We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotelk”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Ranked #7 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Certificate of Excellence
Tenerife, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotelk”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Just one word for this property excellent, service, food, clean, room , location , very very good . We went there in Juluy and had the greatest time ever.The quality of the show by night was also excellent and the nearby beach are also very clean .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenitoBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,072
    400
    119
    28
    17
See reviews for
215
1,073
78
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We arrived very late and were given the keys to our room and told to check in the next day.

The room was disappointing, no view just a white wall, tiled area and the top of a tree. Right over the restaurant, noisy and early in the morning smells of food. The room was dated, cracked tiles in the bathroom, yellow stains on the bathroom ceiling, a shower that didn't work when turned to hot, hairs and ants on the bathroom floor (upon arrival). The sheets were also full of stains and hairs! I did ask the maid and left the card on the bed twice asking for them to be changed, they were not and the second time the card was hidden under a pile of magazines.

The pool area is dated, cracked tiles just left on the floor, dirty sun loungers, mould on the floor. Although the pool staff are very helpful and friendly.

Some staff in Reception are very rude, twice I was ignored and left standing around, the porter both times stepped in and assisted. We were told no information about locations, meal times and when I asked where I got a pool towel from I was told, not here! Not a great impression on your first day.

The restaurant is good, the staff were friendly and polite. We did not like the stampede into the restaurant each night and the pushing and shoving at food stations. The food quality was good although not all labelled vegetable soup contained ham, not great when you are a vegetarian.

I don't think this hotel matches other platinum hotels and similar standards at other RUI hotels.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mowgs8388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Firstly arrived in afternoon before check in was told to have a seat in lounge area and wait on glass of bubbly all I wanted to do was get to my room in pack and head to the pool, 20mins later checked in and went along to room asked for sea view or pool room - what did I get Looked on to a Wall!! Yes a wall no view about from a white wall and palm tree.

Was told to go for dinner at 6:30 which is far to early was still Hot at 6:30 but when we went changed the next nights to 8:30 any other la carte restaurant I've been to it opens maybe 6:30 till 10:00 and you go when you please. But I felt they wanted to be a little posher here. Didn't like this idea and sat at same table every night (Boring) food was ok couldn't fault it but same every night. Had to stand in a line cue waiting on pick what you wanted to eat meat first then by the time got to veg at other end was cold. Really didn't like the restaurant set up, preferred to go out for dinner oh yeah make sure men have dress trousers on too! Pathetic if you as me it's a buffet not a posh restaurant.

Hotel is for older people it's very 50's 60's think its lost in time! If you enjoy dancing to the cha cha then this is your hotel!

Staff where nice no one really spoke to us so didn't have a problem the manager did come over on our last night and ask if we had a good stay... First and only time he'd spoke to us and had seen him around. Other than that everyone said hello

Rooms where tidied everyday maids did a great job left fancy towels and sweets,

Prices for food and drinks are so over priced its unreal. We when to supermarket over the road and bought our own for pool and room. Think most people did!

Spent most nights in bed watching a film or along at faro de the light house at masplaomas lovely places to eat and shop much better location.

I would not recommend this hotel unless your over 60 and wanting to do nothing and not leave hotel.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Holli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

What a nice hotel (But)
Arrived at lunchtime porter met the bus and put our bags onto a trolley (let the driver take them of the bus and then the porter will load onto a trolley) this way you can make your way to the lovely reception to hand over your passports and then you will be asked to have a seat in the bar while they sort your room out (with a complimentary glass of champagne or orange juice).
They will then come and get you when your room is ready and the porter will then take you and your bags to your room ( we had a sea view room well worth it if you can get one).
We were on DBB and was told our sitting was at 8.30, (did not really like this time as we usually eat about 7.30 the other sitting was at 6.30 this was to early also some of the entertainment was at 8.30 so we would miss it.
So got ready for our dinner (long trousers recommended, you could wear shorts but you will be the odd one out). The food is lovely from chef’s show cooking to the hot counters something for everyone so much choice.
The small pool is the quietest but chairs get taken early usually before 9.30am so you have to be sharp.
The beaches are lovely shallow sea and pure sand no stones but lots of nudists and same sex couples.
We were there about 6 years ago but the recession has taken its toll on the environment, making some places look a bit run down.

The Restaurant Staff (this was the only area that let the hotel and our experience down on the first 2 nights  )
Anyway you are asked to see the head waiter on arrival of the restaurant to be allocated your table for your duration of your stay.
We were shown to our seats that looked like a table for 4 but it was really 2 tables close together. We did not make a fuss as it was our first night so we waited on the waiter to come over to tell us what we were supposed to do, and waited and waited and waited we eventually got a young waiter who asked what language we spoke we said English and he walked away saying no English no English, this was a bit strange, so to get to the point I eventually got up and asked one of the other waiters to please serve us, not really what I expected from such a lovely hotel.
So let’s try Breakfast after not a great experience from Dinner.
You pick your own table in the morning so you can sit any were so we did we said to ourselves what do we do here as no one came to the table, so we went up to help ourselves to the lovely breakfast. People around were getting asked would you like coffee or tea when they sat down, so we had to stop a waiter and ask could we please get tea/coffee he never answered and went off and brought a pot of coffee and put it on the table, we were really starting to dislike this rudeness .
We decided to see how the dinner would be later this night, before going to speak to somebody regarding this uncomfortable situation we were encountering in the restaurant ( I have to say all the other staff in the hotel were really nice, helpful and polite and go out there way to help you including the friendly chefs (so what was wrong with the restaurant staff).
So that night we were dreading to go to dinner so they tried to seat us again at the same table we just refused and asked to find us another table so after a squabble between the 2 head waiters they decided to move us to a lovely table.
So the moral of this story is if you don’t like were you have been seated ask to be moved and tip your waiter for an even better service if you can get table number 74 then this is a lovely area.

Room Tip: Get a sea view they also get the sun all day
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank swordfish4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Ticino, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

The holel is good if you have average expectations, but is surely has many poits that could leave you unhappy.

Service:
The staff is clearly trained to appear friendly, but that last only if you don't have any specific request, and if you do exactly what they expect you to do.

In several circumstances we experienced rudeness. For example we have been asked to leave the empty sitting area of the lobby because we were heading a bottle of soda purchased outside, or asked in a very rude way to put on a t shirt when eating someting on the bar next to the pool. Also on the check out date we got a call aking rudly why we did not leave the room, ad that was Before the checkout time.

Facilities:
The room are good, the bathroom is a bit dated and not very functional.
Wifi is availabe only in the lobby and is extremely slow, almost to the poit that you will give up.

We had some great evenings, but is not possible to eat outside, and belive me is sad to be in a room with closed cartons eating dinner.


Location:
Here it depends what you want, but if you if you plan to go to the beach every day is not a good choice. Is a very long walk, and the sand is really hot.


  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Efrem D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedworth, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Have no problem with hotel , agree with all that is said in other reviews . The problem is not providing a meal on the last day , due to an agreement that Riu , had with Thomson providing a silly buffet at 00.30 am , when we arrived. Which we did not want after a long journey and just wanted to get to our room. When we enquired through John ,the Thomson rep at the hotel , he said that it was in the small print of your contract , that starts from 12.00 pm on the you arrive , even though we did not fly out of the U.K. till 06.00pm. They have now reached an agreement with the Riu management , that you can get a meal on the last night for 12 Euros p.p , this also applies now to the sister hotel. We got the 12 Euro meal vouchers on the last night , rather than have to go searching for somewhere to eat , before being picked up for airport transfer. This was the only flaw, in what was a perfect holiday .

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor , no.2042 , looking out over the fun pool and a clear view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, South Wales
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Location - Hotel is very well positioned if you like quiet hotels, Riu also have a Palace hotel near the lighthouse (10 minute taxi ride) which is a busier area and with the beach more accessible if you prefer.
This hotel however has great views and you can easily walk to the Yumbo Centro within 15 minutes where there are shops bars etc.
We do like a beach holiday, however we did find the trek across the sand dunes which took about 20 minutes to be a bit of a pain! Once you got there you will find both a traditional beach plus also a nudist beach which does appear to be packed with older gentlemen.

Hotel - As with all Riu hotels that we have stayed in, we found the staff very accommodating, the facilities clean, rooms spacious and food quality exceptional.
My one gripe is that whereas other Riu hotels have a strict NO shorts allowed in the dining room for adult males this hotel appeared quite lapsed which in my opinion was a negative.
On the plus side, the variation and quality of the food was outstanding and guests could also book with NO cover charge a table at the krystal gourmet restaurant as an alternative, albeit the menu here isn't vast and apparently it never changes either......but well worth a visit at least once.
It is easy to get sunbeds by the pool at whatever time of day and this was peak summer and there appeared to be very few children which suited us fine.

All in all, I would recommend the hotel albeit I'm not convinced I would go back to Gran Canaria in peak summer but would consider it as a Winter venue in the future.

Room Tip: Request a room on a higher floor ( floors 3 or 4) for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Ingles
0.8 mi away
Bohemia Suites & Spa
Bohemia Suites & Spa
#3 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,374 reviews
1.0 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#8 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,590 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Santa Monica Suites Hotel
Santa Monica Suites Hotel
#2 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
204 reviews
0.9 mi away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#5 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,258 reviews
1.3 mi away
Seaside Palm Beach
Seaside Palm Beach
#4 of 217 in Maspalomas
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Address: Avenida Tirajana s/n | Playa del Ingles- Gran Canaria, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#6 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#13 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas 4*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Playa del Ingles. Next to the Maspalomas sand dunes. 4-Storey building. Colonial-style architecture. 28,000 M2 of subtropical gardens. 800 M from the beach. 2 Km from the city centre. 500 M from various shops. 30 Km from the airport. 50 M from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Maspalomas Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing