We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lots of fois gras”

Restaurant Chez Vous
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Den haag
Level Contributor
251 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Lots of fois gras”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

As an animal friend I'd rather not eat fois gras. In this case there is few choice in this restaurant. We had a chicken which I liked, but while we were there there was a lot of reorganising going on, with tables being replaced all the time. Not very professional. Also the guy outside who was supposed to seduce people to come in, was so poorly payed that he asked leaving customers for a tip of his own. I would like more choice, more vegetarian options or small meat portions, the portions per person were huge. (some people like that but I don't)

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CoenH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    61
    23
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Braunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A classic experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

I took my friend to this 'french' restaurant as he has never eaten french cuisine; a style I much enjoy and was trained in back in the 70's. It was a quiet night, yet there was an ambience and a buzz provided by the chef and his wife and the maitre d' with the interaction of the french speaking (in the main although there were a few other nationalities) diners. We settled for the chateaubriand, a bottle of cote du rhone and were offered a coarse terrine with mustard as a starter....it was delicious. The maitre d' was outgoing and interacted very well with his diners. French was mainly being spoken in which I am fluent, but my friend could not understand a word and I did enjoy the odd joke at his expense. Nevertheless, all nationalities were addressed in their native tongue, as far as I could tell. The chateaubriand arrived, cooked a point, already cut on a plate with some vegetables and accompanied with three sauces. All very tasty, but I was expecting the fillet to be flamed at the table and carved from the gueridon( a table positioned next to the dining table upon which the fillet is flamed and carved) It would have added to the experience and complimented the quality of the fillet. I can recommend the restaurant. The camp maitre d' adds to the atmosphere and is very popular with the diners.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank velsatis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aix-en-Provence, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A must”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

A great Welcome the food's fab since the chef Marcel is very efficient and the atmosphere's wonderfull Ines make you feel at home .

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
108 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Magnifique French food in Canary Islands”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

Difficult to find because of a lack of street numbering but well worth the trouble. The owners have brought a small part of France here to Gran Canaria. Extremely friendly welcome, attentive service throughout the meal, and great atmosphere.

Now to the food. My wife and I chose to have the menu degaustion which was a first course of house made fois gras, second course of coquilles St. jacque, and the third couse of lamb which was lightly breaded, seasoned, and served with mustard. It was all truly delicious! The menu also included desert. We chose apple tart tartan and a chocolate mouse. Our menus were €28.50 each and we had a Cote du Rhone bottle of wine for €14.80. Total cost was €74.30. We have eaten in Paris several times and must say this restaurant is equal if not better. You will not be sorry!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank elfinforesttony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
89 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Promise not delivered”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

We were one of the first to try Chez Vous when it opened last year.

Back then the service & food quality was good and the quality/price ratio acceptable. There was great promise.

However one year later, the food is still good quality but the prices are higher, the nice waiter replaced by an arrogant one who questioned our choices of food and drink and the owners promise (there was a problem last year) was not kept.

We don’t go back.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Luc-Philip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Chez Vous also viewed

Maspalomas, Gran Canaria
Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas
 
Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas
Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas
 

Been to Restaurant Chez Vous? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing