We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get what you pay for”
Review of Hotel Green Field

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Green Field
Ranked #51 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

On arriving at the hotel it looked nice, however rooms are small and dated, our room had a great view onto the bars out the front so was ideal to chill and watch everyone.the pool is great but after buying a lilo we were refused to go into the pool with it, luckily the shop we bought it from swapped it for a rubber ring which was allowed!! All Inc is only 1 drink per person at a time and to get another u need to take ur glass back! they are very strict with this. But on the plus side the measures are huge! Entertainment is not very good either at night or thro the day so it's rubbish for kids.food was very poor, ano u get what u pay for but we ate out a few times.there is Irish bars right next to hotel but we never heard the noise while sleeping, the stairs leading to the rooms were very loud at nights with drunk people tho and often woke us up.the Kasbar shopping centre which is where shops, bars and restaurants are is only a 15 min walk and the yumbo centre which has loads of shop, bars and clubs is only 20 min walk away, so it's quite central.beach however was a good 40 min walk.been to Gran Canaria before and it's all about what u make of it, but wouldn't return to this hotel.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Suz93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,034)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

492 - 498 of 1,034 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2013

Hotel is very clean .The main poor point is the food which i rate as VERY poor , POOL AREA COULD BE CLEANED ,POOL ITSELF IS CLEAN., IF busy not enough room in restaurant very good location for walking .Staff VERY good

Room Tip: The room i was in had very good air con
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CHINA1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

well the hotel itself wasn't bad for the money but If I returned to playa I would choose a different hotel. don't get me wrong, in the 2 weeks we were there, there wasn't anything really bad. just not what we was expecting. other reviews on here say the same sort of things, pool area not as good as it looks in pictures etc. the food and drinks were ok on the all inclusive. Not many English here but that didn't bother us, just expect lots of foreign voices lol. our main complaint of this hotel was we ended up in a room on the ground floor which is below pool level so when we went out our patio doors it was like being in a dungeon and got no sun so we couldn't sit outside our room. we complained to the management that we had paid for a balcony room, they said we could move but we had to pay 30 euros to move !!. as we had paid extra for a balcony already we would pay more. the hotel said the room we had booked didn't necessarily mean we were guaranteed a balcony so we don't really know if it was our travel agents or the hotels fault.
all in all an ok holiday but not the best. if we was to return to gran canaria we would probably try a different area as well.

Room Tip: when booking ensure your not on the ground floor !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teejay445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

This is a cracking hotel for the price we paid, don't get me wrong I'd not be particularly chuffed if this was my main annual trip but for a quick getaway and some last minute sun its a great choice. The pool area isn't bad ( not as good as it looks in the pics though ) and the rooms are perfectly fine. The food is of a good standard for an all inc and the restaurant doesn't have the whole 'school canteen' feel. The drinks at night are no real issue as long as you're prepared to take your glasses back and be patient, there are only ever 1 or 2 barmaids working so its easy to see why it takes time, based on the rates they sell the rooms at they could hardly afford more staff ! The only neg with the evening bar was that one barmaid in particular really struggled with remembering orders and who was due to be served next, it constantly seemed as though her mind was elsewhere, maybe they should redeploy her ! The location of the hotel is pretty good, right next door to a cracking Irish bar that has live music and does a blinding breakfast ( they call it an Irish breakfast but its basically a full fry up - standard ). If you have an issue with the Irish in any sense then leave this place well alone as it has more Irish tourists than London !!

All in all a great hotel for very little money.

Oh just to add... The fella on reception was absolutely superb, he couldn't be more helpful if he tried.

And quickly.... They have some random 'suncare advisor' around the pool everyday with a microphone telling you that wax based products will not help your tan - True story ! No idea where the idea came from but its amusing .

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanHad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Ok, so I read the reviews, I didn't expect The Ritz, I expected value for money and a cheapo deal, I'm not a snob, I've seen the best and the worst and can appreciate them both. But this was Not an acceptable standard =( £500, paid at full price for a week AI, if we had paid £200 self catering it wouldve been worth it, but we didn't!
So after 2 days of eating in the restaurant I had chronic stomach pains and was not well at all, we spoke to a couple staying at the back of the hotel who said hey had seen staff bringing white buckets full of chicken out of the back of a jeep in the early hours, decided Not to eat in the restaurant again after this and my health improved!! Go figure...
All inclusive was paid for for 7days, we were only allowed usage for 5 of these days however and when asking the manager why, he told us it was not his problem and to take it up with our operators! Amazing customer service then Greenfield, thanks.
Half the staff (the foreign workers might I add) were absolutely lovely, the other half (the locals) were horrific, catch them on a good day and you got a scowl, catch them on a bad day and it was hit and miss whether you'd get service!
Rooms were adequate, if not slightly hovel-esque. Dark, noisy and cheap, accepted it is a 3* so didn't fuss too much over this, but cleanliness is not expensive and the maid stumbled upon our room perhaps twice during the week? Its a big hotel, maybe she got lost.
The house spirits are Bad, I imagine across the whole island they were pretty similar though, so nightmares and dodgy jerky nerves aside, cant fault them too much with that one, but I'd advise paying that bit extra for spirits you know.
Saving grace? The pool area was decent, aside from the 2 or 3 lumps of childrens poo floating about for 3 or 4 hours one morning, That couldve been cleared quicker in my opinion. Couple of the bar girls in the Irish bar were lovely, genuinely nice people and the reception staff were pretty decent too.
Returning next year? Nah, I'll watch Benidorm if I want to laugh at a joke abroad personally.
Greenfield, get your act together, you've got 3*, do your best to hold onto it or drop your prices so people dont expect too much.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are noisy pretty much all the time, rooms at the back have a bad view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luke f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Just back from a week here (31/08 - 07/09/13) and having read so many bad reviews on this was worried going, but i have to say the majority of the negative reviews are complete rubbish. Three of us went all inclusive for the week and not one of us had a single bad thing to say about it. The food was gorgeous and how people could say there wasn't a good choice i just dont understand, and was always cooked perfectly. The staff were brilliant, always helpful with whatever was asked of them. The pool was excellent. Free bar was also brilliant, it did get a bit tough after a while but that was just the size of the measures (which isn't exactly a bad thing in my opinion) but was grand when we asked for smaller measures. The cleaning service was great, with only one day out of the week that they weren't in. Overall i could not fault the Green Field in anyway at all, and i would go back in a heartbeat no problem.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ciano94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

my husband and i stayed here for a week and we went self catering . the hotel is clean ,the pool is great but have to be up very early they open the doors to the pool area at 8 oclock and its a mad rush for parasols although there is plenty of sun loungers .rooms where basic but very clean the shower was no power shower more of a trickle . good location this hotel next door is mullgans irish bar great food and lovely people . went to another bar called patricks bar this was dirty and some of the staff is rude . 10 min walk to beach whch is beautiful lots of places eat and lots to do . would we stay at green field again.........yes we would good value for your money .

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 831marie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
0.5 mi away
Beverly Park Hotel
Beverly Park Hotel
#123 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,780 reviews
0.6 mi away
Veril Playa
Veril Playa
#110 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
187 reviews
0.9 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#18 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
5,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Caserio
Hotel Caserio
#26 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
229 reviews
0.1 mi away
Labranda Playa Bonita
Labranda Playa Bonita
#17 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,149 reviews
0.8 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#8 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Green Field? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Green Field

Address: Avenida de Tenerife 6, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Price Range: $79 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Green Field 3*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the center of Playa del Ingles just 400 meters away from the beach, surounded by restaurants, pubs and supermarkets, stands Hotel Green Field***, a hotel suitable for all kind of public and tourists, where you will have your dream holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Green Field reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Field Hotel
Green Field Grand Canary
Hotel Green Field Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing