We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Service, with lots of smiles” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Ranked #5 of 135 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Certificate of Excellence
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Service, with lots of smiles”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

This is a very good hotel, the most notable feature of which is the excellent, very friendly service.
The location of this establishment is striking, being situated on the edge of the largest expanse of sand dunes in Europe, Gran Canaria being a Spanish territory. It is also as far south in the resort of Playa Del Ingles as you can get.
The Riu Palace Maspalomas is quite a large hotel, with 368 en-suite guest rooms, ranging from standard doubles to multi-bedroomed suites. My wife and I booked a standard room for 7 nights in the 2nd week of September, with the Thomson tour Operator, who rate it with 4 Ts.
Upon arrival at the hotel we were offered a complimentary glass of Champagne to enjoy on the Hotel terrace while the Reception completed check-in formalities and our luggage was taken to the room. We found a complimentary fruit basket and ¼ bottle of Cava when we went up to the room. Our room was an ample size with private balcony and sea view, safe deposit box, air conditioning, ceiling fan, hair dryer, telephone, fridge with mini-bar, two arm-chairs, a table and plenty of wardrobe space. We found the room decoration and fittings quite tasteful. The complimentary toiletries with the bathroom even included a small sewing-kit. Being south-facing all rooms with a sea-view enjoy the sun during at least part of the day.
The public areas of the Hotel are quite impressive, with numerous chandeliers hanging in the lobby area. Everything is kept very clean, despite the sand (as mentioned later). The Hotel boast 2 pools, an outdoor Jacuzzi, and a ‘Wellness’ Centre with Spa and Gym. There are 2 floodlit tennis courts and a hairdresser on site also.
Food is served buffet style and is of high quality. Breakfast includes all the fruit and continental offerings you would expect, and a full cooked option too. Evening meal provides good variety which varies somewhat each day, although there are always some dishes featured, such as Pizza, pasta, salads, chips and rice. There is a good selection of sweet desserts and an extensive cheese board, some of which are local to the Island. You can also eat in the waiter service ‘Krystal’ Fusion restaurant for no extra charge, but must make a reservation in advance.
As noted in the opening to this review the friendly service is worthy of particular note. All the reception staff are fluently multi-lingual, as this hotel attracts a very International clientele. When you pass by any member of staff they smile and say hello, often in several languages. When entering the hotel restaurant for evening meal you will pass all the management and waiting staff lined up in the entrance passage and be greeted as you enter. When you return to your table with a plate full of food from the buffet you will often find a waiter ready to put your chair back under you as you sit down. Empty plates are taken away promptly and if your wine glass is empty a waiter will probably be there quickly to refill it. In the bar the staff are always on the move, taking drinks orders in several languages and delivering beverages to your table. During the day the pool area is patrolled by bar staff to take your orders for refreshments as you lie soaking up the Canarian Sun. And all that with a smile too.
As far as Evening entertainment is concerned there is a resident house band who have quite a wide musical repertoire. Most nights there is also a special live act on. We saw a group of 4 Tenors singing operatic and popular classics, a Chinese acrobatic act who did amazing things with plant-pots, a magician-come-illusionist with a comic twist and a head for numbers, and a Salsa-Flamenco fusion band who performed the Eagles’ song ‘Hotel California’ with an accompanying Flamenco dance!
Regards value for money, the standard of food and accommodation provided is I think good value. As there is no all-inclusive option on offer at this hotel you will of course have a bill to settle for all beverages, lunches, snacks etc.. Prices of alcoholic drinks are certainly not cheap, but amounts are best described as very generous, a measure of a short being equivalent to a quadruple measure in a bar in England. Prices of wine at the hotel restaurant table are roughly the same as you would pay in a restaurant in the UK. On the subject of money, there is a no-cash policy at the hotel, so you can charge all the extras to the room and settle the account at the end of your stay. That’s an arrangement we preferred, but it may not suit everyone.
The resort of Playa Del Ingles is dominated by Hotels and Holiday apartments, but has a substantial degree of residential housing also. There is no true centre to the resort and no real history to speak of. There are however more than a dozen shopping centres of various sizes spread across the Playa Del Ingles area, 4 of which are within easy walking distance of the Hotel. The largest of these centres is the ‘Yumbo’, which offers many shopping attractions during the day and a lively entertainment scene at night. A ‘Hiperdino’ mini-supermarket is located just a few yards from the Hotel entrance, where you can buy English papers and magazines, toiletries and the essential bottled water. For some designer label shopping visit the 3 centres in the south of the area of Meloneras, near the lighthouse, visible across the sand dunes from the hotel. If you wish to venture further afield there is a local bus service which stops right outside the hotel entrance, and there is a taxi rank there also. You can go anywhere in a taxi in Playa Del Ingles for about 6 Euros. The Island is not that large, so you can visit the capital, Las Palmas, on the North of the Island easily in a day.
Now what about the negatives? There has to be negatives.
The first is the dining arrangements. There are 2 sittings for dinner, one at 6.30pm and another at 8.30pm. You are assigned your sitting time when you check-in at the hotel and must stick to this throughout your stay. Although this didn’t cause us any problem I am sure that some may wish to choose their own time of eating rather than have it decided arbitrarily by the hotel reception upon your arrival. The reason for the two dinner sittings appears to be that the buffet restaurant is just not big enough to accommodate all the guests at the same time. This can become evident at breakfast time, when it may be difficult to find an empty table that has been set ready for use, especially if the outside terrace area of the restaurant is closed on the odd occasion when it rains in the morning, as occurred once during our stay.
The second negative is the sand which makes up the extensive area of dunes that are in view from the hotel. This sand is very fine, gets blown around by the common breeze coming off the Atlantic Ocean, and gets everywhere. I was unlucky enough to get some in an eye early in our stay and it irritated me for 2 days. If you read a book by the pool you will find it gets between the pages. It finds it’s way onto your sea-facing balcony and between your toes if you walk along the coastal path. I realise of course that there is nothing the Hotel management can do about the sand or the breeze which blows it into the Hotel grounds.
Third, it can be difficult to find a free sun-bed unless you get to the pool area early.
Also, there are only 2 English TV channels available in the guest rooms, being Sky and BBC World News channels. There are non-news German and Spanish channels available, so why not at least one non-news English channel?
Finally there are no organised activities provided at the hotel, and it cannot be described as a family oriented establishment, as there are no children’s activities, just a small playground for the few little ones we encountered there.
All-told this is a very good Hotel, particularly for adult couples, offering a high standard of food and accommodation. It has a great location and customer service is excellent. I can recommend it.
Just a word of caution, there are 3 RIU hotels in and around Playa Del Ingles and Maspalomas which have the word ‘Palace’ in their name, so if you do decide to book this hotel, be sure to select the right one; the one that backs onto the sand dunes.

Room Tip: A sea view is well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank APCMann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    938
    354
    107
    26
    13
See reviews for
186
945
68
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

We chose it because this is probably most famous hotel in this area. Near to the desert and beach.
We booked half board, of which the breakfast and dinner buffet is amazing and not repeat for 4 nights.
ok, No wifi in the room, but the wifi in the lobby is enough as we do not have a lot of need to surf internet.
As for room, comfortable, but I cannot say too much about the decoration...please see the picture yourself.

Room Tip: Room with sea view is not true! You could have big trees in front of the balcony to block anything!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yujiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Loved this hotel from the minute we arrived. Staff very friendly and attentive. Hotel spotlessly clean. Food lovely and loads to choose from. Couldn't have asked for more. A lovely relaxing holiday. Would definitely love to go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

If you can afford to spend a little more on your Gran Canaria holiday, then this has to be top of the places to stay.

GOOD :
-Rooms are very clean, carpeted, stylish and homely.
-Food is brilliant - particularly the after dinner cheeses
-Location is great - though if youre not a walker expect to pay around 4-5 Euro for taxi to Yumbo;
-Staff are quite friendly, though creepy restaurant manager.
-Drinks fairly priced
- Mixed crows, though on the older side;
- DO NOT need to wear dress trousers (as some reviews say) for dinner, but no shorts - good!


BAD :
-They really need to add free in room wifi - would cost little and set the hotel out from the crowd;
-Current Wifi in Lobby is slow and drops often;
-The cleaners do insist on replacing your towels every day, not matter where you put them - STOP! I dont want my towel replaced daily adding to the pollutants in our seas;
-Should really consider making this an adult only hotel - there are few kids, but they tend to be noisey around the poolside - majority of clients are adults by far;

Room Tip: Stay away from fire exit doors, lifts and cleaner's cupboards - all very noisey - cleaners are n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eyress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
113 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

One of the best hotels I have been to. The buffet food was the best I have had at a hotel and the service and friendliness of the staff was incredible. After the second night our drinks were already waiting for us on the table, the waiting staff were very attentive. Everyone really dresses up for dinner which was nice. We received an incredibly friendly welcome at reception on arrival, our sea view room was great and the hotel is very clean and well looked after. The only thing letting the hotel down is its position as we didn't really like playa del ingles at all. Meloneras down the road is so much nicer and there are lots of upmarket shops/restaurants, we felt the hotel would be best placed there (although there is also a Riu Palace Meloneras).

As a family we usually prefer the beach to the pool but it really was quite a trek to the beach from the hotel and it wasn't a particularly nice beach (sand wasn't very golden). So, we spent most of the time by the pool but it was really lovely with a relaxed atmosphere with great waiter service to your sunbed. The view of the dunes was great and it was fun (but tiring) to climb them. Also the sand gets very hot so you have to wear shoes to climb them, and I still burnt my feet!

We visited Palmitos Park which was a great day - it is quite expensive but well worth it due to the great dolphin show, and even the parrot show was actually really impressive.

Didn't really watch the entertainment, only the acrobat show and the magic show which were both quite good - the magic show was better. The musicians who played on the terrace early evening were great to listen to.

All in all I would recommend this hotel for a quiet and relaxed holiday. We had a great time and if it wasn't for wanting to try new places each time we would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyA94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Just one word for this property excellent, service, food, clean, room , location , very very good . We went there in Juluy and had the greatest time ever.The quality of the show by night was also excellent and the nearby beach are also very clean .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BenitoBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We arrived very late and were given the keys to our room and told to check in the next day.

The room was disappointing, no view just a white wall, tiled area and the top of a tree. Right over the restaurant, noisy and early in the morning smells of food. The room was dated, cracked tiles in the bathroom, yellow stains on the bathroom ceiling, a shower that didn't work when turned to hot, hairs and ants on the bathroom floor (upon arrival). The sheets were also full of stains and hairs! I did ask the maid and left the card on the bed twice asking for them to be changed, they were not and the second time the card was hidden under a pile of magazines.

The pool area is dated, cracked tiles just left on the floor, dirty sun loungers, mould on the floor. Although the pool staff are very helpful and friendly.

Some staff in Reception are very rude, twice I was ignored and left standing around, the porter both times stepped in and assisted. We were told no information about locations, meal times and when I asked where I got a pool towel from I was told, not here! Not a great impression on your first day.

The restaurant is good, the staff were friendly and polite. We did not like the stampede into the restaurant each night and the pushing and shoving at food stations. The food quality was good although not all labelled vegetable soup contained ham, not great when you are a vegetarian.

I don't think this hotel matches other platinum hotels and similar standards at other RUI hotels.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mowgs8388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Ingles
0.8 mi away
Bohemia Suites & Spa
Bohemia Suites & Spa
#2 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
1.3 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
1.2 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#22 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
0.9 mi away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#3 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
1.3 mi away
Seaside Palm Beach
Seaside Palm Beach
#4 of 221 in Maspalomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Address: Avenida Tirajana s/n | Playa del Ingles- Gran Canaria, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#3 Spa Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#5 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#13 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas 4*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Playa del Ingles. Next to the Maspalomas sand dunes. 4-Storey building. Colonial-style architecture. 28,000 M2 of subtropical gardens. 800 M from the beach. 2 Km from the city centre. 500 M from various shops. 30 Km from the airport. 50 M from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Maspalomas Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing