We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best holidays we have had! We will go back again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Occidental Margaritas
Ranked #22 of 135 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best holidays we have had! We will go back again!”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

I went on holiday with my husband and 12 year old daughter on the 19th of October 2013. We arrived at the hotel late at night so we went straight to bed, but we were welcomed to lovely staff. Our room was on the 6th floor and we went on the wrong lift, so it was a bit of a walk to the room but we found out bearings the next day. We were awoken to the sun on the balcony which was a plus!

We went down to breakfast and had a full English, proper English sausages as well! But the food wasn't the hottest, I suppose we went down a bit later so that is probably why! We had really good sun beds but the sun came at around 11:30 so we were sat in the cold for a while! When it did come out we had all day in the sun (it did get too hot after a while :D)

The animation team were very happy and tried to get you involved with everything but not being to pushy! There were also a variety of activities to do which my husband got involved in! The evening entertainment was okay, some nights were really good but the entertainment team worked as hard as they could to make everyone's holiday enjoyable.

The evening food was basically the same every night but we enjoyed it! I made a meal out of everything. On the last night they did Mexican so that was delicious!

We are looking at prices for the hotel again next year! It was so relaxing but also fun at the same time! Definitely a place to go if you want to tan and have fun. 11/10!

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view room they seem quieter and you get the sun all day on your balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BevCollins22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,519
    1,465
    704
    245
    150
See reviews for
1,382
1,689
174
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

where to begin.... we arrived at the hotel all excited to be on our holiday we have been waiting for to be greeted by the most misserable man i have ever met! we booked over a year ago and asked for a high floor room. we were put on the 3rd floor out of 8. as we got into the room it was very dark. on going on to the balcony was a huge tree which we could touch! it bloked out all light and views. after complaining we were moved to the 6th floor where we had a amazing view! restaurant sign shows no shorts, sleveless tops or sandals for evening meals for men not to wear. my partner wore long 3 quater lenth trousers and was thrown out.but on looking around i could see many men in shorter lenghth trousers than my partner and sandals on too! breakfast is served till 10.30. we arrived at 10.15 and got our plate of food. at 10.34 the manager came around and said finished now yea bye and hurried us out as i was still eating!!!! on the evening we were in the piano bar having a drink, my partner was at the bar at ten to eleven. the woman behind the bar was chatting to another spanish couple and kept looking over at my partner but not serving him. eventually she came over bang on 11:00 and said sorry no drink all inclusive finished! after my partner had been stood there for 10 mins!!! to make matters worse we sat down the whole family and started to play cards. my partner moved the menu down by the side of him out the way of the table and a member of staff came over and said you no put menu there it stays on table! i found most the staff very rude! the only nice people there was the life guard killios and the entertainers. i felt imprissoned in the hotel no you cant do this or cant do that! we orderd a cake for the room as it was my dads 50th for 6:00pm. myself, my sister and mum went on up to the room to decorate and wait for the cake before my dad came back to the room. no cake came. 15 mins later my dad arrived back to the room. we made our excuses and left and asked where the cake was. they said it was for 6:30 but we all seen the woman write 18:00pm on the note when we orderd the cake. we then asked for the cake and we will take it up ourself. the man on reception said no it will be deliverd. so we had to wait 15 mins in the hallway outside my parents room for the cake to surprise my dad. we also booked with reception a room for breakfast on my dads birthday so we can decorate it and be guarenteed a table as we had to leave early for a trip. luckily when we went down there as 1 table free but no reserved table for us. its a shame because it was suppose to be a birthday for my dad to never forget as it as his 50th and we spent more time being angry about how we were treated, spoke to and the service. ive been on many holidays and have never been spoken to or treated so badly by staff! also a little thing that bugged me we had our room cleaned and when i got back my clothes that was in the bathroom that was on the side by the sink was stuffed in the b-day! oh and when u arrive be prepared to stand for ages to fill out forms. reception was dealing with about 20 different familys all at once! and after standing and filling out the form and being ignored for about 20 mins to then be told i had to go to the other building as that was the family rooms. on going t that reception was told to re fill out the forms again which we had in our hands that we filled outin the other hotel. its a joke!

Room Tip: high floor the view is amazing just dont expect the staff to be very friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarah Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

positives:
friendly and helpful staff
very clean
quiet pool (at apartments) was lovely

negatives:
check in horrible - no record of booking made 3 months earlier
"superior room" was very basic ..
think there were better rooms available but we didn't get one
hotel pool mainly in shade and also very noisy as hotel entertainment based around there

We had booked half board and dinner was no better and no worse than any other hotel buffet style food we have had in 3* or even 5* hotels in Gran Canaria it just gets boring ....we generally go out for dinner every other night to one of the many restaurants in Playa del Ingles ( recommend Romeo ,OK , Dali). Can't comment on hotel entertainment other than it was loud and delivered with enthusiasm ....you heard the music and shouting for miles!!!

Wouldn't return unless it was very cheap as it was okay as a base and somewhere to sleep.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Bill-Mack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

The rooms were up to date and tastefully furnished,with comfortable beds and furniture. The balcony caught the afternoon sun so not too bothered if we couldn't get a sun lounger. We chose to do most of our sun bathing on the beach at Maspalomas.
The housekeeping staff we all excellent, nothing was too much trouble for them and they were very friendly and cheerful.
We chose to explore mainly on our back so did not make use of the facilities in the day time or evening, so it suited what we wanted.When you've got a whole island out there who wants to spend 24/7 in the hotel? Clean, tidy, fresh bed linen when needed.
Ten minute walk to the yumbo center, so suited us perfectly. There was a courtesy bus available but again we made our own way.
There was a great variety of food at the buffet, be warned there is a dress code for the evenings for men which we weren't advised of by the travel agent. However if your packing for holiday surely everyone brings something suitable for evening wear, so not a major issue. no queues as some reviews have reported but this could be due to the time of year we went.
The only major issue we encountered was that a fuse tripped in the room one day, we reported it and reception sent someone up to fix it in under ten minutes.
The gym facilities were a bit tired and needed replacing and expanding as they had definitely seen better days and needed a better selection of free weights.
Overall we had a great stay, for its price range it was ok. A Holiday is always what you make it and the hotel served us great as a base and was conveniently located.

Room Tip: rooms on the main body of the hotel facing over the pool get the best afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lei86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergele, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

It was a busy hotel with all the sun loungers being taken up early on but we liked going to the beach so this wasn't a problem for us. It was quite a long walk, which we enjoyed doing, but if you didn't fancy going the distance then the hotel do put on a courtesy bus to either the Playa del Ingles beach or the Maspalomas beach and back.

The entertainments team worked hard throughout the day and is as you'd expect for a family hotel, catering for loads of different nationalities! It wasn't my kind of thing but I imagine that if I did have kids or was of the older generation, then I'd enjoy it but as it was, I wasn't there to stay in the hotel the whole holiday and needless to say, we ventured out most nights! We walked everywhere but a taxi to most places wouldn't cost more than 4 euros and if you fancied a night out in the next resort along, then I don't think that would cost any more than 10.

I thought the food was fine, to say there wasn't much choice is wrong as there was everything you could get from a buffet, from salad to soup, meat, fish, pasta, pizza, and loads of cake and ice-cream! It was just that there wasn't much variety from day to day apart from on one evening when they had a Mexican theme. There is an a la carte restaurant that you could go to (and pay for) if you did fancy a real change though or simply head out to eat to the nearby Yumbo centre. Just a warning to the men, there is a dress code where you need to wear trousers or jeans in the evening for the buffet restaurant, don't know why as it's not posh but that's just the rules. There was one night where we had to queue to get in but I thought the restaurant manager did really well running around trying to get everyone seated quickly.

Wasn't too impressed that we'd have to pay for the safety deposit box or wi-fi, but to be honest, it was nice not to be connected to Facebook for a week!

The room was tidied everyday although I did feel that they could have cleaned it more often but the air-con worked fine for us and there was a fridge in the room which was handy for keeping our bottled water in. The beds were comfy and there was lots of space in the shower! All in all, it was a decent hotel and provided everything I'd expect from a hotel like this.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 888--JFO--8--8--8--
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

From the moment we entered the hotel until the last moment we left, we were utterly disapointed by this experience.
Firstly, we entered reception and were asked to fill out the forms as were all the other guests, we were a party of six so this was done together, we were then ignored three times by the elder of the receptionist, meaning we had to wait at least 3/4hr before the younger receptionist took notice of us, one can only put this down to the fact that we were a party of six or infact we were invisable to this lady.
Then we had specifically asked for a disabled room, a single room and a family room together if possible, this had not been fulfilled and therefore we as the family party were sent up to the 8th floor, with a five year old boy full of live this was in itself a nightmare worrying about the glass fronted balcony. As there were no other family rooms available and the thought of being squashed into a standard double room for a week was unacceptable we took the room which left the majority of the party down on the first floor.
We then went down to the pool area, as we had missed the sitting in the restaurant, to have some food from the bar area, once we had fought our way through the mass of bodies on the too few sunloungers we arrived into the bar area, where we could not find a table as this area too was overcrowded. Eventually we found somewhere to sit, we served ourselves to some food, which was average to say the least, then stood at the bar before we were rudely pointed in the direction of the self service drink area. We had a lovely glass of froth thank you and a rather flat fanta orange, my mother-in-law whom needed a mobility scooter was still attempting to make her way across the crowded pool front! and eventually joined us.
She then informed me that the disabled room we had requested was merely a standard double room with little room for the scooter to be stored and for her to freely move around the room.
In the evening luckily we went down for our meal at 6.30pm and found a table easily the food was ok, however the other clients of the hotel made this the most unenjoyable experience, you serious would of thought that these people had never seen food before in their lives, and if you said excuse me to someone you received a death stare, I do believe that in every language and culture maners are foremost!! and more importantly cost nothing.
Our boy was trampled on by a rather robust man, who had the manners of a pig. This was the setting for the entire week when it came to meal times. Also I could not understand why? such a large hotel had such a small dining area (around 2000 guest and 200 seats), the queues outside to get a seat were all the way down the length of the bar area.
Following this awful experience one evening my partner chose the grilled chicken skewers, he started eating them and then discovered that they were raw through the middle, pink fleshy raw, the head waiter took it from him and asked if he would like them cooked some more!!! This is surely salmonella on a plate?? and he was not the only person to take these skewers so how many were unaware that they had been eating uncooked chicken.
Our room was pleasantly decorated, however the toilet continually flushed and leaked for three days and we reported this until the third day when it was fixed.
Unfortunately our boy played on the childrens play area, and the slide collapsed underneath him causing him to injure his back, when this was reported to the receptionist she shrugged her shoulders and said it does come to pieces, he was very distraught by this as was his dad.
Further to the hotel letting us down the Thomas Cook rep was equally unhelpful and dismissive, when these issue were raised with her, she could not give a straight answer was not particularly concerned with the injury our boy had had, and only offered us a complaints form and a 'nice day', she was never around we only saw her twice, and never once asked if he was
Also, if this hotel want to be classed as an 4 star All Inclusive hotel, they need to up their game, it was totally unequipped to cope with the ammount of people there. In our opinion it was merely a 2 star.
Make sure you take plenty of money with you also as the only inclusive drinks were on tap, they weren't particularly good and if you wanted a bottle of local beer or a coke you had to pay for them, as well as this there were no coffee/tea making facilities in the room or any top up waters/pop/beers in the fridge (standard all inclusive things???) you also have to pay for the use of the safe, there are no ironing facilities and you have to pay 20 Euro's for the use of each pool towel.
On the plus side the hotel was clean as the housekeepers kept it clean and tidy and some of the waitresses were lovely and they loved the fact that the little one practiced his spanish with them, so thank you to these girls for making him feel welcome.
The pool area in the main bar is packed so you will fight for a sunbed and it is noisey, we spent one day by the pool and the rest of the time we made the most of the free bus to the beach, Maspalomas is a must.
We made the most of our time together and enjoyed the time away from the rudeness of the guests the unhelpfulness of the majority of the staff and will never ever return to the Barcelo Margaritas.
We will be complaining in full to them all.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmielougriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST COUNTRY
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We go to this Hotel regularly as we have family locally. Let's be very clear. The entertainment is designed for children only, or for adults who are used to a bingo hall type entertainment- it's pretty rubbish. If you are expecting local/national acts forget it. If you want an in house team shouting clappy clappy all night long then you'll be fine. If you want something synonymous with a reasonable 4* hotel , then you'll be disappointed. The reviews on here follow the same theme re the entertainment, but no- one from the hotel seems to take any notice!
We had a superior apartment- excellent. I used the Balinese beds to get away from the summer crowds round the pool, which were fabulous. The service at the bar and restaurant was great- let's be very clear from reading some other reviews, you get what you give. If you can't be polite/offer a phrase in Spanish then don't expect much back- you are in Spain not England!!
Food ok, all inclusive system very good- not our thing normally. Wifi expensive but it is quite restricted in local bars as well.
The pool by the apartments is lovely, the pool by the main hotel is not. Cheap sun loungers that need a good clean/replacement, likewise the bar furniture, when the other pool bar is lovely.
A few changes then this hotel will be great, otherwise it stays within the 3* range! and that's a shame.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JUBEJO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Ingles
0.2 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#10 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,452 reviews
2.4 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#6 of 19 in San Agustin
1,577 reviews
0.7 mi away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#3 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sol Barbacan Hotel
Sol Barbacan Hotel
#7 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
837 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,395 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Neptuno Gran Canaria
Hotel Neptuno Gran Canaria
#11 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Margaritas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Margaritas

Property: Occidental Margaritas
Address: Avenida Gran Canaria 38-40, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Barcelo Las Margaritas)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#16 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#21 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#26 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Margaritas 4*
Number of rooms: 490
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Barcelo, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Occidental Margaritas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Las Margaritas Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Barcelo Playa Del Ingles
Barcelo Hotel Las Margaritas
Barcelo Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing