We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“chillaxed hotel and the food was great !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Servatur Waikiki
Ranked #24 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“chillaxed hotel and the food was great !”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

hola, just got back from the Riu Waikiki and we had a great time there !

yes the rooms could be more up to date but it was very clean and we booked a pool view so we always sat on the balcony anyway, our beds were ok but you could get a mattres topper from reception there are irons and kettles that you can rent
the hotel staff are lovely and friendly as were all the locals we met they're laid back and chilled out
The FOOD was FANTASTIC and plentiful with loads of choice in our opinion, at breakfast it was changed each day so ham strips then bacon then sausage with fried, scrambled and boiled eggs and a potatoe and egg dish which was very tasty freshly baked bread fruit yoghurts and pankakes Lunch was a buffet salad with a choice of 6 or 7 main dishes again with a salad bar and hot veg and of course chips. Dinner was the same and its simply the best food ive had on holiday !

this hotel is in a great location as well and they have a FREE shuttle bus to the beach which is only for Riu guests and takes about 5 minutes.

This is a popular destination for the Germans and they do outnumber the Brits, French, Dutch and Finnish but we had no problems with the other guests however they're aloofness does take a little getting used to and we were lucky to meet two other great couples from sheffield and finland who's company we really enjoyed and added to our great little break away

the local bus stop is just a left outside the hotel and 20 yards away from here we took buses to Arguineguin which is closest a lovely liitle port that has a market on a tues you can catch a ferry to Mogan from here as the bus ride is not for the faint hearted imagine the italian job at the end where coach is hanging over the cliff edge ! it could of easily have been filmed here, the bus fare was 4 or 5 euro per person single to Mogan the ferry to Arguiegan was 11 euro each and well worth it as it also had glass windows at the bottom of the boat and they stopped threw bread in the water and you get a great view of the fishes then 2 euro bus ride back to playa de inglis. Puerto Rico and Mogan are close by approx 40 mins to 50 mins depending on trafic.
The biggest market on the island is in Mogan on a Friday which was great and Mogan is a beautifully picturesqe harbour village we also had lunch for 2 and a drink each here for just £10
turn RIGHT out of the hotel and 200 yards up there is a super market which was far cheaper than anywhere else L&B ciggys 17.95 euro 26.0 everywhere else, there are also bars like MACCAS 1.25 a pint of lager and loads of tv's showing 4 or 5 different live footy matches !

All in all we had a fantastic time and would go back again in fact im checking out the January 2013 prices now

Room Tip: we booked a pool view room and were advised to ask the travel agent to fax the request directly to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank phill a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,078 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    686
    821
    425
    94
    52
See reviews for
548
940
48
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed in hotel Rui Waikiki at the start of October and was very pleased with it. It is set out over five separate blocks and we found it was generally nice and quiet throughout our stay. The room was adequate for what we wanted, although perhaps the bed was a little on the soft side, but that's personal taste. There is just a ceiling fan, so i would imagine if it was really hot there it might struggle to keep the room cool. The room was cleaned everyday and we had no issues with the staff. They're all pleasant and largely speak excellent English. The reception staff were always very helpful and would do all they could to help or assist.

The food could be a little repetitive, but they do have a lot of people to cater for so they do mix the meals up as best they can. One night it will be chinese, Indian etc along with the usual fish,meat or chicken. There are two sittings for dinner, 18:30 or 20:30, whichever sitting you go for is the sitting you will need to use for the rest of your time there. You can ask the restaraunt manager if you want to change sittings times, but generally you need to stick with one or other. The tables are set to countries, so generally you will sit with people from your own country, which does make a good time to meet other people.
The rest of the food was fine, quite a nice cooked breakfast or cereals and pastries. Then throughout the day there are snacks, hotdogs,burgers or salad served at the outside bar around lunchtime and then icecream and cakes in the afternoon.

The entertainment in the evening at the downstairs bar is typical of any such resort, but everynight they put on a good show that was enjoyable and if that doesn't suit you then the upstairs outside bar is very pleasant, and the cocktails are certainly not short of spirits. They do give generous measures and the barmen and women are really jolly regardless as to how busy they're.

The sun loungers are pretty much taken with towels from early morning. The hotel removes towels left before 8am, so people sit on the loungers until 8 with their towels and then go for breakfast. But we found later in the afternoon there were sun loungers to be had.
We went out everyday and there is a free bus to the beach, but we never used it as it is a nice ten minute walk to the beach. The beach is really nice and generally clean. You can walk 2 hours along the beach up to Maspalomas, which is upmarket and has designer shops. Or you can walk around 30 minutes to San Augustin, although we didn't look around there much.
So overall it was a lovely hotel, great staff and we would use it again. The resort was nice and i've reviewed some of the otherthings we did there.

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for a sea view. I wouldn't want to stay over looking the pool or outside bar, as it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimbobimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todmorden, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was our 1st family holiday in 3 years. With 2 young children my husband and I didn't get out much and so decided to go on a holiday with babysitters (grandparents). We chose this hotel due to it's great location (for nights out) and kids club (if they were happy, we were happy).

* PROBLEM 1....... School half term, so should be loads of English kids for ours to play with..................how wrong were we!!!!! Loads of Germans..........one guest told me Brits were 1:18 with Germans!

* PROBLEM 2........Holiday booked over the internet...2 rooms ( 1 for g.parents & 1 for us 4). On arrival at 3am in the morning we were told, rooms only slept 2 but a 3rd bed had been squashed in......no chance for my husband and I to share a room with our 2 children! Our nights out would be impossible! And, getting hold of the first choice rep was an absolute joke!!!! The hotel staff said this was a regular problem as the tour operators never inform of the problem.

After a bad nights sleep (hot room, no air con and a rock hard bed) we decided not to waste our precious time hunting down the rep and finding another hotel, far too stressful and decided to stay. We had to put one of our children in with my parents and had the other in our room.

Overall, the hotel was good. The staff were very pleasant, rooms were cleaned everyday, food good but repetitve (difficult if you were a veggie), entertainment OK.............everything very average but expected.

My little boy (7yrs) developed a nasty ear infection and my dad a chest infection after being in the pool and also another child had medical attention for her ears....same problem....YUK!

Didn't really get the chance to meet other couples and chat as they were nearly all Germans which was a shame.

We did have an enjoyable time, weather was nice and had everything we needed. It was a nice break and couldn't fault the hotel staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vickyratcliffe h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 3, 2012

. the bedswere extremely uncomfortable, pillows could have ben none existent, the cieling fan instead of a/c was poor and was loud. we stayed in d block and our view was of some sort of fan, very loud and disturbing.. while the food was fresh and always stocked well it was very repetitive. the one night we came back to our room to find the mirror completely smashed to pieces on the floor. with a disabled child and a 4year old i urgently wanted assistance to clear the mess and an explanation. instead we had to collect the broom etc and go about it ourselves, no explaqnation or apology given! im gratefull this happened while we was out of our apartment had this of happened while we was in and sleeping this could have been fatal as the rooms were that small for a fasmily with extra bed and a cot the cot had to be situated under where the mirror hung. i asked to speak to a manager the following morning but no-one came! i then reported this on the monday when i knew the masnager would be back on site of whom we had spoken to before and she didnt have any idea what i was talking about! still no apology! the alcohol?? more like water! no fridge in room boiled water not available throught the night. appauling for a.l especially with a baby who needs extra care with feeding! the etertainmet team did work hard but evening entertainment was almost non existent too.. we were not told on booking we would be 1 of a tiny percentage of british holiday makers all were german and we felt like aliens being stared at constantly! the restuarant staff, entertainment staff were brilliant with there efforts. but i found the bar staff and reception staff stern and rude. we ventured around the island and gthere is lots to do i would return to gran canaria but not to this hotel i dont feel it was worth the money we paid. you were lucky if you could get a sunbed even at 9am. all resevered with only a few actually by them untill well into the afternoon. so we tried the so called kids corner with a play area and pool only to find there wasnt actually many kids there alll taken by single or older holiday makers. the pools were also freezing. on the day of check out we had to be out by 11am and told there would be somewhere to store our luggage as we didnt transfer untill 6.30pm. but when we came to put our luggage in we were told no we couldnt use it and had to leave it unattended in the lobby all day whilst there was a man stripping the cielings above causing mess and health and safety hazards no warnings signs in site! there is an entertainment ba downstairs but with a child in a buggy who you cant hold due to disabilities then its hard to go because theres no lift! luckily a kind man helped me carry the buggy down as when i asked at reception how i could get down i was simply looked at and told there is no lift just the stairs! charming! i did enjoy my holiday because i was determined too and was because of the company i was with. it may sound like im really being picky but im not a snob and dont hold high expectations but i went to turkey last year and stayed in a 3star hotel and with turkey supposedly being a worse of country it was beautiful the hotel was immaculate and the staff were brilliant really made us enjoy our experiance! please do take into account all what im saying if your travelling to the waikiki with children, perhaps a different group of holiday makers wouldnt notice my cons. if youve already booked enjoy it the best you can it could have just been the misfortune of the experiences i encounterd.

Room Tip: dont go back of d block
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachael j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCOTLAND
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I went with two friends, on the recommendation of one of them who came here in Jan 12 with her husband. To be honest i wasnt expecting much, but i was gadly mistaken. I will give a few honest accounts of the hotel and hoilday and will start on the negative and leave on a high.

Firstly the food-pretty poor choice, chicken, pork, pasta, veal. your choice day in day out. By the end of the week i stopped eating dinner couldnt take anymore and went elsewhere. one night there was turkey, but it still looked pretty undercooked, so we stayed well clear. The resturant pretty crammed, with long queues for food and hard to find a seat at lunchtime-the dinning hall resembed a butlins food hall. Onto the rooms-pretty run down looking and the bathroom very poor with a very chipped bath. The beds resemble trying to sleep on a floor-not comfortable at all. On our first night my friend sat on hers and it broke completly and took two hours for another to come up to the room late at night. The TV also kept breaking down. The hotel entertainment dire, dire, dire- it consisted of the hotel staff doing acts very badly and some singly very badly that they would not get past the first audition in x factor. We only went one night and that was enough.

Right onto the good stuff. The staff are excellent, very friendly and helpful. The rooms although dated are clean. The food is free so you wont starve. The cocktails are great. Your beachtowels wont be taken away trying to claim a sunlounger but be up early to do this by 10am most are taken. The guests wont cause you any problems. the apartments are safe we often went out with out balcony door opened.

Where to go....
Bar diamonds in the yumbo center, great guys and very lethal cocktails lol had some great nights in there. Canary Tattoo if your feeling adventourous, both my pal and I got one in there and come highly recommended. Music Hall Tavern It is the funniest night you will ever have, never laughed so much in ages. Sioux city is great with friends and for kids. We also did the VIP trip, my frinds first time and my third time doing this. I was disappointed with it as the air conditioned people carrier had now changed to a mini bus with the windows rolled down. Sadly one thing that really disappointed me was trying to go shopping, the shopkeeper come down like vultures and do not let you go, one man grabbed my wrist in a hold i could not get out of and drag me to his shop trying stuff on me. when i did agree to buy something he changed the price wanted treble after handing over payment. needless to say he didnt get it. I got to the stage i did not want to buy anything at all or even hit the shops it was so intense at times. You couldnt even get a drink in the pub without people coming up and selling things, their idea of selling is shoving their products right into your face. when you say no they just shove some more stuff in your face.Some profantity is usually used at this point.

In conculsion, the hotel is cheap enough and you get what you pay for and price wise its worth the money. Practice a face for when you say no, they wont ask you a second time. Go to Bar Diamonds and Music Hall Tavern for a good night out. have some money to eat out a few times. Yes i would return to this hotel again, because all in all it is a good wee place. Also one final tip, please remember that the blocks face each other and if you dont close the curtains people will see what you do. And I do mean see everything-my friends and i seen way more of people than we should have on this trip of the guest in block E.

Room Tip: Get a pool view and sun balcony block D was our block
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SONIA26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Just returned from this hotel and can say had a lovely time. The food was what you would expect from an all inclusive, fish, burgers, salad bars etc, so was repetitive but quite enjoyable. We only went for a week so could imagine that if you were staying for 2 weeks you may want to eat outside of the hotel. There are plenty of places that you can eat out, near to the hotel and we enjoyed a really nice Indian meal that was only up the road from the hotel (near the local shops).

The service that is provided from all staff, is one of the best I have experienced. Everyone is friendly and makes you feel welcome, from the reception staff, bar staff to the cleaners.

The hotel itself is a little dated but is kept very clean. We asked for an extra pillow and it was in our room within a matter of minutes. My only criticisms of this hotel is that the beds are very, very hard and the pool is really cold. However, these are only minor criticisms.

I would return to this hotel.

Room Tip: We were in Block E, floor 8 which can be quiet noisy due to traffic but it is not noticeable once yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sassyb74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
966 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 572 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Our second time at this hotel and we got what we expected, as in life you get what you pay for. A lot of the reviews are very valid and unless you are a "Snob" then you should enjoy your stay in this hotel.
PROS: The staff here are some of the best I have encountered in over 30 years of travel at 3 and 4 star rated properties, they are polite, efficient, well dressed and well mannered and always willing to help. If you wish to join in any activities provided, then the animation team really do work hard to ensure you enjoy yourself. The Riu chain obviously has a good training programme or hotel manager.
The rooms and public areas are kept well clean and well maintained. The room safety deposit box is provided free of charge, what a pleasant surprise in these money grabbing times.
The pool and garden areas are also well looked after and the Kiddies pool area is well away from the well populated main pool, giving added safety for all the younger guests.
The hotel location, although not adjacent to the beach is ideal, there are plenty of local shops, bars and restaurants just up the road and the main areas of town are within easy walking distance, the hotel also provides a coach to take you to the main resort beach if you dont want to walk there. There is also a bus stop just to the left of the hotel entrance where you can catch buses to many other resorts and places of interest. As this hotel is All Inclusive, I would also like to point out that in our two visits we have never seen any unruly or drunken guests which again is down to the bar staff making sure that abusing guests are quickly dealt with.
The quantity and quality of food provided is more than adequate, remember this is not one of the higher rated Riu properties, but as a very fussy eater I always found plenty to choose from,
A well stocked salad bar, grilled meats, fish and occasional carvary plus a variety of pasta dishes and to finish off your meal, a well stocked desert choice, and finally, there is always plenty of hot water in the bathroom.
CONS: Rooms could be up graded with Air-Con as the current ceiling fans are not as good as they should be. Proper Bacon would be a nice addition to the breakfast menu as would be freshly made omlettes.
Dont be put off by some of the lesser reviews, if this hotel is within your budget then give it a try, I am sure you wont be too disappointed, and if it's your first visit to Gran Canaria make sure to visit Puerto Mogan (Friday is market day)

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a sunny balcony or even better, a sunny balcony in reception Bloc A
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dnowland_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
0.1 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Papayas
ClubHotel Riu Papayas
#9 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
479 reviews
0.6 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#18 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4,569 reviews
0.4 mi away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#4 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#8 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,565 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Neptuno Gran Canaria
Hotel Neptuno Gran Canaria
#12 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,235 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Don Miguel
Hotel Riu Don Miguel
#17 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Servatur Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Servatur Waikiki

Property: Hotel Servatur Waikiki
Address: Avenida Gran Canaria, 20, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly ClubHotel Waikiki)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#16 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#19 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#25 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Servatur Waikiki 4*
Number of rooms: 497
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Five 7-storey round buildings * 3,500 m2 garden * 1.5 Km from Playa del Ingles beach * Complimentary bus service to the beach * 500 m from the city centre * 400 m from "Metro" and "Kasbah" shopping centres * 30 km from the airport * 50 m from a bus stop ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Servatur Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Waikiki Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Riu Waikiki Playa Del Ingles
Hotel Servatur Waikiki Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing