We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why don't you all stop whinging”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Corona Roja - Playa del Ingles
Ranked #102 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel twice a year for the past 7 years and have never ever had any problems whatsoever. I have always found the staff very helpful and my room was cleaned regularly.
Half the people who put venomous and harsh comments on here are the ones who stay in a hotel infrequently and think that the staff who work damned hard for minimum pay have to run after them at the slightest whim.
What they need to remember is that the staff are there to serve them and they ARE NOT their slaves.
If you want five star treatment go to a bloody five star hotel , or even better go to Disneyland cos your certainly living in a Mickey Mouse world
Rant over

Stayed: October 2012
3  Thank Just J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (721)
There are newer reviews for Corona Roja - Playa del Ingles
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

326 - 332 of 721 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2012

when we arrived at the hotel the staff were very helpful and polite. We were put on the ground floor overlooking the pool but my friend was nervous about being on the ground floor so i went to the manager the next morning and she moved us to a big family room on the 6th floor for an upgrade price of an extra 6 euro's a night which was a bargain as the room slept 5 and there was only 2 of us, we had a great sea views and watched the most wonderful sun rises. The beach was a 2 minute walk from the back gate what more could you want. The hotel was very clean and the maid was so nice and friendly and cleaned the room beautifully. Please do not take notice of the negative reviews just go with an open mind you will be pleasantly surprised. I was

Room Tip: don't ask for the ground floor
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bev C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

on arrival we were given our key to room 215 after a ten minute hike thru the twilight zone thru a zigzag corridor we eventually found our room, as we walked in i found out we were in the next episode of prisoner cell block H. We stayed there for one night only before i wanted to do a parachute jump from the window! but without the parachute, but how could i do that as there was no window apart from a slot in the wall , the next day i asked to move as there was no way i was staying there and asked to move, i was happy when they moved us as we then got a room by the pool but then all ants broke loose, my partner sharon was well trained when she walked into the room to find a swarm of ants all over the sink and tops, then suddenly she nearly got hit by a flying cockroach,! a c-ck may have been ok if it was plastic but this had wings so she hit it with the t towel then took onto the varanda and coaxed the ants to it, we never had problems after that as the ants were well fed outside with cookies crisps and cockroaches. i nearly broke my foot in the pool as there are unlevel tiles at the bottom,and if u look closer and feel hungry look closer to the side of the pool as there is what looks like floating sick, and when i wanted to watch tv all i saw was hustler porn on channel 4 not good if u have kids!!!, dont go for breakfast unless ur a rat as there is only ham,mmm ster lol or cheese to eat if ur all inclusive thankgod we werent all inclusive if u want to lose weight that way then i highly recommend the hotel, all we heard were massive complaints, buy a tent by the pool its safer and cleaner. and when we booked this hotel it says 3star!!!!!!!!!!!! mmmmmmmmm please dont b fooled its two star as we and our now friend found out when we first arrived , its not worth 1star believe me and ive travelled a hell of alot of countries in my time, so if anyone who has commented in the past that if u book for 2star what do u expect, rubbish as when u see an advert saying 3star how are we meant to know until we find out its an advertising con they need suing and not us being conned . grancanaria is amazing just wrong hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShaznAnge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

good apartments /ha ha lol do not eat here was sick for 3 day on the first day had some veal /every day food is the same burger and chips/if you need to lose weight stay here for 2 weeks/if you do not need sleep you come to the right place told you so ha ha

Room Tip: if you do not need sleep stay here
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rabcnes59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Okay... This hotel is nothing like reviews! I went expecting the worst and really dreading my holiday after reading reviews on here. It was actually a pleasant enough hotel!

The maid was very thourough when cleaning and the room was immaculate. She did however throw away our chocolate and never replaced our bed sheet after taking the old one! However she was lovely. There is no air conditioning so it was impossible to not have the windows open, which was annoying at night when Germans downstairs are talking loudly at 3 in the morning or the boy racers are driving at 120mph on the motor way. Staff are nice enough, very helpful and spoke good English. The only thing I'd really warn parents with children about is there is a hardcore porn channel on channel 4.

The resort however was really nasty. Not a nice place for young females, constant harassment from irritating promotion people, resturanteurs and even pervy locals. It was as if they had never seen a female before!! The comments from promoters ranged from harmless "hey beautiful, come here for a drin"' to vulgar, "hey plastic t*ts, f this, f that" to downright offensive comments about my weight and nationality, purely because I ignored those unpleasant people.
It took a turn for the worst when me and my friend were walking home around 11pm and a male in his forties hid around a corner and exposed himself to us, and then followed us when we ran away. This is a realy scary experience for 19 & 21 year old girls. A girl we met over there was also trapped in a toilet from a man in his fifties. 

Other than that clubs are okay but drinks are expensive and the dj's can be really vulgar when playing drinking games but what else would you expect in a 'clubby' resort. Drink, fags, clothes etc are dirt cheap which is good, but it is far too unsafe to let your guard down and get really drunk, purely because of the amount of sleazy men.

Perfect for young couples, but ladies please be safe if you are going here unaccompanied!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hanzowilzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Having booked my holiday and this hotel more than 3 months in advance and having stayed there once before,I was amazed on my arrival to be told that my room was still occupied and that I would have to go to annother hotel for 2 nights,asking why,I was told that they were over booked. when I arrived 2 days later the room on the 4th floor I was given was falling apart,the small kitchen unit doors were hanging off,the fridge was filthy with the freezer compartment door missing,the sheets on the beds were covered in stains,the balcony doors locks were nonexistent the paint on the ceiling was peeling off,and the cistern flush handle in the toilet was brocken,As for the swimming pool,the tiles on the sides and bottom had brocken ones all over the place,so all in all I enjoyed my holiday,but shivered at the thought of going back to this hotel at night,I go to Gran Canaria often but will never book this hotel again,I would not recomend the Corona Roja to anyone.

Room Tip: If my room was an example all the rest could be the same.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Norrie_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

If you really want to travel cheap and you don't care where you sleep, Corona Roja is a good choice. The rooms are worn, the entire hotel is a little worn. We took breakfast one morning, it was really poor too.
Mattress killed my back and shoulder. Hotel was full teenagers, drunk teenagers. Location is fine, staff friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusannaMattinen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Ingles
0.5 mi away
Jardin del Atlantico
Jardin del Atlantico
#124 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
999 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Green Field
Hotel Green Field
#50 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
976 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beverly Park Hotel
Beverly Park Hotel
#121 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Veril Playa
Veril Playa
#104 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
181 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apartamentos Las Faluas
Apartamentos Las Faluas
#66 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
177 reviews
2.5 mi away
Bungalows Vista Oasis Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corona Roja - Playa del Ingles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corona Roja - Playa del Ingles

Address: Calle El Pez 6, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Price Range: $39 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Corona Roja - Playa del Ingles 2*
Number of rooms: 330
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Corona Roja - Playa del Ingles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corona Roja - Playa Del Ingles Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Corona Roja - Playa Del Ingles Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing