We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SENTIDO Gran Canaria Princess
Ranked #23 of 135 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Myself and my partner have recently just come back from staying at this hotel we loved it.Our room was on the 6th floor which was great because u had the sun in the afternoon overlooking the pool and away from any noise. The room was cleaned daily to a very high standard and the room maids very friendly. The food in the hotel was lovely breakfast and evening meal was exceptional being a fussy eater I was a little worried that there would be nothing there that I would like but I shouldn't have worried as there was a selection of dishes available every day the desserts and fresh fruit were outstanding have to give a mention to the waiters who work extremely hard. Evening entertainment was of a good standard most nights in the piano bar and the outside stage after 9.30 were you can enjoy delightful cocktails and all sorts of drinks alcoholic coffees etc served by once again the fabulous waiters. Would highly recommend this hotel to any young couples who are after a lovely holiday I would defiantly recommend and return in the near future.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Charmaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARIBELLOPEZREY, Gerente at SENTIDO Gran Canaria Princess, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Thank you very much for your kind comments about the staff, food and the service. I really appreciate your gesture on my name and on behalf of the staff. Your gratitude and kindness means very much for all of us and it motivates us for working harder and happier everyday in order to give you the best service.
We will be pleased to welcome you again soon in the hotel
See you soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,306)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,225 - 1,231 of 2,306 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2014

Rooms have plenty of space & the hotel has been modernised to a high standard.When we were there it was very quiet - no nightime disturbances - though there were lots of guests. The food was good with varied choices & there were nice touches like red tablecloths for Valentine's Day. The service was excellent. We were lucky enough to see a brilliant flamenco show & other nights had different singers / styles. The bar area is rather large and too brightly lit for my taste but there was good also live music there. There's a bus stop outside the hotel so if you don't want the 10minute walk to the coast & promenade path you can go to Maspalomas (which is a must) or Port Mogan. The organised trip to Las Palmas is good - very interesting, especially if you go round the Festival Hall.
It's great to see more of the island as the area of Play d'Ingles is a bit limited. But all in all an excellent hotel with a brilliant rep where you are guaranteed a relaxing break.
Go to Calma Chica restaurant for a special meal - or great value lunchtime specials. From there you can walk through the Rio Palace to the sand dunes. Or go to an authentic Italian restaurant in Maspalomas - called Time.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JXX18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARIBELLOPEZREY, Gerente at SENTIDO Gran Canaria Princess, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at Gran Canaria Princess on Trip Advisor.
It’s a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay with us and you had a great experience at our hotel and also in our island.
We hope that you will continue to give us the pleasure of hosting you when next you are planning your vacation as we look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Just spent a week at the Gran Canaria Princess and was not disappointed. The hotel and grounds are spotless and we especially enjoyed the outdoor jacuzzis. The food was good and plentiful and the staff worked hard to keep the tables cleared. The only criticism was that the bed, although huge, was very firm but we were provided with a mattress topper within minutes of our request. We stayed in room 602 which was a corner room with a huge wraparound balcony catching the sun all day. Although overlooking the road we were not bothered by the noise and quite enjoyed watching the world go by.
I have read some pretty negative comments about PDI but my husband and I found it a great place to stay. The buses and taxis were very convenient and cheap and the beach bars were really buzzing in the daytime with free entertainment which was very enjoyable.
The weather was fantastic about 27 degrees most days.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARIBELLOPEZREY, Gerente at SENTIDO Gran Canaria Princess, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing Gran Canaria Princess for your vacations, as well as for taking the time to share your experience with us and other travellers.
It’s a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay with us and you had a great experience at our hotel
We will be pleased to welcome you again soon in the hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

I stayed here with my girlfriend for a week at the beginning of March 2014. We booked a late deal with Thomson and got an excellent price for a week HB. The hotel has just had a £25 million refurbishment, and it looks fantastic! The hotel is adults only, so no kids running around!
We had a room on the 6th floor which was on the same side as the entrance to the hotel which looking at the hotel seemed to be the best side as we had the sun on the balcony in the afternoon. The rooms are very modern looking and the bathrooms look fantastic. You have to pay for the safe in your room (€14 for the week) which was ok.
The food was really good with plenty of choice, and very hard working catering staff.
The gym was fine for training while I was away, and the wellness centre is very nice.
The hotel location is fine, as you are only a 5 min walk from the main centre, and there are bars and restaurants even closer if you fancy a beer or bite to eat away from the hotel. We found a really nice restaurant called Guarapol which you will find if you turn right out of the hotel and walk a couple of mins. Its just along from the supermarket. We always have a couple of meals out when on holiday, and this restaurant does fantastic steaks!
All in all we had a great holiday, in a lovely hotel. I would recommend this hotel, and if the price is right we will be returning!!

Room Tip: We had room 622 which was on the same side of the hotel as the entrance. We had the sun on the balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jay4750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARIBELLOPEZREY, Gerente at SENTIDO Gran Canaria Princess, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

We would like to start off by expressing how appreciative we are that you have taken your time to dedicate this great review online.
It is always very rewarding to receive such compliments ensuring that every guest leaves with great satisfaction, our main commitment is your entire satisfaction and all the staff is focus on that.
We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Fantastic Hotel. Very clean and well ordered.Lovely Pools and outside area. Super clean rooms all white with purple touches. Restaurant excellent and food good. No faults with this Hotel and the weather was hot!. JWC

Room Tip: No tips about rooms but the Taxi service is regulated and all trips locally are between 3 & 5 eu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARIBELLOPEZREY, Gerente at SENTIDO Gran Canaria Princess, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us.
It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your vacation and we are grateful you took the time to specify it. Our friendly and efficient staff is always motivated by comments like yours.
See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

what a difference in this hotel. this use to be our best hotel when we went to gran cannary. but last time we went it was so run down we never went back.we got a last min to this hotel and the hotel has been refurbished.what a difference as you walk in you go wow. its beautiful. its all white and purple. our flights was delayed so when we arrived it was very late. staff were very nice and informed us that there was ameal in our room for us.room was beautiful and the biggest bed I have ever seen.all in white and purple. bathroom very big and a great walk in shower..food was great and such a choice staff really good in dining room.beautiful bar area. which had entertainment every night. also in big hall a different act every night. .the pool area wasent busy so no run for sun beds.this is an adult only hotel. so you could hear a pin drop as you relaxed.we did the Thomson trip to mogan by boat which was great. we had a fab guide.market was great and lovely little bars and resturants. my only moan would be the area at playa les ingles. its so run down. another thing I will say is try the wellness centre in hotel I had a fab massage for 35euro.and the girls are so nice. all in all we loved our holiday hotel fab food fab pool great. staff very nice john francis our waiter in bar at night was great. we did have a great holiday.. but if you could move this hotel to maspalomas. it would be wonderful.

Room Tip: we were in room 644 which was fine. we got the sun in the afternoon.I know if you don't like you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank daniel28703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARIBELLOPEZREY, Gerente at SENTIDO Gran Canaria Princess, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to comment on your recent stay at Gran Canaria Princess and we are very happy that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us.
This will certainly motivate our team to continue delivering the best service to all our guests! It is always very rewarding to receive such compliments ensuring that every guest leaves with great satisfaction.
Hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

The upside - the hotel was refurbed in late 2014 and it shows - clean, fresh, modernist style with good sized rooms and bathrooms. Asthetically, can't be faulted. The food is better than average, perhaps smaller choice but that helped as the quality on offer was very good. All staff are friendly and helpful, and are a real asset. The evening entertainment/shows were surprisingly very good quality. Paying for high speed wifi at €15 a week is worth it, as was top notch.

However... downsides. The hotel suffers a lot of ambient noise. There is a very busy road to the north (rooms ending ...61) and it is very noisy. The pool area runs along the wall of this road and we didnt want to lie all day on what sounded like a motorway verge. In addition, the pool area felt rather sparse and basic.
There is a new 'Wellness' spa area - the gym is good, but the jacuzzi/plunge pool/ loungers are as yet unfinished - and in any event you can not 'chill' with traffic wooshing by.
We moved to a room near the south end (nb - pick a room of even-number to get sun in the evening on your balcony, on floors 5, 6 or 7), which lost most road noise but which instead was subject to the constant drone of the aircon units of the Riu Waikiki next door.
The ambient noise all over results in no feeling of ever switching off and 'chillaxing'.
In the rooms, there are modern flat screen tv's fixed to the walls which streamline the room. But this results in the noise of next door's tv coming straight through the wall, even at low volume.
We were disappointed that for a 4* hotel there was no courtesy bus to the beach, and that you had to pay to use the room safe, the minibar/fridge, a kettle etc. The free wifi is unusable.
Whilst not their fault, outside the front of the hotel at night (ie: coming home around 02.00am) we found this to be frequented by prostitutes, sitting on the wall at the end of the driveway. This is a Police issue, but, one would hope the hotel are tackling this issue with the Police as it is offputting. Unfortunately there is a Pole-Dancing venue around 5 mins walk from the hotel and the result is that this area seems to have become a bit of a red-light area - we regularly were cat-called by the same three women, and one night came across a girl 'on the job' sat on the wall! Made the area feel sleazy and unloved.

Playa del Ingles itself is a dying resort - been here around 12 times over 10yrs - this was definitely the last. Even the Yumbo is now dead. Next time I will stay in Maspalomas (the Hotel Tabiba Princess, a sister-hotel, is excellent) or else Puerto Mogan.
So, in summary, if you could move this hotel elsewhere it would get 8 or 9/10. But in it's actual location...? only a 5 or 6 for me i'm afraid.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the lower numbered end (ie: the south end) on a high floor. But expect ambient nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mickdevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARIBELLOPEZREY, Gerente at SENTIDO Gran Canaria Princess, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

We are very concerned to learn of your disappointing experience during your stay specially with the area of Playa del Inglés and would like to apologize for any inconvenience you experienced.
We hope that you will visit us again to see the changes we continuously make.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
0.4 mi away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#6 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,322 reviews
0.6 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#19 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
5,431 reviews
0.4 mi away
Labranda Playa Bonita
Labranda Playa Bonita
#18 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,646 reviews
0.5 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#9 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,727 reviews
0.1 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Papayas
ClubHotel Riu Papayas
#11 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENTIDO Gran Canaria Princess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Gran Canaria Princess

Address: Avenida Gran Canaria 18 | Playa del ingles, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#18 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range: $143 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — SENTIDO Gran Canaria Princess 4*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For adults and teenager aged 16 and above: clean lines, modern design and a mix of cool whites and trendy colours. The newly designed 4 star hotel SENTIDO Gran Canaria Princess in the center of Playa del Ingles is the right choice for holidaymakers seeking recreation as well as for those looking for diversion. Whether a cocktail at the pool or a cafe solo at the stylish Cocktail Bar - the SENTIDO Gran Canaria Princess provides the perfect setting for a relaxed get-together with your partner or friends. Enjoy pure relaxation in the zen-style wellness area with its Balinese beds and outdoor jacuzzis. Beach lovers appreciate the nearby beach of Playa del Ingles and the famous Maspalomas dunes. In our buffet-restaurant we strive to pamper our guests with international and local specialities. Different themed buffets and a weekly Gala-Dinner provide variety. The a la Carte-Restaurant "El Bohío" serves selected snacks and set menus. We offer an extensive activities- and entertainment programme for adults. Sports enthusiast may look forward to a gym, table tennis, pool billiards, volleyball and a dart corner. For those wishing to immerse themselves in the vibrant Playa del Ingles: The resort offers a wide choice of shops, restaurants, bars and discos. By the way, one of the biggest shopping- and nightlife centre, the Yumbo Center, is right around the corner of the SENTIDO Gran Canaria Princess. Wi-Fi (500 KB) is available free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your SENTIDO Gran Canaria Princess reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Canaria Princess Hotel Gran Canaria
Gran Canaria Princess Grand Canary
Canaria Canary Gran Grand Princess
Hotel Gran Canaria Princess
SENTIDO Gran Canaria Princess Playa Del Ingles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing