We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best hotel yet!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Eugenia Victoria
Ranked #27 of 135 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Reviewed September 20, 2011

having written two reviews on the jardin de sol and having stayed at the gran canaria princess twice, this was our 5th time me and my partner booked a late deal with thomas cook which we had never done before and they offered us the eugenia victoria 7 nights half board, all i can say is it was amazing definately worthy of being a 4star as stated i the previous review and well worth the money as we have paid a lot more for less, we stayed in room 500 it had the most amazing view (see pics) staff were friendly and quite a lot of english, the germans werent a problem actually most of them were polite but you have to remember it is german owned, the food was great but guarapos just on the left is still the best for eating at lunch times and very cheap if like me your not full board but for an extra 16 euros per day u can get all inclusive the hotel itself is huge everything you could want, and please check out the roof top terrace on floor 8 (solarium) at the end of the corrider sunbeds galore, toilet shower and a jacuzzi!! i cant rate this hotel enough it really was the best yet and would definately go back, check in is swift rooms are well kept and the maids came everyday, rooms have a fan it does the job we had no problems, safe ket is 23 euros with ten back on check out, fridge is free it may not seem like its on but it is so dont worry if you think its broke. you have a key card to use front or back entrance which saves walking round as you will see, massage sauna area which may come at an extra cost but some of it is free, anyway if you want the best hotel stay here you wont be disappointed.

Room Tip: if your hard of walking take a low floor, but if not go for rooms 300 400 500 600 they are right in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,621)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

839 - 845 of 1,621 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2011

all the excellent reviews about this hotel are correct.the hotel is way above its 3 star rating and this confuses me, however ,much as as been said about this hotel and im not even going to try to give my version of what other good reviews have already stated, but believe me they are all true.what i would like you to know is that even at the end of our holiday we where allowed to keep our room on for longer at NO EXTRA COST! .also after we did eventually have to check out a few hours later we were supplied with another room FREE OF CHARGE! to shower and change before our pick up.nothing at all is too much trouble for the staff, and the service provided was top notch right up until departure time.if you find trouble with this hotel ,then as far as im concerned you went looking for it, lol, take care ,have a great holiday, we did!

Room Tip: do not accept a room ending in 58 , they only have bathroom and bedroom, and dont have the living ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank palmer73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Stayed here end of August/Begining September this year.

The entrance to the hotel is dated, as already said before. it is ok though and clean which is always
a good start.

We got to the hotel at 10.30am, the rooms were not ready (pretty standard at this time of the
morning) and we were told to come back at 1. Before we left the desk they checked us in and gave us our wrist bands so we could enjoy the all inclusive. Personally I didnt mind waiting for my room when I could out in the sun and have a couple of beers.

The area around the swimming pool is very nice, various areas of dotted chairs and canopy's around so you can socialise without sitting in the direct sun, the plants/trees etc were all very nice and made the hotel feel very welcoming.

Once we got to the room I wasn't dissapointed, not that it was anything special but because I had
already read reviews and knew what to expect. As you walk in there are two single beds with wardrobe space, you then walk through a small corridor where the bathroom is located and then into the main living room. In here there was one sprung single bed (fold out type) and one sofa which had the sheets on ready to sleep, both were ok, we slept fine. The decor was dated, dark brown wood everywhere, it was fine though, no sign of cockroaches or anything so I was happy. The maid came every day and made the beds, they seemed to sweep the floor a couple of days out of the week, forget the dusting though, doesnt happen. The room got pretty hot due to no air con, we gave the kids the two beds as it had a fan above, we slept on the sofa and single bed.It wasnt too noisy with the doors open and believe it or not we didnt see one Mozzy, very surprised, it was bearable sleeping but wish they would either put a fan in the living room or some air con. All rooms look over the pool which for us was a great bonus, no need to upgrade. There were 4 lifts, all working fine so no waiting around to get to your room, I believe there were 8 levels on this hotel.

Food was pretty good, there was plenty of choice. Being a meat eater and hating Veg/Salad I normally have issues with all inclusive however there was plenty of choice. Mornings you could have continental breakfasts, english breakfasts cerial, toast, crepes etc, there really was so much choice. For lunch you can either go to the buffet, pool bar (burgers, hot dogs, deep fried spring roll things - not too good) or the terrace restaurant. All the food off of the menu was inclusive,
this included things like Fillet steak (all goes very quickly, make sure you are there by 1pm) rump
steak, Half chicken, pizza, pasta, fish, calamari etc, the food really was very good although service
was pretty slow. One of my gripes with the hotel is that they tend to serve spanish people or ones
that tip before everyone else, you get used to it though and just be patient, you will get served in
the end. The same thing can be said for the bar, there tend to be people who are served drinks before they even get to the bar while others are waiting there for several minutes, again, I am a patient person so just put up with it. One major advantage with the drinks is that you can get the
international brands as part of your package. When you get there you will be given a list of all the
drinks included, there are actaully more than this but just check at the bar before you order your
Tia Maria. If you want Smirnof then ask for it, if you ask for Vodka and coke chances are you will
get the local paint stripper, this is to be expected though. There is a self service bar near the terrace restaurant, this serves soft drinks, water and lager, very handy if you dont want to wait at
the main bars.
Evening meals were again pretty good, loads of choice, most nights there were several ice creams, various meats and pretty much always fish and meat on the grill. I never found anything undercooked, infact the cooking was always pretty much spot on, was a bit bland but they do have plenty of Tobasco and Maggi sauce to liven things up.

The wellness centre, what can you say, it was lovely. Dead sea pool, sauna, Jaccuzzi, pool with
various things like bubble beds, water fountains etc. Lots there and all free apart from seperate
treatments, perfect. We went here almost every day.

Swimming pool was fine, it wasn't that big but there was always plenty of room for everyone to splash around. Sunbeds were interesting, people were putting out towels from about 5.30am, dont worry though there are loads of beds if you dont mind where you sit, the hard ones to get were around the pool, this is the same wherever you go though. The only thing I wish they would stop is people putting towels on the beds at 6am and not getting to the pool till 4pm. It would be nice if they would remove towels if nobody has used them for an hour or two. There is a hot tub and sunbeds on the roof, part is for everyone, part is for nudists, the nude part is seperated with frosted glass so its fine if you want to take your family onto the roof, we only went there once, way too hot for us.

Entertainment - There was entertainment inside throughout the week, every other night was a proffessional show of some kind, flamenco dancers etc. Whilst we would have watched this it was far too hot inside so we sat outside every night. Yes outside was a couple every night playing the keyboard, singing, sometimes with a guitar or harminica. Personally we liked this, some of the couples got up and danced, the music varied and quite a few of the songs you knew so could sing along. We took the cards out a few nights and played whilst it was on, it was acceptable so no issues there. There is an entertainment team who run various things throughout the day, we never actually joined in but saw the list which included things like shooting, mini golf (on site, around 2 euros each if you wanted to play any other time than with the reps) pizza making etc.

The area, well, this was the worse bit for me but no fault of the hotel. The restaurants were empty, not a lot around th area at all. The Yumbo centre was just full of the same old touristy shops, well over priced. The beach was heaving and yes it was sandy but not very appealing (about 10-15 minutes walk), water wasnt clear but hey, not a lot they can do about that. Very little to do outside in the evening and not a lot in the way of trips etc other than the waterpark or Palmento's park. Would work out quite expensive if you had a family.

Staff there were ok, the men behind the bar were a bit miserable, the women were lovely and actually smiled. People at reception were always there to help and polite enough, one chap there (didnt get his name) advised us on shopping etc in the area, very helpful.

Would I return to this hotel, well sadly no, it is only because of the area, move the hotel and yes
definitely.

Room Tip: All rooms are overlooking the pool, the higher up you go the better air flow to help with sleeping a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank DaveLovesHisHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

we stayed in this hotel in may of this year, only getting round to reviewing it now!!
on first impressions when you are dropped of by the coach the entrance is quite dated, the hotel has been going through a very comprehensive renovation program over the past few years, the parts that have been done have been done to a good standard, the bits that are still to be done really need refurbished but dont take away from your enjoyment of the hotel!
the rooms are big and were possibly originally apartments, these are fully renovated and have a bedroom with good built in robes a fully renovated bathroom with a powerful shower and a seperate living room with large balcony off, all rooms face the pool.
the swimming pool and gardens are very well maintained with plenty of sunbeds, never a problem getting a bed.
the health spa is brilliant and a real bonus is its included in the price, a nice place to relax after sun bathing
we were all inclusive, i always asked for and got smirnoff vodka, bottles of wine were also freshly opened and handed over when requested. the food was varied although we found lunch the best as you can have table service poolside with feshly cooked chicken and steaks etc
the internet suite is great and free to use as well as a very large well equipped games room, the entertainment is just ok but we were with a crowd so werent too bothered, we tipped the barmen and had drinks constantly brought over to our table each night
we are planning a return visit next year!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rayBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

My 2 children I stayed at the EV from the 17th to the 31st August 2011. Booked through teletext holidays and it was completely stress free. I cannot praise the hotel enough. The food was fantastic, plentiful and different everyday. You would have to be incredibly fussy not to find something delicious to eat. The rooms are very spacious if a little quirky but they served us very well, as did our maid who was great. There is a ceiling fan in the bedroom area but we hired an air-conditioning unit via reception and it was well worth the money.
The entertainment was a bit hit and miss but did its best to entertain a large age range. Some nights were better than others but there were some very good shows. During the day we took part in Salsa lessons, Spanish lesson, aqua aerobics, pizza making, riffle shooting, diving tuition, mini golf etc so never short of something to do. The gym was very good but could do with being air-conditioned and the wellness centre was absolutely fantastic.
The staff were in the main very helpful and polite. We were 'adopted' by the Thomas Cook rep Steve who booked some trips for us and went out of his way to ensure we were having a good time. He was very funny and an absolute credit to his company.
The only downside was the sunbed situation with people putting towels on sunbeds at ridiculous hours in the morning. I decided that the only way to get a decent spot was 'if you can't beat em, join em' . Not wishing to tar everyone with the same brush, I found a proportion of the very large dutch guest population to be very rude to the extreme and I am usually a very tolerent person.
All in all we had a fantastic holiday and would return in the future

Room Tip: The lower the number, the nearer the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wildthangs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

My 2nd trip to this hotel in the past year - which says alot! It was actually better than I remember!

The conversion of one of the tennis courts to an additional sun terrace has resolved the shortage of sun beds experienced on my last trip (TIP - the roof top terrace is very quiet).

Also the fact that the A La Carte menu at the terrace bar is included in the AI totally passed me by last time! The menu has prices - so we assumed it wasnt included. This made the eating experience very different as offered an excellent alternative to main buffet at lunchtime (TIP - make sure you order the steak on a stone at 1pm - they are so popular they are gone in 15 minutes).

The underground spa continues to be the best I have been to even in the ultra 5* hotels I have visited.

Not wanting to take away from this hotel - I think Gran Canaria has had its day. The island is feeling old and tired now and the Yumbo hasnt changed in the past 20 years I have been going. You can get much more luxurious hotels, better food and great entertainment in Egypt for less these days.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a refurbished room (eg 502) - only half the rooms have been upgraded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dazbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Stayed at EV in August 2011 on a late deal, chosen predominantly due to the reviews. We travelled as a party of 8; 2 families of 4 with kids aged, 5, 6, 8 and 9. What a great choice the EV turned out to be; lovely rooms (just remember to check that the ceiling fan is on the fast speed !), amazing wellness centre (easpecially the dead sea), best hotel gym I have ever used and brilliant food.

The hotel runs an hourly coach to the beach, which is approx. 1km away. It is walkable, but why bother when the coach service is so good. The pool is large and there are plenty of sunbeds. The ones directly around the pool go quickly, so if you have small children and want to watch over them in the pool, you will need to 'reserve' your loungers by about 8am.

There are 3 bars open during the day; a pool bar offering snacks, a self service bar (beer, water and soft drinks) and a large terrace bar. In the evening the terrace bar is open, as well as the main indoor lounge bar.

Lunchtime food is a real bonus offering the choice of an 'a la carte' menu served from the outdoor terrace or the more traditional buffet selection in the main restaurant (which also has a large outdoor terrace). Top tip : you must try the steak served on a hot stone and home made pizzas (served in the small seating area at the self serve bar).

The hotel has free wi-fi throughout (great facility, if a little unreliable) and a cyber cafe with plenty of PCs and apple macs. Again, this is free.

The only downsides were the evening entertainment which was generally poor, and the daytime activities (especially mini club). However, we travelled with friends, so this was not a great issue.

Overall, the EV is an excellent hotel and great value, with facilities and food way above the 3 star official rating.

Room Tip: Book odd numbered rooms as they don't get as much sun so will be cooler
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Escorial & Spa
Hotel Escorial & Spa
#21 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
914 reviews
0.4 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#18 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
5,422 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#6 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Caserio
Hotel Caserio
#28 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
238 reviews
0.4 mi away
HD Parque Cristobal Gran Canaria
HD Parque Cristobal Gran Canaria
#24 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,923 reviews
0.3 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#9 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eugenia Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eugenia Victoria

Address: Avda. de Gran Canaria, 26, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#21 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range: $113 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Eugenia Victoria 3*
Number of rooms: 498
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eugenia Victoria Hotel is one of the most popular 3 star hotels in Playa del Ingles and offers something for everyone with multiple attractions, sport and leisure. It has one of the largest SPA center of Playa del Ingles, with free access for clietents of the hotel. It also offers a free shuttlebus to go to the beach. The hotel has many modern facilities and a wide range of cuisine what make the Hotel Eugenia Victoria the ideal place for a pleasant and relaxing holiday. From a privileged location in Playa del Ingles, the Hotel Eugenia Victoria has excellent facilities and spacious gardens that help to make your stay in Gran Canaria a real pleasure. Playa del Ingles is the best known of the island of Gran Canaria tourist area with a lot of shopping malls and leisure facilities, great entertainment during day and nighttime and with a good public transport connection to all directions. There is a free parkingplace on the side of the hotel and wi-fi is free of charge and available in public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Eugenia Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eugenia Victoria Playa Del Ingles
Eugenia Victoria Gran Canaria
Hotel Eugenia Victoria Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing