We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There are two ways to look at anything...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Santa Clara Bungalows
Ranked #45 of 135 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Reviewed December 15, 2008

Well, where should I start. My husband and I had a one bed bungalow, which was basically furnished, with everything you would need, and a great base for exploring the resort with the beach a gentle 20 minute walk away. It was along the outside of the complex and I would strongly urge anyone who gets one of these to think of an excuse to get moved, as you can't use the outside space as the road is quite busy and passers by look in. I would think that just under half of the complex is privately owned. There are railings/fencing all around the perimeter with gates, although only permanent residents get keys, so you have to use the reception entrance. Security is very good. There is even barbed wire on top of the 6/7 foot railings. Cockroaches are a problem, although they sprayed half way through our week and killed them all. It got rid of them (though the dead ones stayed until the end of our holiday) but the spraying was so pungent we had to leave the site for a few hours. I would suggest you do the same if you have small children or chest problems. There is a TV in the room, although choice is very limited and you have to feed the meter 1 Euro for each hour. The rooms are cleaned every other day, but as mentioned previously, your feet do get very dirty indoors. None of this spoilt our holiday. If you've already booked, don't worry it's fine. Really. I have a feeling that most accommodation in the area is similar. One reservation - I really wouldn't recommend this place if you have a baby/toddler, as there are loose wires to suck and cockroaches to munch on. One other thing, we were'nt aware that Playa del Ingles is now the largest Gay centre in Europe. If you are gay, you'll have a lovely relaxing time with no one taking any notice of same sex couples. If you're straight, you may notice the first few couples then you stop noticing, if you are anyway homophobic, best not go at all, then everyone can have a nice time!

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluedayz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (375)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

301 - 307 of 375 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2008

Very enjoyable stay at the Santa Clara Bungalows. We usually try and book Playa Del Ingles / Maspalomas area due to the fact you can choose from a large selcation of bungalow complexes.

We have stayed in quite a few over the last 5-6 years, and all have their good and bad points.

Must say throughly enjoyed these bungalows, although we were more fortunate than some as we were put into one of the partial Villa's on site. We had booked a 2 bedroom bungalow but got a Villa at the front of the complex, which meant you did not have a front and back door, but total seclusion with a large "L" shaped outside terrace area. Inside huge kitchen area with a table which could seat 6, as well as all the usual kitchen facilities. Living area slightly small but two good size bedrooms.

The location is great for getting out and about during the day and at night. If we stay in Maspalomas we usually need to get a taxi back at night, but this time we could walk back form all the centres, ie..Gran Chaperal, Yumbo, Cita, Strand, Casbah etc.

As previoulsy stated we were nice and secluded, although there was a hint of some noisey neighbours returning to other bungalows on site, and if you were staying next door, it may have been rather annoying, but that can happen any where.

Would certainly have no fear about using these Bungalows again, although it would be good to gaurantee one of the partial Villa's, as they certainly offered more space, seclusion and facilities.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CanaryboyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2008

After reading mixed reviews on here and having already bookes our holiday we were a bit apprehensive about what we would find.
We realised it would not be 5 stars but expected abit more than the -1 stars it really was.
We stayed in Bungelow 84B, wondererd where the B came from that came apparent as the week went on, It seems our 2 bed bungelow with slightly small living space used to be a rather large 3 bedroom bungelow, that had been converted, the problem with this is Bungelow 84A is in the same roof space and exterior walls of bungelow 84B so you get all there noise and god was there some noise from next door, which I think is residential not holiday lets.
I like Abba like the next person but not at 2.30am.
The site seems t be well kept as first glance until you look a bit deeper, looks like some kind of rewiring has been going on for some times with tubes and wires sticking out of the ground near enough wherever you go on the site.
The bungelow appear quite clean, dont be fooled look at the bottoms of your feet after wondering around in a bungelow for 10 mins or so.
The maitenence of the bungelows is terrible, real bodge job, baths taken out and badly fitting showers put in there places, spikes sticking up out the bathroom floor, mismatch of floor tiles, cupboard doors hanging off. Unable to lock any of the windows as none of the locks work.
All in all, if you looking for somewhere just to crash this is it, expect anything above 1 star, book somewhere else.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JonLChippenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2008

We stayed at these bungalows during the last week of September 2008. We arrived at the reception area ( most of the time you have to walk through the reception area to gain access to the complex) and was greeted by an elderly gentleman with basic knowledge of English. After booking in, we were directed to our bungalow, 103. We immediately noticed that half, if not most of the bungalows are residential, with many keeping pet dogs, as there were signs on their gates warning of dogs;keep out! We got to our bungalow, which was situated down an alleyway, adjacent to one of the two swimming pools.
The accommodation itself was basic, but nonetheless comfortable.
It comprised of a huge patio area, lounge/kitchenette, two bedrooms (both with overhead fans) and a bathroom and shower cubicle.
All of the windows had mesh, to stop insects coming in, which was good.
The kitchen was fully equipped.
There was a tv in the lounge, with various channels. We watched Sky News occasionally, but if you intend to watch tv, there is a coin slot machine which just eats up the Euros! I think 1 hour of tv set us back 4 Euros!
The maids were in every other morning, making the bads and leaving fresh towels.
There are two very nice swimming pools, all with loungers, and a poolside bar between them. They offer beers and snaks at VERY REASONABLE prices.
The gardens are well maintained, and the complex is very well lit after dark.
Its also very close to the Yumbo Centre ( 5mins walk) Gran Chapparall Shopping Centre ( 5mins walk).
The Dunes take about 30mins to walk.
If you intend to stay here, it is ok, but you only get what you pay for - we paid £250 for a two bedroomed bungalow.
Bear in mind that it is half residential with a lot of the permanent residents owning dogs.
( There was NO dog mess anywhere tho....you just hear some of them barking.)

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keving18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2008

Well had an amazing time here ...

bungalows were fab .. safe aswell..

was there with 5 of my friends for gay pride festival.

we basicly got top pool to oursefl was quiet .

it was a two min walk from yumbo which was great for a stagger home lol..

we had friend stayin in maspolomas they wer allowed to come sit at pool so was good all round ,,

any questions feel free to ask

xxxxxx

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ELLEB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2008

We arrived at the complex at around 4am with two young children. From the moment we walked into reception, the gut feeling was there, that this holiday was a mistake. The "gentleman" in reception placed the keys in my hand and just pointed in the direction of the bungalow. Not even as much as a hello or welcome after a very long journey.

After walking around the maze of very narrow, steel fenced pathways, we eventually found our bungalow. Once in it took a further few minutes to locate the light switches in pitch blackness. Nothing had been explained at reception. A couple of hours sleep later it was time to have a good look at our very basic accomodation. The security was the first main concern. None of the locks on the gates actually worked, surrounding our bungalow. Even better, the main reception is not manned 24hrs, so you have to come through an electronically locked gate. Guess what?, it was wrapped with wire to stop it from engaging so any Tom, Dick or Harry had access to the whole complex once reception was shut. We even walked into reception one day to find it unmanned and guests passports etc just left in the pigeon holes for any one off the street to take. The toilet was secure though.....you had to ask for a key so you could use it. Shame they didn't apply the same principles to the rest of the complex.

Although not many were seen, there is a cockroach problem. We had been told that it had been sorted, obviously not. The "ground" workers always looked filthy in ingressed dirt covered work wear. The poolside bar opens at 10am and is open until 6pm. After that, you are on your own, unless you want to drag the kids out everynight for something to eat and entertain them. Outside the resort there are ill fitting drain covers that could lead to an accident if you are not carefull in stepping over them. Walking down the street is a nightmare. Hawkers everywhere trying to get you into their shops and restaurants, etc.

We went on our holiday with another family. Day one they had to be moved to another bungalow as workmen with drills etc were working in the next bungalow. you don't go on holiday to listen to that noise, surely. After being moved to another bungalow, it was found that only one ring on the hob worked so they asked for someone to look at it......An "electrician", if you want to call him that turned up with just a pair of pliers in his hand, looked at the cooker, muttered something and returned a few hours later with a new hob.......Excellent, quick service, you would think......Couldn't be further from the truth. The new hob was fitted and when switched on, all the lights dimmed and the TV turned off......That is no joke!....The electrician scratched his head in confusion and in broken English said "tomorrow", and walked off.

Now that tells me that there was a serious problem with the wiring, my friend looked at the wiring to the hob and it was found to be melted and burnt. Even walking around the complex there are exposed wires, cables etc, sticking out from the ground. How long will it be before a very young child gets out from his/her "secure" (not) garden and gets electrocuted? Will the owners of the complex say "tomorrow" when it comes to calling an ambulance I wonder.

I can honestly say, from what the resort looks like in the brochure, is nothing like it is in reality. We paid £1250 for a family of 4 through Thomas Cook......It should have been £12.50 in my honest opinion.

Before anyone says I'm being fussy......I am not. I just expect something to be up to the described standard from the brochure, for the price we paid.

Good luck to anyone who decides on holidaying there in the future.

Stayed: October 2008
Thank LittleBugler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2008

I stayed in the Santa Clara Bungalows with a friend of mine. The staff are lovely and the bungalows are great. They are basic but nice. The 2 pools are great and there are lots of loungers. My only criticism is that there were no parasols around the pools to get out of the midday heat.
The location is great, right by the Gran Chaparral. We ended up in the same bar every night - the heineken cafe. Its a Dutch bar which had live entertainment every night starting at 10pm. The staff were amazing. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank fowler83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
0.2 mi away
Santa Fe Bungalows
Santa Fe Bungalows
#58 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
83 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Parquemar
Hotel Parquemar
#54 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
237 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cordial Biarritz Bungalows
Cordial Biarritz Bungalows
#32 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Las Gondolas Apartments
Las Gondolas Apartments
#33 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
167 reviews
0.2 mi away
MUR Aparthotel Buenos Aires
MUR Aparthotel Buenos Aires
#12 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
863 reviews
0.2 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#9 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Clara Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Clara Bungalows

Address: Avenida Sargentos Provisionales 24, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range: $41 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Santa Clara Bungalows 1.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Santa Clara Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Clara Bungalows Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Santa Clara Hotel
Hotel Santa Clara
Santa Clara Bungalows Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing