We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great holiday and honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Seaside Sandy Beach
Ranked #4 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great holiday and honeymoon”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed a week all inc at this hotel from the 8th June. The food was the nicest we've ever had at an all inclusive hotel. Great choice and variation each night too. Meal times were good too as all meals were served over long periods so you can pick when to eat without rushing. As it was our honeymoon we also got some freebies and were well looked after as were all guests. Customer service was excellent and very efficient and we were very impressed that most staff spoke various languages, we never waited long to be served drinks at the dining tables or at the bar, choice of alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks was also very good. Mostly an adults hotel which was good as it was nice and peaceful but there were some parents with young kids which was no problem. The entertainment was good especially 'The three tenors'. A lot of the guests were German and many smoked but you can request to be seated in non-smoking areas, however it can get a bit annoying when people are smoking on the sunlonger next to you all day. We had a great time and would have liked to have been able to stay longer, would definately return it's excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms higher up that face the pool to avoid tobacco smoke and are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary_RL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U_Matas, Manager at Seaside Sandy Beach, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Seaside Sandy Beach Guest,

Since the direct feedback of our guests is of paramount importance for us we really appreciate your comments published on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to read that you had amazing holidays at our hotel and enjoyed your honeymoon on beautiful Gran Canaria. Once again we wish you and your partner all the best for your common future.

We want to thank you for your praise concerning our food and staff. We will, of course, forward your praise, as it is always a pleasure for all our employees to get such kind feedback.

Furthermore it makes us happy to read that you liked “the three tenors” and the rest of our entertainment.

We would be pleased to welcome you again in our Seaside Sandy Beach**** and wish you all the best.

Kind regards,

Ursula Matas
General Manager Seaside Sandy Beach****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    784
    350
    83
    13
    10
See reviews for
351
614
55
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northamptonshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Having looked at several places to stay for our holiday, I am so glad we picked the Sandy Beach.
We chose the AI package and flew with First Choice. We arrived around 8.30pm and where able to dine in the restaurant straight away. Dining is mostly outside, however, you do have a choice of sun or shade, smoking or non smoking. Our room was lovely, large overlooking the pool with its own dressing room and lovely bathroom. My husband had notified the hotel that it was our belated honeymoon and would it be possible to have a "nice" room. The hotel did not disappoint. On arrival to the room there were red heart balloons, a bottle of champagne on ice, fruit bowl, dish of beautifully presented cakes, dressing gowns & slippers. In addition to this we received a letter to say they would like to provide breakfast in the room and a candlelit dinner on our balcony during our stay. We have stayed in a lot of 4* hotels but this has to be the best food available. The choice at breakfast is wonderful, every morning there is "bubbly" available, lunch is also served n the restaurant terrace, rump/sirloin steak cooked to your liking, chicken, pasta etc. In the evening again you have the choice of steak, pork, chicken cooked in front of you or alternatively, roast pork, beef, duck, turkey etc. The desserts both lunch & evening are amazing,
if you like your "puds" like me then you will need a dinner plate!! We did not have any issues about obtaining a sun bed and the pool is not freezing like most we have used. My husband booked the jacuzzi room for a day, 10am - 10pm for 50 euros, this was amazing, its on the 11th floor with sea views, open air with sun beds (some shielded from the wind), fridge with champagne/fruit & water, There is also a shower, you have total privacy, highly recommend this. The staff at the Sandy Beach are all smiley and friendly and ensure you have everything you need. Thank you Sandy Beach for a wonderful holiday. During our stay we had a visit to Moonlit cinema which is only a short taxi ride and show 2 English films every night, double sofas, duvet & cushions, needs a bit of refurb but was a fun night. Market is worth a visit.
Without any hesitation I can recommend this hotel if you are looking for a relaxed holiday in a central location to recharge your batteries, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor overlooking the pool, lovely & quiet. Sun mid afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blades22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U_Matas, Manager at Seaside Sandy Beach, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Seaside Sandy Beach Guest,

Thank you very much for your detailed feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your belated honeymoon with your husband in our Seaside Sandy Beach ****.

As we always try to fulfil all our customer’s individual desires it is a pleasure to learn that we were able to meet and even exceed your expectations.

Besides we want to thank you for your kind words concerning our food and staff.
All of our employees help to make the holidays of our clients as special and memorable as possible.

Great that you also had a wonderful day at the jacuzzi terrace with all the extras we offer.

Once again we would like to thank you for your kind comments, as well as the tip with the moonlight cinema and the market.

We would be pleased to welcome you again in our hotel.

Sunny greetings,

Ursula Matas
General Manager Seaside Sandy Beach****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We had decided on a very lazy week of sunshine and following research decided to plump with Sandy Beach staying for 7 days on an AI basis with jet2 holidays and were not disappointed.

After a delay reached the hotel about 9.30pm and just missed evening meal after check in - no glass of bubbly offered and I must admit the receptionist seemed a bit surly but may have just been me. We received plates of bread, meat, fruit and wine in the room which more than hit the spot and then ventured down to the bar for a cocktail where I must say the staff (manager called Christian) were outstanding and provided a swift and polite table service throughout the holiday.

It was quite noticeable the hotel was becoming a little more quiet through the week we were there (perfect), namely because the sun bed rat race slowed down - I have not laughed so much watching people queuing and running for sun beds at 8.45 each morning (NB plenty of sunbeds available throughout the day so please don't worry too much about clock watching).

Without fail the sheer quality and quantity of food was amazing - echoing comments from others the range of freshly cooked food including steak, duckling, salads etc was unreal both lunch and evening. Very much preferred lunch in a way namely for the light food available but also the fact that you could easily have your pick of tables - that combined with sangria on the AI plan made it an easy choice to sit and relax out of the sun for a while. Never had any issue with tables at dinner as although non smokers we didn't really mind where we were sat but can imagine busier periods potentially being more frustrating.

Again echoing others, staff were very proficient and also polite and courteous. In particular the pool man was clearly very sure of his role - towels on sun beds a must and no flip flops on feet if lying on a towel which was fair enough but people being called up on playing with a ball in the ball was somewhat draconian.

Free sauna an absolute must, make sure you ring reception to ask for a robe as there are not readily supplied in rooms and so comfy just walking round in these. Be mindful that other nationalities may be more comfortable with nudity as I did have a bit of an eyeful in the sauna one day and from the pool with people exiting the sauna and the leaning on a balcony but did give us a bit of a laugh.

Clear that PDI is a man made resort but then for 7 days of sun it was fine, Yumbo centre is a must especially Sparkles bar - had a fab time as it was their 5 birthday which resulted in cake, shots and the conga, and a slightly sore head the next morning.

Asked for a late check out which was provided with no question, again excellent staff manners when requested and the humourous banter in trying to negotiate check out time gave a great end to the holiday.

Minor number of recommendations

- mini bar in room, why not fill with water? We were conscious to get water from pool bar before heading up to the room but should be easier to get
- swimming pool, appreciate that dive bombing isn't exactly the most peaceful but allowing people a small inflatable or a ball to play with should be permitted
- all inclusive, finishing at 11 is a tad early especially if you don't finish dinner until late therefore a bit of a scramble to get a drink. Admittedly this wasn't a problem with us really but would have been nice to avoid a little clock watching.

Acid test - would I return?? Yes if I was going back to gran canaria for a week but there are a lot of other places in the world to visit!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool and high up - we were on the 8th floor and it was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U_Matas, Manager at Seaside Sandy Beach, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Seaside Sandy Beach Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to publish this detailed review on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to learn that you had a good time while staying with us and you enjoyed our service.

Furthermore, you have done everything right by asking our staff about robes and a late check out. We constantly try our best to comply with every client wish and want our customers to ask for help if there are any questions or problems. We can assure that our whole team is trying to do everything in their power to solve any problems.

We would like to thank you also for your recommendations. We will keep them in mind as we are trying to improve constantly.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. It was a great pleasure for us having you as our guest and we hope to welcome you again at our Seaside Sandy Beach****.

Warm regards,

Ursula Matas
General Manager Seaside Sandy Beach****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Just back from an all inclusive 1 week short break on 10 June. Read the bad reviews and then treat them as the rubbish they are. This is a well run friendly hotel. The food is great, plentiful varied and fresh, with some of the meats cooked to order. Slightly older crowd which suited us well and yes there are more Germans and French than Brits but this made no difference to the way you were treated. None of the traditional rush to book sunbeds,of which there are plenty, as the hotel runs a strict no towels on beds before 8.45 a.m. Drinks were plentiful and of a good quality. Close to beach and shopping malls etc. if that is what you after. Worth paying extra for a pool view room if you can. Would certainly return to this hotel when visiting Gran Canaria again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U_Matas, Manager at Seaside Sandy Beach, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Seaside Sandy Beach Guest,

Thank you for writing a review on Tripadvisor which is always a great help for further travellers.

Your positive words are making us proud, as friendliness and professionalism are of highest importance to us.

We are happy to learn that you had wonderful holidays in our hotel and that you were satisfied with our service.

Thanks again for staying at our Seaside Sandy Beach**** and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Take care and all the best for you,

Ursula Matas
General Manager Seaside Sandy Beach****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We booked this hotel as a late deal and it was not cheap! The hotel is very clean, most of the staff were very nice and friendly but the food was fantastic. As there are about 95% Germans at this hotel you know the food is going to be the best. The lady who makes the breakfast eggs, omelettes and pancakes was lovely. The drink was very good value for money.
As in most of the reviews, smoking is a big deal. We stayed in room 405 which is just above the terrace dinning area where smoking is permitted. We were unable to sit on the balcony at night due to this.
The entertainment was not 4 star. The resident duo forgot the words to many songs!!!!!!!!!
The daily run for a sun bed was really funny to watch as we sat up on the terrace away from the pool.
If you can put up with the smoking it's an ok hotel

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 3663jack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U_Matas, Manager at Seaside Sandy Beach, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Seaside Sandy Beach Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to valuate our Seaside Sandy Beach**** on Tripadvisor.

Your praising words about our food made us very proud and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed our different buffets.

Please be informed that we always try to consider the wishes of all our guests and therefore also offer a smoking-area on our outside terrace.

Since we want all our guests to enjoy their stays with us to the fullest, we would have been glad if you would have informed us about this issue immediately, because we would have liked to offer you a room away from the restaurant terrace.

Although our hotel is part of the German Seaside Group, please be informed that our clientele is very international, i.e. our guests come from all over Europe.

Furthermore please be assured that we took note of your remark concerning one of our entertainment shows.

Despite your comments we do hope that you had a pleasant stay in our Seaside Sandy Beach**** and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back here in the future.

Best regards,

Ursula Matas
General Manager Seaside Sandy Beach****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

i got back from seaside sandy beach (all inclusive) on 7/6/13 with my partner and we both had a fantastic time at seaside sandy beach hotel.

pros: great selection/variety of good quality food, fantastic and friendly staff, excellent selection of drinks, clean spacious rooms, maids cleaned everyday, english free view channels, free sauna and gym, game area, great location close to the beach and nightlife.

cons: hotel pretty much catered mostly for the germans (many germans stay at this hotel), 98% of people who stayed here were elderly (seemed like a retirement spot, 50 euros to use the jacuzzi, 1 medium pool area which is too small for a big hotel.

sunsave; worst agency ever! bad customer service, they messed up our booking so we had to pay extra to stay another night at the hotel. DO NOT book with sunsave. the hotel did not have our details due to lack of communication on sunsaves behalf!

playa del ingles review: too many mature people, nightlife was boring, clean tidy country but not recommended for the younger generation.

Room Tip: get a room with a pool view (floor 4 and above) otherwise you'll be viewing the busy roads in gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alicia w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U_Matas, Manager at Seaside Sandy Beach, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Alicia,

Thank you for your feedback published on Tripadvisor.

It is a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed the privileged location of our Seaside Sandy Beach****, the good food and drink selection, the facilities and found our staff to be fantastic.

However we regret to read that you were not happy with the service of your agency and wish to let you know that we have no direct contract with them.

The private and exclusive Jacuzzi Terrace is very asked for and a lot of our guests book it for special events like honeymoons, anniversaries or birthdays. Due to this reason we plan to open up a second Jacuzzi-Terrace. Please note that the price you mentioned is for a whole day and for up to 6 persons.

It is true that our hotel is part of the German Seaside Group, however please be informed that our guests do come from all over Europe and that therefore we attach great importance to ensure that our staff speaks at least three languages.

Playa del Inglés is one of the best places for nightlife on Gran Canaria, especially for young people. Should you ever decide to return, please do not hesitate to contact our Reception, we will be glad to inform you about the trendiest places.

Once again we would like to thank you for your review and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Ursula Matas
General Manager Seaside Sandy Beach****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Have to be perfectly honest, there is very little I would change about this hotel, we were very pleased from the moment we arrived at reception, until the moment we left for the airport, we were greeted with a smile and a glass of bubbly on check in which was swift and professional, as we arrived at 8.30pm we went directly to dinner and our bags were taken to our room, (9th floor, pool view) I must say, all the meals were of good standard, great choice and something for everyone, the only negative was occasionally it was hard to find a table in peak times of service however the waiters always tried to find you one as quickly as possible, dining outside was beautiful especially in the evening as most nights it was warm enough to sit out till late. the drinks service was also exceptional and we never had to wait to long to order a drink, must say all the drinks I tasted were of good quality to. After dinner there was entertainment in the inside bar area, every other night that had outside entertainment including singers, opera singers and various theme shows such as lion king, also there was something very unique one night which was a fashion show with a difference, i will say no more but wait for the surprise, i am sure the males reading this will especially enjoy, dont worry nothing erotic or smutty, just a bit different, dont miss it gents and the ladies to. Every night there was the resident duo who were very good and will attempt to sing most songs if requested, they played UB40 hits for me every night and really enjoyed that !! The pool area is quite small compared to some i have swam in however it was kept clean and was very enjoyable for a dip although a bit chilly when first went in but refreshing. The pool attendants are great and will issue you with mats for the sunbeds as and when you arrive, always helpful and smiling. Personally we never had a problem finding a bed although we were usually down around 9am, there always appeared to be a few spare most times of the day and the hotel was very busy and i think nearly full occupency. I wont say any more about the hotel other than STAFF STAFF STAFF, they really make the hotel top class, with there can do attitude and nothing is ever to much trouble, must say it is one of the best hotels I have been in and that is down to the STAFF mainly, " super they are " a very well run hotel it has to be said. The hotel guests are mainly germans about 75% however there a small contingent of brits and other europeans which make it very bareable, must be honest the germans i meet were very polite and attempted to speak english to me which was nice, I would say that most of the guests are middle aged and above although there was still a reasonable amount of younger couples which made a nice mix, last thing i want to mention are the great beaches, we went down everyday and walked along the beach to masplamas and the other way was to saint vincent, the walk to maspalomas takes about one and half hours but very enjoyable, you go past all sorts of things from beautiful sand dunes to a small nudist beach and gay area, all very entertaining i must say, anyway will leave it there and hope my review has been of some help to you in choosing this hotel, forget the few negative comments you may have read, i promise you that you will enjoy this hotel, i will most definatly be returning at some stage, hope you do to, ENJOY !!

Room Tip: Go for a pool view and ask for 7th floor or above for best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michaelhirons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U_Matas, Manager at Seaside Sandy Beach, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Seaside Sandy Beach Guest,

Thank you very much for your detailed review published on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to read that you had a great time in our Seaside Sandy Beach****.

Your praise concerning our team makes us very proud, since we all give our best to meet and even exceed the expectations of our guests, making their holidays as special as possible.

Furthermore we are glad to learn that you enjoyed the good food, the entertainment programme and your nice walks along the coast.

Once again we wish to thank you for your friendly comments and look forward to your return.

Sunny greetings,

Ursula Matas
General Manager Seaside Sandy Beach****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Ingles
0.1 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,488 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bohemia Suites & Spa
Bohemia Suites & Spa
#2 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,346 reviews
0.7 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#18 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
#7 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,613 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sol Barbacan Hotel
Sol Barbacan Hotel
#6 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
915 reviews
9.6 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaside Sandy Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Sandy Beach

Property: Seaside Sandy Beach
Address: Avenida Menceyes s/n, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#1 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#3 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Seaside Sandy Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seaside Sandy Beach is situated in the centre of Playa del Inglés at just 200 metres from the beach. In the surrounding area there are numerous commercial centres for shopping, entertainment and to enjoy the lively night-life. The hotel offers a choice of sunbathing terraces, set around the large heated fresh-water pool, which is equipped with seats and beds with massage jets and a waterfall, in which to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Seaside Sandy Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaside Sandy Beach Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Seaside Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Seaside Sandy Beach Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing