We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“28 days HB at the IFA Continental”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
IFA Continental Hotel
Ranked #23 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Seahouses, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“28 days HB at the IFA Continental”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Sometimes people overlook the fact that the Continental is only a 3 star hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and it was really good value for money. We upgraded to a sea view room on the 6th floor which was very quiet. Plus points, very good food, friendly and obliging staff, cleanliness of all areas excellent and good management. Minus points, uncomfortable beds, worn out towels and the normal complete chaos around the pools regarding the reservation of sun beds, hotel has a no reservation policy, the twenty or thirty people who stampede poolside at 8am when doors open have different idea!!! As we were half board we rarely stayed in the hotel in the evening preferring to go out and about the centre is only a short walk away. The crux of any review is "would we stay at this hotel again" the answer is a definate,YES WE WOULD!! Thank you to all at the continentaL for a great stay.

Room Tip: Higher rooms quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mac G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Director de Relaciones Públicas at IFA Continental Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear customer,
Thank you for having left your review in Tripadvisor.

We are very pleased to know that you had a nice stay in our hotel. We will pass your commentaries to all the staff; they help us to keep working with excellence and with efficiency.
We have taken good notice of what you said that we can improve and will let our management know about it.

Thank you for having chosen our IFA Continental Hotel for your holidays. We do hope that we will be able to welcome you again very soon.

Cordially yours,

Public Relations.
IFA Continental Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    787
    1,092
    369
    116
    65
See reviews for
513
1,232
60
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (567)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Spent a week here AI. Hotel is spotlessly clean, food varied and well cooked and the location is great (2 mins to bus station and beach). The pool area does get busy but the beaches are clean and as it was 24 degrees we were in the sea most days. The AI package is good value and the poolside bar caters for those who don't want to use the restaurant during the day. Entertainment is the usual...but as the loaction is good then there are places to go within a short stroll.
One tip - if you want to visit Mogan then do it by bus and ferry (far cheaper than going with a travel co.).

Thank you to all the staff. Good value all round.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank chetun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Director de Relaciones Públicas at IFA Continental Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear guests,

On behalf of the management and the entire team of our IFA Continental Hotel we would like to thank you for your generous commentaries and may we assure you that we will pass them on to all the hotel departments which contributed to your holiday enjoyment.

We hope that we may count again on your company for your next holiday.

Best regards and hope to see you soon,

Public Relations.
IFA Continental Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

Four of us just back from a week at end of March, and no complaints about the amount, quality, or variety of food, and cleanliness of the hotelmetc. But be aware that our beds were VERY firm and the pillows were not comfortable. Three of us found that we did not sleep well,

one other point was that the free internet connection in the reception area is very poor and intermittent. You can, however buy into a better business connection.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank HarryandKath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow in Furness, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I visited Gran Canaria on 24th Feb for one week.The hotel was very clean the room was ok for what we needed the food in the Restaurant was very good and the staff all very helpful and the weather was glorious never rained once.The only criticism was there was not a lot of room around the pool to sunbathe,also a nice touch was a bottle of Champagne was left for us in the room to celebrate my wife's birthday.So overall a very pleasant stay.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stewart U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Director de Relaciones Públicas at IFA Continental Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for sending us your commentaries about your stay at our hotel. It’s a pleasure for us to be remembered back because of good experiences. We assure you that our commitment as workers and employees of the IFA Continental Hotel is always determined and strong.

All the members of our staff are being informed about the commentaries our guests transmit us and on behalf of them we would like to thank you for appreciating their work and services.

We hope to be able to welcome you again on the occasion of your next stay on the island of Gran Canaria.

Cordially yours,

Public Relations.
IFA Continental Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitburn, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

The hotel is in an ideal situation for the beach and bus station. Doesn't look too impressive from the outside but the reception and other common areas aren't bad. Bedroom is roomy and kept very clean so no complaints there. Carpets in lobby areas could be doing with being updated but it is hoovered every day. Pool and sun lounge area doesn't get the sun till later in morning but this might only be at the time I was there. Balconies facing south were good as you get sun in morning. If hotel is full there aren't enough seats in bar area to sit and chill out. Entertainment is pretty poor with the exception of acts brought in however too cold to sit out in show area despite patio heaters! Food is plentiful and always able to find something to suit. Unfortunately,felt that the British were treated as second class citizens as staff were very friendly to other European nations which didn't help the overall feelings about holiday. Reception staff need to go back and get some more training of how to treat customers as without these they wouldn't have a job,which they seem to forget. Has put me off the island I'm afraid.

Room Tip: South facing rooms are good but take earplugs as traffic very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Director de Relaciones Públicas at IFA Continental Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you for writing your review, that will be very helpful to other people to know better our hotel.

We do regret that you did not feel satisfied with our personnel’s attention towards you; an aspect which usually is one of the attributes most appreciated by our guests.

We would be pleased to be able to welcome you again at our hotel, so that you may see in person how we are working to improve and reach service excellence.

Yours sincerely,


Public Relations.
IFA Continental Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Booked with Jet2 Holidays for a week in the sun. Despite booking through a British company the hotel is very biased towards German and Scandanavian nationals. Check in was slow with only 1 receptionist offering to check in guests despite 3 members of reception staff behind the counter! Room was clean and would be cleaned every day, in fact the cleaners are upset if you dont want your room cleaned daily. The beds were like sleeping on tables, lack of drawer space, no air con or fridge in the room either, dated decor and a tv with only bbc world news offered in English. All inclusive option is not worth it as drink quality is poor with both help yourself beer and soft drinks/mixers flat and lacking any fizz. Im not a big drinker and two cans of lager on a sunday in front of tv normally has me flat out. I have had more "kick" from a wine gum than the drinks here! Food was ok not the best choice but was cooked. The snacks offered were basic and not readily available. Hamburgers and hot dogs at 10 am and cakes at 3 pm. Pool area quite shady and the usual german stampede for the sun loungers in the sun spots. The only plus point was the removal of their towels by the pool attendant if he noticed the beds reserved but not getting used. The bigger of the two pools drew its water from the arctic circle and the warmer pool not much bigger than my bath! The jacuzzi pools not working. Obviously at the end of Febuary the hotel seamed more like an elderly care home than a hotel for the younger and middle aged guests. The public free wifi was about as good as a carrier pigeon flying into the wind! Infact it was easier to get a signal from the hotel 100 yards away than standing next to the router in your own hotel lobby! In this modern age i think wifi should be offered as standard at least on an all inclusive option. Wifi in your room if you were lucky enough to get a room with a signal will cost you 8 euros per day.
I could go on but i think you will get the gist. I would not personally return to this hotel at least until i am ready for elderly care and not in full possesion of my own faculties!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Barbaraton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Director de Relaciones Públicas at IFA Continental Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you for taking your time to write your review in Tripadvisor.

We regret that you did not enjoy your stay in our hotel.
We have taken good notice of your comments and we will pass them to the management.

Yours faithfully.

Public Relations.
IFA Continental Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Had a weeks stay all inclusive its a good job the driver knew where the Hotel was as it seems to be painted in camouflage colour. Looks dreary from outside when inside foyer it is very nice and bright. Booking in was very easy to do even with me forgetting my booking details it was still quite straight forward to do. Restaurant was good all buffet style easy to find a table and not to busy around food counters, there were choices of different soups meats and fish for evening dinner, lunch time menu had a smaller choice but still good. Breakfast had the usual fare the only let down was the orange juice which was squash if you wanted real juice you had to pay extra either 1.50 or 2.00 euros not sure. Also the fried eggs were cooked on a large hot plate with hardly any oil the eggs ended up with more of a skirt than a flamenco dancer but they suited my wife. Bar was busy people always looking for seats All inclusive there were drink stations to help yourself to soft drinks beer/wine and tea and coffee. Rooms and bathroom were good size and clean and good condition had a T V in room only had a few channels which turned itself off after a while I think you had to pay to watch it never bothered. Had a room with a sea view on second floor at end of building but could not have door window at night openasit was on a busy junction. The design of the hotel made the pool area in the shade until approx. 11oclock in most areas, therefore people were having to go out early to choose the best position. Nicely set out with trees, plants etc but actual space was restricted between sunbeds. On the whole staff were friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jebro77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
1.5 mi away
IFA Catarina Hotel
IFA Catarina Hotel
#26 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,803 reviews
1.2 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#18 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4,562 reviews
0.8 mi away
IFA Dunamar Hotel
IFA Dunamar Hotel
#20 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#8 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,558 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beverly Park Hotel
Beverly Park Hotel
#112 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,669 reviews
1.2 mi away
HD Parque Cristobal Gran Canaria
HD Parque Cristobal Gran Canaria
#22 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IFA Continental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IFA Continental Hotel

Property: IFA Continental Hotel
Address: Avenida de Italia 2, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#23 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#24 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — IFA Continental Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IFA Continental Hotel is situated very near to the centre of Playa del Ingles, a few minutes walk from Playa del Ingles beach, the promenade and numerous leisure and shopping centres. The magnificent Playa del Ingles, with its famous sand dunes and its 6 kilometers in length, offers a perfect setting to have long and pleasant walks next to the sea, besides being located next to one of the most enjoyable and entertaining tourist zones of Gran Canaria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your IFA Continental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ifa Hotel Playa Del Ingles
IFA Continental Hotel Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing