We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Santa Clara Bungalows
Ranked #45 of 135 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Kettering, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Brilliant”
Reviewed December 27, 2008

This was our first time in Gran Canaria. Was a bit worried with all the mixed reviews so we went with an open mind. As soon as we got there we were welcomed by reception and given a map of the complex. The bungelow was basic but very nice. Very clean & tidy. The only complaint would be with the shower. The hot water didn't last very long so we had quick showers and with 3 of us they were very quick. Only found one cockroach all week. The pool was fantastic. Very cold but lovely. We practically had it to ourselves all week. The poolside bar was good aswell. Very reasonable. Closed at 5pm. The complex was in the middle of everything. 5 minutes from the Yumba centre and the Kasbah. About a 10-15 minute walk to the beach. And 2 minute walk to the supermarket. Overall this was a very good complex. It depends what you are expecting. For the money we paid it was underrated. Definatley would go back. We stayed in number 210. Weather was a little cloudy but still warm enough to have a good sunbathe. Highest was 25 and the lowest was 18. Still good for this time of year.
Very good holiday.

  • Liked — The pool
  • Disliked — The shower
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PinkSmiffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    125
    65
    28
    25
See reviews for
80
118
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
halifax
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2008

We have just returned from a week stay at the Santa Clara Bungalows,I must admit I was a bit worried about staying here due to some of the reports bit there was nothing to worry about at all.It was clean,quiet and the staff were friendly.We saw one cockroach the whole time we were there and that was dead.
We basically had the pool to ourselves although the weather wasn't that fantastic so we spent more time on the beach.
I think that the Santa Clara deserves to have a higher rating than the 1 key it has.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bettyboophalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of wight
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2008

Well, where should I start. My husband and I had a one bed bungalow, which was basically furnished, with everything you would need, and a great base for exploring the resort with the beach a gentle 20 minute walk away. It was along the outside of the complex and I would strongly urge anyone who gets one of these to think of an excuse to get moved, as you can't use the outside space as the road is quite busy and passers by look in. I would think that just under half of the complex is privately owned. There are railings/fencing all around the perimeter with gates, although only permanent residents get keys, so you have to use the reception entrance. Security is very good. There is even barbed wire on top of the 6/7 foot railings. Cockroaches are a problem, although they sprayed half way through our week and killed them all. It got rid of them (though the dead ones stayed until the end of our holiday) but the spraying was so pungent we had to leave the site for a few hours. I would suggest you do the same if you have small children or chest problems. There is a TV in the room, although choice is very limited and you have to feed the meter 1 Euro for each hour. The rooms are cleaned every other day, but as mentioned previously, your feet do get very dirty indoors. None of this spoilt our holiday. If you've already booked, don't worry it's fine. Really. I have a feeling that most accommodation in the area is similar. One reservation - I really wouldn't recommend this place if you have a baby/toddler, as there are loose wires to suck and cockroaches to munch on. One other thing, we were'nt aware that Playa del Ingles is now the largest Gay centre in Europe. If you are gay, you'll have a lovely relaxing time with no one taking any notice of same sex couples. If you're straight, you may notice the first few couples then you stop noticing, if you are anyway homophobic, best not go at all, then everyone can have a nice time!

  • Liked — Well equipped, quite roomy and central for shops, bars, restaurants and beach
  • Disliked — Dark, a bit too penned in, no double beds and the cockroaches.
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluedayz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Playa del Ingles hotels

Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2008

Very enjoyable stay at the Santa Clara Bungalows. We usually try and book Playa Del Ingles / Maspalomas area due to the fact you can choose from a large selcation of bungalow complexes.

We have stayed in quite a few over the last 5-6 years, and all have their good and bad points.

Must say throughly enjoyed these bungalows, although we were more fortunate than some as we were put into one of the partial Villa's on site. We had booked a 2 bedroom bungalow but got a Villa at the front of the complex, which meant you did not have a front and back door, but total seclusion with a large "L" shaped outside terrace area. Inside huge kitchen area with a table which could seat 6, as well as all the usual kitchen facilities. Living area slightly small but two good size bedrooms.

The location is great for getting out and about during the day and at night. If we stay in Maspalomas we usually need to get a taxi back at night, but this time we could walk back form all the centres, ie..Gran Chaperal, Yumbo, Cita, Strand, Casbah etc.

As previoulsy stated we were nice and secluded, although there was a hint of some noisey neighbours returning to other bungalows on site, and if you were staying next door, it may have been rather annoying, but that can happen any where.

Would certainly have no fear about using these Bungalows again, although it would be good to gaurantee one of the partial Villa's, as they certainly offered more space, seclusion and facilities.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No bath only shower / towels could be fresher.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CanaryboyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 30, 2008

After reading mixed reviews on here and having already bookes our holiday we were a bit apprehensive about what we would find.
We realised it would not be 5 stars but expected abit more than the -1 stars it really was.
We stayed in Bungelow 84B, wondererd where the B came from that came apparent as the week went on, It seems our 2 bed bungelow with slightly small living space used to be a rather large 3 bedroom bungelow, that had been converted, the problem with this is Bungelow 84A is in the same roof space and exterior walls of bungelow 84B so you get all there noise and god was there some noise from next door, which I think is residential not holiday lets.
I like Abba like the next person but not at 2.30am.
The site seems t be well kept as first glance until you look a bit deeper, looks like some kind of rewiring has been going on for some times with tubes and wires sticking out of the ground near enough wherever you go on the site.
The bungelow appear quite clean, dont be fooled look at the bottoms of your feet after wondering around in a bungelow for 10 mins or so.
The maitenence of the bungelows is terrible, real bodge job, baths taken out and badly fitting showers put in there places, spikes sticking up out the bathroom floor, mismatch of floor tiles, cupboard doors hanging off. Unable to lock any of the windows as none of the locks work.
All in all, if you looking for somewhere just to crash this is it, expect anything above 1 star, book somewhere else.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Too much to mention
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JonLChippenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2008

We stayed at these bungalows during the last week of September 2008. We arrived at the reception area ( most of the time you have to walk through the reception area to gain access to the complex) and was greeted by an elderly gentleman with basic knowledge of English. After booking in, we were directed to our bungalow, 103. We immediately noticed that half, if not most of the bungalows are residential, with many keeping pet dogs, as there were signs on their gates warning of dogs;keep out! We got to our bungalow, which was situated down an alleyway, adjacent to one of the two swimming pools.
The accommodation itself was basic, but nonetheless comfortable.
It comprised of a huge patio area, lounge/kitchenette, two bedrooms (both with overhead fans) and a bathroom and shower cubicle.
All of the windows had mesh, to stop insects coming in, which was good.
The kitchen was fully equipped.
There was a tv in the lounge, with various channels. We watched Sky News occasionally, but if you intend to watch tv, there is a coin slot machine which just eats up the Euros! I think 1 hour of tv set us back 4 Euros!
The maids were in every other morning, making the bads and leaving fresh towels.
There are two very nice swimming pools, all with loungers, and a poolside bar between them. They offer beers and snaks at VERY REASONABLE prices.
The gardens are well maintained, and the complex is very well lit after dark.
Its also very close to the Yumbo Centre ( 5mins walk) Gran Chapparall Shopping Centre ( 5mins walk).
The Dunes take about 30mins to walk.
If you intend to stay here, it is ok, but you only get what you pay for - we paid £250 for a two bedroomed bungalow.
Bear in mind that it is half residential with a lot of the permanent residents owning dogs.
( There was NO dog mess anywhere tho....you just hear some of them barking.)

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Permanent residents with their dogs
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keving18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDINBURGH
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2008

Well had an amazing time here ...

bungalows were fab .. safe aswell..

was there with 5 of my friends for gay pride festival.

we basicly got top pool to oursefl was quiet .

it was a two min walk from yumbo which was great for a stagger home lol..

we had friend stayin in maspolomas they wer allowed to come sit at pool so was good all round ,,

any questions feel free to ask

xxxxxx

  • Liked — CLOSE TO YUMBO AND NO ONE BOTHERED U
  • Disliked — EVERYTHING
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ELLEB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Parquemar
Hotel Parquemar
#44 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
218 reviews
0.6 mi away
Las Gondolas Apartments
Las Gondolas Apartments
#31 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
154 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apartamentos Las Faluas
Apartamentos Las Faluas
#83 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cordial Biarritz Bungalows
Cordial Biarritz Bungalows
#30 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
212 reviews
0.6 mi away
Apartamentos Montemar
Apartamentos Montemar
#96 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
135 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rebecca Park Apartments
Rebecca Park Apartments
#13 of 91 in Playa del Ingles
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Clara Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Clara Bungalows

Property: Santa Clara Bungalows
Address: Avenida Sargentos Provisionales 24, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Santa Clara Bungalows 1.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Santa Clara Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Clara Bungalows Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Santa Clara Hotel
Hotel Santa Clara
Santa Clara Bungalows Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing