We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden gem on the dunes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Ranked #4 of 135 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Certificate of Excellence
Wales
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A hidden gem on the dunes”
Reviewed March 5, 2010

We stayed at this hotel and had concerns due to having a you child under 2yrs old, but we where welcomed with affection and warmth, due to having a baby with us as the main course of their buisness seems to be Dutch, German and a few Italian guest but it was nice to be amongst mixed nationalities. This is a very luxurious hotel and don't expect to find a mad disco every night but more Piano and Live Bands playing anything from Jazz to Rock Ballads with a little bit of Samba thrown in. The rooms are carpeted and the complex is curved in a cresent moon shape with most rooms having a sea or pool view. The breakfast had everything you could think off and the evening food was to die for and I think I stuffed my self with Lamb, beef or pork every night with the best desserts selection I have seen yet, Anywhere! The pools were great with a smaller garden pool with a jacuzzi and whirl beds seperate and then on the other side of the hotel was a larger pool with what was called a infant pool. To be honest the Infant pool was a shallow hole in the ground and never heated so we stuck the baby in the Heated Jacuzzi with us and the adults didn't seem to mind. The views are amazing at sunset from the viewing platform of the bridge or hard stand at the bottom of the hotel, where there is also a costal path to take you around to the main resort of Playa del Ingles.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharkbait-Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,016
    373
    112
    26
    14
See reviews for
198
1,026
71
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2010

On arrival evrything was taken care of. Our luggage was taken to our rooms while we sat and drank complimentary champagne. Our room overlooked the dunes and the sea. it was spotlessly clean as was the hotel. The staff were friendly from the maids to the hotel manager, nothing was too much trouble. The dining room was immaculate and the variety of food was the best we have ever experienced. the evening entertainment was good ,sometimes excellent. It was for us an expensive holiday but it was money well spent, would most certainly go again. Brits were very much in the minority of hotel guests.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EssexMilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2010

This was our second stay and it felt like going home. The staff can not do enough for you from the moment you arrive and have a glass of bubbly at reception whilst they check you in. The addition of the Krystal restaurant at no extra cost has added a bit of variety to the evening meal and we took the opportunity to dine there twice during our stay.
If you are dithering about booking this hotel don't, you will not be dissapointed. People come back here year after year and you probably will as well.
Our favourite winter get away.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whatfordregans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
80 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2010

That got your attention didn`t it ?

Off course I don`t really mean it, but maybe I don`t want you to stay here because then there will be more room for me to enjoy this excellent hotel.

This is the fifth time my partner and I have stayed here and we look forward to visiting again asap.
I think what makes it special is that everything is at least good and some things such as the staff and the food choice are excellent.
For example the bathrooms are well lit, you can actually use the shaving mirror ( in many hotels I`ve stayed in its too dark or they are in the wrong position), there are coat hooks in the bathroom too.
In the rooms evrything looks well made, designed to last and is practical.
There is ample wardrobe space and lots of drawers.
The staff are always happy & helpful plus many remember you from last time.
The breakfast and dinner buffet have an huge choice of dishes, it is so easy to pile on the pounds and inches - take care !
You can always swim it off in the pools which were very clean with no damaged paving stones and they are surrounded by tidy gardens.

It is alway easy to moan but I find it really difficult to find anything to moan about apart from two things:
Firstly I agree with what a another reviewer stated. How some guests (mainly British) were very scruffy at dinner - at least they were not wearing football shirts, but T-shirts and trainers at dinner is not the done thing, if you want to dress like that go and stay elsewhere.
Secondly we only stayed for a week, two weeks would be better and three would be heaven.
As I have stated before we judge other hotels by the high standards set here.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2010

Just spent a week at the RIU Palace and would go back tomorrow!
From the minute we arrived to the minute we left, the level of service and friendliness from all staff was exceptional. The hotel was clean in every area. Small bottles of Champagne and basket of fruit on arrival and a large complimentary bottle of champagne the day of my partner's birthday - nice touch!
The food choice in the main restaurant was excellent and despite some comments, if you want that little extra service and atmosphere for romantic nigh, try the Krystal Fusion restaurant where the choice may be limited but the standard of food is exceptional.
The location in terms of access to the dunes and beach is excellent but if you are one of those who wants to escape the walls in an evening for a stroll and drink out then Playa des Ingles is grubby and lacking class. On the basis all RIU Palaces offer the same level of standrds (my experiences in the Canaries suggests they do) then i would recommend RIU Palace, Melonaras where the promenade and sea walk offers a level of ambience and class beyond that of Playa des Ingles but still offers great location to the dunes.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJE1UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2010

Riu Hotels cater mainly for the German market, and are well organised.
We stayed in Room 1077 Riu Palace Maspalomas from 13 Jan to 20 Jan 2010, and we found the room to be in a very good state except for a non-working lamp which was fixed as soon as it was reported.
The bath had a minute crack of two inches at the bottom, but this did not affect the use.
Our room was cleaned thoroughly daily including vacuuming.
We prefererred having the same table for dinner which was very good for six evenings out of the seven, and our only complaint about dinner was the slovenly dress of most English guests.
We are nice dresses and jacket and tie people, but found so many guests coming to dinner dressed as if to do gardening!
There was a small vegetarian section in the dinner buffet, but no soup specifically labelled as vegetarian, a small point the Riu Group could address.
The swimming pool was warm, and not too busy, with towels provided, but not dressing gowns.
Reception staff were very helpful, providing bus timetables and advice on trips to take.
There was music/dancing/entertainment every evening.
All in all, a very happy weeks holiday for which we paid Thomson £516 each half board flying from Bournemouth.
Booking excursions with Thomson on the internet before travel meant 33% savings on the prices asked by Courier at resort.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Branksea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2009

Stayed here for our honeymoon and were upgraded to a seaview room for free, the service from the moment you arive till you leave is great and the choice of food at the restaraunt was also great, the location of the hotel seems to come under some critisism on here and I can see why some people wouldn't like it, however I like to relax on holiday so it was perfect for me.

I really can't think of anything i would have changed about it and would definatley stay there again.

my only tip for anyone visiting the region not just the hotel is if you're going to book the sioux city excursion with your travel company then don't bother paying extra for the BBQ as it's a total rip off, and even though the sioux city trip was OK it is the very definition of a tourist trap.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bob0412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Ingles
0.8 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,395 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bohemia Suites & Spa
Bohemia Suites & Spa
#2 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,225 reviews
0.9 mi away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#3 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
1.6 mi away
Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino
1.3 mi away
Seaside Palm Beach
Seaside Palm Beach
#4 of 220 in Maspalomas
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Address: Avenida Tirajana s/n | Playa del Ingles- Gran Canaria, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#3 Spa Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#4 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#13 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas 4*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Playa del Ingles. Next to the Maspalomas sand dunes. 4-Storey building. Colonial-style architecture. 28,000 M2 of subtropical gardens. 800 M from the beach. 2 Km from the city centre. 500 M from various shops. 30 Km from the airport. 50 M from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Maspalomas Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing