We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Riu Don Miguel
Ranked #17 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We have been here 3 days now and are having a wonderful time. We did have a problem when we arrived with our room but with a quick phone call, a member of staff from reception was with us within minutes and had moved us to another room, they could not apologise enough but it was just one of those things. The hotel is very modern, I think it had a refurb a couple years ago. The rooms are spacious and very clean. The food in the restaurant is well presented and there is plenty of choice. All the staff at Don Miguel are very friendly and can't do enough for you. We are only here for a few more days but will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: We are in room 505, it faces a main road like most of the rooms so there is a bit of noise with traf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pete_Williams_100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    639
    546
    166
    44
    27
See reviews for
58
821
117
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fraserburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Just back from 11 nights at the Don, our first time but won't be the last. Have been to Playa del Ingles 10 times now and usually stay at the Neptuno across the road.However we chose the Don this time as the Neptuno was nearly double what we normally pay, Pride being on a coincidence !!! . Glad we chose the Don this time fantastic hotel very clean ,good food, friendly staff especially Bruno in the restaurant and Ernesto at reception ,couldn't do enough for us.The only disappointment was the wifi very slow almost non existent even the premium wifi was not worth the extra money. With nearly everyone having tablets and iPhones nowadays i think RIU should think about improving their wifi at the Don and i would have given it 5 stars, everyone we spoke to about it agreed . Apart from wifi we had a great time at the Don and will most certainly return ,Well Done.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank buch33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

Lots of positives about this hotel: room decent size, very clean, food choices great, staff very friendly, location perfect for pride! Pool is great too!

One frustration was the internet: chose to pay for access for the week however access is limited to one device, the speed was so slow could barely use apps, browse YouTube etc and most annoyingly it doesn't recognise you when you connect. You have to go through an extremely frustration login process every time you leave the room. Even if you've just gone to the bathroom!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Innermoppet_dc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is only 3star BUT in terms of cleanliness, friendliness, good food and drink! This hotel is one of the best in Playa del Ingles!

Please give some time to listen to the singer who didn't really have an audience! She deserves one !

Not far from a the Yumbo centre, will deffo come again!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Jonboys43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

well 2nd time and not disappointed . every thing is just great . food , dinner good choice . breakfast to start the day plenty of choice . bad points . the room i find a little small not much floor space . had one chair in the room . good to have a fridge in the room . beds very good and comfy . bathroom has no extractor fan . room 327 . gets no sun all day and has a palm tree right in front . would i stay there again yes but away from the main building . its in a great location .
credit to all the staff and management, keep up the standards of this very well run hotel ,hope to be back soon

Room Tip: go further away from the corner it gets no sun and little view . i was in 327 .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doncaster
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Visited for pride as we do each year, this beats neptuno, Waikiki and flamingos to name a few hotels we have stayed in.
Food great choice, always hot and service staff very attentive. Reasonable prices for alcohol and snacks at the pool bar.
Evening entertainment now or thing but had quite a few people watching.
The rooms are cleaned every morning and spotless! WILL be booking again for next year!! Well done riu an amazing hotel!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dan a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

We decided to stay in Gran Canaria another extra few days after staying at a hotel in Meloneras for 2 weeks. We stayed here a few extra nights and we booked this hotel as it seemed great value and we had heard good feedback from friends about it.
We arrived, check in was relatively fast and the staff seemed friendly and efficient.
1st impressions were good, lobby is very clean and the hotel has had a refurbishment and a refresh a couple of years back.
Room we were allocated was great, small but clean and in the corner overlooking the pool on the 3rd floor. Bathrooms a little dated and bath towels are not very nice. Beds are very comfortable and the room overall is good, it has had a refresh but not a complete refurbishment.
The pool area is good, lots of beds, well laid out. The snack bar and bar/outside bar is great, it has had a total refurbishment and has been designed very well, the outside stage is a great idea and adds a nice vibe. The staff here I can't fault, typical Riu standards which are very high.
The food at the buffet is all very hot and fresh, breakfast is basic choices but again nice. The dinner buffet is good too, hot fresh food, very good value for money. The dining room is very clean, they have outside dining too if you'd rather eat outside They have a new A'la carte restaurant called Body's, this is GREAT! It's 12 Euros extra per person per sitting but it is worth every Cent.
The gym is great, all new, small but all new equipment.
The air conditioning here is excellent.
This hotel is situated in the rather dated area of Playa, however it's a great location and near lots of nightlife and the Yumbo Centre. This hotel has a very mixed crowd of gay and straight couples and friends, it is adults only which is superb, no screaming children anywhere in sight!
They have a courtesy shower room to use on day of check and a luggage room.
Overall I can't fault this hotel at all for the money, fantastic!
I have already booked November and May next year here, very impressed.

Room Tip: High floor room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeymikeyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Neptuno Gran Canaria
Hotel Neptuno Gran Canaria
#12 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,235 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,488 reviews
0.1 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#8 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
#7 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,613 reviews
0.2 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#18 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4,566 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bohemia Suites & Spa
Bohemia Suites & Spa
#2 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Don Miguel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Don Miguel

Property: Hotel Riu Don Miguel
Address: Avenida de Tirajana 30 | Playa de Ingles- Gran Canaria, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#9 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#14 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Riu Don Miguel 3*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Playa del Ingles. 4-Storey building. 1.5 Km from the beach and seafront promenade. Complimentary bus service to the beach. 300 M from the city centre. 200 M from a shopping centre. 30 Km from the airport. 200 M from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Riu Don Miguel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Don Miguel Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Hotel Riu Don Miguel Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing