We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful holiday and hope to return in the future”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Seaside Sandy Beach
Ranked #6 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed September 6, 2011

This was our third visit to the Sandy Beach Hotel. We celebrated our 22nd, 25th and 26th wedding anniversary at this hotel. The food was excellent as on previous holidays. Some of it is freshly cooked while you wait, such as pancakes, bacon, fried eggs and omelettes at breakfast, a variety of fish, prawns, sirloin steaks, kebabs, sausage, and chops are grilled at lunch and dinner, there is also a carvery of beef, chicken, duck, rabbit, pork etc. You can also have champagne, fresh salmon and parma ham at breakfast. The desserts are very nice and ice cream is available nearly all day. If after all that you are still hungry you can have hot waffles and cake in the afternoon by the pool. As expected there is a strict dress code for dinner time.
The drinks are of a high standard including proper coca cola, sprite, fanta and other mixers. You can also have bottles of water and wine. There are various cocktails, spirits and of course beer included in the all inclusive. Occasionally we had to wait a couple of minutes for your drink, but of course it was waiter service and on most other inclusive holidays we have had to stand in a queue for ages waiting for a drink. Personally I would rather be sitting down and waiting for a couple of minutes for a drink.
We had a massage which we would also recommend.
The rooms are large, we booked a pool view. They were upgrading the tvs to flat screen while we were there. There is sky sports 1, sky news, 5 USA and a few other English channels. There is also free wifi.
All of the staff are very professional, helpful, courteous and pleasant, especially Ursula and Eva. In fact all of the staff including waiting staff, reception, maintenance and cleaners always said hello.
A very good 4 star all inclusive hotel, with high standards. We would recommend this hotel to everyone, but you will probably need to diet when you get home because you will put on weight.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeffsfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U_Matas, Manager at Seaside Sandy Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2011

Dear Seaside Sandy Beach Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words published on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay in our hotel.

It has been a delight to welcome you at the Seaside Sandy Beach****.

We are very happy that you once again chose our hotel as the location for the celebration of your wedding anniversary. Moreover, we are glad that we had the possibility to provide you with our best service.

With pleasure, we will pass on your praise to our staff – this is the best motivation for all of us.

We already look forward to welcoming you at the hotel again and spoil you in every sense.

Kind regards,

Ursula Matas
General Manager Seaside Sandy Beach****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,287)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

765 - 771 of 1,287 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2011

Booked this hotel after reading previous reviews. Normally stay at Gloria Palace at San Agustin but because we were taking our teenage son we wanted to be closer to the centre of PDI.

Before we travelled we sent 3 seperate e-mails to the hotel asking various questions. each e-mail was answered in detail very quickly.

We arrived much later than expected (thanks Iberia!) We made the mistake of parking our car in the "bottom" car park by the cycle shop and car hire office. Unfortunately for us you can only access the hotel with your room key (which we hadn't had at the point," so we had to carry all of our bags up a very steep set of steps to the side of the hotel.

We were checked in very quickly and efficiently by the night receptionist who tried to give us directions to our rooms (2nd floor and 6th floor.) We got totally lost and spent around 30 minutes looking for the rooms. It took around 48 hours to work out the geography of the hotel, but then, when it clicked it was fine. Some of the signage coule be improved!

Some general observations:-

ROOMS - All rooms were very large with good walk in wardrobes, the bathrooms were big with a large walk in shower. They were serviced everyday and spotlessly clean The rooms on floors 1 and 2 are street view and we found to be quieter than the rooms in highet floors. These "basic" "A" category rooms are tiled and do not have carpets. There is a balcony that looks over the street. Not the best view but these are the cheaper rooms! The higher, pool facing rooms are carpeted. Views on floors 3 and 4 can be obtructed by trees. TIP - If you want a room with sun most of the day on your balcony send an e-mail in advance and ask for a high floor with a low number between x01 and x12

ALL INCLUSIVE - FOOD - The food is as good as any in similar all inclusive hotels in the Canaries. Great choice at breakfast, lots of people drinking the cava which was unusual. Some of the cold meats served at breakfast would have been appreciated at lunchtime. Dinner very good with lot's of choice The best thing about the Sandy Beach is that in the summer all dining is outside. (there is an inside dining room for cooler months.) We had to wait on 2 or 3 occassions to be seated, but the wait was never longer than 3 or 4 minutes. The staff from the restauarant manager, head waiter and general waiting staff were very good. Very efficient at clearing tables, food cooked to order was great. There is a policy that men must wear long trousers for dinner. I never saw this enforced and I would estimate at least 25% of men wore shorts. TIP- I always say to the children, "only chosse 1 or 2 main items to eat, try not to eat a little bit of everything at every meal or you will become bored after a few days."

ALL INCLUSIVE DRINKS - The biggest disspointment was the lack of somewhere to drink outside at night. The only area where you can be served is the restaurant and you are not encouraged to hang around. The bar was inside and was the venue for the entertainment, not the place for a quiet drink! Drink service at the pool bar was slow on occasions, but we took the view "we're on holiday and not in a rush!" In the evenings we would order drinks at the main bar and take them to the seating area at the pool bar. It would be great to see the pool bar open in the evening. In the restaurant drinks orders were taken by the head waiter, sometimes this was slow, possibly 5 minutes from ordering to service. At lunchtime the staff were trying out a new hand held electronic device for ordering which did speed things up. TIP - Order a bottle of wine with meals and not a glass!

POOLS/TERRACE

The pools were fine, not as cold as some we've experienced. Never a problem with sunbeds or parasols although you are close to your neighbours! Pool towells can be borrowed (get a token from reception) and exchange from the pool man. TIP - There are 3 terraces at the end of floors 8, 9 and 10 that can be used by Nudists. These were very quiet. Most days we had a terrace to ourselves. You do not have to be nude to use them!

AREA - The hotel is a brilliant location. 5 minutes walk to the Kasbah, 10 minutes to the Yumbo. There is a supermarket at the back of the hotel. The main beach is a 5 minute walk. PDI beach is very very busy. TIP - Walk 15 minutes towards Maspalomas and things are much quieter. Sunbeds and parasols are available at Euro 2.50 each for the day. The drinks and food from the kiosks are VERY expesnive!

THE BEST BIT - On the 11th floor is a fantastic spa. The sauna and turkish bath are free, the view from the sauna across to the sea is incredible. Towels are provided, there are good quality teak sun loungers to soak up the afternoon sun.

In summary we had a fantastic holiday which we felt was good value for money and would return.

Apologies for the length of te review I could go on and on......

More than happy to answer any specific questions

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank carltonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U_Matas, Manager at Seaside Sandy Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2011

Dear Seaside Sandy Beach Guest,

We wish to thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor.

It is a pleasure to hear that you and your family enjoyed your holidays in our hotel to a maximum and that our All-Inclusive offer was to your satisfaction.

Your suggestion regarding the pool bar will be taken into consideration for future planning, especially in the summer season.

Once again, we thank you for your review. We are always eager to improve our service and therefore the feedback of our guests is very important to us.

We look forward to welcoming you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,

Ursula Matas
General Manager Seaside Sandy Beach****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

After reading the reviews on the run up to our holiday we became slightly worried that the hotel had been on a downward spiral. We were optimistic and hoped past reviews were from fussy "English tourists" expecting to be waited on hand and foot. It turns out we were right. We had a lovely holiday and all staff we polite and efficient, just very busy. The whole staff were well managed and all knew their role and did it well. Lots of different nationalities are at this hotel, we did not come across any who were not friendly.

Check in and reception - all very quick and helpful.

Room - Huge with great storage, a kitchen and a lovely veranda onto the gardens

Pool area - Enough sun beds, umbrellas to go around which never happens in high season. You cannot reserve sun beds until 9am. It was a great sight seeing people’s belongings taken away if they tried it! Pool fairly small but was adequate.

Pool Bar - maximum waited for a drink was 3 or 4 minutes. It would be good if this was open in the evenings too for a more quite and secluded drink as the other bar gets very busy.

Main Bar - Always busy in evenings but if make yourself known to the bar staff on day one they will serve you as soon as they seen you. It worked for us anyway. They even learnt our order.

Restaurant - Queued maybe 4 times over the whole holiday (10 days, 3 meals a day, we thought this was a good outcome) Quite often we got drinks before we sat down if the restaurant was busy, the rest of the time we ordered drinks and had them on the table by the time we came back from getting food. Speaking of food, there was a huge selection of food so whether you are fussy or not there is something for everyone. Of course food is going to become repetitive if you pile your plate with every possible dish each day.

Entertainment - fine for background noise to accompany a few litres of sangria and a game of cards! A lot of the acts were talented but the room is not big enough for any extravagant shows.

Location - Great location - quiet enough if you want to stay in the hotel and sleep once AI had finished. Great also if you want some life. 10 minutes walk towards the coast is the main strip of bars, the Kasbah centre, which has lots of bars and restaurants, as well as the famous Yumbo centre housing the gay scene on the island.

Maspalomas is also very nice. Lots of lovely looking hotels including two sister hotels of Sandy Beach. Lots of designer shops, posh restaurants and some amazing sand dunes. Great for a hike to work up an appetite!

Playa Del Ingles Beach - Great big waves and lots of sun beds and restaurants/bars near by. Windy though!

All in all we had a lovely holiday and so so glad we ignored the past reviews.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mad_spurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U_Matas, Manager at Seaside Sandy Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2011

Dear Seaside Sandy Beach Guest,

We wish to thank your for your comments on Tripadvisor and are delighted that you relished your holiday to a maximum.

Moreover, we are pleased to hear that we were able to ensure you a lovely stay in our hotel and that you especially enjoyed our facilities and the variety of the all-inclusive food and drinks.

We highly appreciate our guests’ reviews, as we are always eager to improve our service. Your suggestion regarding the pool bar will be taken into consideration, especially regarding future summer seasons.

We look forward to welcoming you again in our hotel on future holidays.

Kind regards,

Ursula Matas
General Manager Seaside Sandy Beach****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

We stayed in this hotel from 2 to 9 of August. The hotel is very well placed (near the beach), but still in a quite zone. The hotel employees are very nice and professional, in particular the ones in the reception.
At least in hour case, the reception was done very quick and all the information's we ask for, like bus to visit one place, bus stop were answered.
The food is very good and the room, even if it wasn't big, it was comfortable and quite (after the bar closed - around 12pm00).

I appreciated in particularly the management of the restaurant during the dinner, were the staff was managing the tables in a way were the customers didn't need to wait a long time for a table. In the lunch time, it was a little more confuse, because sometimes there wasn't nobody to help. Sometimes we saw some tables without anybody, but still with the drinks and dishes in the table, and we didn't knew if they were occupied (if the persons went to pick up some thing or if they finished the meal).
Another remark is for the mini club were my daughter stayed some times. I think, that today, everything regarding kids should have some control, and that part wasn't visible. It was the first mini club, were we didn't need to fill any paper, with at least the telephone number, and to sign in went pick up the children. At least in my case, I went to pick up my daughter and she was in a room with 2 or 3 other kids, but the person that was taking care of them (and making the activities) was in another room with other kids. I pick up my daughter and went to the other room to say she was going to the room with me, but nothing stop her of getting out of the room or worst.

For the "all includes" customers, it is only for drinks.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel1Porto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U_Matas, Manager at Seaside Sandy Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2011

Dear Seaside Sandy Beach Guest,

We wish to thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor and are delighted to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Moreover, we are very pleased that especially our service, your room and our first-class gastronomy were to your satisfaction.

The number of children in the mini club is relatively small and our animation staff meets the parents when they bring their children to our mini club for the first time. We have already informed our animation staff of your comments and they will put into place a registration procedure.

We also would like to inform you that our all-inclusive offer includes a wide range of additional benefits that are not included for half-board guests. The all-inclusive offer comprises of breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as a selection of alcoholic and non-alcoholic branded drinks. The desserts from the lunch, including assorted ice creams, are available until dinner. Furthermore, we offer our guests coffee, espresso, cappuccino, tea and a choice of cakes, pancakes and waffles during the afternoon.
Another extra is that our all-inclusive guests have the possibility to play tennis for one hour per day and per person at no additional charge (subject to availability).

We look forward to welcoming you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,

Ursula Matas
General Manager Seaside Sandy Beach****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

WRITING THIS WHILE STILL ON HOLIDAY.
Heads up to all you people who seem to forget that there are more languages than just the one you were brought up with, try to learn a little of the lingo where ever you go. does'nt matter if you get it wrong, it's appreciated I think if you give it a go. So many miss-understandings occur when the moment gets "lost in translation". I read the reviews on this site and others about this Hotel, some of them not too complimentary, but I will say this, after observing and making up my own mind, along with my family, we are glad we came. All the staff in this hotel work extremely hard for your complete enjoyment from the start to the finish of your holiday. The one though I have to say puts in the most effort is I think the manager, I watch her running a very tight ship working extremely hard to ensure that everything runs smoothly. (10 out of 10) well done.
Tip, all information is good information, just learn to seperate the petty from the constructive. We found the staff very freindly and polite, rooms clean and i can even get WI-FI in my room, bonus. Food is great, tasty and varied, there really is something for everyones taste. Not to sure about the trousers at dinner time though- too warm to wear them. No photos at present, sorry.

Room Tip: The better rooms are higher up the hotel, 4 and above. check with your tour operator which floors th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shaun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U_Matas, Manager at Seaside Sandy Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2011

Dear Seaside Sandy Beach Guest,

We wish to thank you for your comments regarding your current stay in our hotel.

It is a delight to read that you and your family are enjoying your stay at the Seaside Sandy Beach****.

We highly appreciate your feedback and feel very honoured that you took your time to write this review during your holidays – there is no better motivation for us, as we always strive to provide the best service to our guests.

Should you have any requests, please do not hesitate to refer to us at any time. We will be pleased to assist you with anything you need.

Enjoy the rest of your stay. We already look forward to welcoming you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,

Ursula Matas
General Manager Seaside Sandy Beach****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Nice clean generally friendly hotel but when on all inclusive you are made to feel like the cost of drinks is coming from staffs own pockets and an idiotic sysytem exists whereby only senior staff can authorise drinks at table your with dinner which takes an age. This spoilt the experience, ive paid for all inclusive and do not expect to be made to feel gratefull when ordering a bottle of wine at dinner. Tried ordering directly from the bar but its very understaffed and similarly poor experience. Going back in Jan 2012 but to a different hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Secker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U_Matas, Manager at Seaside Sandy Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2011

Dear Seaside Sandy Beach Guest,

Thank you for posting your comments regarding your stay at our hotel.

We are pleased that you found the hotel to be nice, clean and friendly.

With regards to the drinks; All-Inclusive guests have a choice of bars from which they can order drinks from 11.00am until 11.00pm and are served in the same way as other guests that have chosen different board options.

It is common practice in restaurants that drink orders are taken by the head waiter and then passed to the bar to be served. We are aware that the drinks service can take longer during the busy summer season hence we are testing a new electronic system which we are sure will make the drinks service much quicker.

Thank you once again and kind regards,

Ursula Matas
General Manager Seaside Sandy Beach****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Very average 3 star hotel with limited all inclusive and choice of food. Poor service. Very noisy by day with construction work and by night with drunks from the Kasbah centre.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ystap27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U_Matas, Manager at Seaside Sandy Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2011

Dear Seaside Sandy Beach Guest,

Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor.

We are surprised to read your comments regarding the disturbances in the evening. The hotel is located in a quiet cul-de-sac and is set back from the road; this affords us a privileged location close to the amenities of Playa del Ingles without the usual noise of such a central location.

With regards to the all-inclusive: we offer a high quality all-inclusive with brand names and bottled drinks included and a wide choice of food all of which is available throughout the day.

The Seaside hotel chain is renowned for the excellent food they provide for guests in all their hotels and our staff is committed to providing a professional service.

As we continuously endeavour to improve our high standards, constructive feedback and suggestions from our guests are of great importance to us.

Kind regards,

Ursula Matas
General Manager Seaside Sandy Beach ****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Ingles
0.1 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,584 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bohemia Suites & Spa
Bohemia Suites & Spa
#3 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,453 reviews
2.1 mi away
Seaside Palm Beach
Seaside Palm Beach
#4 of 217 in Maspalomas
1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#18 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
5,078 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
#7 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,675 reviews
0.5 mi away
Santa Monica Suites Hotel
Santa Monica Suites Hotel
#2 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaside Sandy Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Sandy Beach

Address: Avenida Menceyes s/n, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#1 Green Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#3 Spa Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#5 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range: $167 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Seaside Sandy Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seaside Sandy Beach is situated in the centre of Playa del Inglés at just 200 metres from the beach. In the surrounding area there are numerous commercial centres for shopping, entertainment and to enjoy the lively night-life. The hotel offers a choice of sunbathing terraces, set around the large heated fresh-water pool, which is equipped with seats and beds with massage jets and a waterfall, in which to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Seaside Sandy Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaside Sandy Beach Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Seaside Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Seaside Sandy Beach Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing