We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant "budget" hotel, should be 4 star instead of 3 star!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
IFA Continental Hotel
Ranked #23 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Brilliant "budget" hotel, should be 4 star instead of 3 star!”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We visited IFA Continental in the first week of February.
The hotel is only a 20 min drive away from the airport which was handy. Upon check in, the staff were extremely helpful and informative and we had no problems finding our room.

The room was fine, pretty basic but very clean and tidy with a newly refurbished bathroom & an excellent shower! Our room looked out of the front of the hotel so the view wasn't great, we could just see the car park & some other buildings, but who spends that much time in their room on holiday anyway?! One thing we were pleased about was the amount of hangers in the wardrobe - plenty for both of us which is unusual as most hotels only seem to provide about 6 to share! You do have to pay for the safe but I think it's worth having for 2 euros a day. You do also have to pay for the towels - 10 euros deposit which you get back at end of week + 5 euros hire charge. However my tip is to just buy a towel when you get there - there are loads of shops around selling them for 5 euros each! (Unless you take your own towel of course!) There was no air con in the room but we didn't need it at the time of year we went, so it didn't bother us.You do need to buy water for your room - some people moan about this but it was literally 1 euro for a massive bottle and there are plenty of shops around all selling it at this price.

The pool area was nice and spotlessly clean. The main pool was big but not heated but there is a smaller pool which is heated. There are plenty of sunbeds, however most of them are in the shade so you do have to get up early to get a good sunbathing spot! Also the sunbathing area is right next to a main road so it can be a bit noisy during the day. However, the beach is only a minute walk away, straight in front of the hotel - this goes on for miles so there's no shortage of sunbathing space here! (But beware of the nudist beach which is right in front of the sand dunes!) The sea was freezing! But it probably warms up in the summer. There is also a bar where you can buy a cold coke or a beer. There is also a toilet - it's free of charge but I would advise to avoid it at all costs!! It stinks and is absolutely disgusting, you are better off weeing in the sea! :)

There is one main restaurant at the hotel and a pool snack bar. We loved the pool snack bar as they do the best toasted ham & cheese sandwiches we've ever tried! Also the soft drinks and beer are on self service which was great! There never seemed to be any queues either, but perhaps this is because we went outside of peak time. The food in the restaurant was absolutely amazing - we filled our plates up every time, there was just so much to chose from! I would highly recommend the hake, it was absolutely delicious and melted in the mouth! Our other favourites were the chicken fajitas, pork ribs, salmon, prawns, calamari, steak, beef and various salad mixes. So much choice of dessert too! The food was the main reason we couldn't believe the hotel was only 3 star! We met a couple who had been to the hotel 16 times!! I can understand why!

Re the entertainment, again, for a 3 star hotel this was brilliant - while we were there we watched a parrot show, Bollywood show, singers, African acrobats, fashion show (you could buy the clothes afterwards) and of course we played bingo! They also do a "guess who it is" competition every day - they leave a photo of a celebrity in reception and if you guess who it is correctly you go into a prize draw, and the winner receives a voucher for a nice cocktail. This can get a bit tedious as they do tend to draw it out a bit but it all adds to the fun!
The daytime entertainment consists of the usual water aerobics, basketball, football, poker, etc but it's very laid back and there's no pressure to join in if you don't want to.

The nightlife in the area is great - you can jump in a taxi and get to the nightclub area for about 3 or 4 euros. We went to China Whites & Pasha which are open until the early hours, and also went to "Yumbo's", the famous gay area. It was a great atmosphere here & really lively. There are also loads & loads of restaurants and bars all within walking distance of the hotel so you're spoilt for choice if you fancy a change from the hotel restaurant. We went to a great place on our last night called "Il Ponte Vecchio" where they had live entertainment (singing & acrobats) and for a starter, main meal, beers & a few cocktails each it only came to 85 euros which we thought was excellent value.

Re trips - we travelled with Thomson and our rep Luke was not very knowledgeable about the trips or the area as he had only been there 2 weeks! But he was very happy to try and help if he could! He told us about a few trips but in the end we didn't book anything through him - we found a kiosk up the road and booked a 2 hour horse trek through the mountains. This was 45 euros each and was absolutely amazing! (Thomson's were offering the same for 58 euros!) So it's a good idea to shop around.

There is a spa at the hotel but there was never anyone at the front desk! There's a bit of a strange booking system where you just write your name in a diary and turn up at the time you requested. My boyfriend did manage to get a massage which he enjoyed. And I also had my hair washed & cut at the salon for 15 euros which I was very pleased with!

Over all, we absolutely loved the IFA Continental and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a budget holiday which is amazing value for money - I'd definitely go again! :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool if you do not want to overlook the car park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dawni2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    787
    1,092
    369
    116
    65
See reviews for
513
1,232
60
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (567)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel In the beginning Of December 2013.
We had a very pleasant stay as we always have had at this hotel.
The food is good with plenty of choice,a chef cooking meat and fish every night usually with two sorts of the meat and two of the fish.
The drinks are OK not branded spirits but local brews, the help yourself beer was Amstel which I found was quite palatable.
The rooms were quite nice we had one facing the sea on floor 5, the beds comfy for a hotel,The rooms cleaned everyday to a good standard,in fact whole of the hotel was spotless.
I have only one complaint the coffee is terrible,
Coffee in the restaurant at breakfast was not too bad , but the coffee out of the pool bar machine was dreadful.

Room Tip: Get a room on the sea facing side of the hotel the higher the floor the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blow2karter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fareham
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Just to add a few comments to any future guests. Yes this hotel is in a excellent position near beach and bus service. The food here is very very good. The up graded rooms sea view are also very nice. Now the down side the poolside snack bar is in he most depressing dark gloomy area with very poor sitting inside a shed like building. You have to get a sunbed early or you will be in the shade. Not many lovely sunny areas to sit outside. The animation team here are very poor. they have about three untalented staff who cannot organise anything maybe okay with the kids. However they do bring in outside acts and can be good. but this is in a outside entertainment conservetory and you need to wear your coat. I am trying to give a general overall report and hope points are taken.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank millieFareham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Director de Relaciones Públicas at IFA Continental Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you for leaving your review on Tripadvisor.

The customer´s opinion is one of the most important things for us, because they help us to improve our facilities and services.

We have take good notice about your comments of the entertaiment team and about the pool area and our management will know about them.

Thank you for having chosen our IFA Continental Hotel for your holidays. We do hope that we will be able to welcome you again.

Yours faithfully.

Public Relations.
IFA Continental Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We were shocked at the unhappy reviews we read before we arrived but were pleasantly surprised on arrival! Front of desk took our check in details and packed us off for a drink whilst the queue went down where we found fresh made sandwiches & cakes.our room was spot less a little dated but who spends their holiday in their room?there was no shortage of fresh cooked quality food from 7:30am until 9:30pm with sandwiches available at 10pm! The entertainment was good, except for the show containing animals (personally not what we agreed with) on a low season week it goes quite around 10:30 pm(there are plenty of bars on beach front) it was lively come the weekend when people arrived for school holidays :) there were quite a few other same sex couples there and it wasn't an issue asking for a double bed, holding hands or being open about it. We would recommend the hotel for people who want a quiet ish hotel but close enough to walk to bars or 3.50 in a taxi to the yumbo centre. We would advise not to go to the plaza shopping centre the PR people can be a little intimidating and will circle round you for business.you will need to bring a hairdryer and buy bottle water (80p next door)but there is water available on the all inclusive in the dining room

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2ladieswhoholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Busy, all inclusive Hotel. We stayed here for a week. We were ushered straight off to lunch on our arrival. Food was good, with numerous choices of hot and cold food. Quick service with the hustle and bustle that goes with it.
Everything was fine, room clean (Big burn on the carpet) with small balcony. Walked down to pool area, and all in good order and clean. All was fine right through dinner time etc then BANG. The music started. It didn't matter where you were in the Hotel, you could not escape the boom box that accompanied every song, live entertainer or Disc Jockey. The base was just TOO LOUD. Lots of comments from guests to front desk, but it carried on every night except Sunday night, till 11.15pm PLEASE re consider the loudness levels. It has put me off returning to this otherwise good hotel. Please also upgrade the Wi-Fi which was very unreliable and slow. Some carpets looking very tired, especially on the stairs. Plenty of hot water and good bath and shower facilities.

Room Tip: Get a room that is as far as possible from the entertainment stage. (A LOT of rooms overlook it, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beekeeperian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Director de Relaciones Públicas at IFA Continental Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear guests,

Our customers’ happiness and satisfaction during their stay at the IFA Continental Hotel motivate us to work every day with major enthusiasm trying to fulfil all our guests’ expectations and needs.

We do regret that in your case it seems that we have not been able to come up to your expectations and we are really thankful that you have sent us your commentaries about the music at the pool area and the internet access. We will pass them to the departments involved.

Thank you for having chosen our IFA Continental Hotel for your holidays. We do hope that we will be able to welcome you again.

Yours faithfully.

Public Relations.
IFA Continental Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed for a week and our last full day was valentine day. The food at the restaurant was varied and all the staff were wonderful from the restaurant to bar to reception. The reason why my rating is average is that our double bed was two singles that kept separating during the night, the free wifi was only available in the bar area and was not very good past 1700 hours, though we didn't purchase I think the paid for wifi would have been better but was expensive, also the decor in the restaurants and the carpet were tired. It was clear to see why the last gold award won by the hotel was in 2003. But this may be picky as we enjoyed ourselves

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrosvenorFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Director de Relaciones Públicas at IFA Continental Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear guests,

From the IFA Continental Hotel we would like to let you know that we appreciate and thank you very much for taking the time to transmit us your opinion.

We have taken good notice of your commentaries which help us a lot to be able to continue with our commitment of offering a service of quality and efficiency. We can assure you that thanks to your opinion we have taken the appropriate measures to reduce to a minimum the incidences, as far as it is possible.

Your faithfully.

Public Relations.
IFA Continental Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I stayed at the hotel in June last year and had a very enjoyable time, the staff are very friendly and helpful and the hotel is spotless, they replace your towels in the bathroom everyday if required. The location of the hotel is great as only 2 minutes from the bus station, a small shopping area and beach area are also close by. The evening entertainment was variable and I feel could be improved on. I was going to go back this year with my family but am unable to because I would need a room that sleeps 4 and they do not accommodate for more than 3 so my only moan is that really they need to maybe make some of thier rooms able to take 4 persons.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
1.5 mi away
IFA Catarina Hotel
IFA Catarina Hotel
#26 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,804 reviews
1.2 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#18 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4,566 reviews
0.8 mi away
IFA Dunamar Hotel
IFA Dunamar Hotel
#21 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#8 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,560 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beverly Park Hotel
Beverly Park Hotel
#111 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,669 reviews
1.2 mi away
HD Parque Cristobal Gran Canaria
HD Parque Cristobal Gran Canaria
#22 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IFA Continental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IFA Continental Hotel

Property: IFA Continental Hotel
Address: Avenida de Italia 2, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#23 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#24 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — IFA Continental Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IFA Continental Hotel is situated very near to the centre of Playa del Ingles, a few minutes walk from Playa del Ingles beach, the promenade and numerous leisure and shopping centres. The magnificent Playa del Ingles, with its famous sand dunes and its 6 kilometers in length, offers a perfect setting to have long and pleasant walks next to the sea, besides being located next to one of the most enjoyable and entertaining tourist zones of Gran Canaria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your IFA Continental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ifa Hotel Playa Del Ingles
IFA Continental Hotel Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing