We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Riu Don Miguel
Ranked #15 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2013

It is a hotel of 4 stars !!! But at cost of 3 stars! I love this hotel from the director ( thank for all) and the cleaning women. It is like my second house but far away thank you for all the good moments I have spent there

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alvaro G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,462)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Riu Don Miguel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

639 - 645 of 1,462 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

We chose this hotel due to recent renovation, and although communal areas have been fully renovated it is clear the rooms have just had a lick of paint and change of wall hangings. Most of the furniture in our room was damaged in some way or another, nothing major but it has obviously not been replaced in renovation. The bathroom also seemed tired.
If you are wanting wifi you will need to be seated in the small area allocated in reception or there will be no signal, it is also very slow and you only have 1x90 minute slot per day, unless you want to pay for the premium service.
We were also encouraged by the adult only environment, but after this experience I don't think I will be too bothered when booking future holidays, people seemed to be rather pompous and there is an unnerving quietness (as a teacher, this was what I was most looking forward to as well!).
The pool is fantastic, no rushing for beds. There were always spare beds until around 11. We didn't actually see the 'no reserving beds rule' being acted on, as many beds had towels on all day and nothing was done about it.
Food was outstanding, breakfast was always the same, but plenty of choice.
Entertainment was on each night, although we didn't watch much (we could hear it all from our room), mainly singers, but some more entertaining, such as acrobats. It lasts until around 11.20, and if you have a pool view you will be able to hear it. TV choices for English speakers isn't too bad with a few news channels, AXN and National Geographic, as well as Disney Cinemagic.
Location isn't too bad, 20min walk to the sea and we walked to both the market and El Faro shopping area (both about a 40min walk), but taxis are easily available and the hotels complimentary coach to the beach is good.
I didn't want his review to sound as negative as it does, but wanted to be honest about all of the things we found. A good hotel in an ok location.

Room Tip: We had room 514 and had sun on the balcony until around 1.30. I would ask for pool view due to nois...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicole140184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I stayed here in February and had a great time, so it was no problem to book it again for August. Everything I said then applies again now.

All the staff were friendly, accommodating and helpful; from the cleaners to the Management. The food was lovely, with loads of choice for all. The pool area is immaculate thanks to the pool men, with loads of beds to choose from. There is a free gym if you are into that, and loos nearby to save going back to your room.

There was entertainment each night - the Chinese Acrobats were really good. The 'House Entertainment' was a pair called 'Rainbow'. They were OK the first time you heard them, but they were on every night with the same songs and it got a bit hard going after a full week. Our room overlooked the stage so we had little choice but to listen to them every night. It didn't spoil our week, we just would have been happier if we could have taken the fuse out of their amp.

If I was to go out of my way to find something to complain about I would say that the towels in the room are a little threadbare. Saying that, they do dry you. As this is the chief function of a towel, I suppose they cannot be that bad.

When we arrived we were given a double bed when we required a twin room. The Management immediately offered us another room which we kept for the first 2 nights. Unfortunately it was at the far end of the hotel and quite a walk from the front door. We asked if we could be moved to a room nearer Reception and were allocated a third room with no fuss at all. They even moved our cases as we were visiting the beach on the day in question. Fantastic service.

The bus offers a shuttle bus to and from the beach at no extra charge. The safe was 2 Euros a day to hire and drinks with dinner were added to your room bill. We just had water with our meals, a fizzy or still half litre coming in at 1.80 Euro. There is a free fridge in your room where you can store bottled water, booze, after sun etc.

On our last evening in the restaurant the Maître De asked if it was our last night. We informed him it was and he inquired if we had had a good stay at the hotel. We informed him that we had enjoyed a great time and his wished us a good journey home, adding that he hoped he would see us again another time. And he certainly will; a lovely, friendly was to end our stay.

Room Tip: Drinks from the supermarket opposite the hotel are cheaper than from the poolside bar if you are sta...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Conners70_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

It was our first time on Gran Canaria. We booked on rather short notice, but still managed to get a good value-for-money offer. The whole trip went as smoothly as you can imagine.

Criteria to choose the Riu Don Miguel were (a) renovated in 2012, (b) adults only, (c) proximity to Yumbo (just across the street) and the general good remarks we got from friends, that Riu hotels in general serve really good food.

Reception was very friendly and efficient, rooms were assigned quickly and we got a very nice, spacious room on the ground level (room 54). The room was nicely decorated and provided everything needed, especially an air-conditioning cooling down the room to below zero temperatures... housekeeping was swift and efficient: the room always ready when we returned from breakfast. All areas were impeccably clean.

We were offered a table outside for dinner, which proved to be a wise choice, as the dining room was usually rather noisy and hectic. We had "late dining" at 8.30p.m. which suited our late night entertainment better.

Selection for dinner was awesome. Salads, hors d'oeuvres, main courses, desserts, fruit, cheese board... each day a different paella, with seafood or snails or chicken, of course local musts like Wrinkled Salty Potatoes, various Mojos and sauces etc. Meats and fish were prepared on the spot. There even was a BBQ station on the other terrace. Platters were exchanged even before the one standing there was not even empty.

Everything was very fresh, tasty and delicious. We really enjoyed the dining experience there every night. Prices for drinks were also on the low side (same prices at the bar). Excellent value for money.

Breakfast also provided everything you could wish, though not as varied as in the evening. The relatively short and early breakfast time (8-10a.m.) could be extended to say 11a.m.

The bar was comfortable and offered a wide selection. Staff were most friendly, and after the second evening recalled what we usually took. The evening entertainment was varied and not too wearisome. The male solo singer was great, the following act was more or less torturing her vocal cords and our eardrums. The big shows at 9.45p.m. were varied and colourful.

The pool area was also a pleasure: spotlessly clean, spacious and not too crowded. The Gym looked well maintained and with lots of different machines.

We were also very content with the mix of people at the hotel: all ages, but mainly younger people; straight and gay mixed. As a gay couple we felt welcome and were treated like everyone else.

To sum it up: we greatly enjoyed our stay at the Riu Don Miguel and we will make sure to stay there again. The hotel does not feel like a 3 star at all. It should be 4 star! We recommend it thoroughly.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms towards the main traffic street. Prefer "pool side" without direct view of the...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanStgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I have just returned from 10 nights at Don Miguel and feel compelled to write a review. The hotel is excellent. As everyone says, it is deserving of more than 3 stars (although we were glad it wasn't as it meant we could afford to visit!). The hotel is spotlessly clean, there are people constantly cleaning the pool area and the room cleaners visit everyday and do a fantastic job. The pool guy does a fab job, constantly cleaning and moving sunbeds/umbrellas around.

The rooms are spacious - we were originally given a room right at the end of the hotel and it overlooked a main road so we asked to change (given we had originally requested a pool view) and we were moved after 2 days - the new room was much bigger and had a better view.

The breakfast and dinners were lovely. Breakfast consisted of a variety of cereals, breads, cakes, jams, fruits and there was ham and cheese etc and a a variety of cooked foods such as bacon, eggs (scrambled, fried and boiled), tomatoes, fried bread and pancakes! Dinners consisted of a lot of meat - pork, chicken, veal were most frequent although there was steak 1 night and a few beef dishes. I was disappointed to see no lamb - this would have been nice. To accompany the meat there was a variety of rice, pasta and potato dishes, salads, pizza, chips etc. There was also a few different soups each day. Deserts were ice creams, different cakes/tarts and lots of fruit. My only suggestion would be that I travelled with a vegetarian and it wasnt clear with some dishes whether they contained meat. Better clarity on the dishes would be useful.

There were lots of perks to the hotel that you don't always see in 3 star hotels. The jacuzzi and gym were available to all and were a nice touch. The gym was air conditioned and whilst it was small, it was well equipped for a quick session and there was never more than 1 person in there. There was pool service so you could order drinks/ice cream during the day and the drinks were relatively reasonably priced. There was 2 supermarkets over the road that were cheap and had a variety of drinks/ice creams too. There is a mini fridge in the room which was useful for water. There is a shuttle bus to the beach, it takes about 10 mins to get there. If you check out before 8am and miss breakfast, they will prepare you a cold breakfast if you request it. We did - it was just some ham, cheese, salad and a piece of bread and there was some fruit. We thought this was a nice gesture.

Overall, I'd say this hotel is excellent and would highly recommend to anyone thinking about booking a trip here. For what we paid, we definitely got value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view otherwise you may end up overlooking a busy road!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rosie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

My partner and I have just returned from a week at Riu Don Miguel, we were very impressed and would agree with previous comments that it is worth more than a 3* status! The room was really clean and nicely decorated, matching the rest of the hotel! The staff were very friendly, but did not pester you in any way! Although it is not a prodomitely gay hotel, as a gay couple, we felt very welcome and comfortable. We were half-board and there was a good choice for both breakfast and dinner, with all the food cooked and prepared from fresh. The location of the hotel is great, with a free shuttle service to the beach! All in all it was a fantastic stay and we would definitely reccomend the hotel. :)

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I was very impressed with hotel and staff. Nothing was too much trouble and service always with a smile. Everyone was mega friendly. Excellent choice of food. I cannot understand why this hotel is only a 3 star, it deserves a higher star rating.
The pool area was extremely well kept by a very diligent pool man. The problem with towels being left on sun loungers was addressed but only if they were left unattended before 9am but at least they tried and there were ample loungers anyway. The room was really nice, plenty of hangers (for a change) but a tiny criticism would be the awful, thin and small towels. Air conditioning, very welcome after a hot day.
The Rainbow evening entertainment was pretty grim though supporting acts were excellent.
All in all, an excellent hotel and a chain I will most certainly try to stay in again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank denise c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
0.2 mi away
MUR Hotel Neptuno Gran Canaria
MUR Hotel Neptuno Gran Canaria
#11 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,264 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,551 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
#7 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#8 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,624 reviews
0.2 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#18 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4,945 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bohemia Suites & Spa
Bohemia Suites & Spa
#3 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Don Miguel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Don Miguel

Address: Avenida de Tirajana 30 | Playa de Ingles- Gran Canaria, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#9 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#14 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range: $115 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Riu Don Miguel 3*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Playa del Ingles. 4-Storey building. 1.5 Km from the beach and seafront promenade. Complimentary bus service to the beach. 300 M from the city centre. 200 M from a shopping centre. 30 Km from the airport. 200 M from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Riu Don Miguel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Don Miguel Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Hotel Riu Don Miguel Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing