We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be an Adults Only Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Ranked #6 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Certificate of Excellence
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Should be an Adults Only Hotel”
Reviewed August 29, 2010

Although we all have our own opinions on hotels and areas, I am hoping that an informative review on this hotel and/or area is much more helpful to others.

We went as a family with two children of 14 and 11, we always try to choose a hotel that is good quality with a nice swimming pool and in a decent area and I am so surprised by some of the things that are not mentioned in other reviews, particularly in relation to the location of this hotel.

Hotel:

The guests are predominantly German and there are many gay and older couples and I do think it suits these groups . The reserving of the sunbeds early is a normal problem that seems to be in most hotels these days so if you can't beat them, join them and we went and got our beds about 0730. Children are definitely frowned upon on this hotel, not by the staff but by the other guests. On the very first morning when the kids were in the pool, not dive bombing or playing with a ball but swimming normally, a german man started shouting and shaking his newspaper, this made for an unpleasant experience and I asked the rep if we were able to move to another hotel. This wasn't possible without it costing more money so having spent enough we decided to ride it out. A family the previous week had clearly felt the same and had opted to move.

Having said this, the hotel does have its benefits and the staff are extremely friendly.

The smaller pool is very nice and as mentioned in other reviews there are lots of tiles missing so it could do with a bit of an update.

The rooms and balconies are very nice with plenty of wardrobe space. You do have to pay 14 euros for the safe but always worth it. The mini bar drinks are an absolute rip off but why buy when you can go to the supermarket and buy for a fraction of the price.

Food:

The food is generally very good, a wide range although not particularly varied. For Dinner (but not breakfast) you are allocated a particular table for the length of your stay (although not always the final night, see last para!) which is quite a good idea, timewise though you are restricted as you have to eat at either 630 or 2030.

Drinks by the pool and in the bar in the evening are expensive, the iced coffees although nice are 5.25 euros and the Irish coffees almost 7 euros.

There is a very well stocked supermarket opposite the hotel and people bring bags full of shopping from here without having to hide the fact they are bringing food in, it seems to be expected.

Tip - the coffee is beyond awful, I would recommend taking a travel kettle and a jar of coffee!

Area:

This was quite possibly one of the worst and most tacky areas we have ever seen. The gay community is huge and there are more than enough 'clubs' with the tackiest of names to visit but unless you get a taxi out further perhaps nowhere you would wish to visit for a drink in the evening. A few of the restaurants had closed down and it looked rather recession hit.

The dunes are the wow factor of this hotel and are literally right next to the hotel, it takes about 15 minutes to walk to the beach over these so is not brilliant for small children, those with less mobility and/or unfit people.

We went to Puerto de Mogan on the bus, 15 euros each way for four people and took about 45 minutes, lots of restaurants to chose from.

One warning however, we arrived in the early hours of the morning and departed one week later from the hotel at 2215 for a 0050 flight, although I have never personally heard of this anywhere before, you do not get dinner on this last night so although you pay for 7 nights half board, you only actually get 6. Two other couples were as surprised as we were as this was not something mentioned at the time of booking, by the rep or the hotel until the 6th night in. We chose to keep our room on and pay the late check out of 55 (not sure if it may be cheaper to do this at the time of booking the holiday?) and also had to pay for dinner on the final night which was not something we had anticipated. You do get the option to have dinner on the last night for 40 euros each.

All in all this is a nice hotel, in a very poor area (other than the sand dunes) which may benefit from being changed to an adults only hotel. Others with children may disagree but I would advise families to look around at other hotels before deciding.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LMGx22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,043
    391
    116
    26
    14
See reviews for
204
1,053
76
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2010

My mum and i went for 6 days in early august....it looks impressive as you wind down the street past the roundabouts...The first thing that you see is the big sign in red RIU on the roof area and it does the riu brand the upmost credit

...at reception you are spoken to in the most friedly manner you are taken out to the seats outside by the bar given champagne...Then invited back in when room is ready your bags taken upstairs by so friendly porters (see adam i think he was called he was on the door most days the most polite and friendly man) so many staff there

....my room was a sea view it looked over the pool, the outside seated area by the bar and the whole of the sea and dunes view...large patio with air con and a fan too minibar reasonable priced drinks...let me tell you that at all times you are put first by the staff in this hotel...the staff are so hard working they do the morning breakfast the poolside bar and restaurant and then evening service in restaurant and then the evening bar....long shifts they cover but they are always waiting on you hand and foot...

The management come around at dinner see if you ok and offer any advice and help...The food in the restaurants will make your eyes water...Breakfast (watermelon melon pineapple, figs ,prunes, meats, eggs , sausages , bacon ,pastries , breads, juices, cakes, pancakes,salads, porridge,youghurts.nuts pine nuts cereals, toasts, various jams , chocolate spreads champagne and so much more

..Dinner ( pizzas , pastas, steaks, pork, chicken , lamb, salads amazing salads potatoes, chips, vegetables , sauces many, bread rolls cheese and biscuits, fresh fish paella, veal, hard working chefs cooking all the time...Two sittings at 630 and 830 pm....desserts 4 ice cream types profiteroles pastries cakes cream rolls, chocolate sprinkles, jelly, custards, kiwi fruit bananas strawberries crepes cooked fresh, sauces for ice cream...and more...must be 100 tables in biggest restaurant i have seen and it has this on two sides that two sets of all these food tables laid out..you are greeted by the hotel anagement and staff each evening...if you dn't want buffet you can have the a la carte no extra cost...or if you want try their posher restaurant a la carte and that no extra cost either

.The entertainment is in bar each evening, before the resident band piano player plays outside whilst you have drinks...then in bar later acts such as magicians, mongolian dancers and strongman, flamenco dancers, and the resident band with a lead singer who i thought was one of the most beautiful women i have seen...they played for a couple hours each night , songs such as mumbo number 5 and something stupid , please release me, rock around the clock, spansh songs , german songs,glen miller and people got up and danced..

.at night no noise is quiet very peaceful, maids do not go near the room if you put the do not disturb sign and they are always looking during the day if you have left your please tidy sign on door and only then they go in to clean...pool area is huge they have 2 pools a jacuzzi pool too sun loungers about 100 more perhaps pool guys to get you towels and poolside service all day .....few families with children but not many just lots of toasted people laying about in tranquil peace...Go half board , get a room with sea view and what are you waiting for this will be one of the best holidays you will have....they have tennis courts, wellness centre too...free wifi poolside and in lobby

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank russpa333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2010

This hotel is excellent, the service is the best we have experienced in any hotel we have stayed in around the world. A special mention to the hotel reception staff who were so helpful and attentive. The food is lovely and the hotel is immacutely kept, you cannot fault the cleaniness. Please go and stay here you will not regret it.

The only downside is the resort of Playa des Ingles which was in my personal opinion awful. If you could transport this hotel down the road towards Maspalomas it would be utopia!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HughesysNorthHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2010

Just returned from a ten day stay at the hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas , where to start is the most difficult thing, from the moment we stepped off of the coach at 01.30am to the time we departed yesterday at 18:45. absolutley NOTHING was too much trouble for the hotel staff, they are absolutley brilliant , the hotel is set on the edge of the dunes and is superbly fitted out, we had a twin room on the ground floor, which had a side view over looking the hotel next door, whilst at first glance this seemed to be a negative point as the sun rose in the morning this turned out to be a positive point, whilst it is true most hotels rooms have a sea view ( our involved standing at the end of the balcony) it is not necessary viewable for the patio doors. the hotel is immaculate, the dining room is vast and at both breakfast and dinner there is so much food available and such a vast range it is hard to see how anyone could not find something they liked to eat, the hotel pool areas are very well laid out and come with enough sun loungers for all, the waiters are there to attend to your every need . all in all the BEST hotel and holiday we have ever had

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank steveflisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheadle Hulme, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2010

Nice welcome on arrival, by very friendly staff who couldnt have made you feel more at home, and brought a glass of champagne. The room was very nice and overlooked the sand dunes. We arrived in a Heatwave and it was a lot hotter than expected. Plenty of sunbeds and umberellas to shade you. The resteraunt was very pleasent and the staff very attentive. The food was of a very high standard, some of the best we have had wen on holiday. 1st week was quite quite but the on the second week the hotel started to fill up, and we got a large groupe of very noisy young Germans. on the whole an enjoyable holiday. There were some areas that could benifit from a little TLC ie missing tiles around the pool area and some were just cracked.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sp0rt63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2010

I have recently returned from a 2 week vacation with my family. The hotel is exquisite and spotless. Staff are very well trained and all seem happy. The only downside was that at times the younger members of my family could become bored as there is little to do as far as fun. The hotel is very much aimed at the tranquil holiday makers and any sort of noise will be frowned upon by other guests. We tried to get away with simple throw and catch the ball in an otherwise empty swimming pool, only to be told by passing guest to stop as it was "against the rules" leaving us with no option but to swim or sit in silence. If you want a fun family holiday with plenty to do I would recommend one of the Riu Club hotels. If you want a holiday where you just want to unwind and be spoiled, this is the holiday for you. Night entertainment is very much for people that enjoy lounge music, i.e Copacabana, and Brown eyed girl on the Keyboard. However there aer plenty of places in the area if you fancy something a bit more fast paced. There is a strong gay community in the area so if your homophobic its a no go!
I would go back again, no doubt, however I may wait a few decades before I can truly appreciate the atmosphere the hotel is succesfully aiming for.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank forino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2010

We have been here twice, and going again in '10. We highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Globeotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Ingles
0.8 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,457 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bohemia Suites & Spa
Bohemia Suites & Spa
#2 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,320 reviews
0.9 mi away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#4 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
1.3 mi away
Seaside Palm Beach
Seaside Palm Beach
#4 of 216 in Maspalomas
1,076 reviews
1.0 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#8 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Address: Avenida Tirajana s/n | Playa del Ingles- Gran Canaria, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#4 Spa Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#5 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#13 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas 4*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Playa del Ingles. Next to the Maspalomas sand dunes. 4-Storey building. Colonial-style architecture. 28,000 M2 of subtropical gardens. 800 M from the beach. 2 Km from the city centre. 500 M from various shops. 30 Km from the airport. 50 M from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Maspalomas Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing