We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
IFA Continental Hotel
Ranked #25 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
GreenLeadersSilver level
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great hotel”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

we have just returned from this hotel, we were on the 7th floor and facing the sea in room 711 great view. Great welcolm when you arrived by reception staff, there is 3 lifts never waited more than a couple of seconds. Room was spoltless. The food was fantastic and plenty to choose from. it was my birthday while i was there i got a bottle of wine and card from hotel which was nice of them thanks. We went ai and the only problem with that was ai was from 11.00 to 11.00, if you want a soft drink or water on a morning expecially when the weather is red hot you had to wait till 11.00am and if you were up for breakfast early its a long wait. Entertaiment was ok but needs better, we would definitely go back again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Gerente at IFA Continental Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Susan,
Thank you for having chosen the IFA Continental hotel in the first place and also for your nice comments.
We are very proud to hear that our hotel is being appreciated for its facilities and services and pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially as it was your birthday.
We also hope that on the occasion of your next holidays on the island of Gran Canaria we will get the opportunity to show you again that we are doing a good job.
With best regards,
Carlos Martínez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    747
    1,055
    360
    114
    63
See reviews for
491
1,190
58
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (552)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Such a brilliant holiday, hotel is fab. Very clean - our room was cleaned daily and new towels as often as needed. Food was outstanding was so surprised by how amazing it was! Great location 2 min walk to beach, bars, taxi rank, bus station and shops. Would love to go back and definitely will one day! Staff were all very helpful too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Emily_801x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Manager at IFA Continental Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for your nice word about your recent holidays in our hotel and also for sharing your opinion on Tripadvisor.
We would be delighted to welcome you back soon and remain
With best regards,
Carlos Martínez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here June 2012 and are returning June this year travelled in a party of seven ranging in ages from 7 to 70 and we all had a fantastic time .We were on the seventh floor with a sea view ,the rooms were very clean and comfortable... But must admit a fridge would be good , no air con either but didn't find that a problem.All staff were friendly and the outside spaces are amazing ,no problems getting sun beds and the kids pool had just been refurbed .Food was fantastic loads of choice at breakfast ,lunch and dinner , snacks all through the day but can't comment on those as we never wanted any.Drinks were all ok I'm a red wine drinker and I found it palatable and we all fell in love with the honey rum.If you want to eat out try the Tropical centre just past the bus station , fantastic meals my husband loves the tournedos Rossini and the hot stone steak the staff are really friendly there and the entertainments ok .. A really nice atmosphere.While you're at the Tropical visit the candle shop downstairs amazing place and they will make you whatever you want.If you enjoy car boots try the one at Faro 2 it's on every Sunday and is a good morning out loads of stalls to browse and cafes to sit and people watch .We had a fantastic time at the ifa and would highly recommend it ...excellent value for money ... Superb hotel

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Anita T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Manager at IFA Continental Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear guest,
First of all we would like to thank you for your praise and for recommending our hotel to other travelers all over the world.
It has been a pleasure for us being your host and we would be delighted if you would choose the IFA Continental Hotel for future holidays.
Best regards,
Carlos Martínez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hämeenlinna
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We were there for a week in the end of March. Hotel itself was very good and had lots to offer. Our room was standard, nothing special (a fridge would have been nice though). Lots of entertainment. Food was excellent and lots of varieties.
But then a big but for us: we didn't have all inclusive, only half board. So we had breakfast and dinner. We had a big disagreement with the hotel staff when we had wine and water with our dinner and heard that they are not included in half board and have to pay for them (water also!). The butler came and alleged that it is said in a leaflet we got when we signed in. We disagreed but paid anyhow leaving the money on the table when we left. Wrong done! Should have paid to the cash desk. The butler ran after us shouting that we have to pay!. Imagine that kind of behaviour in front of hundreds of diners for a few euros!
Anyhow we checked what it was said in that brochure we got when we game. There was a headline "All Inclusive Service" and advice for that but nothing for people having half board.
So you can imagine our feelings after that incidence every time we went to eat there. I think we were lurked by the staff!
But anyhow. Besides this incident the hotel is to be recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TTP_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Manager at IFA Continental Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for having chosen our hotel for your recent holidays and also for sharing your experiences with other travelers on Tripadvisor.
We are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and also for letting us know your constructive critic about the mention aspects.
We are sorry about the small incident you perceived in our restaurant regarding the drinks in the dinner, but as point of reference both to you and to any other possible future guest, we would like to inform you that drinks are not included in the full and half board basis. As we are always trying to improve our services, this helps us to provide every guest the best possible holiday experience in IFA Continental Hotel.
We would be honored if you would consider visiting us again in the future and remain.
With best regards,
Carlos Martínez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Went to the Hotel Continental again on the 23/03/13.(same period as Adrian) after going in 2011,dont know what Adrians problem was with the sunbeds we got 6 sunbeds every day for a 2 week stay and did not go to the area until 10.15 hrs every morning,I admit the were all gone by mid day but then people started moving away by 16 00 hrs. leaving some free.Hotel is the best 3 star hotel I have ever stayed in, and the best value for money.The dining room is big and spacious and we never had a problem getting a table for 6 people with fantastic food with an excellent choice.2 years ago after filling in a survey I got a request from the lady manager to interview me so I met her for 10 minutes.After the interview (which was mainly about the artists) she asked me if I had any further comments to make.There were 6 people in our party then two of them ladies who liked a couple of baileys on an evening but you had to pay for these as they were not on the A/I tariff so I asked why they did not reduce the price of drinks not included in the A/I for A/I customers.She took a note of my comments and stated I was not the 1st person to ask this question.This year they have included this suggestion with reduced prices for baileys,martini and many other drinks,but beware written in small print at the bottom of the bar price list it tells you that you have to put money on a card at reception and use this when paying at the bar to get these reductions.Apart from this small Hic:up We had a fantastic holiday with all 3 rooms close together on the 3rd floor.Will defini.tely return again

Room Tip: rooms on south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Manager at IFA Continental Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your review and also for sharing your thoughts about the hotel with the Tripadvisor community.
We are happy to hear that we have met your expectations and of course we will give thought to your recommendations.
We are looking forward to welcome you back in the IFA Continental Hotel on future holidays and remain.
With best regards,
Carlos Martínez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agadir, Morocco
Level Contributor
140 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

The hotel is in a good location, food is outstanding, Staff very helpful, the hotel is a little dated but everywhere is clean and tidy, we went all inclusive and were glad we did it saved searching for somewhere to eat. The Thomas Cook rep was brilliant she helped a lot on arrival top marks for her

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnstarlite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Manager at IFA Continental Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your brief and flattering review and also for sharing your thoughts about the hotel with the Tripadvisor community. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and we appreciate the nice words that you have posted.
We would be honored if you would consider visiting us again in the future and remain
With best regards,
Carlos Martínez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland uk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Just back from IFA Continental....had a lovely time. This hotel maybe does need redecorating but that is the only small negative I have to say.. it is very very clean, and maids change towels and clean room every day. Food was 4 star quality and very very nice, always something lovely to eat from breakfast through to dinner... amazing food...would say take a hairdryer.. and a cardigan as was nippy at night, but hey ho was April....this hotel is close to shops, shopping centres and the beach..staff all lovely.. no complaints wotsoever about this hotel.. would go back in a flash as enjoyed a very relaxing week here. Entertainment is the same as all hotel entertainment.. but if you are looking for a bit more lively entertainment a taxi ride about 20 mins take you to all the jazz...OLGA the day time entertainer is fantastic very funny and great to be around for poolside games..I was sad to be going home as really enjoyed this holiday!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank harleydscotlanduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Manager at IFA Continental Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear guest,
We wish thank you for taking the time to evaluate you recent stay with us on Tripadvisor and are pleased to read that you particularly enjoyed our service and gastronomy.
It has been indeed a pleasure and honor in being your host and we are glad that you spent a wonderful vacation and relaxing days here in Gran Canaria.
We are looking forward to welcome you again with us and remain.
With best regards,
Carlos Martínez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
1.5 mi away
IFA Catarina Hotel
IFA Catarina Hotel
#27 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,800 reviews
1.2 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#20 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,239 reviews
1.1 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#10 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Labranda Playa Bonita Hotel
Labranda Playa Bonita Hotel
#13 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
0.8 mi away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#4 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
0.8 mi away
IFA Dunamar Hotel
IFA Dunamar Hotel
#21 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IFA Continental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IFA Continental Hotel

Property: IFA Continental Hotel
Address: Avenida de Italia 2, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#23 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#24 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — IFA Continental Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IFA Continental Hotel is situated very near to the centre of Playa del Ingles, a few minutes walk from Playa del Ingles beach, the promenade and numerous leisure and shopping centres. The magnificent Playa del Ingles, with its famous sand dunes and its 6 kilometers in length, offers a perfect setting to have long and pleasant walks next to the sea, besides being located next to one of the most enjoyable and entertaining tourist zones of Gran Canaria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, TravelUp, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your IFA Continental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ifa Hotel Playa Del Ingles
IFA Continental Hotel Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing