We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent enough”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Servatur Barbados Apartments
Ranked #88 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Bimingham
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Decent enough”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Close to Yumbo , bars , eateries etc . Lots of families and younger folk around , didnt have issues with other guests or noise but only used it as a base and didnt stay during the day . Would use again if other resorts we prefer were full

Room Tip: Avoid being close to 221 , two dogs locked up most the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ParrotBimingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    105
    75
    31
    34
See reviews for
52
45
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Don't stay here ! I have a regular review in my head full of apartment pros and cons from decor to views from balcony but seeing as I won't be returning to Servatur Barbados apartments (feel free to examine my other reviews/contributions and you will see I report fairly). Just returned last night and feel a need to get things on record immediately. For our 1 week stay I can only give it 'hostel' , club 18-30 rate. There was a huge influx of young adults (average age 17) from Eastern Europe as well Spanish youngsters. The Servatur Barbados organisation takes their bookings and it takes bookings from people like me (50+ age group) plus families with young children as well as the elderly. You cannot take bookings from 17 year olds and not expect them to enjoy themselves by the pool and in their apartments. However you absolutely MUST have a code of practice to protect other residents from excessive noise and and anti social behavior from people of ALL ages (in other words I appreciate that it's not only 17 year olds who can ruin peoples holidays). During our stay the young Eastern Europeans were absolutely fine but they had come as a huge block booking and were split up and placed in different apartments between Barbados I and II. Young travelers will want to go from apartment to apartment to visit their friends. This is fine in the daytime when most people are out by the pool etc or even in the evening as they're getting ready to go out but when you're in bed (and I'm never in bed until after 13:00 on holiday) and you're trying to sleep and all you can hear is young people passing your apartment from 04:00 onward, knocking loudly on their friends doors and talking loudly, shifting furniture closing cupboard and room doors with a bang.....it KILLS your sleep. The walls in Barbados apartments are pretty thin (you can even hear people in toilet and shower !!). Worst of all were the Spanish youngsters in the other apartment next door. We didn't even see these guys out by the pool. They wanted a room to drink in, be loud in, fall asleep in, wake up in, drink in, be loud in etc etc. I know that in the week preceding Easter weekend Playa del Ingles sees an influx of Spanish families and young people coming in from Las Palmas. Servatur Barbados staff will jump into action to ask a young Irish family to stop playing with a ball in the pool (as witnessed while there). Servatur Barbados DO NOTHING to stop animalistic anti social behaviour especially when it comes to young Spanish people THEY seem to have a licence to do whatever they please and to hell with anybody who tries to stop them. Servatur Barbados know exactly what is going on and they turn a blind eye. On our last night about 05:00 one of the young guys must have been locked out and hoped the rest of his friends were inside to let him in. He banged and banged on the door waking us all up. He banged again. He tried to kick the door in. It all stopped and we thought he'd gone but he was only having a drunken rest. It all started over again.and again. Upon complaining next day reception asked why I hadn't gone down to request their assistance (no phones inside apartments). I said it was a bit scary to contemplate opening door and walk past a 17 year old who was trying to kick-in a door and that even if I did and someone came to stop him then he would know it was me who complained and might start to kick our door (my sister was with us and she was awake and very frightened). I'm going to stop now.......just don't stay here as you are NOT protected if anything like this goes on......and Servatur Barbados really don't care.

Room Tip: Ask them to ensure that if you do have noisy neighbours that they will present them with a "nex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank euroweekenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Playa del Ingles hotels

Lancashire, England
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

The location is fine with easy access to lots of local bars and restaurants as well as to the Yumbo Centre itself. The accommodation is very good for the price: a bargain for two or more people. Each apartment has two bedrooms, each with two single beds, and there is a lounge area with a small but adequate kitchen. It was good to get a kettle and a toaster supplied - something I have been asked to pay extra for at some apartments (e.g. Rebecca Park). The bathroom was fully tiled and had a shower cubicle but no bath. However, plenty of hot water. The rooms appeared to be newly painted and had attractive pics on the walls. The beds were comfortable although the lounge furniture looked a little worn. It was cleaned 5 days out of 7 with one change of sheets and towels. There was no safe in the room but one could be hired in the reception area. Wifi is available - but at a charge of 20 euros for a week's stay. I didn't take up the offer but used the Free Wifi offered by some cafes and bars.
The staff on reception were very helpful and were very concerned that they offered you the best service. They were very pleased to get the questionnaire completed at the end of the stay.
The major disadvantage from my point of view they can do nothing about! There are two buildings on the site - Barbados 1 gets the sun for most of the day Barbados 2 just a flicker in the evening. But, each is U shaped so that as well as looking out at the pool area (fine) every balcony is overlooked by the majority of others. There is no privacy at all (Not so fine!!) This might well put me off returning here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olderguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Don't expect anything more than the basics at the Barbados Apartments. That said, they are terrific value for money, especially if there are 4/6 people as apartment has 2 beds which seems rare in Playa del Ingles. Also, almost all overlook the attractive and well kept pool which has a small snack bar. The sun catches each the balconies at some point during the day and the Yumbo is quite literally a minutes walk away. The other positive is that the position is quiet. We've stayed several times and never noticed noise from the road or nearby bars. Amongst the negatives are the lack of a kettle and the dated decor. We'd stay again if we wanted a bargain break, especially if sharing with friends but for a couple who only need one bedroom there are much better one bed apartments in a similar location for the same money - check out the Buenos Aires Apartments which are similar in terms of cost and far more up to date.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim&AlanCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed last week of Jan with three friends for a 30th birthday. Location was great, really close to the Yumbo centre, a short taxi ride from Kasbah and probably a good 15-20 minute walk to the beach (I think). The apartment was really clean on arrival but we had to ask for a change of sheets and towels by the 5th day, it seemed that the housekeeping missed us out a few times (not just on their day off). It was a bit noisy from the road outside but not too bad and on the last night I could hear snoring from the apartment next door. It was cheap & cheerful and I wouldn't be put off staying again. The front desk staff were friendly. Just be aware that the sofa bed is quite uncomfortable and wouldn't be good for a tall person. We visited the Moonlight cinema in Melonares/Maspalomas (opposite bus station), the 360 degree bar/restaurant at the Bohemia hotel near the beach and spent the birthday day at Amadores Beach Club. I'd recommend them all but the Bohemia hotel bar was expensive.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank smt617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is my 4th visit to these apartments.

See my other reviews for a more detailed review however suffice to say, i'll be staying a 5th time.

Rooms - large, could sleep 5 in there at a push. Manages 4 comfortably. Decent sized balcony and pool view. Good array of facilities - fridge, cooker, microwave etc. I was on the top floor and so its true that the water pressure is akin to someone spitting on you its that dire but its still manageable to have a shower - at least its hot!

Pools - two pools, one with a bar thats a bit more lively and one without thats more chilled out. On the lively side the bar is manned by 'Becky' - pleasant lady who is happy to sit and chat with you as well as serve up (slightly pricey) drinks. We tried a burger which didnt go down very well, so may be worth eating elsewhere.

Location - literally across the road from the Yumbo and maybe a 10 min stroll to the beach.

Finally, when we got to the room, we were greeted by a bottle of wine - this was a lovely touch and was good to see they appreciate repeat custom.

If you are due to stay here i doubt you'll have any problems.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LadyMooMcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaghan
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is the third time staying in these self-catering apaartments. The main reason for using these apartments is based on location. Management supplied me with a bottle of wine on arrival, as to welcome me back which was a nice touch. The Apratments are clean, spacious and functional. They have 2 big double/twin rooms. The pool is quet, great for bathing beside during the day. The only down-side would be that the shower water pressre was a bit poo, but I was sufficient all the same. I also had an issue with the electrics when I arrived the switc kept tripping when I turned on the main light switch. This was resolved the next day.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thesphinx23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Ingles
0.3 mi away
Tamaran Apartments
Tamaran Apartments
#82 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
180 reviews
0.9 mi away
HV Agaete Parque
HV Agaete Parque
#128 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
98 reviews
0.2 mi away
Walkirias Resort
Walkirias Resort
#60 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sol Barbacan Hotel
Sol Barbacan Hotel
#6 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
940 reviews
0.3 mi away
MUR Aparthotel Buenos Aires
MUR Aparthotel Buenos Aires
#11 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
817 reviews
0.1 mi away
Playa del Sol -  Adults Only
Playa del Sol - Adults Only
#27 of 217 in Maspalomas
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Servatur Barbados Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Servatur Barbados Apartments

Property: Servatur Barbados Apartments
Address: Av de Tirajana 17 - 19, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Servatur Barbados Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The establishment has 91 apartments, all with two separate twin bedrooms (1-5 persons), lounge with sofa-bed. Fully equipped American kitchen and balconies overlooking the gardens.Located in the heart of Playa del Inglés, a few meters from shopping centres, restaurants, bars and discos. Thanks to its location, this complex offers the possibility to enjoy a great variety of services and activities taking place in Playa del Inglés. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Servatur Barbados Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Servatur Barbados Apartments Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Barbados Apartments Playa Del Ingles
Barbados Apartments Hotel
Servatur Barbados Apartments Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing