We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great hotel for a 3 star should be a 4 star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
IFA Continental Hotel
Ranked #25 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
GreenLeadersSilver level
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“great hotel for a 3 star should be a 4 star”
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Stayed at the continental in september for 1 week all-inclusive and had an excellent holiday!
The hotel itself is quite large and very well kept! plenty to do for everyone! Table tennis, shuffle boards, 5 aside court, small amount of arcades, well being centre, small pool with one slide, play park, kids club corner, hairdressers and a shop all in the hotel! There are 2 bar areas, one in the lobby and the other by the pool. Day time and evening entertainment every day! Although i do not think this hotel cater for children when it comes to the entertainment, however when we stayed here in september we were luck if we seen more than 3 families with children at this hotel.
Rooms are of good size and very clean, abit dated but fine! The showers were very powerful and always hot water all day. There is no air con in the rooms but there is everywhere else in the hotel. Rooms do get a bit hot so we hired a fan at reception for 15 euro for the week, 10 euro being a deposit which we got back at the end of our weeks stay.
I loved the pool area at this hotel, there are 3 pools, one kids pool with one slide, main pool with little waterfall and a quieter pool with jacuzzi. All pools kept very clean and we even saw somebody in the pools in the early hours of most morning cleaning them! there are also 3 other jacuzzi which were great!
There are plenty of sun beds to go around, but the same as when you travel anywhere there are always the ones who are up at the crack of dawn to reserve their sunloungers!
Location is excellent, just 2 min to beach although there are quite a few steps down to the beach, but there is a ramp for pushchairs and wheelchairs. Lots off water sports available at the beach and at a reasonable price to. There is also a bus stop and taxi rank just around the corner next to a few shops. one of the main shopping centres was about 10 min walk and the yumbo shopping centre about 20 min walk away which is great for shopping!
The foods was excellent, so much choice you are spoilt! Even the most fusy eater would bound to find something they like. The staff in the resturant did an excellent job of keeping it clean and tidy and you will never see a dirty table in the resturant! very friendly staff all round in the hotel could not fault them at all.
We went to the water park which is only 5-10 min in a taxi which will not cost anymore than 6 euro to get there. It was 25 euro to get into the park per adult plus if you want a sunbed you have to pay another 3.50 euro. food very expensive there so bring your own.
We also went to the drag show which was excellent, foods not up to much, couldnt really eat it but the show itself was great, was laughting from start to finish.quite an expensive night though think it was about 96 euro for 2 adults which included dinner and drinks with dinner only and travel there and back, a must though!
We also went on a camels trek which was 12 euros per adult and only 5 min away by taxi which was about 5 euro!
Would recommend this hotel to couples and groups and would stay again if there put air con in the rooms.
Transfers from the airport is about 25min!

Room Tip: for a quiet room ask for high floor with pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank leecole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    747
    1,055
    360
    114
    63
See reviews for
491
1,190
58
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (552)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

I no it's a bit late but I went to this hotel in july/august 2011, the hotel staff were very friendly and made you feel welcome. This included the Bar, reception and cleaning staff. there was not one point that i didn't see a cleaner they were always cleaning and very friendly. Every time me and my friends walked past they always said hello. There was plenty of choice of food and was very nice. My sister who is very fussy managed to find something to eat. I found the thomas cook tour rep was very helpful. the pub crawls were good. I found that i could relax and they had different night time entertainment everynight that got people involved. Also during the day the entertainment team came and had a laugh and wanted to make you fell welcome. I had a room near the 'busy' road which many people complained about the noise but i found it okay i had a decent night sleep everynight. The rooms were cleaned daily and the maids even folded up my sister clothes, we didnt even mind there being no air con because the vents at the side of the door made it cool during the night. The location is great 2 minutes walk from the beach and then a 10 minute walk from the night life. I would recommend 100% the drag show. The best night i had the whole holiday definatly worth all the money we paid for it. It was absolutly amazing. I loved every second of this holiday and i am thinking of going back next year!!!

Room Tip: Upper levels any side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dionne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 1 week all inclusive at the end of august.

The pool area was great, bedroom was a bit dated but fine for sleeping in and getting ready in which is all we done. Bedroom wasn't way too warm either. I expected it to be really uncomfortably warm to sleep in as there was no air con but surprisingly it wasn't. Some nights were hot but not boiling.

The food was nice at first but we got fed up eating the same thing at lunch and dinner and decoded we would eat out a few nights which was great to eat something different.

There are a lot of Dutch staying in this hotel and at first it didn't bother us but after a few days they were very rude. U had to get up at 8am to reserve a sunbed which was pain if u have had a few drinks the night before. The hotel staff round the pool area were rude. Bar staff in particular.

The hotel was in a great location, bus stop was 2 mins away, beach was near and shops and bars were near.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Misstartan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barnsley
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2011

booked a last minute deal with thompson (main tour op for continental),which was allocation upon arrival this was quite daunting on itself,
But was pleasently suprised as we had only paid £299.00 each half board for10 nights,
The hotel...pleasent staff,good food ,nice atmosphere attented to well at the bar.
the room... i would describe as...EXCELLENT.
Ther was a carpeted bedroom area,then tiled off onto balcony,
The bathroom was very clean with two well iluminated vanity mirrors,more than adequate space, shower and a bath.
Nice thick curtains (brilliant in amorning),,tv with some english channels free
Fridges on each floor that dispensed ice cold bottled water.
lovely pool`s ,
1 with large decked area overlaping pool excelent suntrap
Only 1 small down side "i encountered" lots of germans although some were pleasent most could be ignorant and abusivetowards brits (i learnt some german @ school)
overall a very good relaxing holiday!

Room Tip: pool view a must and quieter at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vinnynsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2011

My 21 year old daughter and 3 friends had an amazing All Inclusive week in the middle of August 2011. None of the girls are '24-hour-party-people' and this hotel was just perfect for them. They said there were a lot of 'older people' in the hotel, but for them that was a positive as none of them had travelled independently before. The food was top-class, delicious, with lots of choice and excellent quality. The staff were lovely; the hotel very clean and well maintained. There was just enough entertainment and activities to keep them occupied and amused. An excellent, well priced choice - highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EllyBald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Reception staff greeted us on arrival with a smile. Our room was on first floor practically above reception so noise was a problem at night with buses arriving and departing and holidaymakers coming home from pubs all through the night.Although we were told sea view,it definitely wasn,t.We thought of moving after first week to a floor higher up but in the heat decided to stay.Our advice would be to ask for 6th or 7th floor,lifts always available so no problem.Air con is def needed but we knew we could get a fan so on 2nd week we did,although very noisy,it definitely helped.Rooms cleaned to high standard every day,you can even choose your time.Always a smile if you met them in the corridor.Drinks machine outside room which came in handy for water.
Food was excellent and great choice and tables cleaned all the time.
Location was very good and with taxi and bus ranks very close you could get around with ease.Recommend seeing the sunset at Maspolamas and visiting Puerto Mogan,give Puerto Rico as miss as nothing there but beach and sleazy shop owners.
Upkeep of hotel was a credit to them,gardens looked immaculate all the time and pool areas were spotless.
We loved the lower quieter pool area best,very relaxing but if you like entertainment it was available all day in the main pool and bar area.As usual there is a towel on sunbed problem so we went to beach a few times to escape it. Although quite a few steps to beach, they are absloutely lovely and you can have a great walk alongside sea edge to famous dunes.Great for waves so buy a lilo.
Entertainment in evening was poor so take a walk to the Tropical Centre as there are some great bars with music and very friendly staff.
As a 3 star the Ifa Continental is great value.If air con and entertainment sorted it would def be 4/5 so if you allow for this you will have a fantastic holiday,as we did.Weather was fab every day.
We would definitely return but would ask for higher floor..

Room Tip: 6th/7th floor on corner
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Heywoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Excellent holiday. Pool areas were lovely, hotel nice and clean and in good location. People were saying in reviews traffic noise was a problem but we found no problem. We had a nice room on 6th floor at the front of the hotel with a nice sea view. We were all inclusive and there was always a good choice of food and everything cooked well. Entertainment was varied, but there are plenty of bars to visit in resort if its not to your liking in hotel. We have had a few holidays abroad, but this is definitely a hotel I would recommend and visit again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ranibarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
1.5 mi away
IFA Catarina Hotel
IFA Catarina Hotel
#27 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,800 reviews
1.2 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#20 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,236 reviews
1.1 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#10 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Labranda Playa Bonita Hotel
Labranda Playa Bonita Hotel
#13 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
0.8 mi away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#4 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
0.8 mi away
IFA Dunamar Hotel
IFA Dunamar Hotel
#21 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IFA Continental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IFA Continental Hotel

Property: IFA Continental Hotel
Address: Avenida de Italia 2, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#23 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#24 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — IFA Continental Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IFA Continental Hotel is situated very near to the centre of Playa del Ingles, a few minutes walk from Playa del Ingles beach, the promenade and numerous leisure and shopping centres. The magnificent Playa del Ingles, with its famous sand dunes and its 6 kilometers in length, offers a perfect setting to have long and pleasant walks next to the sea, besides being located next to one of the most enjoyable and entertaining tourist zones of Gran Canaria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TravelUp, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your IFA Continental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ifa Hotel Playa Del Ingles
IFA Continental Hotel Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing