living permanently in Gran Canaria. There are quite a number of pets, cats, dogs and parrots, also living in the complex.

The complex is within a 2-minute walk of the Yumbo centre. The Yumbo Centres is noisy at night; however, this does not reach the property. The downside of being so close to the Yumbo is the weekend revellers park their cars in the street. Most weekend nights the noise of the owners returning in the small hours of the morning very loud and raucous after a night out is disturbing. Closing both the shutters and windows helps, or earplugs. The owners tell us the police have been involved in the past.

This two-bedroom bungalow is equipped with air conditioning, for which you 'pay as you go'. We did not need this as we were there in April, so we cannot comment on its cost. Also equipped with a washing machine, which is also 'pay as you go'. A euro buys you 25 minutes of electricity which is insufficient for the 33-minute quick wash cycle (the minimum wash). We found this was ok for rinsing things. The cost of a full wash is €4, cheaper than the local laundrette.

Wi-Fi is available, also at an extra cost, and as the owner said to us, "it's a bit flaky, but ok for e-mail". Do not expect high-speed broadband, and at busy times expect to get no service.

The outside area is the real attraction to this property. As others have said it has a very private area for sunbathing, not too sure what the CCTV can see! A dinning and sitting area and in an evening a sunny terrace area overlooking the pool. At night, the area is nicely lit with coloured lighting. We found we had to take covers off the furniture we intended to use and put them through a full wash before we could sit on them. They were not just a little dirty, but filthy, stained and covered in grease, grime and cat hairs from years of use. We washed these again the day before we left to try to ensure they were as clean as possible for whoever followed us.

The alfresco dining area is a delight with sun awning to ensure you can get shade if you want it.

The bedrooms are small with ‘apartment size’ beds, so our feet dangle off the bottom. Sheets and towels are provided. There is good storage space and plenty of hangers.

The kitchen is well equipped with cutlery and crockery. Hot water is always on tap and the water filtration system means you do not need bottle water. A large fridge, small freezer and halogen hob are real assets to the kitchen. There is a small combination oven which is a mystery to work. We e-mailed the owners and they offered the instruction of "its trial and error". We therefore had to improvise on the cooking front. There is a cupboard full of kitchen gadgets that we did not use, as we had no need for them. The main issue we had with the kitchen was cleanliness. It was at a standard well below that which we could say was safe for a kitchen. We had to empty every draw and cupboard we used and spring-clean them. Everything was covered in a film of grease and grim. The draws and cupboards had not been cleaned in a very long time and had food debris in them. All of the cutlery, crockery and equipment had to have a hot soapy wash, as did the draws and cupboards. We felt we left this place as we would have wished to have found it - Clean.

The bathroom is wet room style and rather dark and a bit dismal. Good for a disabled guest and a good shower. Beware of the floor it is slippery when wet. A personal view, we did not care for the wet room style as after every shower you had to squeegee the floor before anyone else could use it. That said better than a small bath with shower attachment.

We seldom used the indoor sitting area but the TV and DVD are there. We tried to use the video hard drive, but there were no films stored, or we could not work it. The TV channels are very limited but there is a selection of DVDs. The small draw unit has a selection of very dated magazines and a few books, but no room for guest to store anything in.

The owners are clearly security conscious as this place comes with 7 CCTV cameras a double lock outer gate, security grid door and a free very small safe is available, breeze block size, which is ok to store cash, passports and a couple of small items in it, but nothing as large as a laptop etc.

Overall the outside area is this properties best point. If you book, you may need to be prepared to do some spring-cleaning before you settle into a holiday. It took us the best part of three days to get this property to a reasonable standard of cleanliness.

The owners asked for feedback on our return. We gave them feedback and an opportunity to comment on this review. They did respond in a most disrespectful way, calling our review “nit-picking“. They did use other language but we are not permitted to use this on Trip Advisor. If you would like a copy of their full reply, please message us through Trip Advisor, as we do not feel it is appropriate for us to include this in our review.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The outside space.
Liked least: Lack of cleandliness.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janina51
Lancaster
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great bungalow with fabulous outside space”
Reviewed March 28, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Had a lovely two weeks here recently staying with my elderly mother. The bungalow is very near the Jumbo complex but in a very quiet street. Not that there was much in the way of traffic around the area ( positively deserted at times), once inside the gardens of the bungalow everything is very quiet, secure and peaceful. Great location as well for buses and only a 10 min walk to access the paseo de maritimo
The bungalow is very comfortable with two good sized bedrooms and a modern wetroom (good sized) with fabulous showers. The kitchen area was a good size and I enjoyed cooking there every other evening.
The bungalow gardens go around 3 sides of the bungalow with wonderful furniture, shaded areas, sunbeds and plants. We adored this garden and spent much time lounging, eating and reading in the 3 different areas. There is a small communal pool, very clean and maintained which I went in only once as the water was so cold! ( time of year)
Two reasons I have give 4 stars rather than 5:-
a) Because I had taken my 86 year old mother with me I knew we wouldn't be out every night and certainly not out that late...so I booked thinking that satellite TV meant access to UK TV ...my mistake. Unless you were into shopping or music channels there was nothing to watch. In fairness they had set up a movie section in which they'd uploaded many movies and also had quite a few DVDs...we watched a few but most not to our taste. None of this will matter if you plan to be out most evenings. I do think, however, that if the owners subscribed to Sky or something similar they could recoup the money from an increase in rent...I'd have been prepared to have paid an extra 10 euros or so a week for access.
b) Most apartments/bungalows I stay in have free wifi. and I do feel that this should be included within the cost to rent Valles II

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 29, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
3
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 4, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 5, 2013 for a stay in December 2012
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Privacy
Liked least: Missing a proper cooker
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ciaran m
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home from Home - in a brilliant location”
Reviewed December 17, 2012 for a stay in December 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Having been to Gran Canaria many times, I always difficult to find somewhere really nice to stay. I came across Los Valles on TripAdvisor, and decided to book it. The total cost was €535 for one week, which included internet. There was just me and my friend staying, but the bungalow itself could fit 4/5 people, so pretty good value.

The bungalow itself is situated about 2 minutes from The Yumbo, in a quiet residential area. Although it's very close to the noisy Yumbo, it's very peaceful with no outside noise if you want to relax.

The complex itself is small with a nice communal pool. The outside area of the bungalow is gorgeous, with a huge dining area, private sunbathing area and canape. Really pretty at night. The inside is modern and spacious with great facilities. There's a large LCD TV in both the living room and one of the bedrooms. The TV in the sitting room also has a large number of English speaking channels and lots of DVD's too.

All in all, a great stay here and I am already planning a return in early 2013. The only thing I will say, is bring lots of mosquito repellent - I was eaten alive! However, this is of no fault of the bungalow/owners!

If you're looking for a cosy, spacious, centrally located place to stay - this is the place for you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and how modern the inside was
Liked least: The bathroom is more of a wet room - so when having a shower, make sure to leave all clothes etc, outside!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing