We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything in one place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Eugenia Victoria
Ranked #24 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Izola, Slovenia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Everything in one place”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

After a long search for a hotel in Spain, which should meet our expectaions, we finally found it.
After we`ve seen 10-15 hotels on each of our hollidays on Canary Island, in total about 40 hotels and appartments from 3* on, we`ve known Eugenia Victoria on Playa del Ingles. 1) Helpfull and friendly staff from receptionist on, to the barkeepers and roomladies. They all speak more languages. 2) Quality food. Gratis fresh water all day long, even at the dinner. In the morning fresh made orange juice, included in price. 3) Big, spacy rooms. 4) Roof terrace with FKK department and jacuzzi. 5) And finally the Wellness where can children also enter, at least from 9 a.m. to middday. What is very rare in Spain. In all other Spas it`s allways said that for the children younger than 16 or 18 is prohibitted by law to participate in ?!? Every changing of towells costs 1,- eur. 6) For visit cost and the see there are constantly many free buses in both directions. 7)The prices are very reasonable for all that comfort. Each point is not perfect, but all together make a unique opportunity to have an ideal holliday. 8) Guests are very civilised, majore part come from Germany and Netherlands and are comming constanly.Our family is happy to found it. 9) The only one not such a good thing is that there`s music every night untill 23.30 ?!? what is a bit annoying.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jan_zimmermann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    580
    598
    229
    78
    31
See reviews for
423
703
44
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
mccall44@talktalk.net
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

6TH June to 20th June.
14 Night holiday to the “Hotel Eugenie Victoria” in Play del Ingles Gran Canarias.
First appearance / impression of the hotel as we drove up was of a nice looking place to stay.
The check-in at reception was hassle free and the staff were very friendly and welcoming.
Our room was on the 3rd floor (333) overlooking the pool area, which under normal circumstances would have been an excellent location. The room was basic with plenty of floor space, and was extremely clean and tidy, and was kept up to that standard throughout our stay, which was down to the domestic staff being efficient and also friendly. Now back to the room location – after the first 2 nights, we started to have ingress of food cooking aromas which is not what one wants when sitting on a balcony it was also not very conducive to the panorama / scenery. I can only imagine that this may not have been a problem on the higher levels.
My next comment is regarding the restaurant / dining room, if one is being kind to describe it as such, because most nights at dinner it looked and sounded more like a transport cafe’ with the clientele being dressed in any way they decided and the noise level was deafening. The hotels own rules of dress code being flagrantly ignored, and even though there was notices regarding the said code as well as a staff member at the entrance to the restaurant, it seemed that the blatant disregard for said rules was being condoned by the hotel management.
The food quantity was self evident but not the quality, there was very little food with their own island influence and very much of a mid European type menu. The worst part of this comment is one that has never ever applied to any other hotel that we have stayed in.
A) If one was down to any meal for the first sitting then one found that the tables had been properly laid with the necessary cutlery, dishes and napkins, which is to be expected in any hotel irrespective of their grading.
B) However if one was unlucky enough to appear for the next so called sitting, the tables are only cleared of the debris from the previous diners and not relaid for the next lot of clientele.
C) We had to clean any debris of food from the table cover before collecting the required cutlery, dishes, napkins, e.t.c., and this was not because there was no staff in the dining room, this appeared to be the norm that the staff only removed dirty dishes and utensils.
In the evening the entertainment on the outside terrace was again biased toward our mid European guests and their particular tastes and cultures.
To say that this particular holiday was a disaster from start to finish is putting it mildly, and needless to state that we will never recommend this hotel, and hopefully in the future the management will find it in their remit to either remove the notices regarding all the hotel rules or monitor the situation and “apply the rules” that they have laid down.
Finally, it is the first hotel which we have chosen from a "Thomas Cook" selection over the years we have been customers, and it amazes me that they have any connection with said hotel which does not come up to their normal high standards.

Room Tip: If you decide to go, keep away from right hand side looking out to the pool. "Cooking smells&qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thomas m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed here for 1 week from 18th February 2012. There were 5 of us which included 3 teenage boys. The hotel rooms were big, clean and reasonable equipped. ( more comfortable patio chairs would have been nice).
The food was reasonable. We especially liked the breakfast and lunch at the bar. All the group did struggle with fining something to eat for evening meal though as choice was poor and quality not great.
We were all inclusive and although local drinks we had enough choices and the quality was good. The hotel entertainment was reasonable for families and for those adults who prefer something light there was outside entertainment.
The Well being centre was a winner with all of us especially the teenage boys who used this at least everyday.
We liked it as there wasn't to many British there and I'd gave us the opportunity to meet other nationalities.
I wold go back as this is one of the best all inclusive....please just review the evening meal menu!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mr_Kip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

July last year me and my partner booked a week in the sun and the Tomas cook travel agent told us this was a 4star and lovely close to beach etc etc etc so we booked it.

Rooms had no air con as they were 3star but Tomas rates them 4star, we was even the wrong room we paid for at first then after arguing got given their spare room.

Their staff are rude and not helpful, the food was dry and the same over and over again, the pool was very small for the amount of rooms they had therefore there was never any space.
Close to the beach in their eyes is a 20min walk or a cab trip.
Hardly no English we must of seen 2-3 English couples.

And the Tomas cook rep was a [--], not helpful and offered a better hotel but we had to pay more up front and then told us its the wrong hotel for a English couple.
The rep was hardly there, and just made you angry the way he spoke to you.

Will never return, and will never go through Tomas cook again....

First choice / Thomson now on.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank leechase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Tripadvisor can make booking a holiday so much easier… or sometimes so much harder. With such a variety of people a holiday has to appeal to, you never really know what to expect or what the person who is writing the review is like, but believe us - we simply had the best holiday ever. Yes the weather was great, Yes we managed to venture out on a couple of trips… but having the Hotel Eugenia Victoria to return to after a day out on an adventure or having a relaxing day by the pool, really did make our holiday. So much so we are looking at returning in September.

Many reviews have the hotel down as dreary with out of date décor… it really doesn’t. Yes the staff may seem to favour other guests when you first arrive. But after a few smiles and “grassy [--]”, you won’t have any problems getting served for drinks. We can’t write a review without mentioning the absolutely fantastic lady (Blonde hair and glasses, not the pregnant one) who works at reception. She really was a gem with so much knowledge of the area and trips. She also helped us with confirming our transfer back to the airport. If you ever have any probs we’d certainly recommend going straight to her.

Our room was a really great size. Nice big sofa and dining area. All of the rooms face the pool (even number rooms get the sun from midday onwards). The hotel doesn’t have air conditioning but we can honestly say we didn’t get too hot despite temperatures of around 19 degrees during the night so don’t let that deter you. There is also plenty of wardrobe space and a nice bathroom with hairdryer.

Towels are put on the sun loungers by the pool at around 7.30am. If you’re planning on sun bathing from 10ish we’d recommend trying to beat the early risers. However if you don’t fancy an early start then the sun loungers start to free up from 1ish. We found the sun didn’t really come over the pool until after midday. Much better to either take a (free) bus to the beach, which runs every hour OR as we did, go to the Wellness Centre. This place is amazing. Saunas/menthol room/steam room/Jacuzzi/waterfalls/snow room/dead sea/ice bath. Considering we were moved to the Eugenia because the outside pool at the hotel we originally booked was out of service and we didn’t want to spend a lot of our time in an indoor pool, it was pretty ironic that we spent at least an hour every day inside the Wellness Centre!! Make sure you also take a trip up to the roof top solarium, even just for the views.

We’ve never done all inclusive before so we can’t really make any comparisons with what’s on offer. Breakfast caters for all, English – cooked breakfast, Germans – cooked meats, yoghurt and fruit. French – a variety of breads. Lunch is served in the restaurant, poolbar and at the bar next to the Wellness Centre. Don’t bother with the restaurant and only go to the poolside bar for snacks. The bar next to the Wellness c
Centre is by far superior. They offer a steak on a stone and a mixture of grills/pizzas all made to order. Dinner service consists of four different meats/fish cooked on a grill, with salads, chips, pizza, pastas. A lot of it is aimed at the German clientele but its interesting trying new things, especially when it’s free!! There is a large cheese counter and pastries for dessert. Not forgetting the numerous varieties of icecream they have.

Entertainment was …limited. Do not expect much when you see “the Hotel Eugenia Entertainment team” around the hotel, this consists of three people! It starts at 9pm, this includes bingo, karaoke, musical renditions and on one night we had four parrots that could count and ride bikes! By the pool bar there is a live house band (husband and wife?) who sing and play the oldies. It’s quite entertaining watching the Germans dance the night away. For the kiddies there is a crazy golf, play area, two swimming areas and downstairs arcade room with pingpong and pool. We recommend a pack of cards around the tables near the swimming pool!!

To summarise, the Hotel Eugenia is a fantastic hotel. It has many things to offer and we are sure 99% of its visitors leave feeling refreshed and having had a great time. We were actually really sad to leave!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahHazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Came back last Monday after a week of all-inclusive at the hotel. The hotel compared very favourably with other recent hotels as far as food was concerned. The Solarium on the 8th floor was a hidden gem with great views out to the sand dunes and beyond. The staff were helpful and friendly and managed to sort out a parking ticket I had picked up whilst doing someone a favour with a lift to Maspalomas Dunes as they couldn't walk well! The drinks were good the food at the poolside bars was also excellent. The weather wasn't great for the first half of the week but I couldn't place that at the door of the hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Lovely holiday. Second time here at the hotel. Rooms are basic. Great that finally ITV is now available on the tv in the rooms. Cleaners did a great job for the whole two weeks. Fantastic spa. Great place to relax after a day of sunbathing. Difficult getting a lounger as the dutch and Germans have their towels out first thing in the morning. The solarium on the roof is better, it trends to be quiet and if you don't mind going nude then you will be guaranteed a lounger. Spent the 2 weeks in the nudest section and loved it. Would I stay here again? A definate Yes.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Escorial & Spa
Hotel Escorial & Spa
#19 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
866 reviews
0.4 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#18 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4,713 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#5 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Neptuno Gran Canaria
Hotel Neptuno Gran Canaria
#12 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,243 reviews
0.4 mi away
HD Parque Cristobal Gran Canaria
HD Parque Cristobal Gran Canaria
#30 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,605 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sol Barbacan Hotel
Sol Barbacan Hotel
#6 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eugenia Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eugenia Victoria

Property: Hotel Eugenia Victoria
Address: Avda. de Gran Canaria, 26, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#21 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Eugenia Victoria 3*
Number of rooms: 498
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eugenia Victoria Hotel is one of the most popular 3 star hotels in Playa del Ingles and offers something for everyone with multiple attractions, sport and leisure. It has one of the largest SPA center of Playa del Ingles, with free access for clietents of the hotel. It also offers a free shuttlebus to go to the beach. The hotel has many modern facilities and a wide range of cuisine what make the Hotel Eugenia Victoria the ideal place for a pleasant and relaxing holiday. From a privileged location in Playa del Ingles, the Hotel Eugenia Victoria has excellent facilities and spacious gardens that help to make your stay in Gran Canaria a real pleasure. Playa del Ingles is the best known of the island of Gran Canaria tourist area with a lot of shopping malls and leisure facilities, great entertainment during day and nighttime and with a good public transport connection to all directions. There is a free parkingplace on the side of the hotel and wi-fi is free of charge and available in public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Eugenia Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eugenia Victoria Playa Del Ingles
Eugenia Victoria Gran Canaria
Hotel Eugenia Victoria Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing