We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Corona Roja - Playa del Ingles
Ranked #108 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Basic”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

A typical 1980s multi storey hotel, not been altered since.Needs updating and renovating as it's getting a bit tired and worn out.I had a small apartment on the 2nd floor down a strange maze of zig zag corridors. 2 single beds and fold out settee, en suite with shower only,a 2 ring hot plate and fridge, no kettle or air con, which can be rented at extra cost, slot pay t.v.. No balcony, opening window overlooks pool, noisy motorway traffic passes by.Extra cost for room safe. Not luxury but adequate for a nights sleep.Buffet breakfast not a great selection. At the San Augustin end , near the beach and a short stroll into the town centre past plenty of bars and restaurants.
Steep steps down to the main beach area, there is a lift which rarely works which goes halfway down to more steps and a steep ramp, not wheelchair friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keith b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    170
    175
    103
    157
See reviews for
135
205
35
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

My self and a friend stayed in the corona Roja and I after one week of a 4 week holiday checked out as my room was never cleaned the staff including the English staff were extremely rude blood was found in the beds and blood stained walls through out the hotel , the entire room was filled with pubic hair , spiders and mold etc I was also robbed my laptop, iPad and some clothing were stolled from my LOCKED room after speaking to the staff they ensured me that only staff members would have entered my room so basicly the staff are not to be trusted DO NOT STAY HERE if you have enjoyed the corona Roja you have clearly no self respect !!!!

Room Tip: Don't even think about it !! Send Alex polizzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Benji1411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Playa del Ingles hotels

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 26, 2013

well i took my bro for a week on the 17th-24th october 13 my 6th visit to the hotel..
we arrived and we was greeted well by the reception staff.they upgraded us as we had a studio appartment went to a 7th floor over looking plays del ingles
food was good fresh and edalble.something for everyone
drinks were good......the staff as per usual were the best ...serbastian-kay-julie-marcus they looked after me and my bro..and the man who cleaned around the pool all day was lovely even on his day off we helped him clean up after people because he was a friendly guy who chatted along the way.....met come lovely people out there and there is going to be a big gang of us... returning in oct....im off to corona roja in march on my own......ps the cleaner looked after us too so overal 100% staff were great......thanks corona ....malcolm barnes

Room Tip: higher the better over looking the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mally b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We spent a week there in early oct, all inclusive. Had to upgrade room on arrival, the ' studio' was a tiny double, no air con and no balcony was like a hot house. so paid an extra 70 euros to have a one bed apartment, we were.told there were no other rooms available, but hotel was obviously no near full.
Staff ok generally. Little choice of food, although it was OK it was always cold.
poor entertainment, nothing after 9pm
Hotel is well located near shops, bars ect, good bus routes to visit other places, met some great people, so enjoyed the holiday, def go back to Gran Canaria but not to the Corona Roja

Room Tip: Make sure there is a balcony as there is no air conditioning in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hilary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Corna Roja

Reception ok don’t speak much English. Free Wifi only in reception area not always working, women on lunchtime does not know anything about internet.
Hand dryers do not work in toilets in reception, quite often no toilet paper in ladies.
Room: Very small, glitter hair spray stuck to headboard. Sheets never changed, sheets pulled straight in a made way, but long dark hairs everywhere & my partner & I are both fair. Bath so small shower curtain stuck to you when you turned the water on, no plugs in sink or bath.
Pool: In desperate need of refurbishment & good clean, greasy scum stuck to tiles round outside, many of which are broken, concrete edge all broken
Bar does not open till 11.00hrs for soft or alcoholic drinks
Food: Breakfast only cooked food were sausages some re-heated from night before, baked beans, once bacon, twice scrambled eggs, hard boiled eggs.
Lunch and dinner small selection, many repeats.
Entertainment: In the evening sometimes a chap with a guitar or who sung on a karaoke machine, left a lot to be desired, this was in the dining room from 1830-21.00 while you were eating dinner.
There was no comfortable seats to sit anywhere in the evening, just outside on plastic chairs with all the smokers or on dining chairs in the bar area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnMac2649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Just back from a week all inclusive rooms were basic as was food fine as long as you are not a holiday snob would go again and please do not believe some of the horror reviews they are extremely over exaggerated

Room Tip: Hotel has 15 floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tamcollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Great location for beach and restaurants, but only gets 3 stars because the hotel itself is not that good. We asked on the booking form for quite rooms and although the disclaimer said that it may not be able to accommodate, I felt that they looked at the comments and did the total opposite as my room was 3 doors away from the lifts and stairs as well as had the noise from the busy motorway and pool area.
They also charge for using the safe in the rooms as well as the television (although I don't usually watch when abroad so didn't miss this) and have no kettle/coffee maker or microwave in the rooms but they can be hired. There is a 2 ring hob and the provide a saucepan so you can heat water up for tea and coffee and I ended up buying a mug in one of the local shops as the tea cups are small.
I was on the second floor and although the room did become hot, I could cool it down by leaving the windows open and closing the fabric part of the curtains (the backing was blackout type material) allowing the cool breeze in but shutting out the sun. Fans and air con can be hired from reception but coped with the heat ok.
Overall the place was clean and I didn't mind housekeeping every other day, could have done with extra towels but I find this the case with most hotels. The room was only used as a place to sleep and rest up as we hired a car and explored the island or headed to the beach. There was some free parking outside the hotel and we were lucky the whole week but I can imagine it to be really difficult to park in peak season.
I had breakfast the first morning I was there and for 5 euros it wasn't too bad. Again basic but you could fill up, not full English but had sausages, beans and boiled eggs as well as the usual continental of toast, cereal, yoghurt, cheese, ham and tea/coffee.
I did use the pool but it was a bit small and generally used by children so if you want to swim and you don't mind swimming in the sea, this is probably your best bet.
In summary a basic apartment hotel that is clean but has few facilities in rooms, if on a budget try and spend a little extra for a one bed apartment with balconies so you have somewhere nice to sit (a friend upgraded and this room was more spacious but lacked the same equipment as mine), but it is possible to have a studio and enjoy your week away.

Room Tip: The hotel is situated by a busy main road so if you are a light sleeper get a room with air con or h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Ingles
2.5 mi away
Bungalows Vista Oasis Apartments
0.4 mi away
Jardin del Atlantico
Jardin del Atlantico
#123 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Green Field
Hotel Green Field
#50 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beverly Park Hotel
Beverly Park Hotel
#105 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,630 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apartamentos Las Faluas
Apartamentos Las Faluas
#69 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.7 mi away
Apartamentos Amazonas
Apartamentos Amazonas
#57 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corona Roja - Playa del Ingles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corona Roja - Playa del Ingles

Property: Corona Roja - Playa del Ingles
Address: Calle El Pez 6, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Corona Roja - Playa del Ingles 2*
Number of rooms: 330
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Corona Roja - Playa del Ingles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corona Roja - Playa Del Ingles Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Corona Roja - Playa Del Ingles Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing