We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
IFA Continental Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Seaside Sandy Beach(Playa del Ingles)
$184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$269
$251
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
AxelBeach Maspalomas(Playa del Ingles)
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sol Barbacan Hotel(Playa del Ingles)
$147
$133
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$186
$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Cordial Biarritz Bungalows(Playa del Ingles)
$148
$139
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Riu Don Miguel(Playa del Ingles)
$157
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$274
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
ClubHotel Riu Papayas(Playa del Ingles)
$227
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,739)
Filter reviews
2,739 results
Traveler rating
878
1,221
429
136
75
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
878
1,221
429
136
75
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno air conbus stationpool areagran canariaanimation teamgreat holidayself serviceplenty of choiceevening entertainmentlovely hotelsoft drinksbalcony doorsmaller poolsea viewall inclusive drinksbusy roadbar staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,759 - 1,764 of 2,739 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2012

After having a really difficult year, we 'hubby and me' just needed a little winter 'sun'..... and we go it.!!!!!!!!!!!!
We stayed for 1 week at the 'Continental' and we were'nt disappointed with anything. Ok did'nt sleep too well first night ( not your own bed). but plenty of time to 'sleep' by one of the Pools. As the temprature reached 31 and more degrees the pools were very inviting.

Hotel was fab, food was excellent and plenty of choice :- from fresh salads, fresh fruit, choice of carved meats and fish.....All cooked fresh on the griddle as you were serverd. As I am Gluten Free - I had no difficulties......Just needed 'an English Sausage'....!!!!
The hotel was at the quieter end of the town but that wasn't an issue, as an evening walk after your 'dinner' was lovely.
Staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble.
Would I return O M G YES.... searching the Web already..xxxx
My daughter will be coming next time..

Room Tip: no air-con did'nt miss it. First floor, corner, view looked down to the road to the promenade and sea. Not noisey at all. Sun first thing in the morning, and cooler in the evening.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sue2504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at IFA Continental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2012

Dear lady,
we are glad that you have choosen the hotel Ifa Continental to enjoy your holiday and would be pleased to wellcome you again... perhaps with your daughter as well!
I would like to remark that the hotel provides some gluten free food on request. Next time, inform us two weeks before your arrival to arrange with the kitchen. We offer: some bread, cookies and pasta for celiocs. Our kitchen staff is also trained in food allergies and will be pleased to advise you on the daily food.
We are looking forward to see you again!
Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Just back from a weeks holiday at ifa continental. The cleanliness of the hotel, pool area and gardens was excellent, the food was very good, always plenty too choose from. Only thing that I could fault was that there was no air conditioning or fridge in the rooms and there was a lot of noise at night with cars and buses going past and due to being next to the main road.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at IFA Continental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2012

Dear lady,
we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay at Ifa Continental and we appreciate your comments on this web.
At the moment, as you have said, the hotel does not provide some services, included in the price, but you can hire fridges, hairdryers, fans or air conditioning at reception, as well as others.
I am going to inform the management on your suggestions and shall take into account for future improvements in our facilities.
We hope will be able to wellcome you again very soon.
Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Just back from the third stay at this hotel. Some minor subtle changes were evident, but the overall effect unchanged. The food quality and choices remained of a very high quality, as did the overall cleanliness of all areas. The swimming pools were kept in pristine condition, as were the trees, garden and terrace areas. A central location for Playa del Ingles makes this hotel a great stay and great value for money. We will return I'm sure, for a forth stay!

Room Tip: There isn't a quiet area as such and windows need to be open as there is no air con. The front of the hotel is best though, as the motorway runs along the back of it.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank dianehynamsunsh1ne99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a week in September, all we can say is it was a brilliant holiday. Even though the rooms aren't modern they are so clean, in fact the whole hotel was immaculatly clean. The choice of food was amazing and we didn't go out for a meal. Some of the hotel reception staff didn't seem as friendly with the English as they did with other nationalities but this wasn't a huge problem. A big thank you to Melissa the Thompson rep very friendly and helpful. We wouldn't hesitate going back or recommending this hotel. Should be a 4 star really but i should say its a 3 star because rooms have no air con but we just hired a fan for the week which cost €25. Brilliant brilliant hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank sb90may
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Returned from this hotel in August 2012 - second visit - also visited last year in July 2011 with my husband.

Location of the hotel is great. Parque Tropical is literally over the road from the hotel. Buses to Las Palmas, Faro de Maspalomas, Mogan, Palmitos Park, Aqualand etc etc etc.

Beach is literally over the road too, but there are quite a few steps to climb down. Beach sunbeds and umbrellas are available there for 7Euros for 2 beds and an umbrella - wear flip flops, the sand can be mega hot!

It takes about 20 minutes to get to centre of Playa del Ingles, walking at an 'i'm chilling on holiday' pace. 10-15 if your walk briskly.

Reception staff at hotel were very helpful and always had time for you. In fact I mentioned it was my birthday in a few days whilst there because the lady on the desk noticed when looking at my passport - when we returned from the beach on my birthday the hotel had left a bottle of wine in our room with a lovely note saying happy birthday. Was a lovely gesture.

Rooms were very clean and beds comfy. Maid service daily and you can select when maid comes in to clean your room - handy if you want a lie in. If you have a late departure flight the hotel has a room where you can shower so you can do the pool/beach and freshen up before your flight. Also they allowed us to keep our all inclusive band until we left. The first time we stayed we arrived at midnight and they had put sandwiches and snacks in the restaurant for us.

Food is great - loads of salad, meat. veg potatoes, chips, burgers, puddings, breads, tea, coffee, soft drinks, wine, sangria, pasta etc etc available every evening meal and lunch service. Breakfast had everything you could imagine and need for breakfast. Sometimes breakfast is a bit dodgy in Europe for all inclusive - not here - loads of cereals, fruit, yoghurts, sausage, bacon, eggs etc etc.

Breakfast was served from early until 10.30. Then snacks at the pool bar at 11am. Then lunch was from 12-4. Then snacks at the pool bar at 5pm. Then dinner was served from 6.30pm to 9pm. Then sandwiches in the bar at 11pm. You could literally eat all day if you wanted to - and all of that is included in the all inclusive service. Beer, spirits, cocktails, wine etc available from 11am - 11pm included in all inclusive. Food was always well presented hot and tasted great. Traditional spanish foods were available as well as pizza and other English stuff.

The pool area was spotless. 2 main pools and a kiddies pool. Loads of sun beds available - but people do reserve them early - my advice would be that if you wanted a specific spot - join the Germans and reserve early. We did not reserve ever and always managed to get a bed - may not have been where we wanted but we always got one. There is supposed to be a no-reservation policy - but was never enforced. Some people take the p and leave towels on the bed and don't come all day - but if you mention this to the lifeguards they will move them - or just move them yourself if you have been watching for over an hour.

Pool entertainment was not 'in your face' and was quite entertaining.

Evening entertainment was varied and interesting and of varying in quality. Sometimes there were a couple of stalls selling hand made items etc which was interesting in the evening.

Try to book a high floor facing the sea for a fab view of the sea.

Overall a great hotel - they were beginning to update the hotel while we were there. We also saw people cleaning carpets etc they obviously care about the hotel and how it looks to guests. We will definitely go again.

Room Tip: Use the buses they are cheap, fast (sometimes too fast) and very reliable No A/C in rooms - but just leave the patio open - no bugs at all
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank WendyandR0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at IFA Continental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2012

Dear guest,
this is really a great work! I could not do better! Thank you very much for this comprehensive explanation. In fact, I agree with you in some facts and I realize that the rest of the customers will do too: not all the sunbeds are reserved, there is always place free left. The hotel does not have one person to control the sunbeds reservations. This service use to be availabe at a 5***** hotel, but if you ask the lifeguard, he is going to help at once.
At the other side, if you want us to reserve a room on a special location for your holidays, only have to send an email to continental@ifahotels.com and we shall do our best to satisfy your request, altough it is reasonable that we are not able to give a guarantee of it. However, change the room is always possible.
Thank you very much again and do not hesitate to contact us before coming next time.
Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews