We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location, location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Ranked #7 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“location, location”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

An ideal place for people who think we are in the 80' s - the building and pool area are really nice, worse are the rooms. These would badly need a facelift - the furniture remembers better times. The tiny room I had reminded me of rooms in Tokyo - but the view from balcony compensated a lot.
there is no wi-fi at all at the rooms - most guests are over 60, so they apparently don t miss internet...
The location is great - at the Maspalomas Dunes, 15 minute' s walk to the beach.
Food was fine.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Boris2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,055
    396
    118
    28
    16
See reviews for
208
1,068
77
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blyth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

My wife and I visited this hotel again between 3-10 December 2012.This was our third visit to the property (although one couple we met had just commenced their 20th visit).
The hotel is as good as ever the staff are dedicated hardworking and always show interest in their guests.This is especially true at reception and in the restaurant.The restaurant manager singled us out for special attention which was nice.
The rooms havnt changed one bit and after last being updated in 2003 I think are on the verge of a refurb.They are very clean and well looked after though.We stayed in room 4047 and would recommend any room on that floor as they all command super views across the grounds and out towards the sea.
Somethings have changed in the hotel and the staff have a more casual but still smart uniform which also extends to the waiters in the restaurant(although the maitre d and manager all still wear tux and tie).Food wise things have slipped ever so slightly but this didnt detract from the overall experience.Breakfast is still really good with lots of choice and all freshly cooked in front of you if you so wish.
The only downside as on our last visit was Thomson.Their rep was pretty apathetic (one of our cases was damaged on the outbound flight).The next time we visit we will cut out Thomson all together and book independently.The hotel though is really good and as long as the bean counters dont get their claws into it it should remain so. We will definetly be visiting it again in the future.

Room Tip: Anything on the third or fourth floor overlooking the main or wellness pool.Room 4044 has been previ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank britne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

We stayed at the Riu Palace Maspalomas for a week in December and have 10 days booked in May, we have stayed many times and it is always a very special holiday for us. Everthing is just perfect. The staff are the best and the food is as enjoyable as our very first visit many years ago.Roberto the Director is very involved in the running of the hotel.
We look forward to May and many more visits.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

My first time at the Riu Palace but it won't be my last. I used to pass this hotel on my many trips to the island and longed to stay there. This year I did and it was fantastic the best hotel I have stayed at for a long time. The location is the best you will ever get, right on the Dunes with a view on the ocean. The staff are very friendly and the customer service is outstanding. A great range of food is served at breakfast and dinner - something for everyone

I was here from the 8th -15th December and the weather was perfect - hot sunshine everyday just what I needed.

I will certainly be recommending this hotel to everyone I know - for a relaxed first class holiday you will not beat it.

I will be back soon

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank stiracl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRIGG
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

My Wife and I have just spent two enjoyable weeks at this, our favourite, Canary Island
hotel.
This was our sixth visit and once again we were not disappointed.
The staff at this hotel are second to none. Whether it be the people at Reception, for whom
nothing is too much trouble, or those who work in the dining room and make the evening
meals such a pleasure.
We find that the buffet for the evening meal always give us a problem as to which of the
varied and excellently prepared and presented dishes to try. Every evening we enjoyed
our meals enormously.
The hotel is spotless and thanks to our room attendent (Raquel) so was our room.
While we do not choose to sit around the pool or surrounding area, there always seems to
be more than enough sun beds for everyone.
It is impossible for a hotel to please everyone, as some of the hotel's detractors show, but
the percentage of people who return year after year, show that this hotel is special and
pleases most of its guests. On holiday, we can survive without wifi in our room.
It is our intention to return againin 2013 to this special hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CLIVE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

They know what they're doing and they do it well. Everything is seamlessly crafted customer in mind, clearly they have taken the customer feedback and the experience to build a great experience. There's no really any reason to complain, expect one...

Only reason not to give five stars is that they have poor wifi and it is only available in reception. It's almost year 2013 so there's no really excuse for this. Otherwise great experience and will get back if they add wifi to every room and pool area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank defone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, Bedfordshire
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We are regular Riu visitors and have had no trouble in Europe with having my wife's special eye drops being kept deep frozen by the hotel ( Yes they are special). But on our first morning we found that a mistake had been made and they had not been deep frozen, and were thawing. This would normally have meant a return to the UK at the first opportunity, but we were saved by the actions of the hotel director. He understood the problem, having had eye operations himself, and contacted his personal eye surgeon, explained the problem and got us some antibiotic drops. These were obviously not the same, but were exactly the same ones my wife was using following an operation on an eye on November 12th. These drops enabled my wife to remain on holiday without too much discomfort, were paid for, and delivered to us by the director himself, who also took my wife into the coldest deep freeze in the hotel to ensure her drops were properly frozen ( though they were not too effective after a partial thaw). These actions saved the holiday, and meant we could actually enjoy the stay.
And what a stay. Others have described the hotel perfectly, and we would agree that this is one of the best Rius we have been to (and we have been to 16) The food was of a particularly high standard, worth the minor hassle of the way the dining room is laid out, with one of the best selection of cheeses seen- and tasted- in this type of hotel. The Krystal Fusion restaurant is good, we were surprised more people did not use it as it is free.
The hotel seemed quite full of Gay couples, all of whom were perfectly behaved and excellent company, and whilst there were British, the clientele was predominantly German. No problems with sunbeds, the smaller pool always seemed to have lots of room, and the bonus was that Paulaner beer(from Munich) was on sale- relatively cheaply. ( I don't particularly like the CruzCampo normally on offer). Wine in the dining room can not be kept for the next night if you don't finish a bottle, but can be bought by the glass or half bottle carafe from a limited range, a useful development.
One downside was that there were few bars etc close to the hotel, but there was a good HiperDino market just over the road, and a taxi to the Yumbo was cheapish. On the upside there was little need to leave the hotel if you didn't want to, bar snacks were very good- if a little expensive- and the Lobster Salad special lunch was incredibly good.
We have one problem with the hotel and that is getting to it, our Gatwick flights were a nightmare both ways. If we can manage from Luton we will return ASAP for another great time.

Room Tip: Our room was very quiet, facing the dunes to the west, as do most "outside" rooms on the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wat4der
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Ingles
0.8 mi away
Bohemia Suites & Spa
Bohemia Suites & Spa
#2 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,345 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,489 reviews
0.9 mi away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#4 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
1.0 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#8 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,560 reviews
1.3 mi away
Seaside Palm Beach
Seaside Palm Beach
#4 of 216 in Maspalomas
1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Address: Avenida Tirajana s/n | Playa del Ingles- Gran Canaria, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#6 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#13 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas 4*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Playa del Ingles. Next to the Maspalomas sand dunes. 4-Storey building. Colonial-style architecture. 28,000 M2 of subtropical gardens. 800 M from the beach. 2 Km from the city centre. 500 M from various shops. 30 Km from the airport. 50 M from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Maspalomas Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing