We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
IFA Buenaventura Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Seaside Sandy Beach(Playa del Ingles)
$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Occidental Margaritas(Playa del Ingles)
$132
$124
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$153
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apartamentos Las Orquideas(Playa del Ingles)
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Bohemia Suites & Spa(Playa del Ingles)
$263
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Roque Nublo(Playa del Ingles)
$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
AxelBeach Maspalomas(Playa del Ingles)
$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$196
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel Riu Papayas(Playa del Ingles)
$205
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,516)
Filter reviews
3,516 results
Traveler rating
983
1,368
761
242
162
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
983
1,368
761
242
162
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsanimation teambanana barbritish barhonolulu barquiet poolair conmeeting barquiet sidegran canariasaladsnack barlarge hotelgreat holidaypool areabusy hotelplenty of choicehalf board
Filter
Updating list...
1,735 - 1,740 of 3,516 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stayed over Christmas break for 6 days. couldn't get much more options as the trip was planned last minute. Saw reasonable reviews on tripadvisor, hence went for this Hotel.
To summarize the experience- it was as if we were staying in a "Ryanair " or "Easyjet" hotel. It was akin to low cost airlines, where you only get basic stuff and everything else is paid for. This can not be considered more than a 2 Star hotel. The Hotel is HUGE... too huge . our room seemed almost end of the world. Though rooms are reasonably spacious, it comes minimally equipped. Guess what - you don't get toiletries except 2 bars of crap soap ( Can you believe it). so if you want the toiletries, you have to buy them . Going by quality of soap, we were glad we didnt waste any money on rest of stuff. I am used to paying for safety deposit boxes in Spain so that wasnt a surprise, but the fact that you have to pay to get minibar in the room, toiletries, pool towels, wifi (Euro 8 per day!!) - was shocking. By the way we did pay for wifi for few hours, and signals in the room were so weak that we couldnt use wifi at all, we had to go to the common area ( where signals kept on dropping anyways).

Food was no great shakes either, glad we didnt go all inclusive. Though drinks are cheap but so is the quality ( if you are looking for anything other than beer).

location is ok, about 10 min from beach. Pool was cold ( so was Jacuzzi!!!!). Rarely you would find anyone in the water. Evening entertainment ( or whatever you might call it) was useless, except one night of chinese acrobatics, which was probably the best part of the stay.

There is no way i am staying at this place again( or probably at any IFA). I would rather go for self catering apartment and get more value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rusty78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Manager at IFA Buenaventura Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Dear Mr. Rusty78,

Thank you very much for your sincere commentaries.

We do regret that your experience at our hotel has not been completely satisfactory for you. At the IFA Buenaventura Hotel it is our intention to meet all the needs of our customers and we feel really sorry that in your case we have not been successful.

It would be a pleasure for us to be able to welcome you again at our hotel so that you can see yourself that we are doing all our best to reach service excellence.

If you have the opportunity to come back to our island and although you may not be staying in our hotel, I would still like to greet you and give you my apologies personally.

Yours cordially,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We (21) of us are just back from a brilliant holiday. The hotel was great and most definately the best thing was the animation team. They were great and kept us all fully entertained. We will be back for sure and would really recommend this hotel. McDermotts Glasgow

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Manager at IFA Buenaventura Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

•Good morning,

All the members of the large IFA Buenaventura family would like to thank you for your commentaries about our hotel.

We are very proud to hear that our hotel is being appreciated for its facilities and services.

We do hope that in the future we may continue counting on your loyalty and be able to welcome you again very soon.

Cordially yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

i was with a 20+ group, and it was spacious enough that we could both sit all together at the bars/restaurants, or if we wanted to we could all go our separate ways for a day or so, so many different areas within the complex without even starting on Playa Des Ingles. The Animation Team in particular deserve a massive well done, entertaining people without once being found without a smile on their face, very imaginative and cheery, great variety of shows each day and night.

(I later found out that some people had put in their feedback that they "lacked motivation". I noticed quite the opposite, these guys kept their motivation up despite half of Germany staring at them dour-faced during all their performances and activities. Please, if you're going there and are going to sit stony-faced, stay by the other, quiet pool area or *inside* the German bar rather than sapping the atmosphere for everyone else.)

The selection of food in particular is to be commended, the soups alone varied constantly, on one occasion during dinner they switched two of them over. The New Year's dinner was lovely, as was the set-up for New Years itself.

It's also in a marvellous location, close enough to the main amenities and beach that you can easily walk to them all in ten minutes or less, but far enough away that if you are a person who doesn't like it lively/noisy, you're in your own wee insulated space. All in all, a great hotel.

Room Tip: Try and get them in the 50-90 series, regardless of floor you're close to all the main things, without being right on top of reception, and you've got a very nice all-encompassing view if you're high up.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Manager at IFA Buenaventura Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

•Dear Amigo,

Our customers’ happiness and satisfaction during their stay at the IFA Buenaventura Hotel motivate us to work every day with major enthusiasm trying to fulfil all our guests’ expectations and needs.

Thank you for having chosen our IFA Buenaventura Hotel for your holidays. We do hope that we will be able to welcome you again very soon.

Cordially yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Arrived on Xmas Eve for one week and given a lovely greeting by Sandra in reception who gave us a lovely room on 8th Floor with seaviews without paying any extra. Room was spacious,clean and towels changed every day. As previously said beds a bit on the hard side.
Booked all inclusive so had plenty of food available. Breakfast same each day with usual 'streaky' bacon, eggs, beans etc. Lunch was good choice of salad and hot buffet. Dinner you need to selected a time on arrival we choose the middle service for dinner each evening and had no trouble finding a table. Food was good with plenty of choices but would get a bit repetitive if stayed longer than a week. Pizza/sandwiches even available between 10 - 11 on evening if still hungry. Gala dinner was buffet style with plenty of choice and they made an effort to make it look festive.
Weather was good during the week and there was no problem obtaining a sunbed after breakfast in the quieter pool area. Able to get a drink no problem either by self-service or from bar man at the 'Banana Bar'.
On evening went to 'Tommys' for drinks and again no waiting at any time and waiter service if you required. Watched the 'show' most nights could be a bit hit and miss but top marks for enthusiasm!! AI finished at 11oclock but all entertainment finished before this so did not worry and you could double up if you wanted. Drinks where usual choices only thing missing for me was that they did not have CAVA (which I have usually been able to get on AI in Spain as local and cheap) except at breakfast on 3 mornings during our stay.
Overall excellent customer service and had a great time and would return again as good value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms away from entertainment pool quieter.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rootintootin55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Manager at IFA Buenaventura Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Dear sir,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about the hotel. Were are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed the hotel, Staff , food and Gala dinner. We will pass on your comments to our staff.

We look forward to your return.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Good hotel, excelent customer service, very clean.
Amazing animation team, even if we did'nt participate much there was always something to to to all age group.
The only "thing" about this hotel is food which is not so tasty.
Good selection and loads of choice, unfortunately not so tasty.

Room Tip: Choose room upstairs.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kasia j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Manager at IFA Buenaventura Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Dear sir,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your experience at the Hotel Ifa Buenaventura. We are very happy to learn that you enjoyed your vacation.

We will pass on your compliments to all of our staff and management, and look forward to your next visit.

Sunny regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews