We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
IFA Buenaventura Hotel
Ranked #29 of 135 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
GreenLeadersGold level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed for a week with my 13yr old son, wife and parents and had a great time. Staff were great food was lovely, animation team work long and hard to ensure the kids are kept entertained, rooms are always cleaned spotless daily, the only downside is that the rooms have no air con but would definitely recommend this hotel and return in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank petelisas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Manager at IFA Buenaventura Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Patelisas,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about the IFA Buenaventura

It is lovely to know that you enjoyed your stay and like our cleanless, entertainment and staff. We constantly look for ways to better our service and your opinion lets us know that we are on the right way.

Do not hesitate to contact me on your next visit to Gran Canaria.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,874 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    801
    1,136
    620
    193
    124
See reviews for
935
1,069
104
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a week all inclusive at the end of July and absolutely loved it! Before or holiday I had emailed the hotel with certain requests which were responded to promptly. When we arrived we received rooms just as I had requested.

It was my partners birthday on our arrival day and we entered or room to be greeted with a bottle of champagne and a card from the management -nice touch!

There were eight of us in total over four rooms of which were all huge and spotless. The maid service was fantastic, could not fault it.

Food was also good a very wide variety of fresh good which more importantly tasted good.

Animation team were also great and evening entertainment was enjoyable. A wide variety of drinks were avaliable for all inclusive with waiter service and proper sized glasses!

All in all we absolutely loved this hotel and urge people to disregard the bad reviews! Would most definitely return here again. Thanks IFA Burnaventura for a fantastic holiday! :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZoeMonaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Manager at IFA Buenaventura Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Zoe,

Thank you for taking the time to write your opinion about your stay at the IFA Buenaventura Hotel
We are very happy to know that you have enjoyed our services.
We will consider all your comments to keep improving.
Please do not hesitate to contact me on your next visit to our hotel and thank you very much to folloW us also in Facebook

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Firstly I would like to say what a great hotel. This hotel really does cater for everyone, the food is lovely & there is a very big variety at breakfast lunch & dinner. The breakfast is Continental so there is a massive variety some things maybe the British might not consider as breakfast but like I say they cater for all.
There is also some people complaining about noisy people, well what do they expect! People are on holiday to have a good time. The hotel cannot control the type of people that stay there & this should not affect the hotel in any way! However if your looking for somewhere very quiet and boring don't go here! This hotel is all about making people's holidays a good one to remember.
The area of playa del ingles is lovely lots of bars & restaurants and the beach is only a 5 min walk away. All in all this was a great hotel & I will for sure be returning again. But don't be put off by all the bad reviews of people being noisy as this can happen to anyone anywhere this is most certainly NOT the hotels fault. Only bad point no air con this would of made it 10/10

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lou84m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed for 2 weeks end July beginning of August, really looked forward to it and as I'd read the reviews I forwarded an email asking for 2 rooms (3 adults and one child) next to one another and if possible in a quiet area.On arrival there was some confusion re our rooms but this was finally resolved all in Spanish and we were told we had a poolside room on the 3rd floor. The view of the pool was a blue glistening spot through a bunch of palm leaves, the entertainment stopped around 12 midnight so you don't expect it to be quiet immediately but when the noise singing, screaming, running around corridors, knocking on doors, jumping in the pool goes on all through the night every night it gets to you. After 5 days of no sleep we went and changed rooms, there was no sorry about that, do you want to see the other room, no help moving luggage, a take it or leave it attitude, it took 3 days before the receptionist asked if we were ok in our new room.
We've lived in Europe for the last 30 years so are used to all sorts of food but mashed potatoes, sprouts and cauliflower for breakfast was a bit unusual to say the least, food was bland but seeing the size of the hotel that's probably why, we ate out a lot on this holiday. tired and hungry don't make good holiday companions.
To be fair to this hotel they have a hard job, so many different nationalities, so many age ranges, but they really need to decide what they want, family or young singles, the place is so big they could make 2 hotel wings one for family the other for singles. Jet2 has this hotel listed twice with 2 different descriptions, one for families with water park cards the other a general description, seems Jet2 can't decide either. Massive problem they have is controlling the rambling gangs running through the hotel all night and early morning. Have to say there were a lot of really nice youngsters about and everyone deserves a good holiday them included but this is the first hotel I've ever stayed in where management really had no control.
On way back to our room one evening around midnight my grandson wanted something out of one of their machines, next to this machine were 3 lads, 2 held a lad on a chair who they did a mock fight with whilst using all the swear words you could imagine, whilst another large group of young men picked up and put on a counter another lad who was ready to be sick, all drunk loads of shouting and a security guard who picked the boy off the counter and then just walked away. just another night at the ifa beunaventura, great experience for my grandchild not to mention myself and other young families who'd just left entertainment. Also seeing first hand the way security responded didn't encourage contacting them to sort things out.
Sunbeds not enough, pools small and kids not able to play with toys sold in hotel shop.........All the hidden charges, air con, wifi, fridges, safes, etc
As we found pool area too small and our grandson couldn't play with his water toys plus tiredness, we decided that in order to enjoy our holiday it was better to spend as little time as possible in the hotel and thank goodness we did, that made our holiday we loved Gran Canaria and will be going back, but not to this hotel.
Animation group were lovely and did a great job, although it took my grandson going up to one of them 4 days into the holiday to find out what was available, not their fault, pool guys too and some but not all of the staff in the restaurant were also really nice and thank goodness for them as we came across so much anti social behaviour here they helped bring balance in our day when we did spend time in the hotel.
If you have kids who are looking for a place where they can drink, run wild and not worry or care about those around them, this is the place to book for them, they'll have a great time you'll just worry...management's not the word I'd use for the people who are in charge of this hotel.
Strange that management respond on this site to positive reviews but don't bother to respond/acknowledge an email, should have been a warning. but no we still looked forward to our holiday. We thought IFA were a good hotel chain which is why we booked with them, never again would I book an IFA hotel after staying in this one.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bren s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at IFA Buenaventura Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Sir

Thank you very much for sharing and comments your views.
After reading your commentaries thoroughly we would like to apologize for those details which have caused your holidays not to be as pleasant as they should, as per instance the confusion with the rooms on the arrival. As you mentioned, our hotel is big and we normally use to host our guest according their preferences, in a quiet area where there is not animation at night and animation pool area.
We do regret that your experience at our hotel has not been completely satisfactory for you. At the IFA Buenaventura Hotel it is our intention to meet all the needs of our customers and we feel really sorry that in your case we have not been successful.

We can assure that we have taken notice of all your commentaries and opinions, since our aim is to improve our services day after day and communicate all your comments to all concerning departments. Thank you again for sending us your opinion.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I have stayed in numerous all inclusive all over Spain Greece and Spainish islands, and this has to be one of the best! !

The rooms are big and clean.
The whole hotel is always kept clean.
The food was varied and always nice.
The animation team were excellent there shows were always good unlike some other places ive been.
There was even waiter service for drinks at night!
Throughly enjoyed my 11 nights would not hesitate to go back again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scuba-snake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

well where to begin,before we arrived we requested a quiet room via email,never received anything back,on arrival we were given 2 rooms on the 5th floor above the pool which we discovered was the noisy pool as there was no air conditioning in the rooms we had to have the balcony doors open ,there was an extra charge for air conditioning .for 25 euros you could buy a comfort package then you could get wifi,a fridge and a safe for a further 6 euros a day which came to 117 euros for 2 weeks then an extra 100 euros for air conditioning for 2 weeks ,what a rip of considering this holiday cost over £3500,00 for 3 adults and a child this should have been included ,during the nite there were groups of youngsters running wild and the hotel were not able to control these groups ,after 4 nights of no sleep and due to that not really enjoying our holiday we asked if we could move rooms we were asked to come back at 1.30 so we had to pack all our cases again and move which took up at least half a day we were told we were moving to the quiet part of the hotel ,so why were we not put there in the first place .after moving it was still a bit noisy during the night as we were close to the entrance and people were diving in the pool at 4 in the morning.the dinning area was ok sadly the meals were not the food was boring and bland,some of the staff in the dinning area were nice but there were some very rude people, customer service is not really on the top of their list.This hotel is not for families .there are also people who are not staying in this hotel coming in ,my dad and I watched two men come in and dive in the pool then walk out back onto the street again ,the pool areas are not sufficient for the size of the hotel and every morning you have to get up early to be able to get a bed at the pool ,there are also lots of people who put there towels on the sun beds then disappear for hours on end ,this hotel should be better organised ,there should be more security ,we spent more time outside the hotel which cost us a lot of money ,the list of complaints is never ending ,we had to wait for a week before we could see the holiday rep and that was a complete waste of time ,we will be putting in an official complaint to jet2 holidays and I would never go back to this hotel again , I don't know about a 3 star rating its more like a 1 star .its the worst hotel iv ever stayed in .drea2013

Room Tip: rooms in the family side of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drea20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at IFA Buenaventura Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Sir
Thank you very much for your comments. We do regret that your experience at our hotel has not been completely satisfactory for you. We would like to apologize for all the inconveniences you have had. Regarding the air-conditioning the hotel hasn’t got it and it is also advertised in our website. We would like to say that the climate in Canary Islands is very mild. We enjoy a nice temperature almost the whole year around due to the winds so air-con is no really needed just once or twice per year. We would like to point out that we have security guards at night, walking and reporting anything wrong. We do really sorry to hear that there was a bit noisy at night.
You also mention the food being boring and bland. Our variety of food changes every week, presenting a variety of cold and warm food, and every day in the menu we have “home made food” as per instance cream and soup base, two types of fish and meat dishes prepared in different ways, three types of pasta, rice and / or paella and pizza and different garnish and salsas to combine with. In addition to all what you said, we have to apologize if you find the staff been rude in the dinning area. We will communicate all your comments to all the relevant departments.
We can assure that we have written down all your commentaries and opinions since our aim is to improve our services. We hope that you will give us a second chance to welcome you back to our hotel.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 weeks, last week of July into Aug. We went as a party of 12 family hol, On checking in at 10pm we found that we were scattered around different blocks/floors. My daughter immediatly asked to be moved on seeing her 2nd floor room. No view due to trees and it was dark and miserable. That night we were kept awake by noisy gangs around pool area, people coming in from nightclubs running up & down corriders. Had to keep patio doors shut every night through out stay due to noise. Requested to be moved but was told but was told we was not allowed because my daughter had already been moved to a higher floor. We found the food to be nice. Kids preferred the snack bar. We were given the 8,30 sitting but went earlier than that as there were no seats left at entertainment area. Entertainment was ok apart from them going through every language before they got to English, only a small amount of English in this hotel so not interaction with other guests. We spent our days around the quiet pool, bit of a nightmare getting sunbeds for us all in the morning, our biggest annoyance was the fact that they had a shop in the hotel selling inflatables for the pool at at high cost then getting told off the lifeguard they was not allowed in the pool, the kids were dissapointred, asked why do they sell them if they are not allowed? He said it was manager's decision not his, wasnt even allowed a tiny sponge ball. The entertainment team were great came and chatted to you round the pool and had lots of games going on, There was a really great waiter called Vincent who often served our drinks at night, good laugh & personality, We got fed up on the 2nd week and started going round the corner of hotel to the Irish bar Mullingans, happy hour 9-10, good atmosphere and free Wi-Fi for older kids. Overall we had a good family holiday just a few bad points mostly the noise & gangs at night, only seen 1 security guard once on our 2 week stay. Gran Caneria is a lovely place.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debsSalford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at IFA Buenaventura Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your comments about your stay in our hotel. We are very sorry to read that your stay with us did not meet entirely your expectations.
As you mention, we do host here many nationalities, some reasons for that; the hotel is well located, just eight minutes from the beach and close to many leisure areas. Our animation team works very hard to satisfy the needs of all the guests. Regarding the noise and gangs at night, we must say that we have security guards in the hotel and in high season we do increase the numbers of security guards.

Once again, we do appreciate any of your reviews that you have mentioned and we can assure that we will communicate all your comments to the hotel management and different departments. On behalf of all the staff , we would like to apologize for any inconvenience you may had and we would be more than happy to have another possibility to convince you of our three star hotel services.

With our best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
0.4 mi away
IFA Continental Hotel
IFA Continental Hotel
#23 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
2,288 reviews
0.8 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#22 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4,083 reviews
0.6 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#10 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Beverly Park Hotel
Beverly Park Hotel
#110 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,609 reviews
1.1 mi away
IFA Catarina Hotel
IFA Catarina Hotel
#27 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,787 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eugenia Victoria
Hotel Eugenia Victoria
#24 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IFA Buenaventura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IFA Buenaventura Hotel

Property: IFA Buenaventura Hotel
Address: Ganigo 6 - Plaza de Ansite, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#4 Green Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#22 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#28 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — IFA Buenaventura Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 724
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TravelUp, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your IFA Buenaventura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ifa Buenaventura Resort
Hotel Ifa Buenaventura
IFA Buenaventura Hotel Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing