We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Neptuno Gran Canaria
Ranked #12 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Certificate of Excellence
The Midlands
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Clean hotel, opposite the Yumbo. Stayed half board and evening meal was varied enough not to become boring.

Had a room overlooking the pool.

Lolly was a great server in the restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FirstLast34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    611
    404
    158
    32
    30
See reviews for
35
685
145
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

I won't repeat what I have previously written about this hotel so check out my previous reviews apart from an excellent cosmopolitan 4 star hotel.

Another big vote of thanks to all the staff for excellent service especially the pool bar/restaurant team. Wonderful food which was the best we have experienced at this hotel both at lunch at the evening. The cleaning of the rooms was immaculate as ever and thanks to the team in the bar for some excellent pre-dinner gin and tonics.

A few helpful tips:

The hotel will do their best to get your preferred room if you email them in advance.
All-inclusive is a very good deal if you like long lunches like we do.
Don't be put off my asking to sign your bill as its just how they do things and you can still keep ordering if you so wish.
You can rent a safe in your room for piece of mind.
A nice mix of straight and gay guests of all ages.

A great week at the end of March and 1st week of April and booked through mytravel.com.

Overall affordable comfort with a great upbeat and positive team working there.

Room Tip: 4th floor rooms that get the sun in the evening are nice but choose the other side if you want a qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank philmanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Well what can I say about the Neptuno? Friendly staff, great location, lovely pool area, no kinds, great food with lots of choices and free Sangria (thanks to All Inclusive).

Was one the best holidays we've had and have the major holiday blues and want to go back.

Well worth a trip to Gran Can and to this fantastic hotel. Faultless.

Room Tip: Ear plugs (which are supplied) because sometimes the noise from the Yumbo can get a bit loud in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GB8282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh, scotland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Wonderful hotel for gay and straight alike. My partner and I had travelled to Gran Canria before so knew we wanted a base right beside the Yumbo Centre. Hotel Neptuno borders on the centre so this was ideal.

It was brilliantly liberating to be staying in a hotel with so many other gay couples (and singles) as this removed all of the shyness we normally feel about holding hands at dinner and expressing everyday romantic gestures.

The hotel staff were very friendly and did whatever they could to be helpful including sorting out some vegetarian food for my partner when the buffet was a bit meat-centric.

Overall I can't fault the hotel on anything besides the lack of veggie options at dinner and even this was resolved when we spoke to the staff.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mercutio58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed at the Neptuno during March as part of an all-inclusive package and despite a couple of minor gripes, could hardly fault this excellent hotel.

Situated on the doorstep of the renowned Yumbo Centre, the clientele is 50% plus gay men - mainly British and German. The rooms are spotless as is the whole complex and the staff are extremely attentive and efficient. The food is a major credit - lots of choice, plenty of fresh ingredients and provided in a pleasant, unhurried environment.

The facilities are also excellent including a beautiful warm pool with chute and plenty of sun beds - even for us late risers.

The down side? The noise from the Yumbo can be heard late into the night but there are rooms less affected by this. We were facing the centre and I have to say it didn't bother me that much. In fact most noise came from people moving around in the rooms above us, which could happen anywhere. The hotel is obviously sensitive to the fact however by providing ear plugs in the room. Secondly, the staff can appear a bit surly but in their position I probably would be too. All-inclusive means no tips from many and Brits are particularly bad at tipping, especially for drinks. If you're getting the benefit of a good deal, excellent food and a central location, put a Euro or two on the bar when signing your bill. The staff will appreciate it and will probably give you bigger measures next time!

Room Tip: If you want it quiet, ask for a side room. If you're there for the Yumbo, stay out late and lie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PaulJNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 1 week. Aside from unhelpful, unfriendly staff during check in at the reception, the hotel was very good. Clean, functional, reasonably quiet and the rest of the staff was very helpful. It's right next to the Yumbo Center, which is convenient and was not noisy when I was there (but might be during festival weeks). Good value for the price (check deals on line and with package tours). Also easy to take the Globo bus from the airport directly to Yumbo for just a few Euros. Lots of car rental options and other services in the hotel or nearby.

Room Tip: There are 2 choices: overlooking the pool or overlooking the side alleys. Both are fine, overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NDCGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

It was my 4th visit to this hotel, with 3 of my friends, something's will not change, you can write to management or speak to any one, location to Umbo is perfect, some staff are so friendly, some staff are really unfriendly, food in restaurant average, pool restaurant I wouldn't not bother, one thing really bothers me is when people sun baith around the pool, they smoke like a chimny, I think it's disgusting, I have spoken to several managers about putting a sign for smokers to smoke at one side of the Poole, or the management should create smoking section, it's mainly Germans that smoke, put towels at 7 in the morning, I really hope the general manager reads trip advisor and reply to customers on line to say what they will do about it, another thing the Wi-Fi is so rubbish, it's always been the same, every time I speak to reception they say it must be down, and I stay for min two weeks, please Neptuno do something about it,

Thank you

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bountymodel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
0.2 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#8 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,560 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,488 reviews
0.3 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#18 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#4 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,240 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bohemia Suites & Spa
Bohemia Suites & Spa
#2 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,346 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Don Miguel
Hotel Riu Don Miguel
#17 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Neptuno Gran Canaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Neptuno Gran Canaria

Property: Hotel Neptuno Gran Canaria
Address: Avda. Alfeceres Provisionales, 29, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#13 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#18 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Neptuno Gran Canaria 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Travelocity, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Neptuno Gran Canaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neptuno Hotel Maspalomas
Hotel Neptuno Gran Canaria Playa Del Ingles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing