We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware...Building works next door”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Servatur Waikiki
Ranked #24 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

If you want a relaxing break then at the moment this is not the hotel for you. I am currently staying in a room to the rear of block c and the construction noise from the hotel next door begins at 7am each morning with delivery noise starting even earlier. However..this noise covers up the noise from the restaurant being set up for breakfast each morning...so dont expect to have a long lie.
I am a fussy eater but i have always been able to eat well at each sitting however fried spam for breakfast is new to me.
Rooms cleaned and towels changed everyday.
Entertainment...not fair to review as havent seen many shows.
Staff...all very helpful.
Tip...ask for a high level room facing the pool

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shiona_Rab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

888 - 894 of 2,192 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2013

This hotel is approx. 20 minutes transfer from the airport depending on traffic and transport type. It is about 10 minutes away from the beach and a local shuttle bus services operates.

It consists of 5 circular towers with the main entrance / reception in tower A. Check in was quick and the staff efficient. You are provided with various information about the hotel and excursions available.The room is accessed via a traditional key and a further key is provided for the in room safe. Room 554 (Tower D) was a twin room of a reasonable size. Room facilities included: satellite TV, balcony with table & chairs, ceiling fan (no air-con) & complimentary toiletries. The rooms were cleaned every day and kept to a very good standard. I was surprised that the rooms did not have air-con and unfortunately the ceiling fan was of little or no use!

All the areas of the hotel complex are signposted and each tower has 8 floors with 2 lifts, except for A which has 7 floors. For those who like a little exercise, all floors can be reached by interior stairs. From the reception, guests can access a large pool, games area, internet café, poolside bar and salon bar / entertainment lounge. The pool area was open from 8am - 7pm and was kept very clean. All of the grounds were well maintained. There were a large number of sunbeds available but despite the notice not to reserve the beds, everyone did and some especially early! Due to the large number, the sunbeds were closely packed together like sardines.

The pool side bar is open from 10am till midnight and serves breakfast 10 -12, lunch 12.30 - 3.30 and afternoon tea from 4 - 5.30pm. It is self service for hot drinks, cold soft drinks, water & local beer. Other drinks are served by the bar staff. A good selection of spirits, cocktails and other drinks were available which were all included in the All-Inclusive tariff. All the staff were very friendly, polite and quick to clear dirty glasses and crockery away.

The main restaurant is open to serve breakfast from 8 - 10am, lunch from 1 - 3pm and dinner at 6.30pm and 8.30pm. Dinner operates on 2 sittings which are allocated when you check in. You have the same dinner time and table for the duration of your stay. There was a large variety of food available at all meal times, which was always well stocked. The restaurant operates various theme nights where specific types of food are served.

Nightly entertainment is provided in the large salon bar which is open from 7pm to midnight. Tables close to the main stage fill up very quickly. There were different types of activities going on each night which were generally OK.

Overall, the hotel is in a good location for access to the resort of Playa de Ingles. It offers great value for money and the All-Inclusive service is very good. The pool area gets busy and the sunbeds are very close together, so if you value some personal space this may be an issue for you. I would recommend this hotel particularly for families as the AI is a great deal.

Personally I would go back to this hotel as the issues noted were very minor and all the good things about this hotel far outweigh them.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Purrdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed 1st week of October, good and bad points
Food and Drinks very good 9 cocktails to choose from, ok they wernt as good as the creamy freshly made ones, but they were certainly v.nice for an all inclusive, Yes they do give you same sitting time and own table worried me abit but worked out quite nice to know we didnt need to hunt around for a table every night, Can sit where you like at breakfast, being smokers we were happy to sit outside on the open air terrace. Liked the fact butter jams etc were not in measley little containers that you sit and struggle to peel back..lol butter in huge slabs take a pot an fill same with the jams. Only thing missing at breakfast was the lovely coffee machine we used by the pool area. Its already made up in big flasks.
We were in D block on ground floor yes right opposite the building work of the g.c princess but to be honest didnt effect us at all. Rooms are very dated really do need abit of a facelift but still liveable and kept very clean...one big tip for the room take A DOUBLE TRAVEL PLUG worked for us...when u put it in it is on the slant but done the job for charging phone, using hair dryer and straightners all in one go...as there is only the one socket ( it was a 4 bank socket but the way they were angled u could only actually use 2..
We also found the room quite hot so ordered a fan for 15 euro.s as although we had a ceiling fan, believe me i could run around the bedroom 3 times as quick as that went round...hahaha but with the fan it was alot better for us. You do get the safe free so paying for the fan compensated it as most hotels iv been to you pay for the safe..

Now for the pool gorgeous lovely size & temperature loads of sunbeds and brollys, BUT i didnt like how they were laid out, felt abit cramped and packed in like a sardine...all much too close together for my liking. Boyfriend likes a brolly up, i dont, big rows..LOL as we couldnt get far enough apart for him not to put me in the shade too..

Wifi hmmm not a bad price really but jesus drained the life out of my battery has had to keep re-connecting every time i used it. And was non existent in my room but if i stepped on terrace pointed phone towards the pool it was fine..

Overall we did have a lovely time at this hotel and would return because it was definately good value really for what we paid...food and drinks made it one the best 3 stars...as iv had worse in 4 an 5...so il def be more open minded on 3 star hotels, They are not bad at all well this one wasnt...

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hotgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This hotel is in a great position within 15 minutes stroll of the beach and the main town area. 2/3 minutes walk away there are bars and shops etc if you fancy a change of scenary. The hotels rooms are made up of 5 "towers" from A which is above the main reception to E. We stayed in D and although there was major re-development work to the hotel next door we didnt hear anything but a number of guests in B were asking to change rooms due to work starting aroung 6.30am.
Theres a good selection of food which never seems to run out although by our 2nd week it had become a bit same again. Meal times were sometimes a pain as many of our European friends still havent grasped ze concept of ze queue and would simply push in, I wont discuss the resulting exchanges but it only happen to us once if you get my drift.
The all inclusive bar is great and operates a "help yourself" to red, white and rose wine, beer and soft drinks plus tea and coffee. Local branded Gin, Scotch etc as well as cocktails are served from the bar and are made and poured in front of you. Behind the bar theres a snack area which offers a late breakfast an alternative to lunch, burgars pizza etc and fruit and ice cream in the afternoon.
This a quite a large hotel but seems to be run very well with very friendly and polite staff. The evening entertainment is never going to make a West end run as most of the staff do the shows but theres plenty going on within walking distance if you want to go out in the evening which we did. If we ever returned to this resort I wouldnt have a problem in staying here again.

Room Tip: Avoid B block until the work next door has ended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hirstyWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Recently retured fron a week at riu waikiki good fresh food this hotel is 100% all inclusive so the bar is open 10 am to 2400 two bars ,rooms very clean as is all the hotel all the staff kind polite and very helpful and hard working first class bar staff and drinks not waterd down no complaints about the food fresh and hot two sitting for diner 630 and 830 open sitting breakfast and lunch or light snaks at the bar 10 am to 1600 THE ONLY COMPLAINT I HAVE IS THE ENTERTAINMENT EVERY NIGHT IS THE SAME TEAM OF SIX MIMING TO RECORDS it is bad i have seen beter at butlins in 1960 they are not that good at miming GO UP THE ROAD THE MACKER,S OR BIG BENS BAR FOR A GOOD SHOW AND ONLY 1.25 EUR A PINT yes i will return to this hotel it is a top 3 star and merits a 4 star ,but not for the bad bad entertainment

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 21fifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Recently returned from a ten night holiday here and must agree with the vast majority of reviews regarding this hotel. Quite simply it is a very good 3 star hotel and with a few improvements, could easily merit a 4 star rating.
These improvements being air con, hair dryer, fridge, tea/coffee making facilities and a comfier bed with proper pillows. If people think that some of these measures might sound to be a little picky, then you are more then welcome to sleep on a hard bed with bolster, to have a ceiling fan rather than air con and not have a cold drink due to no fridge for the same reason then knock yourselves out but lets remember that good money has been paid for a well deserved holiday and I believe that its only right and fair to receive these comforts.
The only other concern to point out was waking up to the sound of the major refurbishment of the hotel next door with work starting at 7am.
Having said all that the positives outweigh the negatives.The hotel is no more than a 15 minute walk away from the beach, plenty of shops, bars and places to eat and couple of shopping centres nearby. Hotel is a little dated but very clean, gardens tended, large swimming pool cleaned daily as was our room. Reception staff kind, polite and helpful, bar staff very good and hard working and the animation team always on the go. No complaints about the food offered on all sittings, choice of cereals, fruits, salads, puds and although the mains was much the same, always cooked on the grill in front of you so no concerns.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay here and with a variety of nationalities we never witnessed any kind of preferential treatment whatsoever.

Room Tip: As rooms much the same, just try to establish that no building work is happening in the near vicinit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Just back from our second stay at the Riu Waikiki and it was equally as good as our first time. This time we were in block c, only thing was you could hear the extensive building work from the hotel next door,it's a complete refurb and does not look like it will be finished soon. For some reason building work does not bother us. We were there to enjoy the sunshine and outside. Yes the hotel is a bit dated but it made up for it in being very clean,and the gardens were tended well. Reception were helpful and prompt with anything we required. Bar staff work very hard and bar is open till midnight but no bad behaviour and the hotel is quiet after that.The food is much the same but,well cooked,great fish,you will not go hungry. Entertainment team work so hard,well done. They are a bit cheesy but with so many different languages it must be hard to please so many different cultures. Would I go back?never say never.

Room Tip: Facing away from the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eileen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
0.6 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#18 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
5,224 reviews
0.1 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Papayas
ClubHotel Riu Papayas
#9 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
607 reviews
0.5 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#8 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#7 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,300 reviews
0.4 mi away
Labranda Playa Bonita
Labranda Playa Bonita
#17 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,146 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Caserio
Hotel Caserio
#26 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Servatur Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Servatur Waikiki

Address: Avenida Gran Canaria, 20, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly ClubHotel Waikiki)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#17 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#19 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#25 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range: $133 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Servatur Waikiki 4*
Number of rooms: 497
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Five 7-storey round buildings * 3,500 m2 garden * 1.5 Km from Playa del Ingles beach * Complimentary bus service to the beach * 500 m from the city centre * 400 m from "Metro" and "Kasbah" shopping centres * 30 km from the airport * 50 m from a bus stop ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Splitty, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Servatur Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Waikiki Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Riu Waikiki Playa Del Ingles
Hotel Servatur Waikiki Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing