We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great cocktails and nachos”
Review of Amigos Coffee - CLOSED

Amigos Coffee
Price range: $11 - $23
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Amigos serves a wide variety of coffees, teas, cocktails, alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages, complemented by a mouthwatering menu of snacks and bigger bites. We are open from early morning to late evening, with entertainment occasionally. If you prefer to take away to the beach, most of our food and drink can be ordered 'to go'.Our relaxed and comfortable venue in the heart of Playa Del Inglés is a 'must-visit' next time you come to Gran Canaria! We live on a paradise island, and we treasure our environment and the natural resources that the Costa Canarias provides, and which are becoming scarce around the world. So at Amigos Coffee we do all we can to make sure our coffee and tea are sourced ethically from sustainable resources. Our coffee beans are Rainforest Alliance Certified™. This way we make sure that we are doing all we can to help stop exploitation of coffee farmers and the deforestation and subsequent climate change that blight many parts of the world we live in. And as we live on an island, we ensure we recycle everything we can.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great cocktails and nachos”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I visit Gran Canaria regularly and always make sure a visit to Amigos is on my list of things to do . The porn star martinin cocktail is amazing as are many of the other drinks, my daughter especially likes the chai tea and bubble tea. The service is always very attentive and the staff are happy to add extras or take things off if requested when ordering food , the owners even sorted out a problem i had with my kindle when i mentioned that i couldn't access certain sites on the internet (free WIFI by the way ). The decor is way above most of the touristy restaurants in the area and both English and Spanish is spoken making ordering easier!! And the Nachos are amazing : )

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jax M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    20
    4
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Always First Class in every aspect!”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Amigos is always first class in every aspect - food, service, value, atmosphere, location! - Their Sunday Roast Dinners were so amazing we were there three Sundays on the trot despite the hangovers! - great place to pop into for a cocktail/tea/coffee/snack/full meal - Also great for people watching especially the mini-train customers! - Can't wait til we return in October!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank john l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not for Families!”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

As this is a high ranked place to have lunch in Playa del Ingles we were very interested to try this place out. When entering we thought that the orange/lime decoration felt very cheap but there is no account for taste is there.

We had to wait about 10 minutes before getting any service, there was a young waiter but he seemed to be more interested in how the stage in the bar looked than in waiting us.

For a place calling itself Amigos Coffee, you'd expect at least a good cup. I think they're reusing filters or something because ours was something resembling rusty water rather than coffee.

Sitting there waiting for our lunch, we noticed that in fact this is a gay bar, as the young waiter was kissing the bar man in front of two other guys. Nothing on Tripadvisor warned or noted anything about this. I do not think this is a suitable place for children to be around.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank Esteban020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Beautifully furnished with a modern and dynamic feel, you can tell a lot of effort has been put into the design and this high standard runs throughout the food and drink. A wide selection of well made and delicious cocktails as well as a diverse food menu served quickly and with impeccable presentation. Went several times on my visit to Gran Canaria and would definitely recommend others to do the same!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Ethan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“My favourite hangout in Gran Canaria!”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

My partner said he knew a great place in Playa del Inglès where he used to go to relax, have a meal and do some work from his laptop in the daytime. I didn't quite know what to expect but in Gran Canaria I have in the past had some really nasty food experiences, but I tell you this place had me blown away.

Let's start with the venue itself, it looks stunning; you don't want to leave. You're welcomed by the most friendliest staff who give excellent service. And then the drinks and food came. And it was hand on heart the best meal I have had in all times I've been to Gran Canaria!

Me and my partner will definitely return to this establishment when we next go to Gran Canaria, it's actually half the trip for me, as I'm not all that into tanning (too fair-skinned haha). I warmly recommend this to everyone out there, day-time or evening! Always a fabulous bar <3

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Heathwood89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amigos Coffee also viewed

Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas
Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas
 
Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas
Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing