We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An honest review”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
IFA Buenaventura Hotel
Ranked #30 of 135 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I have just returned with a friend from a week at this hotel. It was by far the worst holiday I have ever been on for many reasons.
After reading reviews I was expecting a lot more from the hotel but unfortunately I was only disappointed on frequent occasion.
We arrived around midday and had to wait 25 minutes to check in. We were then given a map to our room which was on the second floor behind some trees near the main pool. On first look all looked pleasant. We chose the first sitting of food which was at half six as half eight would have been far too late to eat. This was where our first problem occurred. The food seemed nice but very plain, though I expected there to be a variety of food during our stay but it remained the same food for lunch and dinner EVERY day. Breakfast was the only meal that slightly altered.
After eating we went out to watch the show and the proceeded out to the club and pub strip. After returning at around 2am we attempted to sleep. It's was however made impossible by the sounds of younger people swimming, playing music and shouting various things until around 5am. We hoped this would be a one off but it continued throughout the week. When we complained we were told that we were to phone reception if there was noise but even when that happened it made little to no difference. Twice during the week we were awoken to our neighbours urinating on their balcony and shouting obscenities.
On to the next issue. There were not enough sun beds for the guest capacity and it meant waking up early to "reserve" beds and then being unable to get to them due to the overcrowding of the sunbeds.
The all inclusive option was not made clear until we arrived, only three bars allowed you to get drinks the others needed paying for, we were also restricted to drinks as the all inclusive was very very limited.
My final complaint was the rooms. There is no air conditioning in the rooms so we had to leave the doors open only adding to the noise. On our last night we had an early flight so shut the doors to try and reduce the noise and found ourselves coughing and sneezing due to dust in the room.
I warn anyone booking this hotel that you should be prepared for no sleep, repetitive food and far too many people.

Room Tip: Stay away from the entertainment area as that is where the most noise is
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rhiannon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,379)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,571 - 1,577 of 3,379 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

we stayed for 2 weeks and had a good holiday the food was good and plenty of it the room was cleaned every day and the staff polite.there are plenty of sun loungers so no need to rush in a morning though some run for the beds the beach is a 5 minuite walk away and the shopping centers are nearby our room 468 overlooked the noisy pool where the entertainment takes place so ok for us but those with young children may want to avoid all in all a great holiday and we will go back

Room Tip: rooms overlooking main pool noisy till midnight higher floors have a better view of the pool late ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michael r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Just come back from 2 week holiday with my 3 children and it was fab, couldn't fault it, we been at this hotel for past 4 years and every year is the same we love or, the staff are great and the staff in restaurant was great always friendly and always talking to my kids everytime plus playing little games with my little girl, the maids was great too, and finally the adimation team especially Sandra and mike and salvo we know this from last year was brill always cheer us up there was great I will always come bk time after time thanks for making my holiday great that I didn't what to
Go home thanks xxx

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jewelsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Just come home after 2 weeks at this hotel. when we arrived we where put in a every end room on ground floor. because I suffer with my breathing I asked could we be moved. The staff not only said yes but we where put into the first room ground floor by the reception area, over looking the pools .maid could not do enough for us. The food was o.k but I don't like food cooked in oil. my 2 girls loved the food the room and every thing about it.

Room Tip: just ask don't moan all week, if they can they will help you. we had end room excellent size bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Just returned after a 10 night stay. We have mixed feelings about this hotel.
We were a party of 4 staying in two rooms - For the first 4 nights we were allocated rooms above the main pool area and entertainment bars. Due to the noise overnight from younger groups we didn't get any sleep at all and asked to be moved.
We were moved to the other end of the complex which was a lot quieter, although still woken at 03:00-03:30 if we left the balcony doors open ( no air con here so doors need to be kept open or youll cook! )
On the plus side the whole complex, rooms, pool area, restaurants and bar areas are always kept spotlessly clean.
We found all the staff hard working and pleasant
The food was of a very good quality and always plenty of choice - especially given the size of the hotel
Be aware this is a large hotel - 7 buildings each 8 stories high!
So plus points :-
Good food
Spotlessly clean throughout
Very pleasant staff
Good animation team and not bad evening entertainment
Bad points :-
Very noisy overnight
No air con in rooms so balcony doors have to be kept open
Not enough pool area space and sunbeds for the size of the hotel

Room Tip: Ensure you ask for a room at the quiet end of the complex!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Had a meeting with the hotel manager on the 7th Aug to discuss the excessive noise inside the hotel on the last few days of our holiday. Said to him that as a paying guest although the noise outside the hotel was out of their control they had a duty to make sure the hotel staff control it's guests inside there at night and their behaviour should not impact or spoil my holiday.I asked for a refund for the affected dates due to their failures, he did apologise but said that the hotel would not compensate for it's lack of service and to take it up with the tour operator. Lopesan, IFA is a chain of hotels so I asked him for the company managers contact details, he refused this also. I said that I would highlight this on tripadvisor, he said "do you really think one bad review will shut this hotel". How arrogant!
He also said that the noise in the hotel grounds at night was sometimes caused by "non guests". The hotel has approximately 1500 to 2000 guests. It only has 2 security guards who not only can't control the idiot, drunks that have a complete lack of respect for other guests during the night - they can't stop strangers getting in either. If they can't control the night time when most are sleeping, how on earth do they manage during the day. Doesn't fill you with confidence does it!
Apart from this arrogant manager, all the bar staff, cleaners and entertainment team were great. Perhaps he could learn some people skills, politeness and empathy from them. I've given the service rating "terrible" due to him and the cleanliness poor due to the dead cockroach left on the restaurant floor for 10 minutes.
I'm off to find out who his manager is and try and get some sense out him. Perhaps he may be more sympathetic to the horror we went through on the last few days of our holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank willrichsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This hotel needs to get way from the hooligans and the noise they make ,coming home at 3-30 in the morning then playing loud music. We just come back from a weeks holiday it was awful never slept. So many people were complaining. Wont go back which is a shame the rooms were fine apart from no a/c,the staff were brilliant ,food good and the animation team made it.

Room Tip: You need a room in front of small pool, but all rooms are hot no air conditioning awful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
0.5 mi away
IFA Continental Hotel
IFA Continental Hotel
#25 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
2,660 reviews
0.7 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#18 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
5,422 reviews
0.6 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#9 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#6 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,322 reviews
0.3 mi away
Labranda Playa Bonita
Labranda Playa Bonita
#19 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,197 reviews
0.5 mi away
IFA Dunamar Hotel
IFA Dunamar Hotel
#22 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IFA Buenaventura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IFA Buenaventura Hotel

Address: Calle Ganigo, 6 | Plaza de Ansite, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#14 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#28 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range: $80 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — IFA Buenaventura Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 724
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Otel, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your IFA Buenaventura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ifa Buenaventura Resort
Hotel Ifa Buenaventura
IFA Buenaventura Hotel Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing