We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Ranked #3 of 135 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Outstanding Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2009

From the moment you arrive the service from all member's of staff is just outstanding and done with a very natural smile.

The hotel is well kept, our room was very modern in a traditional sort of way. With updated and new bathrooms, good range of english speaking programmes on the TV and room were kept spotless. A welcome gift of fruit and port was in our room on arrival. We arrived about 8.30pm and rather than checkin they gave us our hotel card and advised us to go and have our evening meal which started at 8pm and they would do all the rest when we had eatenl. A real nice touch!

The range and standard of Breakfast and Evening meal was excellent.

Just a perfect holiday from start to end. Our first RIU experience and we can see why its number 1.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JA/IRBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,006
    367
    110
    26
    14
See reviews for
195
1,012
70
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2009

Having been to GC many times before and been through the Riu Palace on our way to beach, we decided to fork out the extra and treat ourselves, but regretted it from the moment we arrived to begin our 2 week stay!

I can summarise the hotel by saying that the public areas like lobby & pool area look nice & elegant at first glance, but the rooms let the hotel down and we found (in both the rooms we had) that they were in a poor state of repair & very noisy with noise from fellow guests & cleaners disturbing our stay. As it was put to me, the hotel has "presence" but lacks any soul.

Having read on their website that most rooms had a sea view we were disappointed with our view of a tatty gate and a service road under the hotel. Even the gardens outside the room were poorly maintained. See photo's!

The bathroom whilst a reasonable size was in a poor state of repair with the baths having previously been painted (yes painted) but which the paint was peeling off! Several tiles were badly cracked or broken and there was often mildew in the grouting & above the very flimsy shower curtain. And with no window or means of mechanical ventilation the bathroom steamed up within a minute or so of switching on the shower. This is what probably caused the mildew & paint to peel off!

But we though that as we'd gone to have a chilled & relaxing time, we'd just sit out on our balcony (with the poor view!) and read in the evenings! Wrong! None of the balconies have lights anywhere in the hotel, they're all in the dark so no chance of sitting out and reading in the evenings which is what we'd planned to do! The armchairs in the rooms look nice but were in fact uncomfortable so we got no joy there either.

So we complained the first morning and whilst we were told that we could move rooms we were told that if wanted a sea view we had to pay extra for it. So we asked Daniel on reception how much extra and he told us to see our rep, who fortunately was in reception. She though said we needed to talk to reception. So we asked her to talk to Daniel and they argued between each other as to who should do it, with Daniel insisting that he could not give us (or Thomson) a price and that Thomson would have to contact their head office. So our rep rang their head office, but no luck, they said to talk to the hotel and pay them directly. So it was back to reception and ask Daniel how much, but he didn't know. So having wasted around an hour of our first morning already we gave up and went out for the day.

We went half board but found that the food wasn't as decribed. For example lamb & mint sauce in fact had no mint sauce at all, and the items often described as "grilled" were in fact all fried. Whilst there was a fair amount of choice it soon became very repetitive with the same thing put out day in & day out and only a few things seemed to change each evening. So despite having paid extra for half board we ate out several times.

And we didn't like having to go for our meals either at 6pm or 8pm and having to sit at the same time & same table every night! Despite phoning ahead to ensure that we had the 8pm sitting we were given the 6pm one, which we insisted was changed on arrival. So we decided on the first night to go down 10 minutes early thinking they wouldn't mind! Wrong! The doors were closed and opened bang on 8pm, so if you want to go a little earlier, sorry, no chance. And because everyone seems to arrive all at once (especially the 8pm sitting) it seemed that there were always queues at the counters, i.e. everyone has soup / starter first, followed by their main, so queues were common place!

I don't want to be all negative though, there were some nice things. Fresh juice at breakfast was both plentiful, a good choice, and was indeed fresh juice, made there in front of you. And the fact that you could go to breakfast any time after 8am and sit anywhere was a little better. We did try to sit outside but never managed it once as space was limited. We did try varying the times to see if it made a difference but without luck. It's just pot luck if a table outside happens to be free when you want it. So we had to eat indoors each day.

Outside the pool areas look very nice but we chose not to use them and went to the beach each day instead.

After our first week everyone at dinner was given a questionnaire asking their opinions so I made a point of complaining and asking for the hotel Director. He was very apologetic and offered to move us to the 1st floor free of charge for the remainder of our stay, which we accepted. We also pointed out the poor state of repair of our room and he agreed that they should have picked this up before we had cause to complain. We were given a choice of a couple of rooms but the first one was a little cramped overlooking a road down the side of the hotel, and so we accepted the second one a day later which did indeed have a better view, but which was in a similar poor state of repair. We did put our heads in several open doors when rooms were empty and being cleaned but all seemed to be similar. So having paid extra for what we thought was a superior hotel we were left disappointed and vowing not to go there again.

We also found the rooms very poor with noise of TV, fellow guests coughing away at night and especially the cleaners each morning was so loud they woke us up most days, banging away with their brooms & vacuum cleaners in the rooms either side. All in all in our opinion the hotel doesn't warrant the surcharge and so we won't be staying there again! It is popular though with the older generation with the vast majority of people being older and / or retired. There were very few younger people.

Ideal for it's location to the dunes, nice pool area, but very little else.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank ChrisHNearBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2009

We have just returned from a 7 day holiday purchased through Thomson - and as per previous reviews on here, we can confirn that what you see on the Web or in the Brochure is exactly what you get. The Hotel is stunning, and from the moment you reach the Reception Desk you are looked after by people that really do want you to enjoy your stay. Due to a long flight delay at Gatwick we arrived at 1.30am, to be told that after a rest etc we could enjoy a Cold Buffet meal in the Restaurant if we wished. This was a nice touch. as we were absolutely knackered! Our room was on the 2nd floor with lovely views over the pool & dunes - stunning every day. Restaurant staff are very helpful, and as previously mentioned on here by other reviewers you do get a choice of Buffet, Table Service or you can dine in "The Krystal Restaurant". To be honest, we didn't find the food in the Restaurant that good, and choice was quite limited. The Waiters/Waitresses everywhere in the Hotel are very helpful & friendly - yes the Hotel drinks are expensive, but that's the case wherever you stay in the world. Pool areas are great with plenty of loungers - if you stay here you must try the "Jacuzzi Beds" in the 2nd pool area over the bridge, they're great fun!
The Dunes are accessed via the walkway that runs between the 2 halves of the Hotel and they are a fantastic sight. We walked over them to the beach every day, but a word of warning - they can be a slog, especially if it is hot which it will be! There are marked routes which will take you in the direction of the lighthouse - another other option is to go to the edge of the Dunes and turn left following the pedestrian walkway alongside the apartments. After about 10 minutes walking you will see the "shopping centre" down below on your right hand side with steps leading down to the car-park. Go down there, and the walk to the beach is relatively flat. This "shopping centre" has loads of bars/restaurants that come alive at night with live music - mainly Abba & Elvis tributes!
The other option is to put on a pair of pumps/sandals and go for the beach directly over the dunes. You can follow previous footprints, but don't be fooled by thinking the dunes aren't large - some are massive, and if you slipped down them you would take ages to get out. However, if you are young & fit and fancy a bit of fun then they can be a great laugh - it will take about 10-15 minutes to get to the beach this way.
The actual Beach is lovely, and you can walk all the way along the shore to Maspalomas Lighthouse & beyond.( Maspalomas is a bit more up market, and the Bars/Restaurants are better quality than Playa del Ingles.)
Now unless you are easily offended, the Beach area is fine. Yes there are nudists - and plenty of them - so be prepared for a few sights. There is a also a very large gay population in this area of Gran Canaria and a lot of the nightlife is aimed at this area. However, I'd be much more offended by seeing someone being sick in the High Street on a friday night in the UK - I think sometimes we should get our priorities on life right!
To be fair, there are some downsides:
1. We found the "Entertainment" at the hotel every evening appalling. It is aimed at the 50+ age group and if that appeals to you then fine. The resident "Band" will play hit songs from people such as Boney M, Bobby Darin, Frank Sinatra, Marmalade, Dean Martin etc EVERY NIGHT - I think that you get the idea? (Think of Peter Kay's "Phoenix Nights", and you've got it spot on!)
2. The Hotel is very much favoured by the 50+ year old German holidaymaker, so if you are British & "youngish" you are going to be very much in the minority here. The Brits appear to congregate further up the coast, or more inland towards Playa de Ingles.
3. Playa de Ingles is.......how can we put it....TACKY!!!
The Yumbo Centre is particularly poor, but all of the smaller centres are much the same. They aim at a particlar clientle - and if neon lights, burgers/pizza, shops selling low quality goods, aren't your scene then you are not going to like it!
We've tried to put over a balanced picture here, it was our 1st time in Spain/Canary Islands and we enjoyed the Hotel very much - apart from the Entertainment aspect it is very hard to fault, and if we ever come back to this area it would be our 1st choice without a doubt. However, would we come back to this area? - I doubt it.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AdrianandLoretta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2009

We visited the Riu Palace 23 September based on reviews from Trip Advisor. Overall the hotel was wonderful and hard to fault. We were at the hotel and hour after landing, reception was classy and well appointed wit lots of staff to help with luggage and check in was quick and efficient. We were upgraded to a two bedroom groundfloor suite with a huge balcony. There were sun loungers on the balcony and covers were changed daily. The rooms are large and well apponted with efficient air conditioning, large comfy beds, clean bathroom with bath and shower and a well stocked mini bar (beware it is NOT cheap). There are no tea or coffee making facilities however but this didnt detract from the rooms. We arrived at about 9.30pm and the hotel provided a good cold buffet at 10.30. The evening entertanment was above average with no tacky 'rep shows' in a spacious lounge and lots of tables outside on the terrace with pleasant and efficient waiter(ess) service. Drinks are excellent if pricey (about 6.5 Euros for a G&T or equivalent).There is also a good pianist afternoons and early evenings on the terrace.
Staff are excellent and really cant be faulted whether it is in the bars, restaurants, pool, reception or rooms.
There are lots of loungers in the pool areas ( a large pool and smaller pool both with additional 'off pool' loungin areas) and plenty of mattresses and clean towels daily. No need to get up early to reserve a spot unless you are really fussy on location. There is a large bar/restaurant in the pool area and lots of waiters buzzing around to bring drinks. The food menu is limted but good quality with snacks and meals freshly cooked to order. Again it is not cheap but worth the money. There is a Netto Mini Supermarket accross the road from the hotel which sells drinks, snacks and newspapers if you want them.
The food at dinner is very good and there are two sittings (18.00 and 20.00) which are allocated at reception on arrival according to your requirements. There is lots of choice every night includng buffet, table service or al le carte at no extra cost (once per week of stay). If you want al le carte better book early as it is limited and very popular. You are allocatd a table for dinner which you keep fo the duration of your stay. Breakfast is as good as it gets in Spain with the best bacon around and champagne (sort of) on tap. There is a bar serving smoothies and fruit, eggs (cooked as you want them) of all types and coffee brought to the table. If you are early (or after about 9.15) you can have breakfast on the terrace. Dress codes are strictly enforced at dinner, no shorts, tea shirts or sandles.
The gardens and walkway (also used by the public) goes directly onto the sand dunes so you can walk to the sea (10-15 mins across the dunes) or to Maspalomas (20 mins). The sand is hot hot hot so wear good shoes or you will burn your feet. The dunes are a nudist area so if you are easily offended avoid them.
The area around the hotel is tatty and shopping centre (Cita ) run down and very downmarket , largely deserted, with grubby bars and best avoided. The Jumbo centre is about 10 mins walk but is also tired although lively. Many of the bars are gay bars but are friendly and everybody is welcome and they are clean and cheap. The whole area could do with a serious revamp.
Melonares on the other hand is very new and up market with lots of good bars, cafes and restaurants. There is also a lot of new 'designer' shops and shopping arcade although trade looks very quiet at the moment as in a lot of resorts. It is only bout 4 Euros in a taxi (which stand outside the hotel).
The hotel has lots of seating/games areas and there is Wi Fi in the lounge/bar areas. (not the bedrooms though) .
The hotel was mainly couples with all age group represented but predominently 40's to 60's age group. There were no children the week we went which lead to a very peaceful pool area.
I would definately consider going back just on the quality of the hotel but look around for deals as prices varied by 100% + on the week I went, same companies, same airlines and dates.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank YorkiePontefract
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2009

First time at the RIU palace and we loved everything about it. Food was great, rooms lovely, staff friendy. There were plenty of beds around the pool and it was silent!! Heaven!
We will certainly go back to this fantastic hotel and would recommend it to anyone!
It is lovely when you book your holiday and everything about it is just perfect!

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JulesPJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2009

Having stayed in many hotels have to say finally found a resort and hotel that was 10 out of 10. This hotel is very well run with friendly and helpful staff from the moment you arrive. Basically what Thomson advertise in the brouchure is what you get and more. Janice the rep is also helpful and very friendly, not that we needed her services. The complex is clean, rooms amazing, we had room 4058 which we had paid for as an upgrade and worth every penny. There are so many great things to say about this hotel and feel that you cannot fault the place. Selfishly it would be easier not to write on here as now we have found it we dont want to loose the chance of returning! The food has to be the greatest joy, so much choice, and so much to eat. Advise, loose weight before you go as you will certainly add a few pounds here. Finally thank you to the hotel, staff and Thomson for making this such a pleasureable experience at a time when a break was so needed.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dav1dgti2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2009

We chose this hotel for our group of five, including three teenagers, having read trip advisor reviews, which were very accurate. This is a lovely 4 star hotel, impressive exterior and interior, spotlessly clean and great location for us. Although we did not bother to pay extra for sea views, we still had spectacular views to the sea and dunes. The location is peaceful but only 3 or 4 euros in a taxi to bars, shops etc. Nice shopping in Meloneras. The atmosphere is a bit reserved by both day and night with mostly older guests, mainly couples (gay and straight). I think we were a bit out of place when we were mucking about in the pool or laughing loudly, which we did a lot, but we didnt care. Not the best for families, especially those with small children, because of the pervading silence about the place. Staff were great and always helpful but we found the hotel quite expensive and spent an average of £125 a day just on drinks (mostly non-alcoholic) and ice creams etc. (Maybe that's not expensive?!) Negatives were the uncomfy beds, the air conditioning which just didn't seem to work well in our room, and the usual boring entertainment but then decent hotel entertainment is a bit of a holy grail. Have seen better wellness centres so gave that a miss (the one at the Lopesan Villa Del Conde, or called something like that, was to die for). Food was very good but as with most hotels, gets just a bit boring after a while. Would have preferred not to have to stick to timed sittings but not a big problem. Overall we were dead chuffed with our choice but I have tried to cover the negatives here as well as the positives. For some reason the week we went we only paid just under £530 each which was a bit of a bargain and the weather was perfect for us.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lel82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Ingles
0.8 mi away
Bohemia Suites & Spa
Bohemia Suites & Spa
#2 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
1.3 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#4 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino
1.2 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#22 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Address: Avenida Tirajana s/n | Playa del Ingles- Gran Canaria, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#3 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#13 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas 4*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Playa del Ingles. Next to the Maspalomas sand dunes. 4-Storey building. Colonial-style architecture. 28,000 M2 of subtropical gardens. 800 M from the beach. 2 Km from the city centre. 500 M from various shops. 30 Km from the airport. 50 M from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Maspalomas Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing