We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for relaxing break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Ranked #7 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Certificate of Excellence
WALES
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nice for relaxing break”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

The hotel is typical of the RIU group , well run , attentive staff , good food , comfortable and the amenities & facilities are of the high quality that you would expect from a 4/5 star hotel .

The surrounding area is very built up but the hotel is situated on the famous sand dunes so the view seaward is excellent . However ,occasionally when the wind blows towards the hotel the sand gets everywhere .

We went for a week with Thomson ( excellent rep ) from Cardiff . All went well despite the recent bad weather but Cardiff airport needs better management and updating as our experience there was not good .

The weather for January was exceptional and our week was very relaxing and enjoyable .

Key question : would we return - Yes !

Room Tip: Sea view better . Wi fi in reception better at off peak times .
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bolton07Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,059
    397
    118
    28
    16
See reviews for
209
1,071
77
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I have just returned from 10 days at the Riu Palace Maspalomas a stunning hotel in a quiet area over looking the spectacular Dunes of Maspalomas . The hotel itself is very crisp & clean oozing opulance in decor . The staff are friendly & go out of their way to say hello when passing reception nothings too much trouble. The restaurant is well stocked everything is fresh & the waiters through to chefs & serving staff all can not do enough for you ,any problems are sorted without fuss. The director went around the dining room asking all the new arrivals if they were happy with their rooms & the hotel it was very clear customer care is key to this hotel .The rooms are comfortable & nicely decorated with large balconys . The Pool is also very good i didn't use any of the other facilities to be able to comment on. The area around the pool is vast so you are not ontop of each other whilst sun bathing.
The area around the hotel is nice it's near to shops & supermarkets only a short distance walk away , the bus service is easy to use & fares are cheap. It cost 8 .80 for 2 people one way to porto mogan which was aprox 32 klm away & was worth the visit. Taxis are outside the hotel & are a little dearer than the bus but their fares are regulated & displayed on a notice in the taxi shelter.
Palamino Park is an excellent day out again we used the bus to get there so we were not restricted to time as you maybe on an organised trip. The shows were excellent & they have dolphins which you can get your photo taken with as an additional charge , you do get wet so it maybe wise to take a change of clothes with you if you want to have this experience.
we travelled with Thomson so did do a couple of trips with them the island tour is recomended
the views were spectacular & the mini buses were very comfortable .We also went on a free trip called the blanket trip which basically you go to a place where you get a demostration of bedding & matresses , theres no pressure selling & it makes you think. After this which takes about 1 hour or so you are taken to the cave houses & can have a tapas lunch for 6 euros (which was quite nice) after that its off to a small village for a look around it was worth the hours demostration for the rest of the trip & most people didn't buy the product but all said the trip was good.
The Dunes of Maspalomas are spectacular & there is a path so you can walk across to the next resort area which took about 1 hour to get there . However the dunes are the naturist areas so you do see all types of people popping up all over the dunes like meerkats ! so be warned...don't be too shocked at the naked bodies. There are plenty of bathing areas on the beaches for the non naturist.
On the whole the hotel is like a palace & you feel comfortable & relaxed within its grounds most people we spoke to were on return visits so that in itself speaks volumes & we would definately stay there again if we return to Grand Canaria

Room Tip: we had a room over looking the pool on the 2nd floor above the bar area, it got the sun until sunset...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

An ideal place for people who think we are in the 80' s - the building and pool area are really nice, worse are the rooms. These would badly need a facelift - the furniture remembers better times. The tiny room I had reminded me of rooms in Tokyo - but the view from balcony compensated a lot.
there is no wi-fi at all at the rooms - most guests are over 60, so they apparently don t miss internet...
The location is great - at the Maspalomas Dunes, 15 minute' s walk to the beach.
Food was fine.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Boris2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blyth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

My wife and I visited this hotel again between 3-10 December 2012.This was our third visit to the property (although one couple we met had just commenced their 20th visit).
The hotel is as good as ever the staff are dedicated hardworking and always show interest in their guests.This is especially true at reception and in the restaurant.The restaurant manager singled us out for special attention which was nice.
The rooms havnt changed one bit and after last being updated in 2003 I think are on the verge of a refurb.They are very clean and well looked after though.We stayed in room 4047 and would recommend any room on that floor as they all command super views across the grounds and out towards the sea.
Somethings have changed in the hotel and the staff have a more casual but still smart uniform which also extends to the waiters in the restaurant(although the maitre d and manager all still wear tux and tie).Food wise things have slipped ever so slightly but this didnt detract from the overall experience.Breakfast is still really good with lots of choice and all freshly cooked in front of you if you so wish.
The only downside as on our last visit was Thomson.Their rep was pretty apathetic (one of our cases was damaged on the outbound flight).The next time we visit we will cut out Thomson all together and book independently.The hotel though is really good and as long as the bean counters dont get their claws into it it should remain so. We will definetly be visiting it again in the future.

Room Tip: Anything on the third or fourth floor overlooking the main or wellness pool.Room 4044 has been previ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank britne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

We stayed at the Riu Palace Maspalomas for a week in December and have 10 days booked in May, we have stayed many times and it is always a very special holiday for us. Everthing is just perfect. The staff are the best and the food is as enjoyable as our very first visit many years ago.Roberto the Director is very involved in the running of the hotel.
We look forward to May and many more visits.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

My first time at the Riu Palace but it won't be my last. I used to pass this hotel on my many trips to the island and longed to stay there. This year I did and it was fantastic the best hotel I have stayed at for a long time. The location is the best you will ever get, right on the Dunes with a view on the ocean. The staff are very friendly and the customer service is outstanding. A great range of food is served at breakfast and dinner - something for everyone

I was here from the 8th -15th December and the weather was perfect - hot sunshine everyday just what I needed.

I will certainly be recommending this hotel to everyone I know - for a relaxed first class holiday you will not beat it.

I will be back soon

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank stiracl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRIGG
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

My Wife and I have just spent two enjoyable weeks at this, our favourite, Canary Island
hotel.
This was our sixth visit and once again we were not disappointed.
The staff at this hotel are second to none. Whether it be the people at Reception, for whom
nothing is too much trouble, or those who work in the dining room and make the evening
meals such a pleasure.
We find that the buffet for the evening meal always give us a problem as to which of the
varied and excellently prepared and presented dishes to try. Every evening we enjoyed
our meals enormously.
The hotel is spotless and thanks to our room attendent (Raquel) so was our room.
While we do not choose to sit around the pool or surrounding area, there always seems to
be more than enough sun beds for everyone.
It is impossible for a hotel to please everyone, as some of the hotel's detractors show, but
the percentage of people who return year after year, show that this hotel is special and
pleases most of its guests. On holiday, we can survive without wifi in our room.
It is our intention to return againin 2013 to this special hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CLIVE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Ingles
0.8 mi away
Bohemia Suites & Spa
Bohemia Suites & Spa
#2 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,348 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,493 reviews
0.9 mi away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#5 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#8 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,571 reviews
1.3 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
1.3 mi away
Seaside Palm Beach
Seaside Palm Beach
#4 of 216 in Maspalomas
1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Address: Avenida Tirajana s/n | Playa del Ingles- Gran Canaria, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#4 Spa Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#6 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#13 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas 4*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Playa del Ingles. Next to the Maspalomas sand dunes. 4-Storey building. Colonial-style architecture. 28,000 M2 of subtropical gardens. 800 M from the beach. 2 Km from the city centre. 500 M from various shops. 30 Km from the airport. 50 M from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with RIU Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Maspalomas Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing