We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, but don't think its a 4 star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Occidental Margaritas
Ranked #18 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 5, 2012

On our arrival at this hotel we were greeted by reception staff who treated us a bit like 'just another arrival' with no smiles or engagement in conversation. We went up to our rooms and we were pleasantly surprised that they looked lovely, very modern, clean, fresh linen etc. The only downfall was there was no lock on the balcony door which we reported but no one came to fix during our entire stay - however, this did not really worry us too much as we were on the 4th floor and was highly unlikely we would get burgled unless it was by spiderman!
The hotel was clean and pleasant and the Thomas cook staff were great, very helpful and always had a smile. The staff in the restaurant hotel were rude, unfriendly and very abrupt. The food in the hotel was not geared for english travellers and was more suited to German, Dutch etc. The only vegetables we could get were battered cauliflower and battered courgette for breakfast! Any of the food that resembled that of english food did not taste very good so although fully inclusive we ate out most evenings. The pancakes were ok as were the bacon and sausages so if that's your thing you'll be fine for breakfast at least!
The animation team for the kids were great and my daughter could not get enough of them! However, for the adult entertainment, the animation team laid on various things during the week, and in my opinion was pretty rubbish with the exclusion of the snakes and bird visits. Some of the sets performed by the animation team during the 'adult' section of the evening were very rude and not suitable if you have young children like ours!
All in all, our stay was good but due to the food & being english, this did not come up to a 4* hotel in my opinion but if you are german it probably would be as the food was perfect for them.
We travelled a bit whilst there and went to Puerto Rico twice (more english people there) and Puerto de Mogan (little venice) both of which were absolutely beautiful and lovely. The beaches around that area are far better too and there is more selection of typical spanish paellas etc to eat. On the front at Puerto Rico there is a lovely outdoor restaurant which have lovely friendly staff and lovely food. If we went again, despite the hilly area in Puerto Rico to and from the hotels (you can get a taxi to and from hotel) we would book to stay there next time rather than playa del ingles (english beach) which was more like playa del alemande!

One final thing. On the roof there is a naturist terrace which we visited a couple of times duirng the evening (not whilst there were naked bodies there!) but you can get an excellent view over the town and mountains!

Room Tip: We had a room next to the lift shaft which is very noisy. As far as I know all rooms above floor 2...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JEANETTE A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,937)
There are newer reviews for Occidental Margaritas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,092 - 2,098 of 4,947 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

we were impressed by the quality of the services. Very, very good food, we found that the entertainment was very good during the day, a lot of games and exercice classes.
The rooms are clean, renovated and since we stayed at the top floor we were not disturbed by the sound of the entertainment.
It is quite a walk from the hotel to the Playa del Ingles beach, but if you don't like this, there is a shuttle service from the hotel to Playa del Ingles or to Maspalomas beaches.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank notleila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

2 weeks stay 1st-15th October. This was my first visit to Gran Canaria and it was so good we have just booked to return in December for Xmas, for 2 weeks!! Having gone to Cancun 5 times and Las Vegas last year, along with various holidays in Tenerife, Austria Italy and mainland Spain, and having read the reviews I was hoping we would not be disappointed as we always stay in 4/5 star hotels, we were not disappointed at all! In comparison to the usual 4 star Spanish hotels we have stayed in, we found the hotel to be of a high standard in all respects.
We arrived late afternoon with quite a few people checking in at the same time, we were attended to quickly and efficiently with a warm welcome, our room was ready for us and we also managed to catch lunch. The hotel has extensive meal times and the only one minor thing I could say is that I was unwell one day and missed breakfast, snack bar does not open til 12, but we have never stayed in a hotel that offers breakfast til 10.30 anyway, that is a definite plus if you have a late night! Dinner til 10pm from 6.30pm, I think is great, they really do go all out to cater for everyone's eating times and the variety of food provided was very good, with ample choice at each meal time. Our room was lovely, very clean, great A/C. I loved they have a quiet pool as well as the pool where all the games and activities are on,and the terrace is also great if you want out the way of the activities. Both snack bars are very clean, well stocked (toasties, chicken nuggets, burgers, hotdogs with soft drinks and alcohol, and I think the self service is a great idea, we have spent many a holiday having to queue for drinks and food which is a pain! The staff all work very hard and the entertainment staff do not stop from morning til night trying to entertain all ages. The choice of activity was ample if you want to participate but they do not hound you if you are not interested. We read reviews that the staff were unfriendly, I completely disagree, all staff we encountered said hello and were friendly! Our only gripe was the Thomson welcome party (which is nothing to do with the hotel!) it was purely a selling tactic with 3 people trying to sell trips with very little usefuly information on the hotel and important details, such as the Spanish bank holiday and the banks being closed and the hotel not exchanging money. Had she told us this we would have got money before the banks were closed! The rate to change cash is approx 7 euros less per 100 than from back home. The 100 euro drag show you could go to if you want the whole night and meal but you can go to Sparkles and have free entry and just as good a time, this is in the Yumbo centre, a must see for open minded people that love to people watch and have a laugh. The Kasbah got a bad press for pr people but you get these in most holiday resorts, just say no thank you and they will move on to the next person. The taxis are so cheap if you have heels on and don't want to walk to much, but it's only 10/15 mins to the Yumbo and often we walked there and taxi back. Hotel is great location and the free bus to the beach was popular. One last thing, I had 2 massages in the spa and they were the best massages I have ever had! The spa was not mentioned at all in the welcome party and I only knew it was there from reading up on the hotel prior to going. Hope this is useful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank VegasBaby180611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We arrived here late on 28th October, to think that this looked like a lovely hotel - only to be met seconds later by a porter who pointed towards a building up the street and said - you stay here!! After a long haul with suitcases, wheelchair and pushchair, we entered a much less quality building and told we were staying here!!! We couldn't all fit into the lift together and we trudged along the first floor of a smelly, dirty, outdated corridor to get to room 107!!!! YUCK!!! Among all else, it smelled, plugs were hanging off the walls, the toilet was cracked and cigarette ash in it! A small Lizard crawled in the corner, the walls were cracked and the lamp was broken!! This was not the 4 star hotel we paid for!!!!!!!!!

After trying to reason with the receptionist, we were told we had no option and had to wait till morning to speak with someone else. We visited out Thomas Cook Rep the following morning and she couldn't understand our concern. She claimed, she never had any complaints before!!! Well, I'm sorry, but I'm not a fussy person, but this was such a disappointment to think you're getting off at a lovely hotel, to be told you're not actually staying in it, but instead the apartment block next door! It was as if we were the poor relations next door!!! So after much debate with the rep, we were oferred a room on the 8th floor of the apartment - take it or leave it!!! So we had no alternative!!!

I have walking disabilities and use a wheelchair; we also have a small child in a pushchair, so after making the two lift trip to the bottom floor and then outside the complex and up the road to the main hotel for all our meals, entertainment and facilities which we had paid for - you felt totally cheated of a stay in a four star hotel. There is an inside adjoining walkway, which incorporates 4 sets of steps and therefore is anything but convenient!!

Apparently the rooms in the main hotel can only acomodate 3 people and as we were a family of 4, this is why we weren't allowed to stay in the hotel!! But why weren't we told this by the tour operator before we booked the holiday as this would have totally changed my mind! In future, I will be booking two rooms, adjacent to each other and not in Gran Canaria either!!!

The main hotel itself is lovely, the entertainment team are great, the food is equivalent to any four star all-inclusive board, we've had before in the Canaries and the decor in the main hotel is very tasteful - BUT the resort of Playa Del Ingles itself is to the contrary, very run down, spread out, nothing to do or see and the shops are non-existent!! We've stayed in Tenerife and Lanzarote before and will definetely be going back there again!! Gran Canaria was such a disappointment and is definetely not worth a second visit!

Room Tip: Make sure you are staying in main hotel and in refurbished rooms!!!!!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Delly_Mac251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

My 4th visit in the last 10 years and its good to see that Barcelo have invested some money into the property since my last visit.

We were given a refurbished room on the 6th floor which was spotless and really contemporary. The shower was great although its a pity the bathtubs have been removed as I do like the odd soak in the bath. The "quieter pool" as its known has been remodelled and improved and the new adjacent bar and snack area is lovely. We stayed away from the other pool as we are just not into all day games and activities but if thats your kind of thing then all well and good.

This was the first time that I had stayed on an all inclusive basis. I have to say that I think the food has deteriorated since my last visit and was largely repetitive. I suppose thats partly due to economic reasons as much as anything. All inclusive drinks are available on a self service basis although some of the spirits are a bit ropey.

The entertainment team worked hard and although not to my taste I can see how they appeal to families. A couple of the shows were good and passed an hour after dinner.

Would I return? Yes I would if the right deal came along

Room Tip: Get a high floor room and you might see the sea
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eurocarlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The appartment was fine, refurbished, bathroom ok (exc toilet flush that needed lots of patience) and a large balcony with sea/ pool view and cleaned every day. Pools and gym clean and in good condition. Breakfast ok, dinner below average, bad canteen food comes to mind but there are plenty of eateries around to have much better food and drink for less than 15€ per head (price of dinner) so we wouldn't have half board again.
One knows that GC isn't necessarily a quiet place but the evening entertainment from 8-11PM made it impossible to sit on the balcony - we were on the 5th floor and it wasn't possible to have a normal conversation. Children's songs usually mixed with "clap your hands, clap, clap, clap" etc... you get the picture. Awful.
The location is about a 20-30 min walk to the beaches but there is a shuttle service and lots of public busses going, too. The Yumbo Centre is a 10 min walk away, Cita 15.

A good hotel for families who like the whole evening entertainment à la Benidorm, for couples not a lot on offer (neither gay nor straight).
I wouldn't go back there, however the next GC trip is booked already!

Room Tip: Choose appartment NOT pool facing! You have mountain instead of sea views but can at least use the b...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dirk1378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

me and my husband stayed here for one week all inclusive on the 18th oct 2012,all i can say is everything was lovely they have a curtisy bus that takes you to 2 beaches on a regular basis everyday.the staff are great the animation team do a great job to entertain you day and nite,The food is ok and you have plenty ov choice,the all inclusive is based on a help yourself basis at the bar area and snack bar so found that realy good too,we had a late flight back home so we asked for a late check out which cost us 24 euro if you have little ones its great,bcause you can keep your hotel room until you leave,masplomas beach is worth a visit as its lovely,and thomas cook do a drag queen nite which is excellent too,tip keep away from the reps on the beach that try to promote anfi beach they dont tell you but its time share,they say thats its free to go and see this lovely carabian sand they have shipped in but its a con just to get you there 5 hours we where there for spoiled are full day out

Room Tip: If you want a quite room dont request a pool view as thats where all the entertainment is held
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Ingles
2.4 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#5 of 19 in San Agustin
1,794 reviews
0.2 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#8 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,624 reviews
2.2 mi away
Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,548 reviews
0.1 mi away
HD Parque Cristobal Gran Canaria
HD Parque Cristobal Gran Canaria
#28 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,682 reviews
28.2 mi away
NH Imperial Playa
NH Imperial Playa
#4 of 43 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Margaritas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Margaritas

Address: Avenida Gran Canaria 38-40, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Barcelo Las Margaritas)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#13 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#21 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#26 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range: $136 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Margaritas 4*
Number of rooms: 490
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Barcelo, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Occidental Margaritas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Las Margaritas Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Barcelo Playa Del Ingles
Barcelo Hotel Las Margaritas
Barcelo Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing