We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great facilities and lovely pool”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Occidental Margaritas
Ranked #20 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great facilities and lovely pool”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

First time at an all inclusive hotel and this has changed my viewpoint. The buffet selections at every meal were amazing and fresh food cooked to order too. The larger quieter pool area is relaxing and spacious.
Really enjoyed our trip. We had a suite which had a great view over Maspalomas and the sunset.
The only thing that didn't work was the evening entertainment which seemed amateurish and frankly wasn't needed. Background music in the pool/bar area would have been better.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank 8lettersuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,687
    1,587
    739
    255
    156
See reviews for
1,501
1,836
193
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

Absolutely love this place. Don't want to leave. Here for 15 days for the Carnival. Staying in a Superior apartment on the 2nd floor. Lots of room, comfy beds, 2 balconies one with a table and chairs and the other with 2 sunbeds. Sun most of the day. Maids make the room every day and do a fab job! Staying half board and can always find something in the restaurant to eat. Entertainment staff are fab! Great shows and Mini disco. Entertainment all day and night for Adults and kids apart from Sunday. Thank you so much to Zoe for looking after my daughter in Mini Club. I finally got a tan this year:) Camilla is great and I have loved doing the daily exercises with her. Will very much miss the hotel and all the staff. Look forward to returning again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank becmurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham
Level Contributor
95 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Party of four had rooms on the 5th floor with a good view of the pool area and the afternoon sun.The room was very clean and had modern furniture,excellent bathroom with huge shower and lots of hot water.Pity you have to ask for replacement shower gels etc.For a 4* the room safe should be included.
Food was most of the time generally acceptable but not always hot and the dining room lacks ambience and is very noisy and finding a table can be a problem at times.The evening entertainment could be better not very proffesional at times.
The hotel provides a free bus to the beaches and the Yumbo Centre is about 10 mins walk overall an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jontonyrotherham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

I read some mixed reviews before this holiday and I was apprehensive!
However I loved the hotel, it was clean and modern, the staff were extremely helpful & the pools were beautiful!
Food was nice & varied, we were always well fed!
Great hotel would recommend

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AlixRossiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

just returned from a 7 night stay .great reception staff very nice welcome .room was agood standard very clean ,maid came in every day .lovely sun terraces although pool area is very shaded by trees .there were very few britsh people at this hotel ,beer & wine on tap so no queues which was good .It was also carnival week which was a fab experince at the yumbo centre only a 10 minute walk away .only downside for us was the restuarant staff were very unfriendly we were never acknowledged & felt like we was a nusiance asking them to make us up a table such a shame when the food was very good .must mention vicktor in the lounge bar who really was a star & was very pleasent to us .overall a great holiday just a little bit more customer service & it could of been fab

Room Tip: ask for high floor low floor rooms are very shaded by trees
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tania t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Del Ingles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

The hotel is brilliant, great selection of food, and the pool areas were relaxing and having the pool bar with food was very good. Very clean and rooms are very nice, staff are very pleasant and helpfull.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Frances B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

my holiday was the best from start to finish fantastic hotel nothing to much trouble for any of the staff animation was fantastic. if there was anything to complain about it would be too many trees around the pool too much shade and i think for a 4 star hotel there should be tea and coffee facility in your room.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the sun terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happy12karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Ingles
0.2 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#8 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,536 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sol Barbacan Hotel
Sol Barbacan Hotel
#7 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
895 reviews
0.7 mi away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#4 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Neptuno Gran Canaria
Hotel Neptuno Gran Canaria
#12 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,219 reviews
2.4 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#6 of 19 in San Agustin
1,685 reviews
0.1 mi away
HD Parque Cristobal Gran Canaria
HD Parque Cristobal Gran Canaria
#16 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Margaritas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Margaritas

Property: Occidental Margaritas
Address: Avenida Gran Canaria 38-40, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Barcelo Las Margaritas)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#13 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#21 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#26 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Margaritas 4*
Number of rooms: 490
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Occidental Margaritas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Las Margaritas Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Barcelo Playa Del Ingles
Barcelo Hotel Las Margaritas
Barcelo Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing