We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Winter Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SENTIDO Gran Canaria Princess
Ranked #20 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Winter Break”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

So glad we picked this hotel to get away from lousy UK weather Feb 2014 on a late booking. This hotel shone out from what seemed to be the surrounding mediocrity. Huge comfortable beds and a choice of pillows with a very nice bathroom with great shower. Being couples only was a bonus poolside as no screaming kids to distract and the heated section of the pool made it comfortable to swim in if not exactly hot. The staff were in the main terrific, particularly the entertainment team and the waiters. There was always at least one thing I really fancied at the buffet dinner often being spoiled for choice and the breakfast had everything you could possibly need.
A short walk to shops, bars and the beach. The promenade walk to Maspolomas dunes is about 15 - 20 mins.
I e mailed and requested a corner room and was allocated one - 401. Worth it for the wrap around balcony which had sun all day and sea views. It was roadside which meant some noise, particularly in the morning with deliveries but it was worth putting up with. Very good value.

Room Tip: Room 401. The bit of noise from the road and morning deliveries was worth it for the huge wrap arou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    810
    880
    313
    68
    44
See reviews for
288
1,361
75
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (488)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
york
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We have just returned from an excellent stay in this Hotel. A lot of the reviews are from before it was refurbished last year. It is now couples only and Half board. Everything is new, the beds are Very large and the bathroom had been done to a high standard. The hotel is very modern and not to everyones taste, but we found it very clean and comfortable. The dining room could do to be a bit softer but if you eat outside as we did every evening, it was quite romantic. The piano bar is lovely, the main entertainment room was set out in rows for couples and could do to be a bit less formal to enable you to meet other people. We were there over Valentines Day and the hotel put petals on the bed and a packet of Love Hearts, we also received a red rose at dinner. could not fault it. The swimming pools were very good, one heated , I went for a swim every day and there are loads of sun beds. It is within easy walk to the beach and there is a lift down to it. We have been to Gran Canaria a few times now and really enjoy it every time we go as the weather is usually good.

Room Tip: We were on the west side of the hotel getting the sun late afternoon and evening excellent for pre e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blueskysYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norrland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

Modern, big hotel, renovated in November. Fine rooms. TV with 80 channels.
Good food. Good staff. Nice poolarea. OK evening entertainment. Short walk to shopping centers and to the beach. Thanks for à bottle of cava as à birthday present. Totally: Good value for the money.
Only one bad thing: the terrible sound in the restaurant. Put something in the cieling and the athmospheres will be better both for the guests and all working there.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LOE026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Just stayed at this hotel for one week half board and overall was very impressed. The hotel has just been refurbished so the bedrooms and public areas are really bright and modern.

Food in the hotel is a really good standard with a decent selection. The deserts are particularly delicious. Also there is a really nice outdoor dinner area, which is far quieter than the main restaurant. The dinner is served between 18-21.00 and it is packed away sharpish at 21.00 which is a little early. But it does go on til 21.30 in the summer. Breakfast was also a good standard with plenty of selection. Coffee is served from machines and is nice. Juice is also served from machines and is disgusting other hotels we have stayed in in gc offer fresh juices. Also the restaurant is a little short staffed at breakfast and there is sometimes difficulty finding fresh cutlery.
The rooms are nicely furnished and it was really nice having a king size bed rather than two singles pushed together. Not much view from the balcony as hotel is inland. The bathrooms were really nice only thing missing were facial tissues. Amenities were restocked daily and maid service was excellent room was alway left spotless. The room have excellent air conditioning something often lacking in gc hotel and room was always a really comfortable temperature. Only negative with the room is no ironing board is provided and there is a charge is you wish to use one not really acceptable for a 4 * hotel.
Throughout the stay we had free wifi even in the bedroom which was excellent.
The pool area has not been refurbished but is pleasant enough albeit a little tired and lacking in character. Also it would of been nice to have waiter service by the pool. A wellness area has been created in the refurbishment which is really nice and has an area with large double sun beds and a shallow plunge pool. There is also steam and sauna. The gym is ok cardio equipment is excellent for a hotel but weight and resistance are new but limited still enough to do an ok work out.

Overall very impressed with this hotel especially for the money. Throughout our stay staff were pleasant and the Thomson rep was excellent. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank 70AdamS70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 week. Always normally stay at a Riu Palace or somewhere similar. This was our 1st time ever to a Princess hotel. Value for money was very good for this holiday. Overall 1st impressions were good, bit of a wait checking in as there didn't seem to be enough reception staff. Very smart lobby area. Hotel has just had a 25 million pound refirb so most of it is very clean and nicely presented. A few little areas where things could have been finished off to a slightly higher specification, but overall very positive reaction to this place. Room and bathroom is nice, contemporary look to it overall. Bar and restaurant areas are very nice, also pool area is nice although more 'original' looking in it's style. Staff seemed friendly enough although something seemed to be missing in terms of engagement and interaction, we were not sure if this is because some of them are new to this hotel or because we are used to the brand of Riu hotels who seem to invest heavily on staff training. Loved tge fact that there was no children here! This hotel has been made adults only since it's refirb which is just great to not have to listen to babies and screaming children (sorry to anyone that has them!)
Gym area and sauna/steam is very nice, including wellness area...again a few finishing touches that wouldn't go amiss...no gym towels to name a few.
Like we have mentioned, staff seemed nice enough although just to reiterate, there didn't seem to be a great deal of them. Again a few easy things that could be altered would make the world of difference and it would really give this hotel some soul. Examples would be a drinks service/waiter service at the pool area, you have to pay for lunch and drinks items anyway so why does the hotel not have more staff and make money from this opportunity and provide a personal service I do not know.
Food here is very nice, breakfast is great and so is the dinner...please ignore any negative reviews about the food! Again...a few little changes could make all the difference with the dining experience, adding a cutlery station and placing coffee cups next to the machine would be more useful. The outside dining area is a lovely touch, very nice and less canteen like.
Items like changing pool towels and using an iron are chargeable, I feel that this should be included at a 4 star.
Please do not feel that I am being negative about this hotel...overall a really lovely holiday and hotel, extremely good value. There are just a few tweaks that need to be made here...I really hope someone from Princess hotels reads this and takes note, this place has fantastic potential! Would we return, yes we would if it was the right price again next time.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank mikeymikeyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

This hotel has had a complete refurb and in our opinion it has been done beautifully. It is contemporary, clean and well laid out.
The facilities at the hotel are excellent and all in good order.We used the sauna on several occasions and it was wonderful, towels supplied.
We could not fault the food and the dining room was lovely.Waiter service was excellent and plates cleared away very quickly between courses.
Lastly the staff were excellent and vey helpful.
My only grouse is the wifi.We paid 15 euros for the fast service but did not work very well in the room, but o.k downstairs.

Charles & Ann.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks in January 2014 and it was a bit of a last minute decision.
We should have been in Goa for the same 2 weeks, but after Thomas Cook cancelled our hotel 2 weeks before departure (even though we had booked 14 months previously) we had a snap decision to make. Having been to Goa twice before for some winter sun, I have to admit that Gran Canaria had never even crossed my mind. It was only when a friend mentioned it to me and told me that this hotel had recently been refurbished, that we decided to give Gran Canaria a go. And how glad I am that we did, as this will hopefully be the first of many visits to this beautiful island.
Anyway, this is a hotel review so back to the plot. The Thomson rep informed us that the hotel has recently had a £25 million refurb, and it shows.
The rooms are spotless and cleaned daily. Each room has a widescreen TV complete with USB port for those of us into technology. All have a safety deposit box (only 2 euros per day) and a fridge for you to keep any essentials (we took our own kettle as one isn't provided). There is a "wellness" area by the pool with sauna and steam room too.
We were staying on a half board basis and I have to compliment the hotel on its excellent and varied choice of food. Despite there being 430 rooms in the hotel, you never wait more than 5 minutes to be seated for your evening meal. Breakfast is served in one of two restaurants and again has a wide choice available.
Staff are all very polite and friendly and always were there with a "hola" or "good evening".
If I have one minor criticism of the hotel it is with the lifts. With so much money spent on the hotel, planners should have looked at the possibility of installing more. There are only three to service a hotel of this size, and the mornings can be a problem. We were on the 7th floor and found it quicker to walk downstairs most mornings (and sometimes back up!), but this could prove to be a problem for the less able-bodied. Hence the hotel loosing one star for me.
As for places to visit, we loved Masapolomas beach, Puerto de Mogan (simply stunning) and our mountain drive to Fatega and San Bartolome de Tirajana. And make sure that you also visit the Moonlight cinema.
Would I return to this hotel? Absolutely without question. Thank you Gran Canaria Princess, Thomson holidays and their fantastic rep David Cooper, for making our first trip to this beautiful island so memorable.

Room Tip: If you don't want to wait a long time for a lift, ask for a lower floor and use the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank BarryC11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
0.5 mi away
MUR Hotel Neptuno Gran Canaria
MUR Hotel Neptuno Gran Canaria
#12 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,245 reviews
0.6 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#18 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4,726 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bohemia Suites & Spa
Bohemia Suites & Spa
#3 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#8 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,589 reviews
0.4 mi away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#5 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,257 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENTIDO Gran Canaria Princess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Gran Canaria Princess

Property: SENTIDO Gran Canaria Princess
Address: Avenida Gran Canaria 18, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#14 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — SENTIDO Gran Canaria Princess 4*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For adults and teenager aged 16 and above: clean lines, modern design and a mix of cool whites and trendy colours. The newly designed 4 star hotel SENTIDO Gran Canaria Princess in the center of Playa del Ingles is the right choice for holidaymakers seeking recreation as well as for those looking for diversion. Whether a cocktail at the pool or a cafe solo at the stylish Cocktail Bar - the SENTIDO Gran Canaria Princess provides the perfect setting for a relaxed get-together with your partner or friends. Enjoy pure relaxation in the zen-style wellness area with its Balinese beds and outdoor jacuzzis. Beach lovers appreciate the nearby beach of Playa del Ingles and the famous Maspalomas dunes. In our buffet-restaurant we strive to pamper our guests with international and local specialities. Different themed buffets and a weekly Gala-Dinner provide variety. The a la Carte-Restaurant "El Bohío" serves selected snacks and set menus. We offer an extensive activities- and entertainment programme for adults. Sports enthusiast may look forward to a gym, table tennis, pool billiards, volleyball and a dart corner. For those wishing to immerse themselves in the vibrant Playa del Ingles: The resort offers a wide choice of shops, restaurants, bars and discos. By the way, one of the biggest shopping- and nightlife centre, the Yumbo Center, is right around the corner of the SENTIDO Gran Canaria Princess. Wi-Fi (500 KB) is available free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your SENTIDO Gran Canaria Princess reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Canaria Princess Hotel Gran Canaria
Gran Canaria Princess Grand Canary
Canaria Canary Gran Grand Princess
Hotel Gran Canaria Princess
SENTIDO Gran Canaria Princess Playa Del Ingles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing