We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,003)
Filter reviews
4,003 results
Traveler rating
1,162
1,539
839
274
189
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,162
1,539
839
274
189
Show reviews that mention
All reviews animation team british bar no air con honolulu bar quiet pool quiet side salad snack bar gran canaria big hotel great holiday meal times plenty of choice pool area half board bar staff main pool
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 4,003 reviews
Reviewed November 18, 2018

I would say that the Animation team was very poor more for play school children, they even behaved like little children screaming shouting and very irritating. Normally about 3 o'clock we would go back to our room and try to get some peace and quite. that was a joke loud boom box comes on you could hear it by the beach its so loud. We even went around to the supposedly quite side no still no peace animation team comes round screaming and shouting never have I been on Holiday and had to put up with that nonsense I got so mad I actually told them to shut up.

Room tip: Needs secondary glazing to block out the noise from the animation team, fridge ,kettle
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
1  Thank Kim Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buenaventura255, Gerente at IFA Buenaventura Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2018

Dear Kim,

Thank you very much for choosing our Hotel to spend your holidays. However, we are very concerned that regarding the animation team it did not result as you had expected. We would like to apologize for any possible inconvenience regarding our colleagues from the enterteinment and have already passed this comment to them. Our aim is to be constantly improving our services and all reviews and feedback from our guests help us to do so.

We sincerely hope you would choose us again for your next stay in Gran Canaria, also to give us the chance to correct this bad image you have received from us this time.

With our best regards,
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2018 via mobile

This hotel along with the reps at thomas Cooke are a joke had to move hotels because the room was unsafe complained they did nothing accept put a bed in the middle of the room

The manager wasn’t interested at all and thomas Cooke leftvmecon no doubt never to use them again

Stay clear of this hotel it’s staff and the lot

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buenaventura255, Gerente at IFA Buenaventura Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2018

Dear Paul,

thank you for writting here a comment about your stay at IFA Buenaventura. We are extremely sorry we could not match with your expectations and would like to apologize for any possible inconvenience you might have found in our Hotel.
We regret very much we could not please you and are very concerned about your comment about the unsafety of the room.

We sincerely hope you could give us a second oportunity, specially to show you we can please all needs. Our top priority is to be constantly improving our services to continue meeting expectations.

With our best regards,
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2018

We visited this hotel for two weeks from 2 November 2018 and would have to say that the stay was most enjoyable. Before travelling we had looked at many of the reviews on Trip Advisor and were in some sense a little conflicted as to the comments. Some were good, and some were indifferent but we thought we would make up our own mind. We travelled through Jet 2 Holidays and their service was 1st class, and having pre booked into the hotel online before travelling the check in was very easy. The reviews we had read indicated that there appeared to be to sides to this hotel, 1 with the major swimming pool where the site entertainment people helped you enjoy yourself, and 1 with a quieter pool and gardens where you could relax more. This is deffinatley the case, so if you want a quieter time book a room in the "garden" section of the hotel. The hotel staff were excellent and very helpfull, the rooms were spacious and with a large balcony, the food (we were half board) was very good and plenty to choose from. The resturaunt can be a little bit manic but hey ho its a big hotel. It was my wifes birthday during our stay and on this day we had a knock at our door and a member of guest sevices gave her a lovely card and a small bottle of wine to celebrate, a very nice touch (thank you to the guest services team for this). All in all it was not a bad stay, and as far as previous reviews were concerned, I can only say that you can please some people but not all people. Finally, the rooms are fine and there is a safe which you have to pay for, there is no air conditioning but I believe you can also pay for this if required, we asked for a fridge in the room and there was one, and the only negative point I would mention is that the decor of the hotel iss a little dated and could do with a makeover, but the hotel itself and the grounds/pools etc were all kept immaculatly clean, so this in itself was not off putting.

Room tip: All rooms seem to have reasonable views, but if you want a quieter room book one looking over the garden side of the hotel.
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Walter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buenaventura255, Gerente at IFA Buenaventura Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2018

Dear Walter,

We would like to thnbk you very much for having written such an honest and complete review, which we believe will definitely help other guests to know what they are booking.

Thank you very much also for your very kind words to our staff, we really appreciatte it and it makes us feel even more motivated to give our best every day.

We are very pleased to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that our facilities and services have matched with your expectations. Regarding our rooms, it is true there is no air conditioning nor a fridge, of course you can rent one at the reception desk upon availability.

We sincerely hope you visit us again for your next stay in Playa del Inglés.

With our best regards,
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2018 via mobile

My husband an i have booked to come to this hotel nxt may an have just seen that somebody has said it will be closed 4 a refurb could someone let me no if its true plz as was looking 4ward to this hotel

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buenaventura255, Gerente at IFA Buenaventura Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2018

Dear Debbie,

If you wish, you can better reach us at any time on our email buenaventura@lopesan.com for any question you might have, but so far we can confirm you we will be closed for refurbishment from April onwards for probably six months.
As Guest Relations department we do not know what is going to happen with the reservations, so you should probably contact your travel agency or touroperator for it.

We are looking forward to welcome you again once we are opened again!

With our best regards,
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2018 via mobile

Recently stayed here for a week while in Gran Canaria. Really good location for access to the beach and shopping centres without being on a main road.
Our room was a good size with a sea view on the 7th floor. The room was in good condition and serviced daily.
Sun loungers were readily available, although I don’t think it would be easy to get one in peak season. The pool was clean and in good condition.
We were half board, the restaurant was a buffet style which if you are not used to it can be a little daunting. The breakfast range was good and plentiful in supply. Dinner there was lots of choice, although some of the recipes were aimed more at the mainland European guests and the food wasn’t always the hottest.
The staff in the hotel were friendly and attentive, all areas of the hotel spotlessly clean, gardens well maintained.
Overall I enjoyed my stay and would recommend it to others.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank TBlackbeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buenaventura255, Gerente at IFA Buenaventura Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2018

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing our IFA Buenaventura Hotel for your stay in the south of Gran Canaria as well as for sharing with us your opinion about it.

We are very satisfied to know that we have matched with your expectations and that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you very much indeed for your recommendation!

Regarding your comment about the food, we will take it into account and the departments involved will be informed about it.

We would love to welcome you again with us.

With our best regards,
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews