We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Star amongst the dross”

Indonesia - Thailandia - China
Ranked #116 of 378 Restaurants in Playa del Ingles
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Leeds
Level Contributor
88 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Star amongst the dross”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This side of the Yumbo centre is filled with depressing Chinese buffets serving the same old slop at high prices; Thailandia is definitely the exception. It's also been consistently good- we've been going for 10 years and never been disappointed.

The owner is very friendly and keeps a beady eye on the whole front of house, food is always piping hot and fresh- just be careful with the spice- my half-spicy chow mein packed quite a punch!

The menu is varied, but we've always had good food here, not spectacular, but well prepared, of reasonable quality and served quickly. The price is usually about 30EUR for 2 including a beer and water.

Cutlery and plates were replaced with each course (better than many equivalent restaurants here) and food warmers are always provided.

The people watching from here is superb- we enjoyed watching the Yumbo clientele change from straight to gay over the course of the evening.

Don't expect classy- you're sitting outside in a shopping centre, with plastic chairs and tables- but it's definitely worth it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank abomination
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    39
    22
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

We ate here when we became bored with hotel food. Excellent value for money! Food and choices were fab. We cudnt fit dessert we were so full! Only thing we didnt understand was why it was so empty. Try it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shopaholic53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
172 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Amazing Chinese and excellent courteous staff!”
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

6.68 Euros for a set three course Chinese meal and choices available. Despite being sceptical we ate here twice and it was brilliant. The owner and her daughter are the most attentive staff ever! Excellent food and made to a very high standard even given the price! Brilliant atmosphere here- you can chat and interact and people watch in the Yumbo centre. Simply excellent and would very strongly recommend eating here! You will be hard pushed to find such a decent quality and value Chinese elsewhere!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“An enjoyable experience”
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Ate here once with two friends. Nice clean restaurant. No toilets, but there are some Yumbo Centre toilets about 30 metres away. Impeccable service from the oriental staff. Dishes are mainly Thai or Chinese. Three of us split two starters, three main dishes, and one rice, and one rice noodle serving. This was more than plenty, with some left over. Along with three San Miguel's and the tip this came to €60 which I feel is pretty reasonable for a tasty filling meal for three people in a tourist restaurant. Nice touches were the warm plates (which you don't always get in restaurants), the hot stands the dishes went on to keep warm, the bowl of colored water with a lime wedge in it to cleanse your fingers with, the fact that the plates were replaced after the starters, and the complimentary shots of Chinese liquor given along with the bill. I would have no hesitation in eating here again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sebh77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great crispy chicken and friendly service”
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

We ate here three times during our 11 days in PDI.
The crispy duck was excellent. One of the best I ever tasted. Can also recommend the spicy chicken with cashew nuts. Had the chicken satay for starters,and this was also very good. The satay sauce was delicious.

Two of our friends had soup. The soups could have been more tasty (wonton and spicy soup), and maybe a little less bullion and more fredh herbs and vegetables. The Tom ka gai soup was good, but contained almost no chicken.
The fried banana with honey snd vanilla ice was also great.
The staff was very friendly, and it seems they have a lot of regulars, as the waiter knew many of the customers. That is always a good sign.

The portions were large, and we were stuffed after a 3 meal corse here.

We also ate at Slow boat 1, but Thailandia was superior.

Can safely recommend this place for a lunch or an evening meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anderv7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indonesia - Thailandia - China also viewed

Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas
Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas
 
Maspalomas, Gran Canaria
Maspalomas, Gran Canaria
 

Been to Indonesia - Thailandia - China? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing