We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was a real great time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Ranked #7 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Spent 1 week in the south point of Playa del Ingles.
From the check in to the time i left, staff was great. Everything was very organized, clean, friendly.
Even it was peak season and the hotel was crowed, staff was very helpful, front desk now your name. Even at breakfast it well organized, self serving buffet with many fresh juices what I most appreciated.
For Wifi you had to go to the Lobby. WLAN was not very fast. In the rooms no WIFI.
I expect that now.

Room Tip: Single rooms are very small. Finally I upgrated to a doble room for single use with pool view. That...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hp-from-zurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,675)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

724 - 730 of 1,677 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas and we loved it! The hotel is so different to the normal standard you tend to get from a hotel in Spain, and I mean different in a very good way! We thoroughly enjoyed staying here and we wish that we had come for 2 weeks! The food is amazing, the choice is excellent and the quality is superb. The breakfast was outstanding and they had literally everything you could imagine, the dinner was also to a very high standard. The dining hall is very clean and well decorated throughout. The staff in this hotel were amazing from the minute we checked in until check out, so friendly and helpful. The pool area's were very clean and they looked great and very well maintained. The access to the beach and dunes was good, a stroll over the dunes for 20 minutes took you to the beach which was also very very clean and pleasant. The location is handy for everything, the resort looks outstanding especially compared to alot of the resort complex's that surround this beautiful hotel and the area, they all look so dated! The only downside that I could find was the gym in the hotel, it is not only very small and has minimal equipment but it is not air-conditioned!! :-( Such a let down as I am quite into the gym. Also the Air conditioning in the room was not great as it was a central Air Condtioning system, these are the only 2 minor things that I can fault. We had a fantastic holiday here, it really was special and I am not sure that I ever want to stay anywhere else if I come to Gran Canaria again!!! I would make sure I try and book at a Riu hotel again on my next holiday, the experience was outstanding.
This is the 2nd time that we have visited this hotel, it was my birthday while I was here I did not even tell them, when I approached reception I was wished a 'happy birthday' a bottle of bubbly was sent to my room! Overall we had a fantastic holiday that was all down to the Riu Hotel the staff NOT Thomson. From the flight out (which was just shocking 17 hours delayed) to the awful hotel Rep who clearly does not fit in to the hotel the clientele that stay here! Back to the Thomson flights-Outbound Inbound were shocking! Miserable looking Crew, awful service, Cramped seats were like sitting on a piece of metal for 4 hours! I can't believe they have the audacity to call themselves an 'Airways' with their miserable crew old clapped out aircraft! I did not realise there are Aircraft that use blue flush in the toilets still in service! Back to the holiday-Riu Hotels are amazing, we love the food service would recommend Riu to anyone. Thank you Riu!

Room Tip: High Floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeymikeyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed at The Maspalomas Palace in July, for a week, on a half board basis. The hotel is overall excellent, very clean, the staff are all excellent and speak very good English. Paid for a sea view room and had a very good one. The hotel could be said to be slightly dated, but it is kept in good order. The room had a lovely balcony with sun loungers etc. The room has air conditioining which is a definate benefit if like me, you are not used to the high temperatures. Upon arrival at the hotel to check in, the staff offer a very welcome drink on the terrace before you get checked in - this sets the tone for their approach during most other facets of the stay. The staff look after the customers here very well. In the restaurant the hotels manager comes and greets each guest by name and does a very good job in making people feel welcome. The restaurant is very good - lots of choice, plenty of food. Breakfast is also good - whilst you won't get UK style bacon or sausages again there is plenty on offer and it is lovely to sit outside having breakfast on the terrace. The hotel has plenty of areas round the pools for sun lounging, and the hotel furnish you with towels for the sun beds. There was no trouble getting hold of sun beds and it was a lovely place to be. During the day the staff will come and take your drinks orders and bring them to your sun lounger, they also have a restaurant by the pool - again, everything very clean. In the evening, there is a nice atmosphere round the bar and outside on the terrace where again the staff do a great job bringing drinks out - the measures of which are quite generous. The hotel is situated behind the sand dunes and thence out to the sea. It is a nice walk out to the sea, but the sand can be very hot during the day. Playa Del Ingles itself is not a massive attraction - it is quite down at heel these days and with the economy the way it is there are alot of closed down restuarants etc. Alot of retail outlets and bars are in concrete clad 'shopping centres' which are far from a premium experience. If you can get out of Playa Del Ingles, go to Maspalomas, by the lighthouse, which is quite nice - the taxis here are very reasonable. Going further afield, Puerto Del Mogan is also very nice. As far as the hotel goes, it is the best thing in Playa Del Ingles and must be the best hotel there. You can easily spend the majority of your time within the hotel and its environ without having to wonder too far. If I had to find an improvement they could make, it would be to make wireless access available all over the hotel and not just in the reception area and for us British, provide a kettle in the room so we can make a good cup of Yorkshire Tea !

Room Tip: Book a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arnage_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We have just returned from a weeks holiday at this hotel.We wanted a relaxing week away, at this hotel we got what we wanted.The food was good and with a good selection, we went to the a la carte twice, no prblem with booking well worth doing,the staff were great, we had no problems getting a sun bed. towels are available every day from 8-11am. the people staying during our week were mostly over 45, but it was out of school holidays. the views at the back of the hotel are just fantastic. the beach is a 20 minute walk over the sand dunes, it is doable but the sand does get hot in the middle of the day, but when you get there it is worth it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Spent one week in july there, very nice rooms, excellent service, i liked location for a less animated neighbourhood but not very close to beach or resort centre with shops. The only negative comment is about food really.. Although good variety they were not always fresh or good quality. They had a small crystal restaurant onsite were i assume quality was better. Also no much choice with nearby outside restaurant. Only 1-2 that were fresh and tasty for aprox 70-80€ / meal for 2 with 2 courses and one drink. Overall, i reckon this trip was a little overpriced but maybe season was a reason.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lara g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

From entering the Riu Palace Maspalomas the hotel staff are as efficient as any hotel of similar star rating or even Hotels of de-lux standard.The rooms are clean tidy and fairly well equiped(No coffee or tea making facilities)
The Restaurant was excellent, and again the Maitre a de was a master in his own class,his staff were very attentive.
Outside areas again were imacculate, swiming pool, towels etc and attention to detail was superb.
Overall, we will be back if the Thomson representative is more accommodating
Well done.
Thomson represenative was the total let down, more interested in talking about herself when clients were waiting

Room Tip: Upper rooms at the front are idea for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

A grand 80's style hotel in a very prominent position sticking out into the fantastic sand dunes of Maspalomas. Unfortunately the surrounding proerties are not in the same class. The majority of clientele are over 50 or same sex couples predominantly male.

Public areas 8/10 - An older hotel but very posh and well maintained. Massive pool and sunbathing area and loads of sunbeds. Nice reception area and bar/entertainment room. Quality of the evening shows was variable from average to good. Free Wi-Fi in reception.

Bedrooms 8/10 - Well maintained, clean and tidy with comfy bed and arm chair as well. Nice sunbeds on a large balcony. Booked a sea view and had a great view looking over the sand dunes to the distant sea. Could sunbath on the balcony from 2pm onwards

Bathroom 7/10 - A reasonable size, shower over bath and a single hand basin. Soft clean towels.

Restaurant 10/10 - Free seating for breakfast and the same allocated table for evening meal. Great quality and service, buffet or table service. People dressed up for dinner, smart casual to posh, and the staff was excellent. Breakfast can be eaten on the terrace.

Staff 9/10 - Excellent all round. Reception and dining room staff very friendly and helpful, would take a lot of beating

Resort 6/10 - This hotel is in Playa del Ingles, not Maspalomas, a featureless concrete mass of apartments and hotels built during the boom in the 70,s and 80's. No proper centre just "commercial centres" well past their best in my opinion. This hotel probably has the best location in the resort surrounded by the fantastic dunes of Maspalomas. The sea is about 20 minutes hard walking over the dunes and Maspalomas/Melonaros is a boring 40 minute walk away but a much nicer area so worth the walk. Nowhere much of interest to walk to so stuck to hotel mainly.

Just an observation - There were a lot of single men with back packs walking through the hotel grounds to the gay cruising areas on the dunes after dark!

Room Tip: Sea view on a high level not looking over the pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Earwigo321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Ingles
0.8 mi away
Bohemia Suites & Spa
Bohemia Suites & Spa
#3 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,453 reviews
1.3 mi away
Seaside Palm Beach
Seaside Palm Beach
#4 of 217 in Maspalomas
1,143 reviews
0.4 mi away
Santa Monica Suites Hotel
Santa Monica Suites Hotel
#2 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,584 reviews
1.0 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#8 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,642 reviews
29.2 mi away
NH Imperial Playa
NH Imperial Playa
#4 of 44 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas

Address: Avenida Tirajana s/n | Playa del Ingles- Gran Canaria, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#6 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#13 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range: $214 - $529 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas 4*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Playa del Ingles. Next to the Maspalomas sand dunes. 4-Storey building. Colonial-style architecture. 28,000 M2 of subtropical gardens. 800 M from the beach. 2 Km from the city centre. 500 M from various shops. 30 Km from the airport. 50 M from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cancelon, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Maspalomas Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing