We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but some disappointing aspects”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Lucana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Lucana
Ranked #65 of 135 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good but some disappointing aspects”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2010

Nice hotel and a reasonably good selection of food, good staff. Spoiled by main pool being drained and emptied with pool-side bar and snacks closed. Poor arrangements in restaurant with queuing for self-service coffee, tea etc. Rooms good though basic. Entertainment unimpressive. Said to be 4 star but 3 star would be a better description - well below a Cyprus 4 star anyway. Guests predominantly German - no problem with that myself. High ratio of gay couples, which may concern some. Not really suitable for young children as there isn't a lot for them to do and a steepish climb down to and up from the beach - 7-8mins walk. Enjoyed the holiday though with good 25 degree weather most days - not much rain..

Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Richd54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    86
    37
    17
    9
See reviews for
61
97
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
south wales uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2010

frist sight, pool empited for repair, no main pool, no side snackes, no pool side games,hotels 95% germans ,entertainment a joke for over 70 ,1 week seemed like 2 never again

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 06sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, Scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2010

Unfortunately, the negatives about this hotel outweigh the positives but I will comment on the positive aspects first. The lunch time and evening meals were lovely and there was plenty of choice for most tastes. The swimming pool was also very nice, as were the staff at the pool bar. The hotel is also close to the beach. Sadly, that is the end of the positives.

Reception: The reception staff at this hotel are probably the most unhelpful staff I have come across in years of travelling. We were stranded due to Air Traffic Control walkout and when it came to re-booking rooms, not only did the prices get hiked up, we were also told we had to use the "pay-a-fortune-as-you-go" hotel computer/internet to book. When we re-booked our flights and had to print off airline tickets, the reception staff wouldn't give us paper for the printer. They then relented and gave us scrap paper which had hotel guests' details printed on one side! It was only when I started to get annoyed that they gave me 3 sheets of plain a4 paper! When it came to the departure day, I went to our room at 11.30 to collect the luggage as we had to be out for 12. I was locked out of the room and when I went to reception to ask if I could get into my room for the luggage as I still had half an hour, the key card was thrown down on the desk in front of me! Delightful people!!!

Breakfasts: lots of choice if you want a continental breakfast. The cooked option - bacon, wurst (sausage) and eggs were swimming in grease. The breakfast juice is totally watered down and tastes disgusting.

All Inclusive: The bar staff tell guests that the AI drinks finish at 10PM. WRONG! Other guests asked at reception and it was confirmed that AI finishes at midnight and the bar closes at 1am. The local drinks used for All Inclusive are the cheapest of the cheap gut-rot. We usually take the All Inclusive option when on holiday and I have never tasted anything quite as bad.

Entertainment: Consists of a man singing 50's songs at a keyboard. Off-key/Out-of tune! The elderly germans (90% of guests) love this stuff but to anyone under the age of 70 who is not hard of hearing - this is an assault on the ear-drums! This is the entertainment EVERY NIGHT!

We have stayed in a few hotels close by and if you want my advice - book IFA Continental if it's good food you're after, and if it's an excellent Spa, book the Escorial. Both of these hotels are within 100 yards of Hotel Lucana and both are 100% better!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennaCakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skegness
Level Contributor
186 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2010

We went for 2 weeks on the 29th nov, this hotel is fab if your over 45yrs, there were hardly any younger people and i wouldnt reccomend it for children as theres nothing for them here, but for us older ones its just so nice, the foods lovely, breakfast is abit strange in the downstairs room near the pool and the food could be better but for breakfast only, the other meals are so good and the staff in the dining room are so lovely they will do anything to help you, and also very friendly, we found the hotel to be so clean, we didnt have any complaints at all, we would go back to the Lucana its so near the beach and was a fab holiday,

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sundown1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2010

the saff are very unfriendly .... got stuck with the transfers and asked the hotel receptionists if they could help us but to are amazement they wouldnt , food very repetative and not alot of choice, all inclusive bar stops at 10.00 on the upside the hotel very clean and rooms are 2 just dissapointed with the hotel staff ..... they dont even smile at you unless you are german or old, evening entertainment very poor, really wouldnt recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjw_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diepenbeek, Belgium
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2010

We started great. Our plane landed aroun 10 am so we arrived at 11 am in the hotel and our rooms (3) were ready for us. We were wearing jeans and pullovers (10°C at home - 30°C in Gran Canaria) so we were very happy we could have our rooms so fast.
We had room 209, for 3. The room was one level below the entry, but we still had a nice view over the ocean and into the smallest pool.
You can reach the beach by taking the steps down when you leave through the front door. But you can also go to the beach by leaving through the door by the smallest pool. You do not have to take so many staires down and you are directly by the ocean.
Dinner: a buffet with al lot of choise, warm, cold, local dishes, fish, meat, pasta, fries, ...
But men HAVE to wear long trousers of they are not allowed into the dining room. For Breakfast you can wear what you want. Here you have more choise then we ever had.
The only thing we missed was darker bread. They only have white and sandwiches (also white).
The pools are great; The big one has a bit colder water than the smaller one. But they are both fun. For very little children there is no pool. minimum deapth : 120 cm. When you want a chair in the sun, be sure you have your seat very early in the morning.
Very good hotel, with friendly staff and a lot of choise in food and fun. There are hardly any children in this hotel. So our son had no friends their to play with. All older people who are very nice, but prefer quietness !!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belgischereiziger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2010

My partner and I stayed at the Hotel Lucana for a week this November and had a really enjoyable holiday. The staff are very friendly and helpful, our room was cleaned every day to a very high standard. The hotel itself is modern and clean, there are 2 lovely swimming pools with plenty of sunbeds available. Our room was spacious with comfy beds and a good sized bathroom with a walk-in shower. The most impressive thing about this hotel is the quality of the food, it is simply the best all-inclusive food we have had, there was always plenty of choice and it was cooked to a high standard and presented well. I have no complaints at all and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HJBW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Parque Tropical
Hotel Parque Tropical
#6 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Calma
Apartamentos Calma
#33 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Caserio
Hotel Caserio
#26 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
IFA Dunamar Hotel
IFA Dunamar Hotel
#22 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
0.2 mi away
Don Quijote
Don Quijote
#93 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.2 mi away
Escorial
Escorial
#20 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lucana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lucana

Property: Hotel Lucana
Address: Plaza del Sol 4, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#23 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Lucana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Lucana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lucana Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Hotel Lucana Gran Canaria
Hotel Lucana Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing