We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel But Poor Effort By Thomson”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Ranked #7 of 135 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Lets start with the negative we arrived at Gran Canaria but no Thomson rep at airport or on the coach which unfortunately due to penny pinching by Thomson allowed several passengers on the coach to behave with obscene and vulgar language regardless of the fact that children were on the coach ( would have been prevented if a Thomson rep was present) after a trip from hell we arrived at our hotel, The room was excellent however our view from our balcony was of a big palm tree only ( we laughed) The staff at this hotel are friendly and helpful and the food is plentiful and of a good quality. Pool areas are good and staff who attend you there are excellent .Holidays are what you make of them and this hotel was a great start to making our holiday a good one

Room Tip: Don't book room 2036
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michael h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,746)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

582 - 588 of 1,746 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2014

Stayed 17th-24th May

The good :
Relaxing pool areas
Beautiful beach and sea views
Food
Service
Happy smiley staff
Very clean, homely feel hotel
Front desk accommodating with requests
Adam on the front door - a cool guy

The not so good:
Poor soundproofing in bedrooms (we were unlucky - hope for quiet neighbours)
Poor selection of english/american tv channels (sky/bbc news only - a music channel would have been great)

Would definitely stay again. If you're going here - you in for a treat!

Room Tip: Ask for no neighbours and floor 2/upwards for that sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

went to this hotel as it was my 60th birthday .me and my husband and we both said we could not ask for anything better the food the staff the room .the hotel was breath taking the thompson rep scott was also very helpful and well presented would go back again .

Room Tip: we had room 37 which was on ground level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gail e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Returned from this Hotel last week. What a lovely hotel to stay in. The staff from the cleaners cooks,waiters pool attendants,reception are all FIRST CLASS. Myself and my wife met many good friend s on our return visit. If you are looking for peace and quite well you have hit the jackpot with this hotel. Gay Straight, German English French etc whatever it doesn't matter everybody mixes. Not many children though but it still caters brilliantly for everybody.

I would recommend this hotel time and time again. The food is First class. Drinks are large compared to some of the bars in the town, but maybe a little more expensive. Use the local supermarkets scattered around the area and stock up with Water,drink,crisp etc so that you can have snacks before dinne.
All I can say is that you cant please everybody but they have certainly pleased us time and time again. ENJOY.

Room Tip: If you want the sunshine in the evening get rooms 3030 TO 3040 on the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kenny r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Recently stayed at this hotel for the first time although I haved been to the area several times. Overall very impressed with hotel. Elegant with character. Very friendly and obliging staff provided an excellent service. Our room was on second floor with a spacious balcony providing sea views over the dunes. Bathroom somewhat dated though and has bath/shower which can be difficult to use if you have mobility problems. Classy and comfortable buffet dining room serving a wide range of high quality food although it is difficult to understand as to why they still insist on having two sittings as it appears to cause congestion.
Now for the gripes. There are no toilets located near the dining room so you have to walk to the other side of hotel for the facilities. The hotel really needs to update their systems. Amazed that a hotel of this standard still uses room keys with numbers on the fobs and not a keycard system as most hotel chains use. This is not ideal for security which makes it totally unreasonable for them to charge 20 euros a week to use the room safe. Stayed for 10 nights but they still charged 40 euros!
The gripes not detract from our enjoying our stay and we will be going back again later this year. We just hope that they will bring themselves into the 21st century.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

We have just arrived back from the Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas and it was the best time ever!!
The staff were really helpful and friendly. The doorman was such a lovely person who couldn't do enough for us.
The hotel was always kept spotless. Our room was cleaned every day.
The choice of food in the buffet style restaurant was excellent. I'm a vegetarian and was able to find everything I wanted. The chef even made special pasta dishes for me :).
I would highly recommend this hotel, especially if you like it quiet.
The evening entertainment was okay, quite varied.
A couple of points - if you prefer soft beds, then you will need to request the toppers from reception.
We went with Thomson and a quick point with reference to the boat trip around the island (not all the way around) This trip was definitely 'over sold' Yes it was enjoyable, but it was very cramped and we were told we would be able to swim over to the caves!! Not so. And the choice of music we found to be quite odd for a relaxing boat trip! (Eminem)
But back to the hotel, altogether awesome.

We're planning another week in September :)

Jean

Room Tip: We stayed in 2055. Great view looking over the dunes, but we didn't get the sun on our balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jean E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is absolutly wonderful and staff are great.just the ideal holiday if you want peace and tranquility.and so much to do.we loved it that much we are going back in july.also it is very clean and quite quiet as not many young children come here.the manager of the hotel even came to say good bye to us.the only bad comment would be the ladies clothes shop attached to the hotel is very expensive.and when you go in there she makes you feel like you need to buy something.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Mazy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Ingles
0.9 mi away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#6 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,324 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bohemia Suites & Spa
Bohemia Suites & Spa
#2 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,542 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#18 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
5,446 reviews
1.2 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Papayas
ClubHotel Riu Papayas
#11 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
661 reviews
2.7 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#5 of 19 in San Agustin
1,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas

Address: Avenida Tirajana s/n, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#7 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range: $170 - $452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas 4*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Playa del Ingles. Next to the Maspalomas sand dunes. 4-Storey building. Colonial-style architecture. 28,000 M2 of subtropical gardens. 800 M from the beach. 2 Km from the city centre. 500 M from various shops. 30 Km from the airport. 50 M from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with RIU Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Maspalomas Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing