We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“all most perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Ranked #4 of 135 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Certificate of Excellence
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“all most perfect”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

From entering the Riu Palace Maspalomas the hotel staff are as efficient as any hotel of similar star rating or even Hotels of de-lux standard.The rooms are clean tidy and fairly well equiped(No coffee or tea making facilities)
The Restaurant was excellent, and again the Maitre a de was a master in his own class,his staff were very attentive.
Outside areas again were imacculate, swiming pool, towels etc and attention to detail was superb.
Overall, we will be back if the Thomson representative is more accommodating
Well done.
Thomson represenative was the total let down, more interested in talking about herself when clients were waiting

Room Tip: Upper rooms at the front are idea for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,015
    373
    112
    26
    14
See reviews for
198
1,025
71
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

A grand 80's style hotel in a very prominent position sticking out into the fantastic sand dunes of Maspalomas. Unfortunately the surrounding proerties are not in the same class. The majority of clientele are over 50 or same sex couples predominantly male.

Public areas 8/10 - An older hotel but very posh and well maintained. Massive pool and sunbathing area and loads of sunbeds. Nice reception area and bar/entertainment room. Quality of the evening shows was variable from average to good. Free Wi-Fi in reception.

Bedrooms 8/10 - Well maintained, clean and tidy with comfy bed and arm chair as well. Nice sunbeds on a large balcony. Booked a sea view and had a great view looking over the sand dunes to the distant sea. Could sunbath on the balcony from 2pm onwards

Bathroom 7/10 - A reasonable size, shower over bath and a single hand basin. Soft clean towels.

Restaurant 10/10 - Free seating for breakfast and the same allocated table for evening meal. Great quality and service, buffet or table service. People dressed up for dinner, smart casual to posh, and the staff was excellent. Breakfast can be eaten on the terrace.

Staff 9/10 - Excellent all round. Reception and dining room staff very friendly and helpful, would take a lot of beating

Resort 6/10 - This hotel is in Playa del Ingles, not Maspalomas, a featureless concrete mass of apartments and hotels built during the boom in the 70,s and 80's. No proper centre just "commercial centres" well past their best in my opinion. This hotel probably has the best location in the resort surrounded by the fantastic dunes of Maspalomas. The sea is about 20 minutes hard walking over the dunes and Maspalomas/Melonaros is a boring 40 minute walk away but a much nicer area so worth the walk. Nowhere much of interest to walk to so stuck to hotel mainly.

Just an observation - There were a lot of single men with back packs walking through the hotel grounds to the gay cruising areas on the dunes after dark!

Room Tip: Sea view on a high level not looking over the pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Earwigo321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed at this hotel over Christmas, and had a wonderful time.
This hotel is in my opinion on of the very nicest in Playa del Ingles. Location is just on the tip, where the sand dunes takes over, with a fabulous view to all the dunes.
The gardens around the hotel are very well taken care of and makes a nice place for both daytime relaxing around the pool, as well as a romantic place to spend nice evening. Very nice.
Our stay at the hotel included breakfast and dinner. Both were of a very high standard.
I would rate the variety and quality of the food better then cruise ships such as Royal Caribbean and Celebrity ships !

The gym/health club though was a bit of a let down. To small with little equipment.

Rooms were of a nice size, with great terrace. Not luxurious, but clean, good quality and functional.

Would definitely visit again

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kratama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Riu Palace Maspalomas is an interesting experience. It is a hotel with a quite few years of construction, very classical style, however it has a service of a 5 star place. The rooms are extremely clean with nice view for ocean view rooms, all the stuff are very friendly and professional. They really make you feel at home. The breakfast and dinner buffet are very good wih a lot of choices. There aren,t children around making noise, it is a very quite place. Mostly used by older couple and a gay couples. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a perfect romancing holiday regardless of your sexuality. I have been here twice, last here and this year. 2011/2012

Room Tip: Choose the ocean view. More privacy in your balcony/Varanda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jmsousa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We have recently returned from our second visit to this wonderful hotel and it was as good as the first. It is worthy of its 4 star rating. All the staff are so friendly and helpful. The hotel is spotless and well maintained. The food at both breakfast and dinner was well presented and with lots of choices. It was my partners birthday when we were there, a bottle of sparking wine in an ice bucket was left in our room and at dinner the table had been decorated with flower petals and a candle, really lovely touch.If there is one thing the hotel could improve on is the quality of the pillows. We definately hope to return soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robann25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

have stayed at this hotel 3 times before but not for a few years ,it is still the best hotel/apartment in playa del ingles ,forget some of the propertys rated above it on trip advisor ,trust me i have stayed in or been in most of the hotels on the list and this is most certainly number one ,no question. we payed extra for a sea view room ,worth every penny the view was so good looking over the sand dunes and sea i could have sat and looked at that for two weeks !! food is excellent there really is something for everybody ,if you cant find something you like in this restaurant then i would be very very surprised . service all round from everyone ,porters ,waiters ,bar staff ,cleaners ,management, front desk .pool attendants .gardeners is truly exceptional ,this level of service makes for a hugely relaxing and enjoyable stay . would advise anyone to stay here ,it is that good ,negatives ..... nope sorry cant think of one .give yourself a treat and stay here if your going to playa del ingles.oh and do try the champagne sangria at the bar .one jug and your ready to rumble lol

Room Tip: sea view rooms are expensive but wow what a view !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank colsy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bletchley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I have to say that this was the nicest holiday I have ever been on - the rooms were clean, bright and very comfortable. Do pay for a sea view, it is so worth it. The staff could not do more to help and that included helping us learn Spanish.

The food was brilliant - lots of choice and all fresh. Breakfasts had an amazing selection fresh fruit juices - and so much choice of food. Dinner was equally special and the staff in the resturant were so nice.

The gardens and the pools were brilliant - I can not rate this holtel highly enough. I would book again and again and again.......

Normally after 10 days of a holiday I am ready to go home. This was the first time that I did not want to leave even when the bus was there to take us to the airport - it was the most stress free, relaxing holiday ever.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms are a must..... Get in touch with the hotel and ask for what you want - they are so h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Ingles
0.8 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,395 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bohemia Suites & Spa
Bohemia Suites & Spa
#2 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,225 reviews
0.9 mi away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#3 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
1.6 mi away
Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino
1.3 mi away
Seaside Palm Beach
Seaside Palm Beach
#4 of 220 in Maspalomas
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Address: Avenida Tirajana s/n | Playa del Ingles- Gran Canaria, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#4 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#13 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas 4*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Playa del Ingles. Next to the Maspalomas sand dunes. 4-Storey building. Colonial-style architecture. 28,000 M2 of subtropical gardens. 800 M from the beach. 2 Km from the city centre. 500 M from various shops. 30 Km from the airport. 50 M from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, RIU Hotels and Resorts and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Maspalomas Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing