We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Bohemia Suites & Spa(Playa del Ingles)
$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
AxelBeach Maspalomas(Playa del Ingles)
$133
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Servatur Waikiki Hotel(Playa del Ingles)
$131
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
IFA Buenaventura Hotel(Playa del Ingles)
$102
$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $112/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Occidental Margaritas(Playa del Ingles)
$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$181
$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $188/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$220
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$218
$196
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $230/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Apartamentos Dorotea(Playa del Ingles)
$511
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,409)
Filter reviews
1,409 results
Traveler rating
884
400
94
18
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
884
400
94
18
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdressing roomwalk in wardrobepool barlos jameossmoking and non smokingpool attendantglass of bubblypool viewlovely hotelsun terracegran canariaroom numbergreat holidaygerman hotelyumbo centregerman guestsmeal times
Filter
Updating list...
805 - 810 of 1,409 reviews
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Stayed over Christmas and New Year. Reception was not what we expected, small and a bit drab with an area set aside with PCs – a bit divorced from the rest of the hotel. Reception staff were very polite, spoke good English and did all they could to please. Glass of Cava upon arrival is a nice touch and great after the coach trip.
Porter took our suitcases to our room and even arrived before we did. The room we were allocated was on the fifth floor and had a great big palm tree blocking any view from the balcony and making the room dark. Returned to Reception and requested to be moved to a higher floor. They said it was because we requested a double-bed but reallocated us to a room on the 7th floor which was a lot better, lighter and even had dressing gowns and slippers.
Maid service was great, room cleaned every day. The maid obviously saw my wife’s birthday cards on the dressing table and when we returned to our room later in the afternoon there was a bottle of champagne on ice along with a card from the hotel.
Didn’t use the Wellbeing centre but we did visit it and during our visit out came two nude women who went on to the terrace and plonked themselves down on a couple of sunbeds. I know there are allocated nudist areas on the upper floors but I wasn’t expecting nudes around this area of the hotel – Didn’t know where to look, well I did!
No shop on site however a very useful and well used Spar (open every day) is close by via the hotel back entrance.
The pool is small and so is its immediate area which is a bit crowded with sunbeds and umbrellas jammed in and with kids splashing around we opted to sunbath on the Sun Terrace which has a lot more room. The Pool Attendant does a great job and works effortlessly all day bringing out sunbed mattresses and then collecting them back in later in the day. There was never any problem getting a sunbed and we had the same spot each day. Even on the day we were leaving our sunbeds were still vacant when we left at 1.30pm.
The Pool Bar is a bit small and the service a little lacked at times. One of the bar staff was great whilst another didn’t understand what I wanted when I asked for a mixed fruit drink and I settled for a small beer instead.
Only one restaurant open which is mainly outside with large canopies above whilst there is a small area inside that is open at breakfast and dinner. They do have an indoor restaurant downstairs but this wasn’t open or used during our stay. Having the seating outside, we found it chilly at breakfast and dinner so sat inside. They did provide patio heaters later. No Al La Carte restaurant so if you want a non-buffet style dinner you have got to eat out! The restaurant runs theme dinners which give a certain amount of variation to the food but to be honest after a week it becomes a bit samey. Certainly caters well for the German palette.
The layout of the food and other items in the restaurant needs a total review as it’s very illogical. Especially where they place the plates/dishes, the soup dishes are behind the terrines, the plates behind the sauces and the desert dishes/plates behind the ice-creams. Small adults or older children cannot reach them!! It was an accident waiting to happen and it did with a sauce bottle smashing to the floor.
There are smoking and non-smoking allocated areas but the smokers are located nearest to the buffet area so you have to navigate your way through them to get your food! Also there is no real gap between the two areas so you still get smoke blown your way even when sitting in a non-smoking area – another reason why we opted to sit inside as there is no smoking inside.
I did order flowers and champagne for our dinner on my wife’s birthday and the staff decorated the table and even made a birthday cake which made the dinner really special.
Bar service at dinner was poor and if you opted to sit inside it was ages before anyone came to take your drinks order, we had to call someone over or ask the head waiter to send someone to take our order. I know they have brought in a new system for ordering but when people are being missed or ignored it doesn’t work. Perhaps assigning staff, including those who take the drink orders to certain areas would work! The waiters/waitresses who clear the tables and bring the coffee/tea at breakfast were great, always smiling and quick to clear away – sometimes a bit too quick, after taking the last bite my plate was quickly whisked away even though my wife was still eating. Nevertheless they did a great job.
There are two bars, one located within the dining area outside, full of smokers, and one indoors which is only used in the evenings. The service in the indoor bar was great. Paco was our favourite; he always looked after our needs, knew what we wanted to drink, polite and worked hard and effortlessly all evening.
The main entertainment doesn’t start until 10pm which was disappointing. The kids’ mini-disco is at 7.30pm and lasts about 15mins. At about 8.30/9pm there is a so called orchestra who play for about half-hour have a break and play again until 10pm. This so called orchestra is either two people or one person playing the same songs each evening, or so it seemed. The main entertainment was on the whole very good with a good variety of shows. However, the Bingo and Quiz nights were a joke. The member of the entertainment team who held these events spoke very little English and it was very difficult to catch what number she was calling out at Bingo, we had to ask on numerous occasions to repeat the number. As for the quiz, ‘How many eyes has a Wom?’, it was very poor - we asked her to explain, what is a wom? she had to come over and draw on our paper, it was a worm. Other questions were also difficult to understand – no surprises to hear we didn’t do well in the quiz!
We liked the reception at the pool side for the gala dinners, glass of champagne and a red rose for the ladies. The Christmas meal wasn’t brilliant and the entertainment low key. Strange Father Christmas arriving on Christmas Eve must be a German thing! The New Year’s Eve party was great fun, lots of good entertainment, masks, hats, balloons, fireworks and a late (early morning) buffet if you felt the need.
Overall we had a great relaxing holiday

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor, 7 or above.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mike888Sally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U_Matas, Manager at Seaside Sandy Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2012

Dear Seaside Sandy Beach Guest,

We wish to thank you for your review published on Tripadvisor and we are pleased that you had an overall wonderful stay at our Seaside Sandy Beach**** during the Christmas Holidays.

As the comfort of our guests is our biggest concern, we are glad that we had the possibility to offer you a room according to your preferences. Furthermore, it is nice to hear that your wife enjoyed her birthday and our little surprise.

We highly appreciate the effort for sharing your experiences with us and other holidaymakers. Please be assured that your comments and suggestions, referring to different areas of the hotel, have been written down and will be taken into consideration for future planning at our next meeting.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back on Gran Canaria and at our Seaside Sandy Beach****.

Best regards,

Ursula Matas
General Manager Seaside Sandy Beach****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Sorry this is a late reveiw, we stayed at the sandy beach from the 8th to 15th October and we were not disapointed . My sister and Brother in Law stayed at the Sandy Beach the year before and had told us how good it was , There were 5 of us altogether myself husband and son , my sister and brother in law ( ON RETURN AGAIN ), my friend and her son , we were all situated on the first floor overlooking the road wich was fine , rooms clean and spacious Hotel spotless ,pool lovely and clean not the biggest but it does the job. Pool bar great for that refreshing drink ,Then you get to the food never tasted food like it before from soups to salads delicious breads freshly cooked meat and fish and also roast meats and not to forget those wonderfull desserts . Well what can we say we have stayed in o lot of A/L hotels but this is by far one of the best , in fact we enjoyed ourselves so much we are coming back the end of may for our 25th wedding anniversay with friends, so look forward to seeing you all again ., so well done to all you great staff its all your hard work that makes it a great hotel see you in may for another pampered holiday. x

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U_Matas, Manager at Seaside Sandy Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2012

Dear Seaside Sandy Beach Guest,

Thank you very much for your review regarding your stay with us in October 2011.

We are delighted to hear that we ensured you, your family and your friends lovely holidays at our Seaside Sandy Beach**** and that you especially enjoyed our first-class gastronomy.

We feel honoured to have you back for celebrating your 25th wedding anniversary in May and are excited to have the possibility to thoroughly spoil you once more.

Again, we wish to thank you for your feedback and remain

with best regards,

Ursula Matas
General Manager Seaside Sandy Beach****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Been back a week now did not have time to comment until now
When we arrived at the hotel we were the last drop and were on a thomsons holiday our first impression was that of dissapointment after seeing some amazing reception areas of other hotels to be dropped off in what looked like a small courtyard.
As we walked in the door one of the staff came up to us with a glass of cava each
nice touch but he has failed to check the glass was clean as it had been used by someone else first not washed and had lipstick on it.
The man on reception during check in spoke pidgeon english and did this with a big cheesy grin on his face as if indicating he was very proud that he was speaking english both my wife and i had real trouble understanding a word he said and left a little confused but not dissapointed rather amused as we struggled to keep a straight face.
We left the reception area to proceed to our room when one of the staff came running over and stopped us in our tracks jumping up and down waving arms insisting we leave our cases for him to deliver to our room my wife and i looked at each other and at the same time said oh no faulty towers.
We then procceded to our room which was on the ground floor it was a lovely room but due to bad experiances in the past with more than one break when staying on ground floors BUT NOT AT THIS HOTEL I MUST ADD i went to reception to see if we could be moved
This was done without hessitation we were on the 3rd floor the room was no where near as nice as the first as we lacked a sofa not much fun trying to relax in a whicker chair but the location could not have been better.
30 secs to the pool bar 45 sec to the restaurant and entertainment lounge.
So by now it was late afternoon so we settled at the pool bar for a drink impressed or what we were all inclusive and generally the drinks are well lets say not always recognisable brands no problem here they were all decent quality.
We retired to change for the evening meal arrived at the restaurants al fresco bar for a gin and tonic then was seated by the waiter in the al fresco restaurant nice touch there cant be many hotels out of the carribean that have all dining outside unless the weather forces you indoors.
Well the food was excellent brilliant choice of salads fish roast meats and each evening has a themed night french. chinese,italian etc.
From the restaurant we went into the entertainment lounge rather small but cosy
The entertainment was very enjoyable but not the butlins kind of thig that many brits go for.
The next morning we went for a short walk to the shopping centre and down to the beach both only a short walk away.One of the reasons my wife chose this hotel was its nudist sun terrace facility for that all over tan not dissapointing at all several different terraces with brand new sun beds and shower
We spoke to several brits that had moans and groans about the hotel been full of germans
It is a german owned hotel after all .
My wife and i were exceptionaly pleased it was not full of brits we had some great evenings with all nationalities german french dutch swiss and many people from the scandanavian countries that all joined in and made an effort to communicate.
Overall it is a great place to chill out and relax a very cosy intimate complex
I would like to thank the manager and management staff for the hard work they put in to try and ensure we had a good time.
and a special thank you to Paco Viera & Luis Sauchez these are 2 amazing bar staff.
We are going to try one of the sister hotels next time but will most definatly come back here again..

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mickholliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U_Matas, Manager at Seaside Sandy Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2012

Dear Seaside Sandy Beach Guest,

We wish to thank you for your review published on Tripadvisor.

It is a pleasure to hear that you had a comfortable stay in our hotel and fully enjoyed your holidays with us.

We are always eager to fulfil our guests’ wishes and are glad that we had the possibility to offer you a room according to your preferences - this exactly is our concern.

Furthermore, we thank you for your words of praise regarding our gastronomy.
Additionally to the drinks of international known brands, we offer also some alcoholic and non-alcoholic local brands.

Once more, we thank your for your honest words and already look forward to welcoming you again at the Seaside Sandy Beach****.

Kind regards,

Ursula Matas
General Manager Seaside Sandy Beach****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

just got back from a week at the hotel sandy beach if time constraints had not stopped us going for longer we would have loved to,the staff are very good and so friendly,the hotel is very clean,rooms comfortable,and the food so lovely,we have stayed in all inclusive hotels worldwide and this is amongst the best,we will be going again

Room Tip: higher floors have less noise from music although unless you are a very light sleeper you wont really notice,but you will get better view
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U_Matas, Manager at Seaside Sandy Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2012

Dear Seaside Sandy Beach Guest,

We wish to thank you for your review published on Tripadvisor and are delighted to hear that you fully enjoyed your holidays at our Seaside Sandy Beach****.

It is a pleasure that everything was to your satisfaction and we hope to have the possibility to welcome you back on future holidays – next time maybe for a bit longer.

With best regards,

Ursula Matas
General Manager Seaside Sandy Beach****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Returning from a Christmas vacation at the Sandy Beach. I can only confirm that the food is excellent - really comparable to the Riu chain - very fresh, a lot of choice. For once a REAL orange juice in the morning (not diluted in water). Freshly grilled fish and meat in front of you every day. And the Christmas dinner was very well organized.
I didn't find the personel rude at all, but I'm just a bit disappointed that they would always want to speak to me in German, whereas I'm french and would always speak a little bit of spanish with them. The first days I could understand, but after a week I would have expected they would have noticed I was speaking their language (as other hotels do).

The hotel is very clean, only that 1 day the maid "forgot" my room...

Overall a good 3 stars hotel (not up to the 4 stars in continental Europe), but very good value for money, especially taking into account the food quality.

I will come back.

Room Tip: Ask for upper floors - definitely not lower than 6th floor or you will have a plam tree as unique view... Do not take a room on floor 3 and below since you would be "underground".
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank icaregeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U_Matas, Manager at Seaside Sandy Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2012

Dear Seaside Sandy Beach Guest,

We wish to thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor and are pleased to hear that you decided to stay at our Seaside Sandy Beach**** during the Christmas holidays.

Moreover, we are glad that your palate was fully spoiled by our Seaside gastronomy.

As it is part of our philosophy to fathom our guests’ preferences and, on this basis, offer them an overall pleasant stay, I hope you accept my sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused by the mix-up of languages.

Again, we thank you for your honest words and would be delighted to welcome you back on a future occasion.

Kind regards,

Ursula Matas
General Manager Seaside Sandy Beach****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews