We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great value friendly efficient staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Corona Roja - Playa del Ingles
Ranked #108 of 135 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great value friendly efficient staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

stayed here in may .cheapest place i could find was given a room with no balcony, a window 6 feet up from the ground and no gap between beds so it did resemble a prison cell lol but because i was alone it wasnt an issue and was impressed with the condition of room and utilities and the firm mattress liked being on the first floor didn't have to contend with lifts.i stayed room only and most morning paid the 5 euro for breakfast .not great but adequate,neither was the snack menu but i was impressed with the restaurant menu and also the service friendly professional and efficient.the only disappointment i had was the wifi only available in the lobby and barely worked.as for location for me it was central enough im a fast walker so kasbah is a 15 min walk yumbo 20 mins.also u can use public bus to go to airport its only around the corner in the tropical; shopping arcade takes 35 mins . to sum it up i paid peanuts got nuts and a beer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pcossie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    168
    171
    102
    155
See reviews for
129
204
34
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

I have just return from a holiday with 4 friends. We were apprehensive about staying in this hotel after reading the reviews. When we arrived and saw a huge tower block our nerves weren't really settled! However, when we got inside we saw that everything was clean, well kept and the staff were friendly and helpful.
Our room was very clean and tidy upon arrival. In order to have air conditioning you had to pay extra, we didn't do this and had no problem sleeping at night. The maids came in, changed the bed, cleaned the bathroom and didn't touch any of our stuff - I noticed that some people have commented on this.
Having never been on an all inclusive holiday, I didn't have high expectations for the food. However, once again, I was suprised. The food was very nice all be it that each day was a varient of the same thing.
When looking at reviews I picked up that there seemed to be a lot of complaints concerning the pool. Although there were some broken tiles, it wasn't dangerous and it was perfectly reasonable. The building did not put the pool into the shade until about 4/5pm. It wasn't crowed and there were plenty of sunbeds available. In fact, we spen most of our time there!
We would definitely stay in this hotel again. It was absolutely perfect for what we wanted.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jessjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

me and my husband just got back from a 10 day holiday here. the hotel cost £911 all inclusive for the 2 of us. very poor standards...no air con which made it very hard to sleep in temperatures of up to 35 degrees. drains were very smelly with a stagnant water smell, cock roaches in the bathroom. there was one window that opened but didn't make no difference.1 euro gave you one hour of tv which shows porn channels in the daytime no nice for the little ones to see and there is no warning. food is the same boring things sausage one day turned into casserole the next day with the left overs and the eggs were left in the shells at breakfast then at tea time they would turn them into egg and mayonnaise. sweaty cheese slices, cows liver, and sour salad was a everyday things .staff very rude there and the cleaners tend to be very nosey when cleaning your room for instance there was a small patch on the pillowcase of which I intended to buy some bleach and wash it and after the cleaner had been the reception called threatening me with a bill .within a couple of minutes in soak the pillowcase was as good as new so beware of the cleaners. bar staff are rude and are not very helpful, while waiting for a coach outside the corona roja there was mice running across the fore court never again shall I visit this place it was more like jail than a holiday. beware

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ukbirdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Playa del Ingles hotels

Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

i dont no what all the fuss is about. nice hotel. well placed just what you need for a holiday!! food was basic but had some variety and the staff were as helpful as anywhere i have stayed before. i requested a balcony on arrival so the receprionist changed the room. pool was loverly plenty of sun loungers and as many slushes as you can drink ..... happy days

Room Tip: aim for floors about the 7th
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnMcKenna1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I went on holiday with 3 others from 10th july - 17th july. We were slightly apprehensive after reading some of the reviews on here. Two of the people in our group arrived a day early and ensured that my friend and I got a room with a balcony (which we didn't before). The other two did not have a balcony and so the room was smaller and far hotter because you couldn't leave the back door open.
Upon arrival we were told to keep the noise down and not to have parties. But this was fine and even though we were going out every night (we range from 19-22 years old) we never had an issue.
The room we had was large and although there is no air con we kept it cool by leaving the front and the back door, creating a sort of wind tunnel.
The room was really clean and the cleaners came everyday and changed the towels every 3 days.It wasn't a massive issue, but in the self-catering rooms, the facilities consist of a fridge and two hob rings. The pots, plates, cutlery, etc. are supplied.
The pool could do with a bit of a touch up but we were more than happy.
The other guests were really friendly and there wasn't a shortage of sunbeds or space.
The weather was consistently hot.
I'd recommend this hotel and would go back again, you get what you pay for really!
I'd also recommend going to the restaurants by the beach (left out of the hotel), but go to the second restaurant on the left, the first one mucked us around with money.

Room Tip: The lift is slow so try and get a room on a lower floor so you can just use the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhiannacompton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Before going on a 10 day holiday to these apartments I had researched the apartments and read most reviews on various websites. Apart from a few positive feedbacks, the majority were negative and off-putting. I prepared myself for a low standard and was expecting the worst of the worst. In fact the holiday ended up being great. The rooms were good with comfortable beds, clean bathroom facilities and a decent kitchen area. The pool was also lovely and clean, with a bar close by and restaurant just beside it. The food from the bar was always lovely and perfect for some brunch each morning. I found the staff to be okay. Not exactly overly friendly but did their job and kept out of the way. The lifts inside the hotel were visibly old and not exactly modern but we were on the second floor so we just used the stairs. With the angle and positioning of the building the pool area was almost completely shaded by 4 or 5 each day but a short walk to the beach meant another few hours of sunshine. The apartments are a short 2-3 minutes walk from a lovely beach and are also very close to a few restaurants where the staff were always so welcoming. With a well stocked small supermarket just at the front door of the hotel, we were never short of anything. I went with a group of 13 people mixed with lads and girls and all of us were taken back by how nice the hotel was given the reviews we had read beforehand. It must be true that people will always talk about bad experiences more so than good ones. I could find little wrong with this hotel and would recommend it to other people in their early 20's as well as family members.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Seaan1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

My partner and myself visited Corona Roja in June and was my 1st time of going abroad... it was very disappointin and our experience nearly put us off going back to Gran Canaria... There are people selling tickets to clubs which were a rip off....
The hotel staff were rude we found a cockroach in our room and didnt get an apology also took 24hours for room to be infumigated...
The food was boring and not worth the money and the staff in the bar were rude and tried overcharging us €10 on our 1st night...
if you go to Gran Canaria I would avoid Corona Roja...

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gook605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Ingles
2.5 mi away
Bungalows Vista Oasis Apartments
0.4 mi away
Jardin del Atlantico
Jardin del Atlantico
#124 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Green Field
Hotel Green Field
#53 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beverly Park Hotel
Beverly Park Hotel
#109 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,610 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apartamentos Las Faluas
Apartamentos Las Faluas
#77 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.7 mi away
Apartamentos Amazonas
Apartamentos Amazonas
#60 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corona Roja - Playa del Ingles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corona Roja - Playa del Ingles

Property: Corona Roja - Playa del Ingles
Address: Calle El Pez 6, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 135 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Corona Roja - Playa del Ingles 2*
Number of rooms: 330
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Corona Roja - Playa del Ingles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corona Roja - Playa Del Ingles Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Corona Roja - Playa Del Ingles Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing