We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & price, beware of WiFi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Servatur Barbados Apartments
Ranked #91 of 135 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Friends of ours stayed at Barbados last Christmas and we found a good deal with Travel Republic so thought we'd try it. We were on the first flight out of Gatwick so arrived in resort just before lunch. We hadn't booked a transfer but got the 91 bus from outside the Departures desk on the first floor of the airport for ���3.50; it drops you outside the Yumbo centre which is less than 5 minutes walk from the hotel.

As we were so early we asked if we could leave our bags but were pleasantly surprised to be told that an apartment was ready so we could check in there and then. A safe was available at ���18 for our 10-day stay plus a ���6 key deposit. Keep the key safe (no pun intended) as the charge for a replacement is ���180. The safes are located in reception which was a little annoying if you didn't want to take your safe key out with you.

The apartments are in 2 blocks next to each other. There are lifts to each in reception or you can walk from one to the other via bridges on levels 1-4. At either end of the floors are lifts and staircases down to the 2 swimming pools, you can also get out through a door to street level here (but you have to come back in via reception as the doors lock behind you).

The room was clean and spacious with a balcony, seating for 4 and a well-equipped kitchen with a microwave, kettle, toaster, 4-ring electric hob and a brand new fridge freezer. There were plenty of glasses, crockery and cutlery. The bathroom was clean as were the two twin bedrooms.

The apartments are cleaned 5 days a week (housekeeping staff have Thursday and Sunday off). I was a little amused by the fact that our bedding was changed on day 9 of our 10-day stay and not before then but the housekeeping staff were very friendly and efficient and the apartment was always clean. Whilst on the subject of staff the reception team were also all very friendly and welcoming, particularly Catarina (or Catalina?)

There's a bank with a cash machine immediately under the hotel, a well-stocked Spar next door and several restaurants in the vicinity, but I'll review those separately.

So far, so good but the reasons I haven't awarded a higher rating are:

I was reading a review on here that mentioned the lift not stopping on the 1st floor, then noticed that review was over a year old, and the lift still isn't fixed. Whilst you can get the lift up to the second floor and walk down the stairs, or get the lift in the neighbouring hotel and walk across a bridge, it shouldn't take over a year to fix a lift.

There's no air-conditioning. This was just about bearable in October, but I wouldn't like to stay here in the middle of summer.

Finally, the WiFi is truly abysmal. I was unable to connect for longer than 5-10 minutes at a time, and most of the time was cut off after 45-90 seconds. It then takes 15-20 attempts to reconnect. My friends' connections all dropped at exactly the same second so it's clearly a problem with the network. If the WiFi was free then I'd put up and shut up but at ���6 a day this is completely unacceptable, and incredibly frustrating. This happens morning, noon and night. The only thing that worked was losing access the second the period you had paid for expired: give it a wide berth!

All in all, if you feel the cold and aren't concerned about the WiFi then this is an amazing hotel. If these things worry you then you could still find a lot worse, and this is an above average budget hotel to which I'll definitely return.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (319)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 319 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2013

This is the 2nd year I have booked the Barbados apartments in playa del ingles. Although it is a basic apartment block, it is kept very clean and has great facilities. The pool bar is well stocked and the pool itself is very clean. Rooms are cleaned most days and the reception staff are very helpful. I can't find any fault with Barbados apartments and will return again next. A 15 minute stroll to the beach was perfect and 2 minutes to Yumbo. It was also handy for catching the bus to other resorts if that's what you wanted to do.
Thankyou Barbados for another great holiday. I enjoyed the complimentary wine for returning. This year I stayed in room 329 and I look forward to seeing you all again next year.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed here for a week in September and for the price we paid it was very good value. Location was also excellent right by the Yumbo Centre with its collection of restaurants, shops and bars. We had very little interaction with staff other than a seamless check-in and check out. Housekeeping was more than adequate with plenty of towels provided and bed linen regularly changed. The kitchen was well equipped and the apartment was the most spacious we ever stayed in and our corner balcony was huge and well furnished and included a clothes horse. There was no air-con but it didn't affect our sleep and the area was very quiet at night despite the late closing time at many of the local bars. The TV was of the older type and had more than enough channels. We weren't particularly interested in checking in on the woes of the world while on holiday. One has to remember that these properties are occupied every week by careful and not-so-careful guests so the wear and tear was beginning to show after a busy summer. The shower curtain could do with being replaced and the absence of an extractor fan was a disadvantage. The owners haven't yet converted to the electronic key-card system but the apartments were very secure (safes available at reception) and were nicely laid out with a series of spotless pools and an outdoor bar. We never had a problem getting a (free) lounger and there is a ban on reserving them. This is a good rule. So if you want a centrally located, spacious, bug free apartment, then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JD60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We have stayed here many times, never been disappointed or had any problems. The rooms are spacious clean and the place is very close to the Yumbo centre. Staff all very friendly. Only thing that is new are the wrist bands all guests have to wear, this can be annoying!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mo1Eastmidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Went as 2 families of 4, and we got rooms next door to each other, our room was brill, separate kitchen, ceiling fans, oven, balcony awning, large sofa and dining table,above 2 star, but next door was 2 star and had none of the things I've just listed above, want a great room request 322 on the third floor, the cleaners are great and come 5 times a week, the snack bar at the pool is the best place we found for breakfast, I would use this hotel again if I ever return to playa del ingles, make sure you visit mackers bar is my top tip on a Tuesday or Friday night, a fantastic show by a very funny Tj Micheals, made our holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarahsjr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed for a week in August 2013

These Apartments are in a great location close to the Yumbo Centre and handy for a variety of restaurants. The downside of this is that the main road on which is noisy until late in the night.

The rooms themselves were very clean and well equipped however they really would benefit from either air-con or at least fans. Housekeeping call five days in seven and do an excellent job.

The pools are really good, with an excellent pool bar serving a variety of hot snacks and drinks. There were sufficient sunbeds but more parasols are needed.

All in all the Barbados represents good value for money, as long as you are not expecting anything lavish.

Room Tip: Try to get a room towards the back of the Apartments and as high as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LutonCobbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Just back from an amazing 5 days in Gran Can with a group of girls. We stayed in Servatur Barbados and had a great time. Staff were absolutely lovely. We were quite apprehensive as we walked to our apartment as the exteriors are in need of updating and refreshing but our apartment was ok and very clean.

The pool was lovely and not overly busy as there are two pools to choose from. The hotel bar lady was really friendly and they do a range of toasties for mid day snacks.

Servatur is located right across the road from the Yumbo Centre, the main gay attraction. Even if it's not your cup of tea at night time, it is still worth a visit during the day from the shopping. The main nightlife is about €3 away in a taxi and there are always taxis around the hotel.

The Barbados Italian Restaurant is really lovely too.

I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anitamag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Ingles
0.7 mi away
Las Gondolas Apartments
Las Gondolas Apartments
#34 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
170 reviews
0.2 mi away
Walkirias Resort
Walkirias Resort
#70 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
260 reviews
0.6 mi away
Apartamentos Amazonas
Apartamentos Amazonas
#63 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Club Vista Serena
Club Vista Serena
#64 of 218 in Maspalomas
287 reviews
0.3 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#9 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,731 reviews
19.9 mi away
La Aldea Suites Hotel
La Aldea Suites Hotel
#1 of 1 in San Nicolas
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Servatur Barbados Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Servatur Barbados Apartments

Address: Av de Tirajana 17 - 19, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range: $78 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Servatur Barbados Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The establishment has 91 apartments, all with two separate twin bedrooms (1-5 persons), lounge with sofa-bed. Fully equipped American kitchen and balconies overlooking the gardens.Located in the heart of Playa del Inglés, a few meters from shopping centres, restaurants, bars and discos. Thanks to its location, this complex offers the possibility to enjoy a great variety of services and activities taking place in Playa del Inglés. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Servatur Barbados Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Servatur Barbados Apartments Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Barbados Apartments Playa Del Ingles
Barbados Apartments Hotel
Servatur Barbados Apartments Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing